8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Condo install Face recognition without res consent

SUSNachiino Etamay
post Mar 30 2019, 02:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Grammar Police @ Mar 29 2019, 02:43 PM)

bye bye money  bye.gif
QUOTE(julieweiwei90 @ Mar 30 2019, 12:52 PM)
I need advice as now my family a bit upset. They inform  me one of our condo have implement face recognition system to replace the current normal access card system without getting views from residents. System already installed and going to be implemented.  This a a new condo of only less than 3 years. No other condo has done this or change a system in such a new condo... so must be some $$$ involved.

I also think they cannot simply install or change the current system given by developer right? And they cannot use maintenance money for this kind of implementation. If they want to use sinking fund, need resident approval and meeting. So i suspect they break laws. What action can take?
Further more we will have a lot of problem if use the new system. As this is a family home/holiday home, we often have different family members frequent the place. Sometimes friends stay there too. Don't expect all to register face. And they are old and kids too. Even to walk in need scan face which currently we just use access card.

Mom also mentions a lot of money spending after new committee formed and new chairperson. Spend money like water. Doing extra wiring, add unnecessary items ... everything is about spending money and not saving. Whom/which authority can i write in to? I am based in Spore but do fly back often.

Need some opinion before ask my family to consult our developer lawyers on what actions can be taken.

Value valuable advise.
knowing your mum, she probably never join AGM and stay all day lazing around at home doing nothing, have a maid, and your dad just have to shovel in all the cashies

go check properlty before spreading fake news. Remember, mum ALWAYS spread fake news. u look at all the fake news forwarded messags in whatsapp, ALL of them are from mums who got nothing to do but post videos of trash or fake news.

this is the first thing you should do.

bakry
post Mar 30 2019, 02:45 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 30 2019, 01:44 PM)
Residents who are not owners have no right to attend general meetings. Only owners (who may not necessarily be residents) can attend general meetings.

And many ignorantly thought that many matters need approval in general meetings when in fact there are not many things that require their approvals.

What sort of things that require owners' approvals? Examples: raising maintenance and sinking fund rates, changing or adding new by-laws and electing committee members.
Im renting. But the owner me to go. Since im staying. So i think depends
burn22
post Mar 30 2019, 02:48 PM

398 posts

normally before implementing certain things, like security, residents will definitely received a letter from the management. owners should attend jmb meetings if meeting is held for the residents. it is where, yes and no sokongan will be agreed upon when making a decision to implement whatever is needed. if tak attend, it is not the management fault...

Artus
post Mar 30 2019, 02:50 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Mar 30 2019, 02:45 PM)
Im renting. But the owner me to go. Since im staying. So i think depends
Yes, an owner can appoint a tenant as a proxy to attend general meetings. But he can also appoint anyone else as proxy. But proxies cannot become committee members. And real power lies with the committee because they make all the day-to-day decisions.

Blofeld
post Mar 30 2019, 02:53 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Mar 30 2019, 01:20 PM)
Who knows, ts say his family and all neighbors also don't know.

But ts now cannot post because limit reached laugh.gif
newfags got quota post?
LamboSama
post Mar 30 2019, 02:55 PM

769 posts

Must be crony project.
face recognition is overly advanced and wasteful for condo.
Even simple card system tends to be costly to repair. laugh.gif
Jedi
post Mar 30 2019, 02:58 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Lol my condo in Penang lagi best

From existing working access card to some rfid tag that I need to wave left to right

Car park
5 car parks give 3 tags. Extra need to buy
Say bec car park even tho the column is long n wide can park 2 cars only written 1 number

Diuniama sendiri drive vellfire estima coupe BMW

Prev president even worse. Songlap away 500 plus k. Until now cannot catch bec no concrete proof. Managed to drove her away.
Rusty Nail
post Mar 30 2019, 02:58 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Mar 30 2019, 02:53 PM)
newfags got quota post?
yeah 5 post daily
Artus
post Mar 30 2019, 03:00 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Mar 30 2019, 02:48 PM)
normally before implementing certain things, like security, residents will definitely received a letter from the management. owners should attend jmb meetings if meeting is held for the residents. it is where, yes and no sokongan will be agreed upon when making a decision to implement whatever is needed. if tak attend, it is not the management fault...
Many things the committee alone can decide, don't need approval at general meetings. But many do it anyway out of ignorance or just to seek blessing. Just like Brexit, the referendum is totally not needed because the British parliament is the one that decides and their courts also said referendums were not legally binding.

If it is a matter of adding by-laws then yes, then must ask for approval in general meetings.

Artus
post Mar 30 2019, 03:09 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Mar 30 2019, 02:58 PM)
Prev president even worse. Songlap away 500 plus k. Until now cannot catch bec no concrete proof. Managed to drove her away.
Committee members are often target of malicious rumours, whether true or false, no thanks to people like you. It's a thankless job.

SUSgogo2
post Mar 30 2019, 03:22 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 30 2019, 03:09 PM)
Committee members are often target of malicious rumours, whether true or false, no thanks to people like you. It's a thankless job.
Yes, I did this for 2 years and the only thing I got is I learn condo management. Other than that, I lost my precious time. Money also lost becaus time is money.
accitzone
post Mar 30 2019, 03:32 PM

399 posts

I

Did your said family member, actively join the official MC / JMB meeting. ?

Like many have said here, JMB/ MC / RA is a tireless, thankless job.....

