Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

blackchides
post Nov 10 2020, 12:43 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 10 2020, 11:50 AM)
which particular technical jargon is confusing you? maybe we can share a little bit more with you.

I treat simple like my FD, but the only downside is that it is slower when it comes to withdrawing the money compared to actual FD.
FD's return is "guaranteed". Is that the case with SA Simple?
blackchides
post Mar 9 2021, 12:49 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 8 2021, 10:00 PM)
You need to understand what is bank charges and forex impact
But you will lose out at least RM5 in forex which you can probably gain by buy an extra 0.0001 of IJR which will gain on your long term horizon

Don’t forget with 0.1% conversion rate you lose another with another rm2 with multiple DCA which is why it is better to consolidate and VCA  doh.gif
Sorry, can you explain on this a bit more? If the fees are based on % and no minimum charge, then it shouldn't matter if you split RM1k into 4x RM250 right?

Unless there's a minimum flat fee that they incur?
blackchides
post Mar 16 2021, 07:44 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

https://the-ken.com/sea/story/stashaways-qu...o-advisor-code/

Good detailed article on state of robo-advisor industry and Stashaway's plans. Need an account to read but it's free to register.

This has been discussed before already in this thread but basically roboadvisers need a very high AUM to be profitable, upwards and around $10b AUM, (Stashaway only just crossed $1b AUM).

Upside is that apparently customer acquisition costs are lower and people tend to have more cash holdings in our region vs the West, so Stashaway is more confident they can make it here.

Also, part of the reason I've withdrawn from MyTheo and consolidated into Stashaway. I don't see MyTheo making it if combined with Japan, they only have less than $1b in AUM. I think Stashaway is moving in the right direction, growing into other regions like MENA, think they have a higher chance of succeeding.

P/S: In the article, it's mentioned SA's margin is 0.4%, so $4mln in revenue for $1b AUM - that's really not a lot and definitely why they still need investor cash to continue to grow/operate. Big backers like Fidelity and some strong funding rounds to-date though, so should be all good.

This post has been edited by blackchides: Mar 16 2021, 07:50 AM
blackchides
post Mar 16 2021, 11:04 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(JLJQ @ Mar 16 2021, 09:53 AM)
Thanks for the summary!

I think the $10b AUM benchmark is used more for roboadvisors in US right? Since SA's current primary markets are SG & MY and expanding in this region, operational cost are generally much lower over here, and the space is less competitive & crowded compared to the US, so given the context, $1b AUM (about RM4b) sounds ok as long as they keep on expanding.

I've also transferred my Wahed funds over to SA as I prefer them overall.
Yeah, think you're right, it could be more for US roboadvisors who also have a lower fee structure overall. In this and other article, they did say generally that they have strong unit economics and healthy cash holdings, so yeah, I think SA should do alright.

In Singapore, traditional banks have started offering roboadvisor-type products too though. Interested to see if Malaysian banks will follow suit - but they may not wanna cannibalize their own business.
blackchides
post Mar 16 2021, 01:52 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 16 2021, 12:12 PM)

Not to mention I already have an exit strategy in mind for Stashaway once I have a bigger capital...
Mind to share what that is? DIY ETF with broker?
blackchides
post Mar 16 2021, 02:32 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 16 2021, 01:59 PM)
Yeap, DIY etf, going to minimize fees while buying the haystack...

Stashaway's fees are amazing for what they provide, but it's still too high for my taste. (I want <0.6% flat TER including underlying etf cost)

My personal plan is to have less than 50k on SA and if things goes well, I'd likely just use SA for short to medium term cash management.
Fair enough, I did do the math on DIY, in the end figured, besides the expertise issue, I still have to pay the brokerage fees and switching fees if I self-rebalance or reoptimize, and also a time/effort cost. Plus harder to DCA if brokers have a high minimum fee, which they usually do. Unless, I buy the ETFs on zero-commission platforms like eToro - which I'm even more uncomfortable in doing.

So, happy to pay the premium for now, and hopefully as my holdings with them grow, the average fee will come down.

But like you said, if I have bigger capital to work with and more knowledge, DIY definitely a good option to consider to avoid annual fees.

blackchides
post Mar 16 2021, 06:42 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(pendekartauhu @ Mar 16 2021, 05:50 PM)
5-7k? I suggest u better increase your earning power rather than nitpicking those small fee.
This type of comment is not constructive and not relevant, bro. Keep the discussiona healthy smile.gif
blackchides
post Mar 17 2021, 02:38 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 17 2021, 01:16 PM)
i all in stashaway.  biggrin.gif  just get a credit card with high credit limit and medical card you should be good. nowadays unlikely need huge amount of cash suddenly unless got people kena kidnapped need ransom or relatives want to borrow money from you.
Funnily, that's how I'm rationalizing my cash holdings, besides the X months of expenses. Eg. what if one day, my mum or bro suddenly needs to borrow RM30k from me lol.

blackchides
post Mar 17 2021, 05:39 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Stashaway 36% RI Portfolio - "In Case of Kidnapping" LOL

Nola, my bro has history of borrowing cash, car accident repair car, etc.

Mom, not really haha - she has no medical card because of pre-existing conditions la, but that one can be settled with credit card while liquidating other funds.

blackchides
post Mar 18 2021, 12:41 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

What was the Smartly experience in recovering funds? I think that's a good analogue to learn from.
blackchides
post Mar 18 2021, 02:49 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 18 2021, 02:46 PM)
i do 2k fortnightly. 

