Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 10:25 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Feb 10 2022, 10:24 AM)
Bursa hard to grow de.. I just park some spare cash there for dividend investing (Maybank, UOAREIT, Sentral) due to ease of withdrawal.

watch Ziet Invest videos he got teach how to use IBKR to invest in US market or buy Irish Domiciled ETFs. That is where real growth comes from. For young people 20-40 still can invest this way. Old liao 60+ then start main dividend investing at MY or SG stocks.
yeah.. i was picking up some methods to invest oversea too. for now easiest is to go down to Singapore when borders allowed to open, then have a CIMB account in SG and have a trading account as well.. at least having a CIMB MY account and SG i can move my money freely with a limit. i have been eyeing on SG REIT's for quite a while now.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Feb 10 2022, 10:27 AM
kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 11:13 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Feb 10 2022, 11:06 AM)
dont need to go down Singapore bro.. I recently opened my SG CIMB account all online. Only MY CIMB susah a bit coz I got old account with them last time... need to go to bank open new account. If never have CIMB MY before can open all online. Steps here:

funding IBKR using CIMB SG and Wise

Funding Tiger brokers steps here via CIMB SG:
https://nomoneylah.com/2021/07/27/tiger-bro...sit_via_CIMB_SG

For Moomoo:
https://ringgitfreedom.com/investing/beginn...ock-via-moomoo/

Moomoo cheaper if wanna buy SG stocks. But I hate it coz it requires a valid passport with >6 mths before expiry as part of registration process. Not gonna renew my passport just for a broker since we all cant fcking travel now.. So went with Tiger brokers instead. Try do a first deposit of 2k SGD to Tiger broker (only valid for 1st DEPOSIT - will get free x1 Apple stock after a few days!)
thanks bro! i'll give it a try.
kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 11:22 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Feb 10 2022, 11:14 AM)
Sorry to interrupt but I think your definition of medium to long term is quite short?

1. RM25k in SA for 2 years.. no win no lose.. surplus a few hundred nia.. i withdrawn all out late last year.
2. PS: FSMOne similar experience place RM50k for a year.. returned was only around RM600.

A time horizon of 1-2 years and decide the returns is not worth it and you withdraw all to invest in stocks to chase higher returns but get stucked for some trades. Isn't this the classical high risk high returns, low risk low returns concept? You just illustrated when chasing higher returns is not plain sailing either correct? The stucked monies if put in SA, FSM maybe got chance earn but at a slower pace?

Anyway, I am not saying your investment strategy is wrong just trying to understand when one say they invest for medium to long term what is it actually in each investor definition.

For me I will diversify instead. Not all monies into stock but split among different investment instrument. Of cuz this strategy comes with the disadvantage if there are returns it is too slow and small but given a long enough time I feel it is better than dump all into stock. In fact if one is chasing for fastest and highest returns in short timeframe, stock trading is still slow. I think Genting Highlands is a much better investment instrument isn't it ?
1 years - 2 years it isn't short. when your investment return is not even generating 6% return per annum you better park your money in kwsp instead.
Also as mentioned i've been trading for quite sometime now when my other return is generating in the region of 10-20k in bursa using slightly above RM150k, it clearly shows SA isn't really performing cause the RM25k isn't even generating 1% of return after 2 years. How long more do you want to wait? 20 years only to realize you are still at 1%? or perhaps 10% overall? When it comes to investing it's not only the return/capital which is important, the time plays a major role here mind you.

Also when comes to diversify i have my money in Bursa, Crypto (Luno), FSMOne, SA. I'm just comparing my returns in this few platform and i can clearly see things aren't working in FSMOne and SA. tell me what other diversification which can be done here. I'm open to all suggestion so long it's a platform approved by BNM.

i'm going to take TNB for example bought at RM8.9 for RM50k. it's generating close to 9% dividend. that's hell lot more compared to what i'm getting from FSMOne and SA. not to mentioned buying at RM8.9 it's all time low for TNB if it ever appreciates to RM14 again, i'll just sell them and take the immediate profit.
kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 11:29 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Feb 10 2022, 11:27 AM)
refer to "Step 1" inside this video on how to use Wise to transfer to CIMB SG. Once reach CIMB SG u wanna transfer to which broker up to u liao.

The other video opening CIMB account didn't state it.

You're welcome.  biggrin.gif
i already have a CIMB MY account. should be able to transfer to the SG account without the need of WISE. I'll explore. hehe
kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 12:27 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 10 2022, 12:16 PM)
Same applies to people who wanna keep trading (actually gambling) instead of boosting active income.

If people spend time doing things not in the field they are trained in, it won't feel like work.

But trading is work and retail investors are more likely than not lose money.
well its the same goes to SA. SA don't guarantee u a positive return in fact there were months i was in the negative. its also the same concept where u just park ur money for a longer term and hoping it gives u a return u desire.
kidmad
post Feb 10 2022, 12:29 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2022, 10:34 AM)
Not sure why so many people are fixated to earn their retirement money via investing instead of trying to increase their salary instead.
cause making more without investing you won't get to retire as well. please don't put it in a position where investing in SA is just for fun.

everyone is investing in one platform to another with the intention to reach a certain goal. are you not?

0.4208sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:10 PM