QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 27 2020, 11:21 PM)
age of computers neh - Central Banks just press 1 button after keying in amount to flood/buy debts Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Mar 27 2020, 11:41 PM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
Apr 7 2020, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(frostfrench @ Apr 6 2020, 07:44 PM) Got a question, say i pass away suddenly(touch wood) and have no written will. Can my spouse get my investment from Stashaway? What procedure ah? as with "normal" UTs and stocks - have your account, fund house/brokerage and contact info in your Assets & Liabilities list. With this updated list, your Wiil's Executor will contact them & do the necessary (as per your Will)IF kaput intestate (no Will) then it's up to the country's estate laws - faraid or the norm. "normal" UTs as in UTs without nominees - some like PBMutual have nomination form if investor kaput, it'll go to X, Y, Z %. |
Jun 14 2020, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(walnut6363 @ Jun 14 2020, 12:57 PM) With the i-Lestari going on now, do you guys think it's sensible to withdraw Rm500 from EPF account 2 every month and deposit into SA? IMHO:It's not a huge amount but i might forgone Rm300-Rm600 of interest considering 6% PA return in EPF for 2 years. However, with the current US economy trend, it's possible to have 15-20% return in 1-2 years. So guys, what is your opinion? 1. EPF for sure die die minimum 2.5%pa by law VS Stashaway can be -ve or +ve 2. BUT long term, Stashaway with heavy equities (assuming higher risk %) should be better returns 3. Thus, if U want to rebalance your portfolio using EPF instead of cash, into Equities, may be worthwhile OR 4. If your tax bracket is high, out from EPF iLestari and into PRS or SSPN or combo eg. for myself, for sure 1 year 24%pa returns then +/- the PRS or SSPN returns. 5. If all the above is greek to U, better not mess with your EPF |
Jun 29 2020, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(cyanbleu @ Jun 28 2020, 04:58 PM) I'd like to think no investments are risk free.. with the exception of FD. They mentioned volatility, but with no clear elaboration. sorry to butt in..According to the introductory post, I understand the higher the risk profile, the higher the projected returns. And you were right, these 'expected returns' are definitely higher than FD rates (even ASB for that matter). However, in the unfortunate event that the markets go downhill, what kinds of losses am I looking at if I set my risk profile to be, say, 20%? The website says if your profile is set at 20% there's a 1% chance you have 20% losses, which sounds pretty alarming.. Let me know if I misunderstood incorrectly.. 1% probability to lose 20%, say your investment of $10K Theoretical loss = 1% *20% *$10K = $20 losses for $10K Say we 10x (U know the marketing spiel from that guy) that, that's $200 losses a year .. for a $10K, effectively a 2% loss of capital even when 10x wor.. thus, IMHO - if one can't zzz based on -2%pa even after 10x the theoretical losses, not worth the "thrill" of investing and better stick to EPF because even FD can kaput due to: a. PIDM insures only up to $250K per person per bank (not per account) b. Inflation rate vs FD rate of course some may also say EPF can kaput.. i think by that time, food, shelter & weapons will be on top of our minds, not $ OR just diversify lor if too much (ie. 90%+ investments are in EPF only) - if can zzz with ups/downs of bonds & equity markets |
Jul 19 2020, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(Tronoh @ Jul 19 2020, 02:00 AM) er.. "professionals" that are threatened by SA?This we know why mad lor OR "professionals" with invested $ in many vehicle for many years, that speaks with their own invested $? This is too funny if he mad - just because people like me are not working as financial planners doesnt mean we dont know squat about money management, investments & estate planning. OR something else? This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 19 2020, 09:25 AM |
Jul 21 2020, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jul 21 2020, 01:55 PM) For my emergency saving i put in ASB. Capital guaranteed and ~5% profit at least i'll help U Still fighting the urge to take out the emergency fund to dump in SAMY lol think - buy high now & hope higher? OR buy low after a 30% down and hold on for dear life? + also, can hold on for dear life without emergency fund? OR can't zzz? ohmm... clarity... |
Jul 21 2020, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 21 2020, 02:36 PM) with samy this shouldnt even be a consideration i feel. else it defeats the purpose of the robo advisor. he says he itchy want to use his emergency fund in ASB nowadays ma thus in context - now? when it is much higher than mid-end Mar? + can zzz or not, without security blanket of emergency funds safe & sound in ASB's magical fixed-price thinggy? |
