EPF - self contribution, need advise

Wedchar2912
post Jul 17 2025, 04:45 PM

3,670 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jul 17 2025, 04:41 PM)
I knew a long time. Just that I don't recall seeing government officials promoting it so openly as the scheme was originally meant for those self-salaried workers.
And this is how the story of some young 21 years old can have 1 million in epf. 100K each year from 14 years old.

Parents should take advantage of the free 500rm from gov.
MUM
post Jul 17 2025, 04:51 PM

14,937 posts

100k x 10 yrs = 1 mil
500 x 10 yrs = 5k

From age 14 till 24,
1 mil Kena locked for 26 yrs more
Just for the rm5k incentives + annual fixed roi of abt 5.5% pa from age 14 till age 50
Wedchar2912
post Jul 17 2025, 04:56 PM

3,670 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 17 2025, 04:51 PM)
100k x 10 yrs = 1 mil
500 x 10 yrs = 5k

From age 14 till 24,
Just for the rm5k incentives + annual fixed roi of abt 5.5% pa from age 14 till age 50
Still have compounding div effect. So around 7 to 8 years will reach 1 million.

If the threshold to withdraw didn't change, the kid can have the freedom of taking out the div after he reach 21.

Edit: unfortunately. It is a moving target with uncertainty.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 17 2025, 04:59 PM
MUM
post Jul 17 2025, 05:02 PM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 17 2025, 04:56 PM)
Still have compounding div effect. So around 7 to 8 years will reach 1 million.

If the threshold to withdraw didn't change, the kid can have the freedom of taking out the div after he reach 21.

Edit: unfortunately. It is a moving target with uncertainty.
With just that approximately 5.5% pa roi + 5k extra payouts to investors that deposits 100k per year for 10 years from age 14, ...i believes many investment companies or hedge funds would loves to get a hand of that money that can be locked for 34 years so that they can use that money to invest.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 17 2025, 05:25 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 17 2025, 05:08 PM

3,670 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 17 2025, 05:02 PM)
With just that roi + 5k extra, ...i believes many investment companies or hedge funds would loves to get a hand of that money that can be locked for 34 years.
Yeah. I can think of insurance firms and banks.
Just the right age and phrase to sell insurance (ILP) and UT or SP.

Even gov is facilitating it.
dwRK
post Jul 17 2025, 05:49 PM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

100k x 10 yrs = 1 mil
500 x 10 yrs = 5k

From age 14 till 24,
?... need only 2.5k for the 500... roi is fantastic in this respect...

MUM
post Jul 17 2025, 05:58 PM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 17 2025, 05:49 PM)
That is when 1 mil target is not the aim of parents to hv the child hv 1 mil in epf by age 24
( per reference to post 5381)

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 17 2025, 06:00 PM
guy3288
post Jul 17 2025, 06:09 PM

5,902 posts

100k x 10 yrs = 1 mil
500 x 10 yrs = 5k

From age 14 till 24,
If you grumble why let RM1 million locked for only 5.5% ROI?
then you should not go deposit RM100k every year

You dont want money locked dont pump in so much
You complained ROI 5.5% low, then dont pump in so much
pump in just enough cukup

easy,
just deposit RM2500 to your kid EPF every year
and he gets isaraan RM500
that is 20% ROI
on top of EPF dividend 5.5%

Total ROI is 25%!!!

i dont see how people can complain on such a deal EPF offered

whether Gomen promote it or not
should not make the offer less attractive
or 'suspicious' as someone hinted

or made to look less attractive by pretending dont know
using max RM100k a year deposits to calculate the roi

This post has been edited by guy3288: Jul 17 2025, 06:17 PM
nexona88
post Jul 17 2025, 06:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,530 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 17 2025, 05:49 PM)
Remember it's lifetime 5k only

Max 10 years of rm500 each....
magika
post Jul 17 2025, 06:46 PM

2,618 posts

100k x 10 yrs = 1 mil
500 x 10 yrs = 5k

From age 14 till 24,
I prefer it to be lock (for kids) rather than changing iPhone every year. Don't remember got fixed annual roi from epf.

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 17 2025, 05:02 PM)
With just that approximately 5.5% pa roi + 5k extra payouts to investors that deposits 100k per year for 10 years from age 14, ...i believes many investment companies or hedge funds would loves to get a hand of that money that can be locked for 34 years so that they can use that money to invest.

Sure all the coNsultants would love to get it but by their own tnc.

If they can guarantee annual returns 6% plus extra for compounding without fees then I would be interested.

nexona88
post Jul 17 2025, 07:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,530 posts

If one were have doubt on EPF... And it's low rates given...

Why go maximize the 100k yearly limit then for kids...

Just dump enough $$$ to get the maximum 500 i-saraan...

Why waste such good opportunity given..... I know it's just peanuts $$$$, but when accumulated over the years... Can buy more iPhone future on 😜
MUM
post Jul 17 2025, 08:37 PM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 17 2025, 06:46 PM)
I prefer it to be lock (for kids) rather than changing iPhone every year.  Don't remember got fixed annual roi from epf.
that is your preference. But for me, if i hv 100k to dump every year into my children accounts, for 10 yrs, i would just dump 2.5k into their account and the balance 97.5k into some others platforms like etf, gold and local banking stocks. Then transfer it into their own investment accounts when they are old enough. My reason is that, they hv abt 20-30+ yrs of investment horizon to build money.
No right or wrong preference)

Sure all the coNsultants would love to get it but by their own tnc.

