37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 06:31 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jan 10 2021, 10:07 PM)
I disagree. MWR lower than TWR actually means you time the market wrong. Hence putting lumpsum at the beginning and leave it (TWR) is higher than adjusted returns due to cash flows (MWR).

If you DCA consistently and never try to time the market, your MWR will always be higher than TWR due to the auto rebalancing.
Mine MWR is 8% higher than TWR since last year hence mine timing is right for the past 14 months

DCA too frequently has the effect of loss of conversion spot rates are high due to flunctuations of exchange only to be masking the true gains because everyone is looking at the number since day 1 deposit not on monthly, quarterly, half yearly, YTD and yearly hence the difference

Mine YTD gain an extra 1.1% last week because of spot FX rate conversion and the right buy order when the USD was the lowest since mid 2017 against the ringgit so you already proven wrong with XIRR formula

This post has been edited by xander83: Jan 11 2021, 06:43 AM
SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 06:38 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 11 2021, 01:31 AM)
May I ask, if now the right time then to put lump sum into SA since USD exchange rate is low now?
Depends on your amount, risk appetite, ROI, monetary needs and time horizon gain

For myself anything on FX conversion rate of RM4 to 1 is a bargain at the moment for Q1 as the barrier for to go lower for RM it is difficult to go lower than that in the next 6 months as currently on range bound between RM4.01 to RM4.05 which to people DCA small amounts will not notice much difference because of the rounding with FX spot rate

This only will works for those are investing 30 to 36% because of the higher exposure to equities and not for those on lower risks appetite

If anyone last week Monday and Tuesday invested lump sum will have already gain an extra 1.1% gain for YTD due higher buy order units due to lower conversion rate rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xander83: Jan 11 2021, 07:03 AM
SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 01:42 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jan 11 2021, 01:14 PM)
want to check with all pros and sifus here.

usually your MWR or TWR higher?

higher by how much ?

3-5% ?
5-10% ?
MWR 6 to 9% higher because I time the market to deposit when FX conversion is strong for RM just what happen last week rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 08:11 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 11 2021, 04:13 PM)
I find it quite weird to see you time the market based on forex, did you check the underlying etf price before you consider that?

It would be better to take all the underlying etf into consideration in term of myr. Based on your logic, one should not invest during march crash since USD/MYR is pretty high back then. You get "less" USD.
Of course I did on the FX conversion spot rate on to USD with prices to buy ETF in USD with comparison on levels which is when to buy ETF price which mine strategy is different due to weekly monitoring

I will cash out my gains just my returns when the USD is stronger against the RM wand ETF prices is on range trading otherwise just adjust the risk 30 to 36 or vice versa

March was not the time to invest but May was because FX conversion and it’s ETF was rock bottom then which I bought into it then when my money was on Simple since Jan to May

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 11 2021, 05:02 PM)
Thanks, I think I'm getting what you're saying.
Also, mine is on 36% RI, and I plan to put in lump sum, maybe more when the USD is weak now. Later probably will DCA when I know how much I should put in, lol
If put lump sum at 36% just be patient because the gains will show within 3 to 6 months rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 08:34 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 11 2021, 08:14 PM)
I admire your confidence level. I think it is waste of my time to explain. Nevermind. Simple does not even exist back then in the time period you mention and march is definitely the time to invest but no point since no one got a time machine. Lol
March 23 USDMYR was at 4.44 and it takes at least until 30 May to drop to 4.33

SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2021, 08:47 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 11 2021, 08:39 PM)
I am just going to leave it here, let see if you understand

Did you see that awesome double digit gain compared to your meagre forex changes
Those double digits are nothing compared to invest on FX spot rates at that time

The forex changes are for those who is willing to lump sum into deposit and buying into momentum and you should provide the chart from May to December which is on double uptrend to what is shown here
SUSxander83
post Jan 12 2021, 05:37 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 12 2021, 02:04 PM)
Ei, it doesn't auto update? Odd 🤔

Incline to guess that myr will drop compared to usd because of the mco and state of emergency? 🤔
Already drop at 4.06 will be on the downside to 4.11 this week on a bearish scenario

Ringgit is down is because oil futures have peaked and USD dollar on upside momentum due to oversold

MCO and state of emergency’s has been factor since last week on the spot exchange itself when the upside was to 4 to 1 rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 12 2021, 08:59 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 12 2021, 06:53 PM)
Hmm... O well. Continue dca monthly.. I thought it will stay around 4.00 ish but then mco and state of emergency etc..
Be patient for now as in 3Q another time that RM will test 4 to 1 mark again

Looking out to exit my gains soon might’ve be even earlier once it breach RM4.11

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 12 2021, 07:20 PM)
A sell order executed yesterday to sell off XLY.

