9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

TOMEI-R
post Aug 20 2019, 12:38 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 20 2019, 12:21 PM)
but i checked just now, RM446 without add-on

The period I checked was for December 2019. School holidays.
TOMEI-R
post Aug 20 2019, 01:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 20 2019, 01:00 PM)
ic..... but RM580 in school holiday period really very cheap
Rm900++ (without luggage, food and seat selection) for CNY was still available for CNY 2020 period which is very cheap too.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 20 2019, 01:30 PM)
Good thing about Narita was no midnight flight.
Airport operation until 9pm only.

Cons was quite far away from Cities. But can buy JR NEX + Suica Combo / 1000 Yen Airport Bus to Tokyo Station

Abit luxury will be Skyliner to Ueno
You mean Keisei bus from Narita to Tokyo? 1000 yen for normal hours, 2000 yen for midnight hours. But if early morning flight, have to stay at Narita because quite far away from Tokyo.
TOMEI-R
post Aug 20 2019, 04:50 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 20 2019, 03:30 PM)
Nop, not the Keisei.
This Bus company rules Narita Airport. Be-Transse, Part of JR Group. Subsidize by Govt, that why so cheap  biggrin.gif

Bro... Keisei Tokyo Shuttle also offering the same rates. I took once from Tokyo station to Narita Airport for 1000yen. Airport Limousine Bus (Orange) is more expensive at 1900 yen.

http://www.keiseibus.co.jp/inbound/tokyoshuttle/en/

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Aug 20 2019, 04:58 PM
TOMEI-R
post Aug 21 2019, 09:31 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 21 2019, 09:25 PM)
thanks, good info to me, i also face the same problem
i travel with baby, i think the best way for me is last night stay in Narita Area
to avoid baby need 2~3am wake up, taxi to Tokyo station area, up and down change to bus.......
What time is your flight? There are midnight buses to Narita but double the price.

Nikko Hotel Narita is quite good. Reasonably priced, good breakfast and free shuttle to airport and Narita town. There are also nearby atteactions in Narita town if you have the time to explore.
TOMEI-R
post Aug 21 2019, 10:30 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 21 2019, 10:09 PM)
flight time 9:30am

Narita attraction, the Naritasan Shinshoji Temple?
Yup. Shisui Premium outlets, Narita market, Aeon Shopping Mall. More shopping. doh.gif
There is also a dairy farm iinm. So you bought the Airasia Narita promo tickets?
TOMEI-R
post Aug 22 2019, 09:49 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 22 2019, 09:11 AM)
wow, thanks for the suggestions, i like shopping, haha
yes, promo ticket RM446 for return
So envy you. Too bad my plans are already full and I just back from Tokyo during raya this year. But still a very good deal that will unlikely happen again in the future.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 08:16 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 1 2019, 02:27 PM)
are there any free parking available at Takayama city?

I know that in kawaguchiko, there are a lot of free parking at the centre of the town.

How about takayama?

I checked google map and look around but all are paid parking
Nope. No free parking. Unless you park at convinience stores or restaurant parking. But if you are in the center of town, it is all paid parking.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 09:38 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 3 2019, 09:25 AM)
Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

Will there be any likelihood of road closure between takayama and shirakawago in January due to snow?
You can opt to travel on either the highway and trunk road between these two areas. The snow plough goes through the highway only when there is a lot of snow on the road, so there wont be any road closures. The snowfall around these areas are not as heavy as it can get in Hokkaido, so no worries. Just make sure you specify you want snow tires when you rent your car in Tokyo or Osaka because snow tires are considered as optional. Also get your CEP as it will be more worth it to use as tolls are pretty expensive.
If you have the time, remember to drop by at Shin HOtaka Ropeway, very nice attraction worth doing where there is lots of snow.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 3 2019, 09:40 AM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 11:03 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2019, 10:15 AM)
Snow are not deadly, deadly was black ice which usually form during morning.
If you not experience driving on winter, just avoid morning. 

Black ice almost kill me many times. seriously injured  sad.gif
Have to drive really slow and carefully on snow and icy roads. I have experienced a snow blizzard before and it was bad. Really couldn't see the road properly and I couldn't stop because I was in a middle of nowhere. Stop and I risk getting my car covered in snow and we could become stuck.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 3 2019, 11:04 AM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 03:55 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Anyone have experience booking Skymark Airlines tickets? There are two types of tickets, Imatoku and Tasutoku. Are there any special terms and hidden terms and conditions to these two type of tickets?
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 05:04 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 3 2019, 04:04 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion.

I have one full day left unallocated for any activity. I thought of giving one full day to Takayama city itself and doing it away with Shin Hotaka because i read one negative review of Shin Hotaka.

That person said he can't see anything up there in the mountain during winter.  sweat.gif

So i guess i should put back Shin Hotaka into my itinerary.

First day - arrive at Takayama (walk around at Sanmachi Takayama)
Second day - Day trip to Shirakawago
Third day - Shin Hotaka (instead of spending another full day again at Takayama)
Fourth day - Leave for Hakuba
Tbh, there is nothing much to do around the city of Takayama. The shops closes pretty early (Japanese Standards). Hida No Sato is also an attraction in Takayama city you might want to consider. I stayed at Takayama Four Seasons Hotel and its smack right in the centre of the city with free parking. You might want to consider that. Shin Hotaka ropeway is more towards snow playing and to experience heavy snowfall by itself. There are also ski resorts nearby if you are into skiing.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 3 2019, 05:07 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 09:43 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 3 2019, 07:10 PM)
Thanks!

