QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 19 2023, 11:53 AM)
Sell, add or hold?Which portfolio?
This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Apr 19 2023, 12:18 PM
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Apr 19 2023, 12:18 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
4,489 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Apr 19 2023, 05:47 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Apr 19 2023, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Apr 19 2023, 06:06 PM) estimate lar. about 10% bonds and 20% reits. these are all paper only. very scared. unlike my brick and mortar real properties I can hug and kiss. old man is like this hahaha Reits is also a form of equities. Or perhaps more accurately a hybrid equity real estate.And since you are close to retiremenr, you should also have Kwsp. Kwsp.has more than 40% equities in their portfolio. |
Apr 20 2023, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 20 2023, 09:19 AM) erm a bit too late for that. you have a very big pile of money sitting around and you may just lose everything on equities. max you take out 10% to learn the rest just put in high yield FD or go enjoy your retirement lah .Even at retirement age, it is still.advisable to have some exposure to equities. Its still one of the best way to beat inflation. You will only lose everything if you do silly things. Safest way it to go for broad based indexes. Spx wont go to zero. Vwra wont go to zero. Or really strong blue chips. Like Maybank also wont go to zero (it dropped to below RM3 tho in 2009 n below 2 in 1997). But I agree to start small for beginners and ramp up. . This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Apr 20 2023, 09:45 AM |
Apr 20 2023, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(Super2047 @ Apr 20 2023, 09:54 AM) ![]() Buying into index may not make an investor bankrupt, but may suffer paper losses for a long time if he go in at the wrong timing. If someone bought into S&P500 at year 2000, he only start making money after 2013. That's a 13 years of mental suffering. But having said that, if you can hold longgggg enough till today, even if you bought in at the peak at year 2000, you still earning a compound growth of 4% For total return, you actually have to add dividends as well which is not shown in price chart. The breakeven would happen in 2007, but then soon the market would crash again. One would also be the unfortunate fella who went all n at the peak and didnt make any investment onwards to average down. To be fair, quite a number of investors have this behavior (buy at peak n soon give up). Spx, bitcoin, gold..u name it. Even here at Stashaway. This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Apr 20 2023, 11:29 AM |
Apr 20 2023, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Apr 20 2023, 02:04 PM) Not yet retire lar. But I can if I want. 5 more years to go. I'm funding my additional REITS purchase from rental. Good thing is REITS pays me interest like bonds which can use to buy more of it. I mean even after retire you need some equity exposure, what more if you not retire yet.Problem is hard to tell making profit or loss. Every month open the app tell me different number. Lucky didn't use salary to buy. But I don't think it will be a 10x to 20x growth on capital like I see on my properties. Anyway I read more on SA last night. its a Robo advisor! Big black box to me. better not touch. At least unitrust and ETF got human make decision. You dont know your reits making money or not? How come? Reits disclose financial.reports every quarter. How are u buying your reits if u dont mind to share? Historically, a well run quality MReit should give u an annualized return of 8-10% pa in terms of dividends and price. However, this return can be volatile and your entry points are also important. Back to stashaway, the robo part is a bit exaggerated lah. Still a lot of human factors. I see it just as a lower cost unit trust. |
Apr 21 2023, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Apr 20 2023, 04:13 PM) Sold one of my condo in 2020. then paid about RM10-11k monthly to buy into Sunway, Megamall, Pavilion, a hospital sector and office sector over several years. I know my cost is 300k. but everytime they pay dividend the price suddenly drop so no choice have to use dividend to cost aveage down if not rugi more. Even worse, this stupid reit got private placement then price go down even more. So you see all the cost is all mixed up. I did the same as you. Back in 2013, sold my condo. Half of proceeds went to reducing one mortgage, the other half went to reit (pavilion). That was my first individual stock. Exited in 2017, for about 50% profit if include dividends. Focused on other stocks.I don't know this annualized return% can do for me. I want to know I paid 300k and when I can get it back with good return. Better idea is to use dividend and put in apps like StashAway or Versa ? Anyway 2020-22 were pretty rough years for reits. U had the MCOs which hit retail reits (shopping centres), office reits and hospitality reits badly. Then 2022 interest rate hikes which is not good for reits. However last year I started going back to Mreits. Reason being Im seeing light at the end of the tunnel. MCO is over and for major retail reits their revenue now is back or higher than 2019 levels. Interest rate hikes appear to have peaked or very close to peaking now. So things are looking up, in my view. But there are also, as always, some risks..in particular the R word. FYI Im a DIY investor. I keep track of Stashaway to see their asset allocation models. Stashaway has their ERAA model. I practice my own amateur ERAA too in a way. |
| Change to: | 0.4270sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:46 PM |