17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSyklooi
post Dec 12 2021, 08:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 12 2021, 08:27 PM)
Also I don't get why he keep say stashaway SG better. Malaysia Stashaway also invests in USD. As per my screenshot here to prove it.

i think he did mentioned earlier that he wanted to use his sgd in his sg bank,....
SUSyklooi
post Dec 12 2021, 08:38 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 12 2021, 08:31 PM)
Then transfer from cimb sg to cimb malaysia to save on forex. Or use wise from sg bank to a malaysian local bank. Fees not much also.
maybe he has fear on extra expenses on the conversion.....

arslow
do take note of the above posted option?
SUSyklooi
post Dec 12 2021, 08:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Dec 11 2021, 04:10 PM)
Trying now. Seems SA ask more questions than Wahed haha
any updates on your SA SG application?

SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2021, 12:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Dec 16 2021, 11:41 AM)
for diversified portfolio setup,...
is 20% in China alot?

for me,...it is not.
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2021, 01:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Dec 16 2021, 01:29 PM)
20% in EM / 20% of port in ~53 stocks

Depending on where you are looking from...

From a stock picker standpoint where "diversified" is 20 - 30 stocks? Very diversified.

From a SP500 investor standpoint, eh, about right for a China tilt.

From a VT/VWRA and chill investor standpoint (~9000+ stocks), that's insanely China/EM tilted that it's too risky by all measures.

In the end, its up to the individual investor's investment philosophy and risk appetite...
yes, that is very true.

but for a diversified port....and again,..it depends on the "type/amount" of diversification defined by that individual...

From a stock picker standpoint where "diversified" is 20 - 30 stocks? Very diversified.
(even if all in 1 country/sector?)

From a SP500 investor standpoint, eh, about right for a China tilt.
(even if at 9:1 ?)

From a VT/VWRA and chill investor standpoint (~9000+ stocks), that's insanely China/EM tilted that it's too risky by all measures.
(if at 1:9 then it si for me is true)

SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 05:30 AM

8,188 posts

🤔🤔Without knowing what % of SRI,.... How to know, "Returns should be 18% before kweb wipe out?"
Also KWEB is just 20% of the portfolio, kweb is down 50%.
Thus the max impact on portfolio returns caused by kweb is only - 10%...that is excluding the positives returns from others etfs in the portfolio

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 17 2022, 05:52 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 08:06 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jan 17 2022, 07:21 AM)
Go calculate back and you can tell it is 36% sri for sure because the gains were pared down by KWEB otherwise it will be double the gains  doh.gif
You go check back and you show us the data why or how to get "should be around 18%"?
doh.gif guy.
Hope it is not another usual none fact based pluck from the air comments.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 18 2022, 09:19 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 08:27 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 17 2022, 08:14 AM)
sometimes i just ignore his posts as more comments will complicate the thread conversation.
I used to do the same ignoring of his posts, just that he used the confident word "should be around 18%", I thought he knew or got some fact to shows this time.... But I think I am wrong again this time.... Unless he showed otherwise with fact based data.
Well, unless his "around" means can be + / - 500% of that 18%👍

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 17 2022, 08:32 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 08:57 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(,Jan 16 2022, 04:36 PM)
.... invested 100k over 2 years but return only 3%.
QUOTE(,Jan 16 2022, 05:19 PM)
... he did it lump sum
Over 2 yrs returns is 3% returns
Over 2 yrs, let's assumed it to be Dec 2019 till Dec 2021....
2020, see image of SA performance,
Jan till mid Feb 2021, if i can remember correctly, the markets was hot thus up... ... Then it fell.
To get to 3% after 2 yrs,.... See the image n do the maths with consideration of the % of kweb allocation (if you want to blame it on kweb), to see at what possible % SRI, it can be till the results is only 3% gains in 2 yrs.

SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2022, 09:17 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 17 2022, 09:14 AM)
don't forget their rates of return omits the 0.8% management fees. it's a graph designed to "convince" newcomers to jump into SA, not as a means to really measure the performance
Yes, but with stellar performance,... Many don't mind the x% of fees, .... Some still stick or go ut even thought the fees are much higher..

