Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

godhpf
post Nov 29 2023, 03:30 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 29 2023, 10:46 AM)
If not mistaken, the ETF expense ratio is already reflected in its share price.
0.3% is standalone stashaway fees which they will show the deduction in your monthly statement.
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 29 2023, 02:25 PM)
ISAC expense ratio is charge directly through the ETF price

So 0.3% is separate fee charged by SA as platform usage fee 🤦‍♀️
Don’t bother 🤦‍♀️ as they very aggressive now asking me to invest but it still underperforms the market
That is why is stayaway 🤦‍♀️ and don’t bother paying fees unless die die want local platform with RM portfolio viewing to syiok own self 🤦‍♀️
Yeah that's what I thought too. But someone was mentioning it's the other way round.

Anyway, I'm already using IBKR to buy VWRA. But I'll keep a little money in SA.
In case something happens to me, I guess it'll be easier for my wife to withdraw from SA while waiting for withdrawal from IBKR.
Plus having a physical location that my wife can go to is a plus.

I'm already using joint account in IBKR and withdrawal from IBKR => Wise seems to be easy.
It never hurts to have a backup plan.

godhpf
post Jan 18 2024, 11:34 AM

605 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 18 2024, 11:09 AM)
From their site, ...
https://www.stashaway.my/

Looks like SRI 36% did well in year 2023...
Failing myr did a part too. Ha ha
yep a big part is because of currency exchange. 20.28%(MYR) vs 13.61% (USD).

If we just exchange to USD & do absolutely nothing, we gain around 6.7%

godhpf
post Jan 18 2024, 11:49 AM

605 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 18 2024, 11:39 AM)
Just exchange usd and Do nothing gain 6.7%, but if put into SAMY 36%Sri  and do nothing more gained 20%.
Ha ha

If we only knows how it goes in future ...ha ha
I don't think you understood what I meant.
The MYR performance is misleading and a big chunk was just currency exchange like what you have mentioned.

I was just putting it in numbers.

If one wants to compare what would happen if they exchange & do nothing VS exchange & put in SA, they should look at the USD numbers aka real performance.

Anyway, I remember that you like MYR numbers instead of USD. Well, you do you. Cheers.

godhpf
post Mar 22 2024, 12:40 PM

605 posts

I stopped putting money in & moved most existing money in StashAway to flexible portfolios.

I started DIY using IBKR instead.

godhpf
post Mar 22 2024, 12:54 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Macam Yes @ Mar 22 2024, 12:45 PM)
IBKR?

mean i need to choose which fund to buy?
Yes. IBKR (Interactive Brokers) is a broker, where you buy stocks (among other stuff).

Getting started might be intimidating but once you get over it, it is very easy.

If you're using StashAway single ETF portfolio, you're basically already choosing "funds".
The same ETFs (and a lot more) are available in brokers.

You also get to purchase Irish-domiciled ETFs , which has tax benefits for malaysians

This post has been edited by godhpf: Mar 22 2024, 12:56 PM
godhpf
post Mar 22 2024, 01:16 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Happy350 @ Mar 22 2024, 01:07 PM)
I actually don't understand why the annual fee is the same between general investing and flexible portfolio in Stashaway since flexible=manage by our own
but now they even charging for simple so it's a sign to move out
Single ETF portfolio fees are lower though.

But then again, not much reason to use StashAway if I'm just going to manage it by myself, single ETF or otherwise.
Only reasons that I can think of is if one has relatively low amount of money to invest monthly or if you want something in MY.
I'll keep some of my investments in StashAway primarily for that reason. In case something happens to me, my spouse has multiple channels to get money from, one of them being in MY where she can physically go to them.

godhpf
post Mar 27 2024, 03:33 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 26 2024, 08:06 PM)
Saw your statement and thought that sounded too good to be true, so I got curious and went to check - turns out you are right!

I am sitting on a little past 20% CTR since I exited Stashaway and went fully DIY around the start of 2022. And this is through lots of ups and mostly downs, like losing my job for a few months when the market bottomed out and couldn't continue investing until the market has mostly recovered.

Not bad for a simple portfolio consisting of entirely one single ticker for the equities part if I do say so myself!

VWRA & chill!
godhpf
post Mar 28 2024, 10:55 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Mar 28 2024, 03:37 PM)
I didn't know IBKR can buy fraction  shocking.gif

Anyway, even if can, I think I can't directly put in MYR via card/FPX, can I? Unlike SA, I just jompay.

So it's more like convenience fee, than maintenance fee.  sweat.gif

Unless if I'm wrong, there is easy way to deposit/withdraw IBKR.
Like what other guys said. Use wise. It's super easy.
I've tried funding IBKR using wise and also CIMB SG route.

I vastly prefer wise method because it's super simple.

Only downside that I see is that Wise method takes longer to clear (few business hours?) while CIMB SG route clears faster than that.
But it doesn't really bother me so I'm fine with it.

0.0536sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:04 AM