Guys how to know will the insurance company 1 day in future will increase the price again by a few percent?
medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%, normal !?
Dec 27 2019, 03:57 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,363 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Guys how to know will the insurance company 1 day in future will increase the price again by a few percent?
Dec 27 2019, 08:36 AM
4,721 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 27 2019, 03:57 AM) Guys how to know will the insurance company 1 day in future will increase the price again by a few percent? as normal consumer you won't know. but it doesn't really matter where you buy it from. most companies do reprice every 2 to 3 years.Those whose insurance plan that don't reprice so frequent are usually those with co-insurance or deductible. |
Dec 27 2019, 10:14 AM
2,866 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Wangsa Maju, KL |
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 27 2019, 03:57 AM) Guys how to know will the insurance company 1 day in future will increase the price again by a few percent? hi Larry, there will be news about medical healthcare cost in Malaysia from time to time. just need to watch out on news. when you see news like that highly likely what follows after is the increased of medical insurance cost. |
Mar 15 2020, 03:28 PM
Hi guys, as you all know from this thread last year medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%. Today i found out for this year it have another massive increase, on my side it is up for another RM300. How come 2 massive increase for 2 years straight? Anyone experience the same thing???
Mar 15 2020, 03:32 PM
14,854 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 03:28 PM) Hi guys, as you all know from this thread last year medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%. Today i found out for this year it have another massive increase, on my side it is up for another RM300. How come 2 massive increase for 2 years straight? Anyone experience the same thing??? mind sharing which insurance company and which plan?from that,...hopefully related person with info from that company could chip in to help seek answer? |
Mar 15 2020, 04:01 PM
Mar 15 2020, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 03:28 PM) Hi guys, as you all know from this thread last year medical insurance cost sudden increase 29%. Today i found out for this year it have another massive increase, on my side it is up for another RM300. How come 2 massive increase for 2 years straight? Anyone experience the same thing??? QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 04:01 PM) thanks for sharing...not an expert here, but just kay poh till sifus come to make responses.... from their site.... there is this statement, "Annual premium chargeable in any policy year depends on the attained age next birthday of the life assured at renewal". Great MediCare II https://www.greateastern2u.com/great-medi-care-gmc/ thus I am just guessing, maybe bcos of this?....is it stated in your policy? |
Mar 15 2020, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 15 2020, 06:40 PM) thanks for sharing... no they increase the price. Like mine when i sign up according to the chart i have i had to pay 800++ a year since i was in the 30-35 age and then 36-40 price will increase to 1000++. Last year i was 33 years old but go a letter they have to increase the price due to cost of living so instead of rm800++ it became 1059 then now this year i am 34 but i have to pay rm 1338. The chart i had when i sign up was the one in your link...not an expert here, but just kay poh till sifus come to make responses.... from their site.... there is this statement, "Annual premium chargeable in any policy year depends on the attained age next birthday of the life assured at renewal". Great MediCare II https://www.greateastern2u.com/great-medi-care-gmc/ thus I am just guessing, maybe bcos of this?....is it stated in your policy? This post has been edited by JustcallmeLarry: Mar 15 2020, 06:55 PM |
Mar 15 2020, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 06:53 PM) no they increase the price. Like mine when i sign up according to the chart i have i had to pay 800++ a year since i was in the 30-35 age and then 36-40 price will increase to 1000++. Last year i was 33 years old but go a letter they have to increase the price due to cost of living so instead of rm800++ it became 1059 then now this year i am 34 but i have to pay rm 1338. The chart i had when i sign up was the one in your link... if you quit now, you loss while continue to wait for value added responses.....to weight your options..... i think tis is an open option until really cannot tahan anymore .... "If you face any discrepancies or dissatisfaction from your insurance company or takaful operator, there are different avenues where you can lodge a complaint to resolve the problem ...." http://www.insuranceinfo.com.my/help_and_a...g_complaint.php This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 15 2020, 08:49 PM |
