Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Dec 9 2021, 02:59 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
thread has been quiet past few days. guess markets are going up
Dec 15 2021, 11:45 PM
More KWEB meltdown
Dec 21 2021, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(igx0908 @ Dec 21 2021, 10:34 AM) Is SA a good platform for fresh grads? I'm thinking to try out some passive investing as I not really good in this area. I was recommended around 18% risk index can you afford basic medical, critical care and car insurance for every year comfortably? if yes then only think about investing jacksonpang liked this post
Dec 21 2021, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 21 2021, 03:22 PM) DCA only works for the first few rounds (assuming your bullets are equal sized). after some time, the bullets have no effect. if like that it's not dollar cost 'averaging' anymore. e.g., you invest RM1000, then you DCA 100, 100, 100, you can see the losses lessen %-wise. if you already invested RM50000, the 100 have no effect. unless you have exponential amount RM1000, topup RM100, topup 120, topup 150, topup 200, topup 1000, topup 5000 this i learnt during the 2008 subprime crisis |
Dec 22 2021, 11:19 PM
Dec 31 2021, 01:06 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
KWEB limit up
Jan 4 2022, 08:30 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
If I'm not mistaken the healthcare portfolio all investing in pseudoscience and genetics what not. From the get go already rather dodgy. Hoshiyuu liked this post
Jan 5 2022, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 5 2022, 08:10 AM) Example of pseudoscience? science with no real world evidence.Genetics is an interesting field of medicine though. With the advent of AI, it could be accelerated to help more. That is my view. On the company though then 😆 that is a very big 'could'. genetic medicine will always be super expensive and only handful of helangs can afford it. not very scaleable. |
Jan 5 2022, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(jonoave @ Jan 5 2022, 09:25 AM) Really want to facepalm at those saying pseudoscience etc. genomics is always about personalised and highly specific medicine. prices are only going to go up and not down. COVID vaccines are an outlier due to the pandemic. on a regular day nobody will buy mRNA stuff at such a global scale. I don't even know what you mean exactly by genetics medicine. Unless you want to say genetics medicine --> personalised medicine? Or do you want to talk about genomics or molecular approach - which for example is how almost all biomedical research is done these days and as an example, how the Covid-vaccines are developed? The issue is to spot good companies vs bad. Not every company is like Theranos. That's like saying all tech companies suck because Nikola is scammer. Even Tesla is doing research in many areas, some products will succeed, some don't. Personalised medicine doesn't mean it's only for individual A, it can also lead to specalised treatment based on cancer location,gender,stage etc. That's why cancer studies are done in cohorts. Of course initial discoveries/treatments will be expensive, but prices usually fall as tech gets better and adoptions become widespread and improvements are made. your example of cancer therapy is a good example. more and more targeted therapies are being discovered but the prices only keep flying up. when your portfolio is 40% of these companies it's a huge gamble. high risk high reward lor i guess if they can somehow scale their products |
Jan 5 2022, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 5 2022, 11:39 AM) Super expensive on very rare diseases. most cancer biologics are still in patent for more than 5 years. even then when generic companies do biosimilars it won't be cheap. it's a different ball game compared to traditional medicine design. it's not like paracetamol where you can replicate the original panadol and change the colour or shape or an additive then you can call it a generic. biologics are much more complicated. On cancer cells etc then will be common. As for prices going up, well it will depend on the generic market I guess if that is possible. Sooner or later the tech will trickle down. Hopefully 😆 |
Jan 5 2022, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(jonoave @ Jan 5 2022, 06:23 PM) Well if you want to cash in on short-term sure, then of course all this won't fit you. lol And there is no such thing as "cancer biologics", whatever that means. There only "traditional" medicine design these days are herbal/natural supplements, all drug design these days use genomic-based approaches. And that includes drug design for various diseases and vaccines, like for HIV, malaria etc. Even if this drugs are limited due to price, there could still be consumer/investor interest that drive up the stock price It's fine if you think this won't be a profitable investment, after all everyone's risks and appetites are different. But calling them "pseudoscience" and throwing terms without knowing what they undermines your credibility. https://www.medicinenet.com/biologics_biolo...s_for_biologics suggest you to read more on drug design, drug delivery, pharmacoecnomics and critical appraisal of evidence if it's your cup of tea to brush up on your basics. to me all these gene therapy are just pseudoscience but if you believe it like how some people have faith in homeopathy and ivermectin to cure COVID that's your choice. |