Is Takayama city itself covered with snow in January?

Is the Hida No Sato worth to pay to enter?

I saw there is a mini snow corridor in Shin Hotaka ropeway. The mini snow corridor (very very small scale) is similar to the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine route. But I'm not sure exactly where is that mini snow corridor at Shin Hotaka.

If you don't mind, can you share your itinerary at Takayama?
1) No Takayama is not covered in snow. You may get a bit of snow on the roofs of buildings overnight but that's it.

2) Yes. Especially the Lit Up Hida No Sato. Tip try to go in the evening before sunset.

3) I didn't notice any mini snow corridor near Shin Hotaka. Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route is another must do trip though. biggrin.gif

4) Sure. Let me look for it.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 3 2019, 09:56 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2019, 09:49 PM)

Tasutoku also same as Imatoku but only 1 day prior to departure. So it will cost even cheaper than Imatoku but ur chances on that flight will be even less because standby list u are on last due to Imatoku list passenger are 3 day ahead of you.
BTW, Japan domestic flight are suck,,,,suck big time....suck of all suck.....I rather take shinkansen much better.
You wont get any entertainment and any food in domestic flight. you only get a cup of juice and non refillable.
no pillow, no blanket...no service at all...the only service time was giving u juice.
Thanks bro for your explanation. I have read the terms and conditions but still cant fully understand it. Imatoku is actually the one that costs lesser. Nevermind that, but the thing is I'm booking months in advance and they are asking me to make payment days after making the booking. Should I put it as safe to say that once payment is made, I'm guaranteed the seat on that particular flight?
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 03:16 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 4 2019, 08:04 AM)
Thanks!

How did you arrive Takayama? Did you use the Limited Express Wide View Hida?

This is the snow corridor (some websites called it) at Shin-hotaka  biggrin.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9cwOQHNapk
I drove bro.. all the way from Osaka that round. I prefer self drive if Im travelling out of the cities. Especially if you have many people travelling together especially little kids or old people, it would be much easier and more convenient to self drive. You also get to see more things and more attractions on the way to your destination.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 03:18 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 03:22 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 3 2019, 11:03 PM)
If only can booked 3 day ahead of departure date only and fully payment, if you cannot get on that flight, it will be refund.
but Tax cannot be refund  biggrin.gif

As foreigners, just buy normal ticket
Booked my tickets with Skymark Airlines and made payment already. Seats confirmed once payment made under Imatoku. nod.gif No, don't want to be on the Shinkansen for a 4 1/2 hour trip to Hakodate and then another 1/1/2 hour train ride to Sapporo. laugh.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2019, 02:11 PM)
I will still bring short pants around as I like cold weather. tongue.gif
If I have worn short pants during winter, spring and autumn in the past, I guess this one should be OK..

Just that don't suddenly drop to 5c then I'm doomed because not bringing any winter jacket this round. laugh.gif
It could be chilly especially at night or early morning. So unless you are one Iced-Cold-Woman. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 03:24 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 03:58 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2019, 03:26 PM)
OK la, long pants during this time with thick jacket. Other time just normal thin jacket and shirts with long/short pants. tongue.gif
Flying in through Haneda or Narita? Haneda has no PPL or lounges which could be used with PP or any CC. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 03:59 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 04:10 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 4 2019, 04:04 PM)
Haneda just for the convenience, unless for some reason you're a lounge addict  sweat.gif
Got PP ma... saved on one meal lor. sweat.gif tongue.gif

Joking. I really hate to be loitering around the departure areas when I'm flying. That is why I prefer to go into lounges, shake a leg, eat, drink, rest, sleep. read some magazines, watch tv, charge my phone etc. laugh.gif Right fruitie? laugh.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2019, 04:08 PM)
Nope, no Tokyo this round. tongue.gif
Will flying in to KIX.
Ah KIX... then confirm got lounge.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 04:11 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 04:22 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2019, 04:17 PM)
Yes, I go into lounges for departures. Gonna waste time in airport, then just go to lounge to rest.

This round I will go to the Premium Outlet near to KIX before flying back to KL, I have whole day... My travelling partner will fly back in the morning while my flight is at night. bangwall.gif
The premium outlet near KIX airport? The name is Rinku PO or something. There are buses which could transport you to and from KIX to this PO.

Spending the whole day there? sweat.gif Can never understand women's penchant for shopping. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 04:24 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 04:48 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2019, 04:31 PM)
Yes, Rinku Premium Outlet. Correct, there are buses to ferry people to and fro.

I hope no... I'm not a big fan of brick & mortar shopping but need to kill time plus it is the last day of my trip, I hope I still have money to shop on that day. rolleyes.gif
Got credit cards. What's the purpose of those high credit limits if not utilized fully? tongue.gif

Lol. On a serious note, you still have almost one full day left for any activities before you head to Kix. Maybe you can plan ahead and not waste time at PO. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 4 2019, 05:43 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kingofrave89 @ Sep 4 2019, 05:34 PM)
I see, January is winter right. So that one have to bring winter clothing no matter what. haha. I think for my trip, sweater that can cover till 10c should be okay. I hope. haha.
If you don't like to carry so much clothes and wear so many layers of clothing, HeatTech is your answer. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 4 2019, 05:43 PM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:46 PM