Can I know what type of SSD that comes with Y530?
It is PCIe SSD rather than M.2?
Is it considered as NVMe?
Lenovo Legion Gaming Laptop (Y530, Y730) Thread V1, also include upcoming Legion(Y540, Y740)
Apr 5 2019, 07:25 PM
243 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Can I know what type of SSD that comes with Y530?
It is PCIe SSD rather than M.2? Is it considered as NVMe? |
Apr 5 2019, 07:41 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
43 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 5 2019, 07:25 PM) Can I know what type of SSD that comes with Y530? there is a confusion in your understanding.It is PCIe SSD rather than M.2? Is it considered as NVMe? M.2 is a form factor (i.e the physical slot/connector type) PCIe is the interface. M.2 can work with either PCIe or SATA interface. and finally, NVMe is the latest transfer protocol used by PCIe interfaces. to answer your question, all y530 ssd by default is in M.2 form factor and running PCIe NVMe so it is m.2, and pcie, and nvme. lol This post has been edited by xcves: Apr 5 2019, 07:42 PM |
Apr 5 2019, 10:36 PM
8,240 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 5 2019, 07:12 PM) This is a ready stock bought from computer shop. Model 81FV00M8MJ correct?The 8GB RAM was bought at the shop to upgrade to become total 16GB. 128GB SSD + 1TB HDD came initially with the laptop, I actually think of getting 256GB SSD, but the computer guy advised me not to because scared will affect the laptop warranty. Will not void warranty (at least with my case). Changed HDD to SSD in my Y520 and service center still honor me warranty service. Even the guy told me that how it works: Laptop warranty still remains except for the SSD part (obviously) |
Apr 5 2019, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 5 2019, 07:25 PM) Can I know what type of SSD that comes with Y530? It only supports PCIe/NVMe M.2 SSD like many Lenovo laptops. Dunno why they dun support SATA M.2It is PCIe SSD rather than M.2? Is it considered as NVMe? You can add 2.5 inch SATA SSD also This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Apr 5 2019, 10:37 PM |
Apr 6 2019, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 5 2019, 10:36 PM) Model 81FV00M8MJ correct? Yes M8MJ.Will not void warranty (at least with my case). Changed HDD to SSD in my Y520 and service center still honor me warranty service. Even the guy told me that how it works: Laptop warranty still remains except for the SSD part (obviously) Will 256GB SSD better than 128GB, except in term of more storage capacity? |
Apr 6 2019, 09:45 AM
Apr 6 2019, 09:47 AM
Why does Y530 fan suddenly sound loud (spin fast) at interval and only for a short moment? I do not play game at that time. Any problem with that?
Apr 6 2019, 12:32 PM
Apr 6 2019, 12:33 PM
Apr 6 2019, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 6 2019, 09:47 AM) Why does Y530 fan suddenly sound loud (spin fast) at interval and only for a short moment? I do not play game at that time. Any problem with that? Because the fan is idle and not spinning at most light tasks like web browsing, etc..Compared with other laptops where the fan is constantly on but at lower rpm. Benefit is its overall much quieter as no fan spinning sound.. But sometimes it may need to spin up to cool the laptop down. But we dont know when or what will trigger the fan to spin up.. This is the part where we have no control over and many ppl have been complaining about it.. |
Apr 6 2019, 12:44 PM
Apr 6 2019, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 6 2019, 09:44 AM) Yes.Iinm, the 128gb ssd is 2240 size whereas 256gb and above is 2280 size. Which means its longer, and bigger in size. Some benefits are better memory block configurations as they are not cramped up and also better heat dissipation and heat generated much lesser. But that is just on physical size alone. Another diff is, the ssd model used itself. The 128gb is iinm by intel, its one of the slowest nvme ssd out there, akin to a sata ssd instead.. (but comparatively still way faster than hdd la). I think around 1k+ read speed and a few hundred write speeds.. Compared to the 256gb we get Samsung PM981 model(one of the best nvme around) read speeds 3k+ write speeds 1k+. Stark difference in r/w speed. Edit: you can check what components you have in your laptop by opening it up. Theres a tutorial on how to do it on youtube.. Or you can go lenovo support website enter your serial number (not model number) to get the exact config and components of your laptop.. from there you can also check the warranty details, download drivers, etc.. This post has been edited by xcves: Apr 6 2019, 12:58 PM |
Apr 6 2019, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(xcves @ Apr 6 2019, 12:52 PM) Yes. I only know this RPFTJ128PDD2EWX for the SSD.Iinm, the 128gb ssd is 2240 size whereas 256gb and above is 2280 size. Which means its longer, and bigger in size. Some benefits are better memory block configurations as they are not cramped up and also better heat dissipation and heat generated much lesser. But that is just on physical size alone. Another diff is, the ssd model used itself. The 128gb is iinm by intel, its one of the slowest nvme ssd out there, akin to a sata ssd instead.. (but comparatively still way faster than hdd la). I think around 1k+ read speed and a few hundred write speeds.. Compared to the 256gb we get Samsung PM981 model(one of the best nvme around) read speeds 3k+ write speeds 1k+. Stark difference in r/w speed. Edit: you can check what components you have in your laptop by opening it up. Theres a tutorial on how to do it on youtube.. Or you can go lenovo support website enter your serial number (not model number) to get the exact config and components of your laptop.. from there you can also check the warranty details, download drivers, etc.. Y530 can fit both 2240 and 2280 size? |
Apr 6 2019, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(wkh_united @ Apr 6 2019, 02:34 PM) Union memory (China brand), probably DRAMless (since it's a 2242 M.2) and low qualityIf the original one comes with 2242 (128GB) then yes. Remove the extension bracket and you can put in 2280 This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Apr 6 2019, 02:47 PM |
Apr 6 2019, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 6 2019, 02:47 PM) Union memory (China brand), probably DRAMless (since it's a 2242 M.2) and low quality Does changing to Samsung 970 Evo NVMe 250GB have significant difference in performance in real life?If the original one comes with 2242 (128GB) then yes. Remove the extension bracket and you can put in 2280 |
Apr 6 2019, 04:58 PM
3,217 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: City of Neko~~Nyaa~ |
If Lenovo discontinue y530?
Online store can get anymore.... |
Apr 6 2019, 05:01 PM
Apr 6 2019, 05:07 PM
Apr 6 2019, 05:19 PM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
hi, i own a Y50, can i know where i can get a screen replacement ? I have the hinge problem that cause the hinge jam when trying to open it.
| Change to: | 0.0149sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:32 PM |