SUSyklooi
post Jan 26 2022, 06:41 PM

8,188 posts

if the composition of allocation are like this....then,...

SUSyklooi
post Jan 30 2022, 01:52 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Jan 30 2022, 01:46 PM)
Imagine swing trading your new house down payment / wedding fund through a roboadvisor 👀
not as bad as trading on a sole bet or heavy biased bet on ARkk or KWEB etfs

lagi worst if kena scammed like this....on her wedding fund
Woman lost $17k she had saved for her wedding to a job scam
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/cour...g-to-a-job-scam
SUSyklooi
post Feb 2 2022, 10:48 PM

8,188 posts

as long as the person feels that that time spend will make him satisfied......that is BEST use of his time.

be it 5 mins a day or 5 hours a day....as long as it bring him satisfaction or contentment....that is BEST time spend of his life...

what are you spending your BEST time on daily?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 2 2022, 11:13 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 10:00 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 08:44 AM)
Many still here haven't realized despite all chill pill sent by SA, is still underperformed sp500.

Any sort of debate or strategy are waste of time, UT, etf crypto etc.

Sp500 is always being ridiculed so called '' the virgins fund '', is boring and don't require much knowledge, pay checks in, 30% straight to there.

Can't perform equivalent of sp500 = waste of time

While SA still in the reds, my akrunow now with heavy sp500 still in the greens.

There is no need any debate, sp500 is like your math passing score, if u can't pass with minimum score, explanations are just fancy excuse.

Cathy woods portfolio fell just right back down to sp500 levels earning, and many other investors follow suit.
If u have just stay invested in sp500, steady all the way.

Even with all the tech stocks down, sp500 just back to 2021 Oct level. Is more like noise than correction.
QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 08:54 AM)
Good for everyone that believe passing math is actually better than fail
while the "math" looks correct based on historical results as the sp500 index has returned a historic annualized average return of around 10.5% since its 1957 inception through 2021.

While that average number may sound attractive, timing is everything: Get in at a high or out at a relative low and you will not enjoy such returns.
Just BE prepared to wait it out

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 9 2022, 10:05 AM

SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 10:15 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 10:11 AM)
Err that's why u dca???

The graph, is outlining if u buy at worst time (highest in decades).

Say like in your graph it took about 20 years to go back same highest high, in that 20 years u buy all the way down, u also buy all the way up back to previous high.
just be prepared to wait it out...
DCA is or not does not matters...just that what (average cost/index value in this chart) you accumulated before......will drops in value/index point ...until it rises up again...
thus JUST be prepared to wait it out.

wait 20 yrs...what if that is at your start of retirement age?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 9 2022, 10:16 AM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 10:53 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 10:43 AM)
Instead of wait just invest? U don't just invest at the highest point right?

How do u know when is highest? When is the lowest, if u can predict like a clairvoyant why bother sp500. Straight got for highest gain stocks u can predict.

But that's the thing we can't predict. Thus dca all the way, long term it should go up.

The logic u try to convey is like u will only able to buy at highest high and then when u see ir drop u just stun there until it recover to highest high.

Like 2021 is the highest high, say u have 10k invested. Next 5 years drop 40%, and u don't do anything. Ofc the 10k is wasted time there.

U dca 1k per month for the next 5 years, when it comes bCk up, the money u invested over the 5 year dca is the one giving u returns not the initial 10k.

That's why dca...

That's why I never understand why SA freedy always switching etf in repot, like every 6 months. That's not passive investment, that's trying to be like the next Cathy wood
if you can't predict...then is NOT so easy to pass maths....

DCA means you are averaging your cost ..... whatever you had accumulated will be impacted......

below example,...is DID not buy at peak......but start accumulating for 14 yrs....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 9 2022, 10:56 AM

SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 11:08 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 10:56 AM)
And back to the question, how does SA know when is the best time.
Esp ppl enter at different time, where the reopt happens to all user at the same time. Some will end up buy low sell high, or vice versa.

U end up the best way for SA to work is also dca through SA, hope Freddy don't sink your ship.

Now if there is a benchmark like sp500 and Freddy, which do u think is doing better over the long run, that's the question.