Is it better to do 1k weekly?
It's just more smoothening. If there's not a lot of volatility, higher frequency has diminishing returns.

FWIW, I'm doing weekly.

blackchides
post Mar 19 2021, 04:15 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Mar 19 2021, 02:37 PM)
the last time i compared FSM managed portfolio vs SA robo, the performance was laughable. Bear in mind, 36% RI from SA is exceeding IRR of 20%, since early 2019.

Individual funds in FSM, can surely give above 20% but not without the risks.
I noticed the same too, I used to DCA into FSM moderately aggressive managed portfolio but the returns just aren't great, and the fund expense ratios start getting annoying when the returns are low.

To be fair, my only performance benchmark then was from people in the FSM LYN thread that rag on Managed Portfolios a lot (pokemon-style portfolio, etc), so I may be a bit biased.

Withdrew the whole lot from FSM the moment my portfolio broke even, moved to Stashaway when they launched in Malaysia and never looked back biggrin.gif .

These days, I only use them for PRS funds.

This post has been edited by blackchides: Mar 19 2021, 04:17 PM
blackchides
post Mar 22 2021, 06:08 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(infernape772 @ Mar 22 2021, 05:08 PM)
I believe some people are still rolling on the free annual management fee by referring other people. I invested for more than 1 year on SA have not started paying management fees yet, plan to take out big chunk once the term ends.
Guilty. Been referring people every 6 months - sometimes even funding their RM1 to start their accounts. biggrin.gif

They gave a talk at my company recently too, and offered free management fee for up to RM100k AUM for 6 months to employees - just send them mail using company email address. Pretty cool tongue.gif
blackchides
post Mar 27 2021, 04:56 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Mar 27 2021, 03:38 PM)
BFM code is valid until when yea? Cuz I have existing promotion going from friend's referral, so by right I should use BFM only after my friend's promo is over, yes?
If your existing promotion is enough to cover the sum you have invested, then yes, you should wait until the promo is over.

That's what I'm doing too.
blackchides
post Mar 31 2021, 09:01 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

BFM code is working again for those who missed it first time round. RM100k managed free for 3 months.
blackchides
post Apr 1 2021, 07:04 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 1 2021, 06:54 PM)
Aiyah, people still trust established fund houses more mah. Those uncles and aunties out there would rather deal with the long timers XD especially if they're rich enough to get financial adviser/priority banking laugh.gif
Very true. Very difficult to convince old-timers to move to this shiny "DIY" app when familiar Big Bank brands are attached to UT funds and are serviced by agents.
blackchides
post Apr 15 2021, 10:38 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 15 2021, 04:14 PM)
(wheeze) fair point rclxms.gif I'm personally not a fan of Bogleheads™ approach, but I'm a bit of a active gambler by nature. I do like to pick and choose specific sectors XD even if more volatile.

But back on topic, IMO investors shouldn’t pick their robos solely on who charges the least amount of fees, even though fees do make some impact over time. One should also consider how each robo chooses their assets and why, how the rebalancing/reoptimising of portfolio happens with the robo, and  whether the robo actually brings in good returns. If profits are high enough your investment will pay its own fees, so to speak laugh.gif
Good summary. Just one more consideration to add: whether the robo is at risk of going bust. Stashaway manages investments well so far, but they're also growing their business and expanding into new markets at a steady rate as well, which is good news for investors on their platform. The bigger Stashaway grows, the more confidence investors would have in their business sustainability.

I know the funds are held with trustees for robos, but even if you can recoup your deposits in full, the opportunity cost and mental stress while you're recouping your investments would be considerable.

blackchides
post May 13 2021, 04:12 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 13 2021, 03:40 PM)
Oh, this one...I read some days ago, but I didn't see immediate effect to our portfolio until yesterday's.
What's normally our take in our investments when this happens...we stay calm and keep doing what we're doing? Genuine question sleep.gif
Lol the answer to these types of questions in this thread will be the same as it has always been. In it for the long term, just stay calm and keep buying in regularly.

It's boring but sound advice. biggrin.gif
blackchides
post May 26 2021, 12:13 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

It's been talked to death in this thread but just want to point out for transparency that generally speaking, (1) DCA itself is a form of timing the market because you're deliberately choosing not to invest now on the fear that the market may dip in the future, (2) history favours lump sum investing over DCA approximately 2/3 of the time.

You can check out a couple of links here on the subject:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/robertberger/2...sh=6fb5351e7c50

https://ofdollarsanddata.com/dollar-cost-av...ng-vs-lump-sum/

However, it comes down to an individual's risk tolerance - if DCA is psychologically more comforting and helps you sleep better at night, then absolutely go for DCA.

I am personally a bit impatient and don't like waiting for my money to start working for me, so knowing the historical data and that my investment horizon is long term, I am very comfortable just investing lump sum.

Go with the strategy that you're most comfortable with and that will allow you to stay invested during the downturn without being tempted to pull out your funds.

This post has been edited by blackchides: May 26 2021, 12:17 AM
blackchides
post Jun 6 2021, 10:54 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 6 2021, 09:16 PM)
I always thought Stashaway is powered by AI insight + intervention of their investment team doh.gif  doh.gif
Definitely not AI, but there's an investment framework (ERAA) that processes certain economic indicators which the investment team will use to decide on portfolio allocation.

0.0538sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:47 AM