If they can guarantee annual returns 6% plus extra for compounding without fees then I would be interested.
(i believe they cannot provide guarantee like FD. But, reading from recent postings by forummers in other threads, gold, preference shares, equity investing, properties investing, cash trust etc etc.... ave > 6% pa is i believes doable especially when the investment horizon 20-30+ yrs thus i believes there are investment companies/hedge funds with their "expertise" would loves to get that 1 mil "loan" @ 5.5% pa for 30+ yrs.
But all that does not hv "simpanan anda di jamin oleh kerajaan malaysia and min 2.5% pa unlike kwsp )

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 17 2025, 08:48 PM
nexona88
post Jul 17 2025, 09:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,530 posts

In 2024, government allocated around RM114 million for i-saraan...

Probably for 2025... Needs at least 150mil??? Since it's getting very popular.... Now with deputy minister promoting openly.... Sure hike in contribution by high school students

And those self employed / gig workers too 😁

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jul 17 2025, 09:15 PM
dwRK
post Jul 18 2025, 07:07 AM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 17 2025, 06:28 PM)
Remember it's lifetime 5k only

Max 10 years of rm500 each....
yup... we are unlikely to max it... kids n i probably 1-2k only

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 17 2025, 09:13 PM)
In 2024, government allocated around RM114 million for i-saraan...

Probably for 2025... Needs at least 150mil??? Since it's getting very popular.... Now with deputy minister promoting openly.... Sure hike in contribution by high school students

And those self employed / gig workers too 😁
dunno actual spent how much... but yeah getting noticed... my old friends just found out got such i saraan thing... lol...

dwRK
post Jul 18 2025, 07:42 AM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 17 2025, 05:58 PM)
That is when 1 mil target is not the aim of parents to hv the child hv 1 mil in epf by age 24
( per reference to post 5381)
100k deposit is very recent... didn't go back 10yrs... so unlikely for any 21 yr old to hit 1 mil per that post...

going forward is possible smile.gif... myself have started but as it will take 10yrs to move 1m... my kids will be 30s to 40s by that time... lol...

MUM
post Jul 18 2025, 07:58 AM

14,937 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2025, 07:42 AM)
100k deposit is very recent... didn't go back 10yrs... so unlikely for any 21 yr old to hit 1 mil per that post...

going forward is possible smile.gif...  myself have started but as it will take 10yrs to move 1m... my kids will be 30s to 40s by that time... lol...
Wow!. 👏Papa gives 100k into kids self contribution quota. Kids got free papa money.
Kids self contributions quota full. Kids can put self earned and saved money else where.
Good daddy. 👍

dwRK
post Jul 18 2025, 07:59 AM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 17 2025, 06:09 PM)
If you grumble why let  RM1 million locked for  only 5.5% ROI?
then  you should not  go deposit RM100k every year
You dont want  money locked dont pump in so much
You complained ROI 5.5%  low, then dont pump in so much
pump in just enough cukup

easy,
just deposit RM2500 to your kid EPF every year
and he gets isaraan RM500
that is 20% ROI
on top of EPF dividend 5.5%

Total  ROI is 25%!!!

i dont see how people can complain on such a deal EPF offered

whether Gomen promote it or not
should not make the offer less attractive
or 'suspicious' as someone hinted

or made to look less attractive by pretending dont know
using max RM100k a year deposits to calculate the roi
epf fud has been around since i was born... and will certainly continue when i am gone... smile.gif

nexona88
post Jul 18 2025, 08:07 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,530 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2025, 07:07 AM)
yup... we are unlikely to max it... kids n i probably 1-2k only
1k or 2k also still consider as "free" money 😁

Just take the opportunity
guy3288
post Jul 18 2025, 08:25 AM

5,902 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 18 2025, 07:58 AM)
Wow!. 👏Papa gives 100k into kids self contribution quota. Kids got free papa money.
Kids self contributions quota full. Kids can put self earned and saved money else where.
Good daddy. 👍
Not just good daddy bro
One has to be very capable to be able to do that

Self and wife already rm200k per year
Plus kids some more tak boleh than lo
Where got so much money to do that for every kid
Every year.....till max them all?

Actually for EPF, I won't transfer my EPF money to my kids
Wait till I die they automatically all get it and easily

For other assets eg properties bonds etc yes
Better do some transfer early when you are still around

wira1979
post Jul 18 2025, 08:44 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jul 17 2025, 04:33 PM)
Woah

https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20250717/nation/6703350

Deputy FM encourages parents to open EPF account for their kids and contribute to i-saraan for their kids lol
Wait what? I thought only for people who 'work'? So EPF's OK if I register my still primary school child? Confused ...

I can't read chinese by the way.

Edit:
Sorry, just realised 14-year minimum age. Regardless, I'd definitely do it if I had a child older than that.

This post has been edited by wira1979: Jul 18 2025, 08:47 AM

296 Pages « < 268 269 270 271 272 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:21 PM