Jan 6 2022, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(jonoave @ Jan 6 2022, 12:25 AM) Interesting term biologics: I guess it's a recent term I missed but then I do more on molecular studies and less on drug design/discovery. since when did i say it was fake? pseudoscience and fake are two different matters. in fact pseudoscience is highly profitable. because it promises the world to consumers. you might have received an ad for saliva testing to map your genome with so many celebrity endorsement? is the evidence strong? not really. but they seem to able to cash in or just have a big whale investor.But I do admire your superiority complex, just because you read some stuff and think it's fake you suddenly think everything is fake. A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Just because of Theranos or scam companies, suddenly the entire bioscience and medical research on gene therapy etc is pseudoscience. Like I said, it's up to you if you want to invest. But making a sweeping statement that all this is pseudoscience already tells me what kind of person you are. Btw: that website has nothing useful except generic description/warning typical for most drugs. And also did a quick google: there is no one or anyone using the term "cancer biologics". the only hit for "biologics" is that website you linked to. No wonder as I'm more used to terms like biopharmacology/biopharmaceuticals. just look at all the nonsense products that came out during covid like the chlorine tag and many people still buy it. biologics is a broad term. cancer biologics just means biologic products related to cancer like monoclonal antibody treatments. even then they don't affect the gene much. |
Jan 6 2022, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(weicuenbb @ Jan 6 2022, 03:22 PM) hi guys, i would like to start investing and I am thinking if SA is suitable for beginners like me and also is it the right timing? have you covered yourself with medical insurance yet?Should I go straight into investing EFT or SA Simple? I am not looking for any overnight growth, just want to have some small passive income.. |
Jan 7 2022, 08:51 AM
KWEB is like crypto nowadays. up down 4-5% every other day
Jan 10 2022, 02:26 PM
honsiong liked this post
Jan 11 2022, 11:34 PM
KWEB is carrying the entire portfolio now
Jan 12 2022, 10:40 AM
Jan 14 2022, 09:12 AM
Did Uncle Freddy predict the market sell off when he sent us an email earlier yesterday to calm our tits
Jan 14 2022, 10:16 AM
copy paste from email
Hi zstan You might have logged in recently and seen a spike in your investments. The reality is that in the short term, investing can certainly feel like a bumpy ride, because the markets react in unpredictable ways to company-specific news, geopolitical events, and more. These reactions lead to market ups and downs that we know are inevitable, yet these short term swings can still distract us from our long-term investment plan. I’m here to emphasise that these substantial ups and downs are exactly why it’s crucial that you keep your emotions out of investing and stick to your plan. When you log in and see your investments doing well, this doesn’t mean you can abandon your monthly investment plan and put more money in! You’ll be buying high, and then you’ll see inflated losses later on. And, when you log in and see your investment not doing as well as you'd like, you shouldn't turn off your monthly investment plan just because you fear that you’re losing too much money. It’s in times such as these that it’s cheap to buy. Not convinced that you shouldn't react to short-term volatility? Check out the S&P500's performance from Bloomberg over a 6-month period: StashAway Ok, now let’s zoom out to the S&P 500's performance over a 15 year period, where that 6-month performance is circled below: StashAway The lesson here is that the markets average upwards in the long term, and so you need to stick to your investment plan to catch that wave. In other words, don’t make emotional decisions. So, whenever you experience a sudden increase or sudden decrease in returns, remember to think about the big picture, and don’t get too excited, or too upset. If you have any questions about your investment strategy and deposit plan, you can always reach out to our client engagement team, and they’ll be happy to walk you through the best way to set up your investments. Yours in investing, Freddy Co-founder and CIO |
Jan 14 2022, 10:22 AM
Received the email at 7.52 pm then KWEB meltdown 6% this morning LOL
| Change to: | 0.5274sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:25 PM |