Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V37, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

AVFAN
post Jan 31 2019, 11:08 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Jan 31 2019, 10:31 PM)
Using Android phone to Chromecast on Unifi 100mb line and I am facing alot of issues connect to Netflix app, it will work after several tries. But the strange thing is, i don't face any issues with Youtube app. Its only Netflix giving problem, may i know how to fix this? Thanks
netflix needs only 10mbps for HD, 25mbps for 4k.

either chromecast or y r phone issues.

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Jan 31 2019, 10:33 PM)
So I've been Turbo'd to 800Mbps, from Unifi 50.

Although my download speed doesn't reflect that:

My setup:

BTU: Huawei-HG8240W
ROUTER: TP-Link Archer C5, firmware updated just now to most recent.
CABLE: CAT5e between BTU and router.
CONNECTION: Wired directly to PC using CAT5e cable.

Shouldn't the router be at least more capable than that? Expecting under 300mbps or whatever this router is capable of.
Anything I am missing?

Please enlighten. HAVE BEEN PAYING RM199 (RM 242.xx TOTAL with HyppTV RM30 and Tax) for the past 2 months with this speed!
Thanks!
not sure about yr modem but surely NOT the router - this router can do the job.

more likely it's yr PC - do check the specs, cable used... post here - the pc experts can tell u.

also, try to borrow a new laptop, test with cat6 cable, see what results.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 31 2019, 11:12 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 31 2019, 11:45 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Jan 31 2019, 11:32 PM)
Disabled IPV6, will do some testing. Just realized that this Archer 1200 from Unifi is not that good after reading so many comments  sweat.gif
that router is problematic with some users, fine for others.

for testing, sure it is ok.

chances are problems poor results from either yr eqpt or cables.

yr question has been asked 10000 times here.

becos everyone assumes with 500, 800mbps work with thier eqpt... but no.

if gets worse, more questions when it comes to wifi.

do spemnd time reading first page and other related threads on the subject.
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2019, 05:53 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Feb 10 2019, 05:35 PM)
omg they said i cant downgrade from ultimate to ruby???? I upgraded my pack from 30mpbs to 100mpbs with ruby. after that i changed from ruby to ultimate, they said i cannot downgrade to any tv package since im with my rm159 100mpbs ultimate? is there any rule?
the bolded parts... was it a a single deal 100+ultimate change?

if so, that's a package, u can't just downgrade back to ruby to save $.

if separate changes, had separate price increases, then u have a case to argue.
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2019, 06:34 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Feb 10 2019, 06:13 PM)
Upgrade from 30 to 100 with ruby. Then i changed to ultimate so they change the package to 100mbps ultimate. Since it is 100mbps ultimate, they said cannot downgrade anymore
question is did u PAY more for speed upgrade AND then pay again for ultimate?
AVFAN
post Feb 10 2019, 09:23 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Feb 10 2019, 08:07 PM)
i paid for speed rm129 and i pay rm159 after i upgraded individually ruby to ultimate
i wud think u can make a case to return to rm129 w/o ultimate.

however, u wud hv agreed to a 2 yr contract of which the first 1 yr covers warranty of the STB.

when contract is 1 yr old, can try to see if they allow u to revert to ruby or some other basic pack.

AVFAN
post Feb 18 2019, 11:29 AM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(starlight @ Feb 18 2019, 12:57 AM)
My rented place is only 129 for 800mpbs after negotiation to cancel off.
nice. nicer if it comes with std20 calls.

likely the cheapest anyone got.

AVFAN
post Feb 18 2019, 06:26 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(Bensonc @ Feb 18 2019, 11:32 AM)
I have a 300mbps package, but my torrent download is no more than 10kb speed.
Is TM throttling all torrent download?
If so, any solution to it?
question been asked 10000 times.

TM unifi does NOT throttle torrent.

check yr other stuff - cables, router, device, accessories.

AVFAN
post Feb 22 2019, 04:06 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(kiakee @ Feb 22 2019, 11:27 AM)
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...dband-achieved/

REALLY!!! In Dreamland!!!

Me still on miserable very expensive Streamyx while my neighbours are all on fibre!!!!

Why me!?!?!?
does look like streamyx users aren't getting much or anything.

unifi, possibly with some exceptions, can say it is done.

however, we r still waiting... what price for new contracts for 300, 500 mbps?

that is the curious thing.
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2019, 05:42 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Feb 27 2019, 10:18 AM)
live chat and visit TM point they told no new router will be given and no warranty for existing router ..
no renewed for 1year warranty for existing router as told by live chat and TM point ..
the stock router was dlink850L ...no more in use ..already changed to AC68u ..
but like not worth renew 2 years contract and get nothing for equipment..
for the sake of others, can u do a summary of yr case...

is it..?

