I just withdrew all fund with small gain of 5%, do not want to expose to forex risk although stashaway product is good.
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Jul 11 2019, 11:22 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
66 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
I just withdrew all fund with small gain of 5%, do not want to expose to forex risk although stashaway product is good.
Jul 11 2019, 11:52 AM
Jul 11 2019, 12:03 PM
Actually i am still investing in US market but in a more traditional way-mutual fund. Some fund provided MYR-hedged, but unfortunately they are not ETF fund.
It is really hard to find a financial product that suit you 100% This post has been edited by snoozet: Jul 11 2019, 12:04 PM |
Jul 11 2019, 12:26 PM
Basically MYR is acting on passive way, depending the movement of USD.
Now the trend is USD is going to depreciate to worldwide currency. I just feel weird when keep deposit but keep seeing the drop of USD. I only hope to concentrate on the investing return and not the forex return, because the forex return will affect my investment decision. |
Jul 11 2019, 01:14 PM
Jul 11 2019, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Jul 11 2019, 12:51 PM) When u consider the fx risk, ur decision will be affected. I keep deposit heavily on May US market dropping period, but the USD was shoot up to 4.19 and I know this is not sustainable (now 4.12), so it is very weird when u want to invest more but u also know the fx rate is adverse to you, you will feel foolish.Without this fx factor, maybe u will invest more and get higher return. This post has been edited by snoozet: Jul 11 2019, 01:21 PM |
Jul 11 2019, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 11 2019, 01:27 PM) If you feel affected by short term swings, go put FD or EPF. Actually I am still not at the level of diversifying risk of currency.When Malaysia kena hit by hyperinflation, however improbable, at least half of our retirement is safe with global diversified investment portfolio. If I want to predict fx, I will purely buy the fx bet, and not mixed with this investment. A very good example, if USD gradually appreciate to 4.5 vs MYR, will u keep putting money into stashaway? If u guys start deposit from 4.0 maybe will continue to do so to average up, if for a new user, his 4.5 fx deposit will put himself in great risk. My point is simple, when fx mixed with ur investment, it will hinder u. This post has been edited by snoozet: Jul 11 2019, 01:37 PM |
Jul 11 2019, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 11 2019, 01:28 PM) So you are saying every investor with an emerging market currency should not invest in any US assets ? When u think US market will go up , so u will deposit more is it? But at the same time u also predict that USD will go down, so will ur decision to buy is still intact? |
Jul 11 2019, 01:40 PM
Jul 11 2019, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Jul 11 2019, 01:41 PM) Then there is no point to invest since both will contra each other. If u can separate out ur currency bet and share bet, isn't it better for us? Not necessary must sell both even one is in adverse condition. |
Jul 11 2019, 01:56 PM
Well, frankly speaking, if one day Stashaway let you choose in USD or MYR-hedged two option, will you still insist that USD denomination is better due to currency diversification?
Jul 11 2019, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 11 2019, 01:40 PM) FX is just a very small issue in SA. Why you magnified it? MYR-hedged mutual fund will help you in this situation, u still can lump sump, because u know u are not affected by USD movement. 4.5 is high but pandai pandai see graph lah.4.5 still lump sump meh? Of course enter bit by bit. You buy any foreign investment also got fx risk. But it's not wise to be MYR concentrated As i said, this 4.5 alr affect ur invesement decision. |
Jul 11 2019, 02:11 PM
Actually i want to emphasize, for investment as simple as possible.
When i want to diversify currency risk, i will buy currency contract, and currently i have no intention to do so. I dun hope it becomes a obstacle in equity investment. |
Jul 11 2019, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 11 2019, 05:12 PM) "for investment as simple as possible" but "i will buy currency contract" :confused: I think most ppl still can't get my point. I prefer stock is stock, fx is fx, when u hv two things mix into a product, u will face problem. Now USD 4.11 and may go down further but stock is going up, what is your response to it? For real, using StashAway is as easy as it can get for regional and sector diversification. You just set risk you undertake then deposit, that's it. If u split this to two products, u will not have such problem, u can continue to buy stock and sell ur fx contract. See the difference? This post has been edited by snoozet: Jul 11 2019, 08:46 PM |
Jul 11 2019, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(neverfap @ Jul 11 2019, 09:10 PM) Based on what you wrote, does it means that you will not touch sgx or nyse at all? I am still investing in foreign market through MYR hedged mutual fund, unfortunately they are not ETF.Since no matter through what platform you invest in foreign stock market, you will expose to "fx risk" as long as you are earning MYR. Below is the explanation of the hedge. https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/m/research/article/10404 With this I can make decision purely on the stock market situation without fx binding myself. |
Jul 12 2019, 08:16 AM
Jul 12 2019, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(cucumber @ Jul 12 2019, 09:29 AM) That's what Stashaway is about isn't it? It is not complaining, it is room for improvement. What gave you the impression that Stashaway is for short term investment? They have never advertise it as such. I see people complaining about this & that... What are you guys comparing it to really? Do you have other better alternatives? One that allows us to invest in US based funds with a reliable algorithm which we dont have to monitor & one would auto allocate our funds based on the market conditions without us having to deal with agents & all the other BS? As easy as Stashaway? Fx is double edge sword, those ppl who go in 4.19 and now alr 4.10, just sitting there do nothing alr 2.x% gone. It may goes 4.5 later and we will earn a lot from this appreciation, but i would rather concentrate on stock performance and not earning from the fx. If Stashaway provides u alternative product(US ETF) which will not affected by fx, will you opt in? Or insist that USD is king? This post has been edited by snoozet: Jul 12 2019, 10:35 AM |
Jul 12 2019, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 12 2019, 10:45 AM) How is that when the ETF itself is USD? It is not on paper, it reports on what the currency that u wish. If it's not affected, it only on paper. Like some fund we invested in the FSM feeder fund. But, underlying still affected. Generally USD is appreciating along the time. I can say it's impossible myr back to 3.5 They will do hedging for you and of course there is hedging cost on it. Read this for better understanding https://www.franklintempleton.co.uk/downloa...are-Classes.pdf I think all the arguments arises from some ppl think they will really hold for a long long period therefore does not care for it. |
Jul 12 2019, 11:09 AM
Jul 12 2019, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(j0nn @ Jul 12 2019, 11:41 AM) US dollar was strong against sterling (the shaded areas), the Yes, it said in the end, but when is the end? How many here will hold 10 20 yrs.hedged share class underperformed the unhedged share class. Where the US dollar was weak against sterling, the hedged share class outperformed the unhedged share class. Chart 2 below gives an example of how this has worked with the Templeton Global Total Return Bond Fund. While for any short period of time one or the other will outperform, over the last five years the total return of the two share classes has been fairly similar. When you say there are costs for hedging, I assume you mean administrative costs? Given that in the long term the returns may be similar, what would be the reasons one would want hedging? If they offer you trouble-free solution why dun take it and insist want to expose to fx? I am puzzling. |
| Change to: | 0.0297sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:51 AM |