Jul 23 2020, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Jul 23 2020, 02:54 PM) Can't stop myself to check the performance everyday. For long term investment, really need close eye, close ear, close everything and dca OR U can reprogram your mind to do investing like grocery shopping - wah DISCOUNT! WAH ON SALE! BUY BUY BUY! - sure use/eat wan works for me, after doing DCA & VCA several years may not work for all antsy parties ya |
Jul 25 2020, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jul 25 2020, 09:52 AM) off topix warning - sorry TS -it's religiously simple google Search Results religiously. If you do something religiously, you can be relied on to do it on a regular basis. If you never forget to floss your teeth at night, no matter how tired you are, you can say you floss religiously. best to better one's English usage first before correcting others no? + this is an investment topic PS - gomenosai, blowing a small fuse as plenty of such non-expert experts in the office which is making work for the real experts harder coz they mislead & misassume lots of stuff - Dunning-Kruger effect. This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 25 2020, 01:24 PM |
Jul 27 2020, 08:30 PM
good lord.. this is bad, especially for those that auto-debit from bank a/c that is used to pay other stuff. imagine that account drain and not able to pay for credit cards, mortgage (thos not on loan moratorium), etc. today i wonder what kind of liability is SA and/or it's auto-debit partner is going to face. tehoice, red streak, and 1 other liked this post
Jul 27 2020, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jul 27 2020, 10:00 PM) hey, you may continue with your auto debit practice for however long you want. major no no for an investment - pantang. for me, i don't trust it, that's it. once trust is lost.. imagine FSM or PB autodebit went nuts like this. good lordy and IMHO - what, "6 months freebie"? totally nuts especially if a customer has other payments/usage for the cash auto-sucked out. Sigh.. makes me regret recommending SA to friends and family coz they are on autodebit, such basic screw-up can happen. i've asked them to write in officially to SA & CC SC. joshtlk1 liked this post
Jul 27 2020, 10:39 PM
Jul 27 2020, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(rhodry @ Jul 27 2020, 10:41 PM) To all the people overeacting, complain to SC if they don't refund by 11PM tomorrow. Why would you complain now? er.. are U in tech AND in the financial sector?When dealing with tech, shit happens and at least SAMY has owned up to it and promised to rectify to status quo. As a business, they've done what they can and they will learn from this to ensure it doesn't repeat, because a repetition will be the end of them. But prematurely complaining to SC now does no good. In the worst case, you want to be left with Wahed as the only other option? I wouldn't. Do U know how pantang this is? not 2x not 3x, some goes on for 27x based on SAMY's own email. and as a customer: Did your savings account suddenly have say $20K missing when it was supposed to be just $1K for DCA? Did U have plans for say $10K scheduled to pay your credit cards or something that's time sensitive with repercussions? if your answer is yes to all the above, wow - you're one of the most enlightened soul i've encountered on & offline. ELSE please dont assume people are over-reacting. PS: AND yes, i'm taking my $ out totally from SAMY - cant trust them for a simple autodebit, how to trust with bigger sums as it builds? Now to see if my friends & family affected had time-sensitive need for those cash. unlike SAMY, i dont take responsibility lightly ![]() This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 27 2020, 11:03 PM adele123, red streak, and 6 others liked this post
Jul 27 2020, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 27 2020, 11:06 PM) it's akin to "taking your $ without your consent" 3x-27xthen giving it back to you a day later - sorry ar, all's well - tech glitch only.. gave U back hor oh - and here's freebie to trust me with your $ for another 6 months This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 27 2020, 11:09 PM vkashin liked this post
Jul 27 2020, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(rhodry @ Jul 27 2020, 11:11 PM) No to me being in the tech and financial sector. Yes to the rest. The error from SAMY has been noted and if it repeats, then I'm all in that it is unforgivable. As a one-off? If they promise to rectify and restore to status quo and if it means I just have to pay the interest % on a slightly late CC payment then I can let it go this one time. er.. gloat?You've done the right thing: If you've lost confidence then take your money out. But don't ruin it for the rest of us. I planned on doubling my DCA from August onwards and will stick to that plan. If things blow up in my face down the line, then by all means you can gloat. U have a choice, i have mine - that's it. What's there to gloat? U seem to be hell bent that SAMY "is the only way" and anyone with other thoughts are "out to get SAMY & U". No such thing leh - it's my $, my friends & family's $ and it's our personal choices. Your$ is your own of course. onthefly, red streak, and 2 others liked this post