.. u were on 800mbps, out of contract?
.. downgraded to 100mbps, 2 yr contract, rm129, std20?
.. modem still working, no replacement?
.. router no replacement, no new warranty?
.. continue to use existing STB but no new warranty?
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2019, 05:53 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 27 2019, 05:47 PM)
500Mbps out of contracted, RM179
wanted to downgrade to a cheaper package (everything is still working)

Router not really an issue actually, i hope they replace my old router for free if i downgrade (new contract?)
continue to use current STB (CS claim that the new Unifi line would not support the STB anymore)
this is yr case?

now rm129, 100mbps, STB will not work anymore?

do u get STD20 calls?
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2019, 06:22 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Feb 27 2019, 06:18 PM)
.. u were on 800mbps, out of contract?
yes
.. downgraded to 100mbps, 2 yr contract, rm129, std20?
yes
.. modem still working, no replacement?
yes ..d850L support 800mbps
.. router no replacement, no new warranty?
yes ..no replacement ..no warranty for existing router
.. continue to use existing STB but no new warranty?
stb i never use ..so no concern for this
thanks ..
ok, thanks... my fren need the info.

only the STB question unclear.
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2019, 09:36 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Feb 27 2019, 06:44 PM)
your friend condition same as mine ?
ya, almost.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2019, 12:05 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Mar 2 2019, 11:01 AM)
I may need to downgrade from 500Mbps to 100 mpbs since no news on the 300mpbs package offer this year. Somemore I only use unifi to watch Netflix Full HD, YouTube n Kodi. Not do any torrent download.
it's only feb... can wait a bit.

i think a lot of people incl me planning to go 300mbps if the price is good.

but if price reduction from 800 or 500 to 300 is rm20 or rm10, forget it! biggrin.gif

100 is ok overall but 300 will be better to counter losses for older devices on wifi at a distance.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2019, 05:57 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Mar 2 2019, 12:35 PM)
Ya lo same shoes as you. 300 will be better. Hope it will be priced same as those upgraded from 300mpbs at RM139.

I foreseen around March or April, but now already March. Lol...
since some users still haven't got turbo-ed, unifi first need to complete this.

also, TM earnings now very ugly, nobody dare approve new packages that get even less revenue!! tongue.gif

but biz is biz... i expect new packages 300, 500, 800 will come on in 3Q/4Q this year.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2019, 06:52 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Mar 2 2019, 06:37 PM)
so what's the price ? 139, 159, 189 ?
who knows... just a guessing game at this time.

but i wud think it will be silly of them not to offer 139, 149, 159 to keep customers.

and quite fair, imo... now that they don't give new routers or stb's.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 2 2019, 06:52 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2019, 07:06 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Mar 2 2019, 06:54 PM)
don't give new router for those downgrade...
new application still offer new router ...

stb...mostly customer not using the service or user bought other better stb ..
if u upgrade later, will the ygive new router?!

STB... i like the STB, better video quality.
if the policy is no more stb, only use app+other device, that sucks.
it means unifitv is giving up on iptv, not investing, not competing with astro or netflix.
that is, it is planning to DIE.
AVFAN
post Mar 5 2019, 06:14 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Mar 5 2019, 04:44 PM)
Previously near the end of 2018, there were TM CS calling to offer Ultimate TV packs to those new Unifi Best 100mbps to tempt them to pay RM10 more and get Ultimate TV pack.
prior to that phase, those offered 50->100mbps for +rm10 also auto got ultimate (and STD20) included.
the funny thing was somehow, some had old hypp pack removed, others had them remained (which is redundant).
tm unifi sometimes so blur u never know how mysteriously they work.

ultimate is not bad. more so now with video quality improved - HD is now actually HD, unlike before.
the app video quality improved as well.
playtv hd quality is now same as astrogo hd.
highly watchable.

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Mar 5 2019, 05:50 PM)
I think Maxis have all our info. Basically you are blacklisted by Maxis since you under SPECIAL account. Lol.... kidding.
maxis calls ever year!

and every year, i just say "not interested", end call. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 5 2019, 06:27 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Mar 5 2019, 06:24 PM)
Every year still ok. However Maxis called me once every two weeks in the past two months. Sian.....
err... that is annoying...
AVFAN
post Mar 5 2019, 07:05 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Mar 5 2019, 06:41 PM)
Still using the Huawei STB, long may it live. The only channel that seems like HD is Sky news. Haha.
The Chinese movie channels still seem like SD quality. Lately been watching a few Stephen Chow movies.
Bbc lifestyle, natgeopeople, travel channel, channel news asia, all fox channels, tvn, tvn movies... all hd.

The chinese channels look sd becos the videos are ancient, 80s, 90s, stuff.

That is something they need to work on... somehow they think those old movies are very appealing... biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 6 2019, 10:14 AM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 6 2019, 05:20 AM)
HK movies are dead with rise of K movies laugh.gif

New HK as in 2000s onward look more HD than ever laugh.gif
hk movies are now mostly China-HK, need mainland support - funding, actors/actresses, producers, directors.

the point is unifitv does SCM, SCM legend channels offering old stuff, probably thinking jackie chan or 80's films are still king!

unlike on TVN movies where u get all the newer korean movies.

which is why TVN comes out very nice in HD while the chinese ones look old, sick and SD.

there are many good newer chinese channels but guess unifitv does not want to pay for them.

astro/astrogo celestial movies HD is good one - movies quite new, HD.

0.1691sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:23 PM