Today a buy order is placed.
Auto optimisation or adjust risk?
SUSxander83
post Jan 12 2021, 09:11 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 12 2021, 09:00 PM)
Should be exceeded XLY target allocation; the rebalancing algorithm kicks off.
Robo is selling XLY and buying into IJR or XLP because of reporting season
SUSxander83
post Jan 13 2021, 07:25 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Jan 13 2021, 04:05 PM)
time to withdraw profit from SA to change new iphone  cool2.gif
Someone waiting to upgrade iPhone 12i soon

Wait until April and June rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 15 2021, 01:15 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 14 2021, 11:52 PM)
if u wanna repeating this process monthly is ok la.....up to u , but very tire only, have to set every month
i prefer auto.
i prefer on monday

bcoz my SI will execute early morning (normally around 8am), by 11am or 5pm SAMY will receive n execute the conversion process during night time (US working day)  brows.gif
Monday FX rate if opens higher then conversion rate less

Sunday still depends on the week before FX rate

But the difference only will be seen for those investing more than RM4000 hence those with smaller will gain or loss due to FX mini rounding

For Example 4 Jan FX rate after minus 0.1% conversion 0.2496
5 Jan 0.25
14 Jan 0.2475

For those small micro saver as it is good for the sharks who are paying less in management fees rclxm9.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 15 2021, 03:05 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 15 2021, 02:07 AM)
😂😂😂
Too pro liao lije this
QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jan 15 2021, 08:28 AM)
Godlike level
Still learning on micro level on FX, Equity and Swap rates will hopefully take my CMSL license in the future

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 15 2021, 10:44 AM)
Why are they even talking about Bitcoin when they even offer such product?  hmm.gif

Here's how you can responsibly manage bitcoin in your portfolio: https://bit.ly/38t2BeX

I suspect they use the extra cash if overweight to invest in a BTC fund but when the market swings too quickly it is crazy because within a week those who trade upwards will get the position wipe out within a week

BTC Fund most will be swapped with VNQI but I still think they are unable to find BTC fund that is stable enough

SUSxander83
post Jan 16 2021, 01:31 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Jan 15 2021, 11:07 PM)

want to ask, how do they get 44.76% and 46.26% but that figure not close to my total returns?  hmm.gif
not sure how to view this
Based on time and money weighted formula

TWR is for those who based on time horizon while MWR measures performance of your portfolio based how your deposits impact the market

TWR

MWR
SUSxander83
post Jan 17 2021, 03:01 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jan 16 2021, 08:41 PM)
Both held win a razor thin margin. Also their Senate and house is not like Malaysia. Their rep sometimes do vote against party line. There will be alot of negotiation needed before the final package take shape
The house and senate is already split as Biden is centrist while Harris is progressive left

It will be difficult in the House swinging towards centrist right and Senate towards right even though split

Tax policy won’t be in place until 2023 due 2022 mid term elections as many Senates which are Dems controlled are at stake now as we can see from House races which actually swing into Republican favour

The most likely policy fail will be national minimum wage as each states will definitely go against as State trump Country’s anytime

If anyone notice last week Friday correction is happening and this week be blood bath soon

Waiting now to pounce again due RM trading range between 0.2468 to 0.248
SUSxander83
post Jan 19 2021, 01:22 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jan 19 2021, 11:49 AM)
I dont think the inauguration is a public holiday

Unless they announce it 1 day before like Malaysian cuti peristiwa lmao
Inauguration Day markets will be very muted the action only starts when the house and senate reconvene

Will bumpy thanks to Yellen rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 20 2021, 03:21 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 19 2021, 06:37 PM)
u expert in timing market >>>> lump sum
if not, dca monthly (wanna curve lagi smooth, weekly OR u wanna daily  brows.gif  brows.gif )
How do you DCA daily?

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jan 20 2021, 03:06 PM)
Joking only sorry. If im not mistaken it's well know that if Gold rises stocks value goes down (correct me if I am wrong).

Just that GLD is a cushion for us if stock prices goes down, and in a way it also limit maximum potential of profit.

Having GLD is not a bad thing actually, just sharing my opinion.
GLD basically at 20% high risk allocation just a hedge to Equities in order to support any rebound in sight when the correction happens based on ERAA strategy

GLD rises means that value of the money decreases and inflation is happening soon but for near term unlikely for now due to damp growth situation because unlikely to rise within 2% in US until 2022 which curtailed by unlikely higher taxes due to US Midterm which likely to see some Biden’s policies being smothered

Don’t worry too much about 36% for those invested early this year during the 1st week as already more than 2% this month only beating FD this year without doing anything and take profit at the right time when the ringgit is weaker

Still got 11 more months to go if anything shows 36% risks will be likely at 16% gain for this year and on bullish market will hit 24% or more rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 20 2021, 07:13 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 20 2021, 04:44 PM)
0.1% per deposit, 0.1% per withdrawal, no discount.

---

Stay invested fellas.
What risk index?
SUSxander83
post Jan 20 2021, 08:33 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 20 2021, 08:18 PM)
Go between 18% 36% 18% 36%
If 36% consistent maybe hit 100% easily rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 20 2021, 08:36 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jan 20 2021, 08:11 PM)
Does anyone feel that the stock market is getting too hot and too fast after a major crash like that back in March 2020? Or was March 2020 just a "correction"?

Most are back to pre-Covid levels and still going up.
Yes and correction is going happen soon albeit a minor this time

Will be bumpy for those who can’t stand the ride hence if you worried just take profit on your profit and leave your base investments untouched and then wait till minor dips which likely to be early March to re enter the market rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 20 2021, 08:41 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 20 2021, 08:34 PM)
So DCA can guarantee to hit 100%?
No wonder so many in here defended the beauty of DCA!  notworthy.gif
If DCA small amounts of less than USD100 then the beauty will work well

For those who DCA USD1000 will suffer due to FX conversion together with unit price purchase easily RM30 to RM50 subject FX rates

Both strategy have its good and bad but overall DCA it is good for mass market for minor savings rclxms.gif

37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4351sec    1.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:14 PM