My advice to your said Family member.... join n be a Committee lah...

I've been in 1 JMB/ MC for 3 terms for my condo.

Now I'm chairman for RA of my landed strata, 2nd term d. B4 that 2 terms being the Secretary.

And yes we are a very successful RA. 80% active payments monthly. We are a 250 landed property housing estate. Very small in size. have a 4 acres Clubhouse, a swimming pool, gymnasium, a 2 acres Surau

With half a million RM in FD. Targeting to up to rm1m in 2 years time.

This post has been edited by accitzone: Mar 30 2019, 03:40 PM
yhtan
post Mar 30 2019, 03:38 PM

8,653 posts

I need advice as now my family a bit upset. They inform  me one of our condo have implement face recognition system to replace the current normal access card system without getting views from residents. System already installed and going to be implemented.  This a a new condo of only less than 3 years. No other condo has done this or change a system in such a new condo... so must be some $$$ involved.

I also think they cannot simply install or change the current system given by developer right? And they cannot use maintenance money for this kind of implementation. If they want to use sinking fund, need resident approval and meeting. So i suspect they break laws. What action can take?
Further more we will have a lot of problem if use the new system. As this is a family home/holiday home, we often have different family members frequent the place. Sometimes friends stay there too. Don't expect all to register face. And they are old and kids too. Even to walk in need scan face which currently we just use access card.

Mom also mentions a lot of money spending after new committee formed and new chairperson. Spend money like water. Doing extra wiring, add unnecessary items ... everything is about spending money and not saving. Whom/which authority can i write in to? I am based in Spore but do fly back often.

Need some opinion before ask my family to consult our developer lawyers on what actions can be taken.

Value valuable advise.
I saw this line and i suspect your parents does allow it to do as airbnb, u must understand some condo owner do not like airbnb because it will jeopardise the security measurement. Anyone can just walk in and if shit happen, victim for sure will point finger to JMB/MC.

I did ask lawyer about airbnb, nothing in the law deter u to do airbnb, but the management has rights to do such measurement to make your life hard for such act. I guess the JMB/MC did that just to prevent your type of residents. U must understand that one is not public place, it is a private property manage by a group of people (aka JMC/MC).

Go read up the minutes and see whether there is approval, if got approval then u have to suck it up and live with it. If not ask your parent proxy and make noise in next management meeting.

This post has been edited by yhtan: Mar 30 2019, 03:38 PM
fadzly
post Mar 30 2019, 03:39 PM

1,757 posts

Glad ur JMB do so well. Our JMB at one of the ecoworld project only managed to do this to prevent Airbnb

yhtan
post Mar 30 2019, 03:42 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 30 2019, 03:09 PM)
Even receive report from town council (DBKL), MACC and lawyer letter laugh.gif

My colleague been through that stage just because the resident not happy with the new calculation of maintenance fee (change to share unit). Basically DBKL don't give a fcuk if they receive this kind of complain letter as long JMC/MC committee comply with it.
Artus
post Mar 30 2019, 03:51 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Mar 30 2019, 03:42 PM)
Even receive report from town council (DBKL), MACC and lawyer letter laugh.gif

My colleague been through that stage just because the resident not happy with the new calculation of maintenance fee (change to share unit). Basically DBKL don't give a fcuk if they receive this kind of complain letter as long JMC/MC committee comply with it.
The law had always maintained that the calculation method is by share unit but dunno why some developers ended up charging by sq feet.

Owners' ignorance about all kinds of things is a big problem that committee members have to face all the time. Many committee members themselves are ignorant about the law so the management staff must guide them.

Raddus
post Mar 30 2019, 04:05 PM

239 posts

Value valuable advise.
I don't live at your condo so I don't want to hear your condo problems

I got own condo problems already to deal with

Keep it to your condo plz
Artus
post Mar 30 2019, 04:06 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Mar 30 2019, 03:32 PM)
Did your said family member, actively join the official MC / JMB meeting. ?

Like many have said here, JMB/ MC / RA is a tireless,  thankless job.....

My advice to your said Family member.... join n be a Committee lah...
I've been in 1 JMB/ MC for 3 terms for my condo.

Now I'm  chairman for RA of my landed strata, 2nd term d. B4 that 2 terms being the Secretary.

And yes we are a very successful RA. 80% active payments monthly. We are a 250 landed property housing estate. Very small in size. have a 4 acres Clubhouse,  a swimming pool, gymnasium, a 2 acres Surau

With half a million RM in FD. Targeting to up to rm1m in 2 years time.
Yes, owners are encouraged to join the committee or else they wouldn't know how difficult it is to manage a condo. Most owners only know how to complain, complain and complain and nothing else.

Why is that if you live in a landed strata development and you have RA (Residents Association) instead of a MC (Management Corporation) or JMB (Joint Management Board) to run the place?

scorptim
post Mar 30 2019, 04:07 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Mar 30 2019, 02:03 PM)
Wrong. The majority approval that is needed is during a committee meeting. Not every matter is required to be approved in a general meeting. Or else change security firm or lifts also must wait for AGM or EGM.
Anything above 50k spending requires AGM or EGM not just committee meeting. Face recognition system definitely costs more than that.
mycolumn
post Mar 30 2019, 04:09 PM

2,085 posts

This kind of thing normally will be discussed prior any implementation. Maybe ur family is not aware of the discussions

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:58 AM