Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

blackchides
post Jun 25 2021, 05:13 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

If you have the knowledge, analysis and experience to show that the current portfolio will give the most optimal returns and you want to keep it, then turn off re-optimization.

If you don't and want to surrender the decision-making to Stashaway's investment team, then leave it on.

There really is no complexity to this decision. The outcome 1 year, 2 years, 5 years on has no link to the information you had when you made the decision so it's moot.

Performance tracking vs other options is a completely separate question of course.
blackchides
post Jun 25 2021, 05:37 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Freddy's (not mine) usual answer to this is you have to compare the risk-adjusted returns, and also their portfolios are designed to minimize volatility, so you don't get large swings in returns, as each supposedly diversified asset class will compensate accordingly based on the economic cycles.

So it could be (just conjecture) that you see large returns now with equity ETFs but may see larger drops later on when there's a major correction, whereas Stashaway's portfolio would theoretically be smoother, because they are about managing the risk as well as returns.

Anyway, personally for me, my motivation with Stashaway is more for convenience and also because they seem like they're on the right trajectory in terms of growth/financial health (ie. less likely to close shop) vs the other robos.

I thought about DIY ETFs but didnt like the minimum buy orders. Had a look at VOO/VTI though - they have 10 year annualized returns of 14-15%? That's really good! Can't find any metrics on the typical fund measures - Sharpe, Alpha, Beta, etc.

This post has been edited by blackchides: Jun 25 2021, 05:39 PM
blackchides
post Jun 25 2021, 06:19 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 25 2021, 05:58 PM)
I am attaching my own backtest comparing SPY500 and the super mega 36%
All risk return metrics - Sharpe, alpha, sortino - SPY500 aka VTI aka VOO beats 36%, but only by small margins. I would say they are SAME. This means corrections and drawdowns are also equally as smooth. Also the rises. What do you think?

[attachmentid=10911925]

Now, I also agree about the convenience factor of SA, dont get me wrong here. RM10 or RM100 anytime, it is really an unbeatable method of investment. You bring a big chunk to your broker, you start feeling lucky and that's when emotions defeat the rational investor.
What tool is this? Looks really useful!

Based on that snapshot, you're right, VTI/VOO have roughly equal metrics with 36%, slightly better Sharpe/Sortino, roughly equal drawdowns.

Only thing I guess is the 36% ETF mix doesn't remain fixed because in theory it's adjusted based on their economic indicators, reoptimization every 2-4 years? So it's hard to use metrics that stretch past the last two years to compare? Of course this isn't good for Stashaway investors - less means of direct comparison unless you do your own manual records. Which means your measure is isolated to whether you are satisfied with the returns profile that your SA portfolio gives you. They do have some benchmark on their website la, but that's about it, I think?
blackchides
post Jun 26 2021, 12:55 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 26 2021, 12:31 AM)
Btw DRJASON promo code works even for non new customer. So... you guys can use it. Haha. But i think runs concurrently with other promo codes.

Not promoting but just adding on to the youtube video shared.

The promo code is for 3 months
100% management fee for 3 months it says - so no management fees for 3 months? That's excellent, thanks for sharing!
blackchides
post Jun 26 2021, 12:57 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jun 26 2021, 12:56 AM)
How to use the coupon?
I'm still newbie to stashaway.
Go to app. More --> Promotions --> scroll down, "Enter promotion code".

This is for iOS app.

This post has been edited by blackchides: Jun 26 2021, 12:58 AM
blackchides
post Jul 27 2021, 09:56 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

By the way, did anyone manage to check or confirm in their own accounts, if the DRJASON code covers 100% of your existing funds or just the newly deposited fresh funds after applying the code?

blackchides
post Aug 19 2021, 12:30 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 18 2021, 10:40 PM)

not sure about others, but for me, it will be too much if any slight % of falling movement of the balance in my portfolio makes me depressed and impacted my work, social and family lives
This is the right answer. AKA the 'sleep well at night' rule. If the losses will cause you to lose sleep at night or distract from day-to-day life, then you know you're in too deep and it's time to adjust your portfolio mix to be less risky.
blackchides
post Aug 24 2021, 12:41 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

There's already a good sharing just one page back by another forummer on why SA does reoptimization, it's to manage risk, it's not just about "buy and hold" passive investing. They have never claimed this. Yes, they claim to "stay invested" but always in the context of minimizing risk in the portfolio. This distinction is very important.

They decide when to reoptimize based on the macroeconomic indicators from their investment framework, and have also explained at length in their blog posts, if you've read them. Whether or not you choose to believe them is based on your personal ability to critically analyze their decisions.