Jul 28 2020, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2020, 08:44 AM) Lol sit down and relax guys. IMHO only ya:SA already rectify the problem and acknowledged. What more do you want? They say will refund the. Just wait lah. In this digital era, error can occur even its not suppose to be. Can be human error also from curlec. Why everyone is aiming SA? Why your bank also slacking? Never inform or auto block? Why not look this issue from another perspectives. SAMY actually did a quite good job here. They notify the customers and giving out vouchers even is not entirely their fault. They are the receiving end, not the one who did auto debit. Also this show how SA is responsible toward the cutstomer. I felt safe to invest via SA. Better then some others who delay in recognising the problem, or worst gone into thin air. You all can lodge report to SC because they are regulated by Sc. And you want 1 for 1 refund? What do you mean? They debit 100 they should’ve give you back 200? LOL crazy or what And whoever think Wahed is stable the SA really lol. Also those who think raiz is a better platform also lol. Invest what you know guys. 1. 3pm to 9pm issue. Not fast enough response 2. Whether vendor or self, responsibility & trust issue is SAMY 3. SAMY notified customers OR customers reported then was notified? Please check properly first 4. If a simple trusted autodebit can screw up 27x, not 2x, not 3c, 27x - after customers already triggered SAMY, it just shows tidak-apa attitude VS autpdebit investing no issues since i started 20+years ago via Public Mutual, Prudential (now EastSpring) Investment, FSM, BanHinLee, etc. 5. If / when U yourself gets 27K+ or more sucked out buta buta instead of 1K planned, like fellow forumer shared, no pain & no trust issues? 6. Why are U talking about Wahed & Raiz - this is not their issue. Focus ya, dont divert. QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 28 2020, 08:52 AM) Just recalled, the repeats of auto debits happens with my insurance premium some yrs ago... It happens during the merging of their system with the one that they had taken over... Yup - autodebit issues max 2x due to date/migration glitch ok la.My insurance policy were with the one they had taken over. 2x deductions from my credit card... Noticed the error, upon reviewing the cc statement, informed the insurance company, they refunded it. Nothing more 27x.. this one ultra liao leh This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 28 2020, 08:59 AM red streak, Quazacolt, and 1 other liked this post
Jul 28 2020, 08:58 AM
-dup-
This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 28 2020, 08:58 AM |
Jul 28 2020, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 28 2020, 09:44 AM) Yes, I want them to put their money where their mouth is. Don't tell me it won't happen again. If it happens again, pay out of your own pocket. That's reassurance. And why not? They have insurance system right? We should be benefactors, not just risk bearer. Push 100% risk on customers for vendor fault is surest way to lose them. IMHO - sounds like defenders of Geneva Gold, JJPTR, etc. - janji make $, thus excuses ok wan Imagine today, all your Stashaway is in the Red (like mytheo). If this "error" occured, I'm sure you would be a lot less forgiving. And yet, this could easily have happened. For me, I laud them for the money making (hooray) but this episode.....makes me think 100x about recommending them to anyone I care about. ANd I have recommended so many.... not saying SAMY + not saying them LOL folks are in cahoots, just these LOL folks just reminds me of those defenders of yesteryears. anyhow - i'm out. now just worried about my friends' & nephew's. Thank gawd my sis didnt get into it based on my prodding of 1-stop-shop portfolio - i can never cover her account if any emergencies. This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 28 2020, 10:03 AM |
Jul 28 2020, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(John91 @ Jul 28 2020, 10:22 AM) Where would you be moving assets to? So far FSM & SAMY are my main, where FSM is heavy on Tech & China, & SAMY on US equities. yup - back to old style lor - individual ETFs + mutual funds - to do asset allocation/portfolio,via FSM, HLeb, TDASG i really thought i'd be moving whole hog into Stashaway when i tire of managing like above but.. urgh. |
Jul 28 2020, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 28 2020, 10:42 AM) i think you can still leave small % of your entire portfolio in SAMY, afterall, those money invested is already in, just don't need to have any future deposits? What do you think? yeah - for me, it's about trust.maybe some of you may still having the thoughts of this > if they can screw up the auto debit, then how can i entrust them to handle my money? right? thus, took out my "play $" to close it off. simple truth for me = how one handles the minute/simple = how one handles the bigger stuff too. |
| Change to: | 0.0465sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:11 AM |