EPF - self contribution, need advise

nexona88
post Jun 1 2023, 03:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(KOEL @ Jun 1 2023, 03:09 PM)
Is it now official that the self contribution is increased to 100K?  I put additional 15K i.e. 15K above the 60K in May and it was refunded to me.
yes. it's official

wef 1 June 2023 tongue.gif

okuribito
post Jun 1 2023, 05:12 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 1 2023, 09:29 AM)
Everything counted...

Personally...

If I were to deposit...

Only would do it last week of the month.... At least 5 working day before last day of the month....

To give gaps if There's any issues in credit the $$$ into EPF account 🙏
hehe saw the link to this thread from the FD thread.

I just calculated my div for a prev year - that year I had no transactions other than a voluntary contrib which I banked in on a date that was in the mid of the month ... for example 15th. I then played around with the spreadsheet to goal seek the div that was actually given to me the following year.

Guess what... the actual date that contrib started to earn was the 17th (I banked in a cheque) & the calculation was 0.00xyz sen off

The other thing I noticed is that the div declared in say March 2020 for 2019 is actually credited to our account on 31/12/2019 (ie retro)

So i think it's a myth that there's a "best time/date" to make your voluntary contribution. Anyday is fine. The div calculation algo is accurate

okuribito
post Jun 1 2023, 05:16 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 1 2023, 03:44 PM)
yes. it's official

wef 1 June 2023  tongue.gif

and you can get free gifts - umbrella, mug, towel etc - if you do it on the spot at the "roadshows" by way of FPX.... desperate or not? hahahaha

ps: cannot tell where i saw lah but I think they set up at heavily traffic'ed places like malls, office complexes, maybe even at their branches

romuluz777
post Jun 1 2023, 05:48 PM

2,220 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Jun 1 2023, 03:31 PM)
understand that deposit to EPF best is 2-3 days before end month, how about withdrawal?
Dont bother with the dates, when you need to use the money just withdraw it. The difference in interest lost/gain is negligible.
nexona88
post Jun 1 2023, 05:53 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 1 2023, 05:12 PM)

I just calculated my div for a prev year - that year I had no transactions other than a voluntary contrib which I banked in on a date that was in the mid of the month ... for example 15th. I then played around with the spreadsheet to goal seek the div that was actually given to me the following year.

Guess what... the actual date that contrib started to earn was the 17th (I banked in a cheque) & the calculation was 0.00xyz sen off

The other thing I noticed is that the div declared in say March 2020 for 2019 is actually credited to our account on 31/12/2019 (ie retro)

So i think it's a myth that there's a "best time/date" to make your voluntary contribution. Anyday is fine. The div calculation algo is accurate
Well....
Main thing is must have $$$ to deposit 😁
And dividend rate must be acceptable.... And higher than FD rate....

Others thing just secondary 😃

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jun 1 2023, 05:54 PM
nexona88
post Jun 1 2023, 05:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 1 2023, 05:16 PM)
and you can get free gifts - umbrella, mug, towel etc - if you do it on the spot at the "roadshows" by way of FPX.... desperate or not? hahahaha

ps: cannot tell where i saw lah but I think they set up at heavily traffic'ed places like malls, office complexes, maybe even at their branches
KL Sentral one of the location 😁

Because gor LYN member mentioned previously....

CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 1 2023, 07:39 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 1 2023, 05:59 AM)
All the pessimists would say oh the govt needs money😁
Kopitiam Aunty Unker all say gov bankrupt.
nexona88
post Jun 1 2023, 07:43 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jun 1 2023, 01:08 PM)
5% is achievable so long as RM don’t appreciate past rm4.20 with current Bursa level at 1450

Just my personal estimate only....

Could be higher since EPF also have some foreign exposure.... That somehow would help too....
adele123
post Jun 1 2023, 08:10 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 1 2023, 05:12 PM)

Not disputing but want to see more data point.

Based on my own calculation, we could not tally the dividend to the based on daily rest.

The only way we could tally was that any contribution made to EPF, even if it was in on say 15th May, we notice it only earns dividend from 1 june till 31 dec. But from 1 june to 31 dec, they will really count by number of days that elapse during that period. Of course our calculation is tainted by monthly contribution from our full time employement.

Hence, i see a different logic from what you see.

This post has been edited by adele123: Jun 1 2023, 08:12 PM
cococoffee
post Jun 1 2023, 11:03 PM

Hi to all, may I know after you register for i-Saraan, how long does it takes to get approval? Thanks.
nexona88
post Jun 1 2023, 11:07 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(cococoffee @ Jun 1 2023, 11:03 PM)
Hi to all, may I know after you register for i-Saraan, how long does it takes to get approval? Thanks.
Should be instant...

Especially if u registered online...

https://online.kwsp.gov.my/isaraanReg/?lang=en

Pop ups says can start self contribution under i-saraan 🙏

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jun 1 2023, 11:08 PM
cococoffee
post Jun 1 2023, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 1 2023, 11:07 PM)
Should be instant...

Especially if u registered online...

https://online.kwsp.gov.my/isaraanReg/?lang=en

Pop ups says can start self contribution under i-saraan 🙏
Oh I see... Thanks a lot for your quick reply smile.gif
gashout
post Jun 2 2023, 08:29 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

anyone dumped 40k into it?

coyouth
post Jun 2 2023, 09:22 AM

820 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 2 2023, 08:29 AM)
got also won't tell you. lol
nexona88
post Jun 2 2023, 09:35 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 2 2023, 08:29 AM)
1 guy I know already done that...

See previous postings 😁

Others not sure...

For me, nope... Because 60k also not fill up yet 😃
gashout
post Jun 2 2023, 10:28 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Jun 2 2023, 09:22 AM)
got also won't tell you. lol
people do share here, thats why i ask...

people even post how much they contribute for the year, one close to 200k in one yr

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 2 2023, 09:35 AM)
1 guy I know already done that...

See previous postings 😁

Others not sure...

For me, nope... Because 60k also not fill up yet 😃
fuyoh, im struggling now.

i have done my 60k, but catching up another 40k is challenging biggrin.gif by year end, i should be able to do it

kayao!
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 2 2023, 10:31 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 2 2023, 10:28 AM)
people do share here, thats why i ask...

people even post how much they contribute for the year, one close to 200k in one yr

i have done my 60k, but catching up another 40k is challenging  biggrin.gif by year end, i should be able to do it

kayao!
I am thinking to keep pace with RM60k only...since my plan to hit my objective when 55 is on track.
gashout
post Jun 2 2023, 10:39 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 2 2023, 10:31 AM)
I am thinking to keep pace with RM60k only...since my plan to hit my objective when 55 is on track.
you are already retired, right?

im still trying to hit 1 mil.... maybe 3 more yrs to go...100k/ yr is tough... hopefully all worth it..
nexona88
post Jun 2 2023, 10:44 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 2 2023, 10:28 AM)

i have done my 60k, but catching up another 40k is challenging  biggrin.gif by year end, i should be able to do it

kayao!
Majority is struggling.... Just few actually managed to maximize the 60k... And now adding another 40k 😁

As long u can afford it... Don't effect your financial... Should be okay 👍
gashout
post Jun 2 2023, 12:02 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 2 2023, 10:44 AM)
Majority is struggling.... Just few actually managed to maximize the 60k... And now adding another 40k 😁

As long u can afford it... Don't effect your financial... Should be okay 👍
We kayao together 💪🙏🙂

296 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:40 PM