Mar 15 2020, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 15 2020, 06:59 PM) if you quit now, you loss more, if you continue, next time increase may be more and or more frequent. while continue to wait for value added responses.....to weight your options..... i think tis is an open option until really cannot tahan anymore .... "If you face any discrepancies or dissatisfaction from your insurance company or takaful operator, there are different avenues where you can lodge a complaint to resolve the problem ...." http://www.insuranceinfo.com.my/help_and_a...g_complaint.php |
Mar 15 2020, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 07:34 PM) May I know what do you mean by if I quit now I will lose more?? Bcs I really was going to quit bcs this was not what I sign up for. I see on their website there are cheaper options. If quit means... Terminate or surrender the policy... not applicable , as pointed by Wayton...this is not a saving plan. This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 15 2020, 08:45 PM |
Mar 15 2020, 07:59 PM
897 posts Joined: May 2019 |
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 15 2020, 06:59 PM) if you quit now, you loss more, if you continue, next time increase may be more and or more frequent. while continue to wait for value added responses.....to weight your options..... i think tis is an open option until really cannot tahan anymore .... Don't understand what loss. Medical insurance is yearly renewal.. You don't lose any.money when opt not to renew. Just get another medical insurance from another better plan or company at the expense of risk of pre existing illness and first 6 months. Medical insurance is not saving plan whereby you lose saved amount if premature surrendering. This post has been edited by wayton: Mar 15 2020, 07:59 PM |
Mar 15 2020, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(wayton @ Mar 15 2020, 07:59 PM) Don't understand what loss. Medical insurance is yearly renewal.. You don't lose any.money when opt not to renew. Waiting period now is 6 months? Not 3 month???Just get another medical insurance from another better plan or company at the expense of risk of pre existing illness and first 6 months. Medical insurance is not saving plan whereby you lose saved amount if premature surrendering. |
Mar 15 2020, 10:44 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Why don't u buy ILP?
Mar 15 2020, 11:14 PM
Mar 16 2020, 12:07 AM
448 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Mar 16 2020, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(ahwai @ Mar 16 2020, 12:07 AM) I have both. But I have never made any claim since I sign up???ILP always price increase. General insurance medical card always follow premium schedule not simply increase but sometime can loading +25% / 50% once you got claim before. I had back to back year increase for the past 2 years.... Your company didn't increase? This post has been edited by JustcallmeLarry: Mar 16 2020, 12:19 AM |
Mar 16 2020, 06:49 AM
474 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 16 2020, 12:18 AM) But I have never made any claim since I sign up??? If you read the fine print, it probably would read 'cost of insurance is not guaranteed' meaning, the company reserves the right to increase it future. It also has to do with medical inflation and the company's claim records. I believe the link above is to an outdated brochure.I had back to back year increase for the past 2 years.... Your company didn't increase? |
Mar 16 2020, 09:38 AM
8,188 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 07:34 PM) ............Bcs I really was going to quit bcs this was not what I sign up for. I see on their website there are cheaper options. I think the below posting by Cyclopes may helps you decide the next course of action faster.....QUOTE(Cyclopes @ Mar 16 2020, 06:49 AM) If you read the fine print, it probably would read 'cost of insurance is not guaranteed' meaning, the company reserves the right to increase it future. It also has to do with medical inflation and the company's claim records. I believe the link above is to an outdated brochure. QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2020, 06:53 PM) ..... when i sign up according to the chart i have i had to pay 800++ a year since i was in the 30-35 age and then 36-40 price will increase to 1000++. Last year i was 33 years old but go a letter they have to increase the price due to cost of living so instead of rm800++ it became 1059 then now this year i am 34 but i have to pay rm 1338. ........... if stated in the fine prints gives them the "absolute" right ....then it is really |
Mar 16 2020, 10:49 AM
45 posts Joined: Feb 2020 |
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 16 2020, 09:38 AM) I think the below posting by Cyclopes may helps you decide the next course of action faster..... agreed that the compulsory prince increase is really bullshit from consumer point of view. if stated in the fine prints gives them the "absolute" right ....then it is really when i first bought insurance many years ago one of the main selling point mention by agent , is to buy when we are young because the price will go up when we are older and now i find out that the original price i bought at isn't actually locked in . |
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:37 PM |