Cengal woods are gooding yo.My mother in law house nearly 80 years old now still standing strong as ever but offcourse nowadays not cost effective la...Too expensive.
Wooden house in modern Malaysia, Still viable?
Apr 4 2019, 09:32 AM
171 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Cengal woods are gooding yo.My mother in law house nearly 80 years old now still standing strong as ever but offcourse nowadays not cost effective la...Too expensive.
Apr 4 2019, 12:18 PM
Apr 4 2019, 12:23 PM
Apr 4 2019, 12:26 PM
Apr 4 2019, 12:42 PM
Apr 4 2019, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Apr 4 2019, 03:53 PM) belian wood. v hard to get. is super tough wood. if u wan cantik cantik kind of wood. cant use it. structure can la. v hard to carve. and termite proof. so far have not seen any termintes at the my wood tho. Yeah you right...My roommates from Uni days is from Sarawak,he's from long house community.From him I know about the wood,he called it king of the wood... |
Apr 4 2019, 04:36 PM
Apr 4 2019, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(ju146 @ Apr 4 2019, 04:37 PM) Owh.. But chengal is very hard and durable d.. It is very expensive to even build them as dining table.. Yes,my mother in law house made almost entirely from cengal, 78 years old now and still strong as ever but Belian is more durable especially those fully matured woods (100 year old tree) they said can last 200-300 years |
Apr 4 2019, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 05:26 PM) what reason its called king of wood? My friend also said it has some kind of mystic power idunnolol..Better ask Sarawakian who stay at long house.They will know better I think.Oh,this wood also don't float on the water I think.Anyway it's a special kind of wood, I can assure you that..just because it can tahan? thats not enough criteria to be called king. |
Apr 4 2019, 05:52 PM
Apr 4 2019, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 05:52 PM) I give you simple example la...Ferrari,many said what's special about it but many people spends 20,30 million for its old car...Same with this wood..can last hundreds of year,very expensive,rare,must be master skill on wood marking in order to carve it since it's a super hard wood like steel... |
Apr 4 2019, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 06:00 PM) wel except its not ferrari price in wood world . its not even more than burmese teak price. lol. dont simply shiok sendiri declare belian as king of woods. Chill...I just requote what Sarawakian told me...One man junk is one man treasure...I genuinely think collecting sneaker is a stupid thing yet many collect them ..So up to them la this is a democracy country lol ... This post has been edited by TAZIO.N: Apr 4 2019, 06:06 PM |
Apr 4 2019, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 06:06 PM) yea so you just listen to some one told u but you dont know market price is not expensive so you believe him. But I do think Belian is a top tier of wood just like Ferrari in automotive.And Im not expert in both wood nor automobile.so now u know its not ferarri of wood world. you can update the information. |
Apr 4 2019, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 06:11 PM) i also hope so la i got some in the wood storage rack. if can be ferarri, i can charge my customer 10k for the next shelf i make out of it. Orait...If you got some sinking agarwood dont forget to tell me ya .Maybe I'll bought it from you This post has been edited by TAZIO.N: Apr 4 2019, 06:14 PM |
Apr 4 2019, 06:21 PM
Apr 4 2019, 06:46 PM
Apr 5 2019, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(anakkk @ Apr 5 2019, 09:03 AM) Nice..Apparently belian wood are nowhere in the top 10 lol but it will not change my opinion about Belian which is a special wood indeed...Inb4,one poster who is always hang in reno tered will question my opinion, with his you're not carpenter hoooha lol... |
Apr 5 2019, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Apr 5 2019, 09:51 AM) Of the list, I am only familiar with lignum vitae and snakewood. Yeah but harder doesn't mean more durable right,no?The former is so hard that even tools will be blunt, so I don't think it is realistic to be used to build house, snakewood at least in bows used in violin is hard but brittle. I think the point is the wood should be hard enough is enough, more importantly is cost and workability. |
Apr 5 2019, 03:55 PM
Apr 5 2019, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(lucky8six @ Apr 5 2019, 10:29 PM) Both superb durable and no study research to prove which is tougher and durable. But if i were to pick. Belian Wood for the win easily. Belian wood is crowned as borneo king of the wood (ironwood). All panjang Dayak house structure made with belian woods still standing strong today that last few generations. Fun fact It takes 120 years to grow 30cm diameter. I can feel you bro https://www.frim.gov.my/colour-of-frim/eusi.../cv0/ab88/pt357 Owning a piece of Belian wood (Long table) is consider very luxury in Sarawak. Belian = Berlian = Diamond ![]() ![]() ![]() Wanna show some of my collection Belian Wood. Owning belian wood mean last forever. Above piece (left) is believed nearly 200 years old belian wood. It was excavate under ground earth. That's why the grain is deep. Belian wood is getting scarcity nowdays. Usually pass down by older generation. |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0228sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:18 AM |