The argument of "buy and hold S&P500 over X years will earn more" is moot, because that's not the objective for SA. Their objective is to smoothen out the curve to keep you in the investment game, so you don't tap out, or suffer large drawdowns at the time you need to check out your investment for your other life goals - the market doesn't move according to your life plans and your stage in life. In short, it's all about minimizing volatility. Hence their portfolios options are structured based on risk - ie. "1% chance you may lose up to 36% of your portfolio" for 36% SRI, and not "X% chance you will get Y% returns over Z period".

Now, what I've said above is not new, and has been repeated many times by other forummers. If some choose not to read, how can they blame tired/bored folks in this thread who would recommend to just go with a different investment vehicle because it's clear this it not the right product for people who just want to "buy and hold". So yes, it is " you tak suka, you keluar", but only because it's boring to repeat an argument 100x.

blackchides
post Aug 25 2021, 02:25 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Don't feed the troll, just ignore biggrin.gif
blackchides
post Sep 2 2021, 05:09 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Sep 2 2021, 01:11 PM)

Promo code get from Maxis One Club's deal.
Thanks for sharing! Is the voucher limited? Wonder if I can download the deal first but only use it after DRJASON expires.

Also, what is the Boost Partnership Voucher that I see? Mind sharing if that deal is still available?

This post has been edited by blackchides: Sep 2 2021, 05:10 PM
blackchides
post Sep 11 2021, 02:21 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/why-suze-orm...-230000931.html

Just sharing for those who usually go with DCA over lump sum. Not new insight per se, but a good reminder on what's actually statistically better for you when you manage to get past the psychology of needing the DCA safety net.

“Essentially, the data support the adage: Time in the market beats timing the market. Investing (a) windfall immediately allows an investor to capture returns with all of their capital at the outset,” the report says.

In fact:

With a 100% fixed-income portfolio, lump sum investing outperformed dollar-cost averaging 90% of the time.

With a traditional 60/40 split, lump sum investing won 80% of the time.

And with a 100% stock portfolio, lump sum investing outperformed 75% of the time.

To be absolutely clear, this is for scenario where let's say you have RM10k, and you're not sure whether to just invest all now, or to spread it over let's say 6 to 12 months. If you're investing your salary steadily every month, that doesn't count in this definition of DCA, because you're technically lump sum investing your salary every month.

So in short, what this means is, if you can just get over the psychological need to drip feed your investment because of fear, history shows that lump sum investing immediately beats DCA most of the time. And both lump sum and DCA methods are better than just holding onto your money while trying to time the market.

If the fear of investing a lot of money at once is keeping you from investing at all, you might benefit from the slow and steady method. DCA also beats holding on to your cash while you wait for a “good time” to invest, the study says.

blackchides
post Sep 24 2021, 10:17 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Any other promo codes anyone know of besides DRJASON and MAXIS? biggrin.gif
blackchides
post Oct 2 2021, 12:09 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Folks, another quarter, another comedian discount biggrin.gif

Code DOUGLASLIM

100% managed for 3 months when depositing rm1

https://youtu.be/ShdOMTITQgk

Can watch his vid to support too.
blackchides
post Jan 29 2022, 04:08 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 29 2022, 12:59 AM)
As long not KWEB type of red. US stocks will bounce back one.
My portfolio in IBKR also much red. All of them US stocks and ETFS (irish domiciled).
Keep maintain DCA and wait for them to bounce back up.
Lari tajuk a bit but what's the purpose of irish domiciled ETFs? To avoid taxes? What's the name of the stock exchange code on IBKR and are the likes of VTI/VOO/QQQ listed there too?
blackchides
post Dec 4 2022, 01:47 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Dec 2 2022, 01:20 PM)

black rock portfolio optimised more frequently…so far feel better than existing SA portfolio
Being with SA and now observing how blackrock optimizes so frequently, I think every of their investors need to be clear that this is basically active management. Yes, it's active management via ETF, but it's active management nonetheless.

And there's nothing wrong with that - it just means their performance must be measured against the other actively managed funds out there, and it can't be treated as a "passive" investment vehicle like you would do with the Bogleheads approach to buying index funds (which is what SA basically advocate for with their "time in the market vs timing the market bs, I mean they're basically timing the market too). And so far, it really isn't clear that they are outperforming the other actively managed funds like KDI, Airo or other robos like myTHEO, etc.

SA is good as a gateway investment vehicle with its ease of use - was the case for me last time as well, so they deserve credit for that. But it's definitely worth getting over the learning curve and moving towards the DIY investment approach, especially if one only plans to put majority of funds more passively into index funds.

blackchides
post Mar 30 2024, 11:49 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

I havent really checked their numbers to verify so it's just a hunch - but I believe their performance since the China KWEB debacle has improved. Just glancing through returns from the app.

0.4246sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:02 AM