I have no problem with dca, nor market fluctuations, it happens if u were to invest.

But at the very very very least, don't lose to a benchmark....

If u lose money with big hoo haa of graph and technical analysis, and big jargon words compare to a snob like me.
Then you are just losing money professionally...
what is the benchmark you wanted to use?

look for historical performance of those funds that has those benchmark and use it to narrow down your search.
ex: if you liked to use SP500 index as a benchmark....then look for funds that use SP500 as a benchmark....
then look at the historical performance of that fund.

btw,...do note that....
a benchmark may consist of up and down periods of various durations too.
thus some people don't like to follow or use market indexes like SP500 as a benchmark.....
to them it is too unpredictable and worst for them in their mind is what if that fund is following the benchmark index...but that benchmark index is going for a long trend down?

thus for them,...they prefer to use x% of annualised returns
SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 11:29 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 11:25 AM)
Sp500 the entry level when anyone talks economy, investing.
It shows the performance of to 500 companies in US.

Often when looking at sp500  shows how well the economy is going in US.

Is serves and an indicator. Is like a snapshot of what's the market is doing,

So if any investment who cant trace or keep up with how the economy is running. Is big waste of time.

Heck if lose money, is even worse than FD.

U can use dow Jones industry if u like, u like tech bench mark use nasdaq, u wanna know how Japan econ is doing use nikkei, if u believe Malaysia economy look at klse.
That's what benchmark are, is a broad way of seeing how a demographic econ works.

So... Say u believe in Malaysia econ, is performing +40%  in 40 years, u do investment after 40 years gain only 30%. That just means u wasted your time and lost 10% for '' being an investor ''

I choose sp500 cuz is the snapshot of US economy
if you choose that index,...just go for funds that track that index....nothing else.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 11:36 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 11:32 AM)
Yea...... That's why I buy sp500??

If SA can't outperform this, why bother SA. U still pay 0.8% fee monthly to them
your choice, your money
so are people in SA, FSM, ASNB FP or FD threads etc etc.
they have their preferences so are yours and your preference

maybe they knew that they does not like to "wait" for years for it to recovers (as shown/posted previously)
thus they selected to go for not so focused market in their investment choice, or for something less unpredictable or simple a more diversified portfolio
just like ex: forummer sgh has decades of investment experience, and yet he still stick to a diversification....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 9 2022, 11:51 AM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2022, 11:57 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 9 2022, 11:54 AM)
Yea.. Is people choice to lose money professionally as well.
U still think it wait for years to recover. During the recovery (which is actually the dip), u won't buy, that's the problem there.
like i mentioned earlier,...what if you are in retirement age or having see other markets are better that SP500 during the SP500 "bad" years?

Then it will be same even if u use SA or anything else.

There is no guarantee SA is predictable. Is just a projection Freddy and his team.
a diversified portfolio will be in common sense les volatile than focusing on just a market like SP500. thus will be more predictable

If I say, I can make u alot alot money. The right question to ask is how much?

I say I make u 2% per year. U will be like wtf this guy, fd does the same. Why invest in me.

Same goes when SA says they promise some projection, this projection or past performance compare to what?
SA does not invest with promises of ROI,...but more to controlling to less than 1% chance of losing your equivalent money of your selected %SRI in any given year

Which I said, if SA can't beat a  sp500 as benchmark that is widely known in the investment world. Is a waste of time, if u earn less than that, is a waste of money.
does SA benchmark SP500? does investors buy into SA thinking that it will beat SP500?

This includes everything, u buy property, crypto, businesses, land etc etc.

Ok since u don't understand. I use another benchmark. Cimb give fd, 1.8% PA,

If an investment csnt beat FD, will u invest? Let's keep it fair, let's say for the span of 15 years.
investment has risks....your money can goes up and it can goes down too....FD does not
what you happily gained these few years make you "confidence"....in SP500
so are many other people that ha invested fully in it for the last 13 years.
that is my conclusion in your perspective of SP500.

what you are comparing is just based on historical results on performance,...not forgetting the r\ate it can fall and the durations it will stay low.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 9 2022, 12:10 PM

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.4103sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:15 AM