12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 12:57 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 19 2019, 03:43 PM)
Take note of tax refund slips, click only if you can read Chinese: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid...938120582934128

My first tax refund slip was properly taped on my passport and round stamp was within the slip but subsequently after that and yesterday's spending at Rinku Premium Outlet were all stapled and half of the round stamps were stamped outside of the slips. If this happens to me as well then I'm screwed because I travel to China quite often too.
I can't read Chinese but what does it mean? China immigration considered the passport is invalid due to the half-chopped stamps? Mine had a couple of these since the Japan immigration took away the receipts stapled on my passport. Is it possible to ask them use the next clean page if they are so anal about it?

Can't believe they wouldn't accept such marks on a passport considering they must have seen plenty of such half-chopped marks on PRC passports!
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 01:01 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 19 2019, 03:19 PM)
japan's tax refund rate is minimum 5000 yen
which is easily reach, u grab a few item...u already over 5k yen
so u can theoretically separate your purchase if u want to

even at the same street, same drug store can be having different promotion or same item selling at different price
at least that's what i've seen...different owner i guess
Theoretically yes, but I wouldn't want to spend my holiday on a spreadsheet comparing prices and matching the buys so I can ngam-ngam hit above 5k yen for all the disparate purchases. lolz!

Yeah, different shops have different prices, and even same franchise shops have different prices at different locations. They haven't learnt our commercial darkarts of cartel price fixing yet.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Nov 20 2019, 01:02 AM
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 01:10 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 19 2019, 11:09 PM)
I know, what I mean is not needed to stick on the passport.

It's there, after passed immigration. I detached mine yesterday.

After having travelled to so many countries and did tonnes of tax refund, Japan has the easiest way to refund but also the most untidy way to do it.
Someone had told me that their purpose is to ensure you don't use it for local consumption or resale. So they need to make sure you are declaring ur tax-free purchases when you leave.
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 11:29 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 20 2019, 01:15 AM)
Ya, we also saw the cruise ship docking and both of us were stunned. My BFF is a PRC herself also can't stand them and kept pulling me to be away from the crowd. We avoided them by going to Glover Garden. laugh.gif

We didn't visit any atomic site but instead we decided on Penguin Aquarium last minute, it was a perfect choice! laugh.gif
Summarized translation: China Visa centre declined this lady's visa application because treated her passport as invalid. She went to our immigration to apply new passport again and was told by our officers we have the rights to reject people from doing anything to our passport. Her passport is considered as "passport rosak" and had to pay RM 400 to re-apply again. RM 200 for the passport and additional RM 200 for penalty.

It's not her first time applying China visa and it's her fourth time, previous three times had no issue. Actually she also admitted her passport has a lot of staple holes and half stamps because I think she's a third party purchaser and always goes to Japan to buy stuff on behalf of others. Her advice is we shouldn't let these shops to staple, and them to tape the slips instead and also make sure the entire stamps are on the slips and not half on slips and half on passport.

My opinion is not China immigration being an anal but the truth is her passport is considered void and invalid, even our Immigration officers also mentioned the same thing. I also don't know how, I have two pages with half stamps and staple holes and I really hope my next China visa application won't be rejected.
Penguin Aquarium was something that came up to my interest but yeah that's on the other side of Nagasaki peninsular and we don't have means of transport nor time to go there. Not like we can cover every attractions and places of interest. lolz!

Since for entry visa they would put a sticker on the passport, I would have asked them to stick over those half-chopped marks. Not like those China immigration fellas have x-ray eyes to see under the sticker.

And seriously, if you ask our immigration officers, whatever that is not an entry or exit visa chop/sticker, they will just say its invalid as if the rest of the passport pages cannot be used. Real stupid answer imho. Of course they untung when they force you to make a new passport and fine you too, so they have "incentive" to invalidate it.
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 11:36 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 20 2019, 06:47 AM)
u no need to compare like a spreadsheet
first few days, walk around and enter a few drug store on the way
look at the items u wanna buy and remember the price

if it's like cheaper, just buy it
sometime standalone price is cheaper than after tax refund price(at other place)...u never know
the store at less crowded/touristy place have a lower price(but lesser variance)

actually no one outside malaysia practice price fixing, they're all used to something called competition
only malaysian wanna sell at the max ceiling price which is why we can't compete
Believe me. We tried. And that was only for Kitkats. lolz!

After the umpteen number of shops we go for one shotengai we then also compared with OTHER shops in ANOTHER shotengai. And then we compared with Donki too. And Lawsons. And Family Marts. And 7is. And AEON plus Seiyu supermarts.

So yeah, it was lucky someone in my group was keeping mental track on the prices as I was by then confused which was which at where. Haha!
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 02:09 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 20 2019, 11:49 AM)
u don't need to compare kit kat price lah
kit kat price is fixed everywhere
it's either 220yen for the plastic bag one or it's 800 yen for the box
the price is fixed everywhere u go(the only difference is flavour availability)
the price that will differ is the medicine, make up, skin care product
From my experience (at least in Kyushu side), it does varies; from 220-240yen/pack and 280-300 for seasonal flavours. There was one place we finally bought which sold the standard flavours (choco, matcha & strawberry) <200yen. Donki is overpriced for standard flavours but they have more varieties (inc the 800yen boxed ones).

Medicines & beauty products I guess are the same too.
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 02:12 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 20 2019, 01:13 PM)
If you love that city so much shouldn't keep on going. If not it will become boring like me toward Japan.
Going so much so much until numb liao  sad.gif
Same thinking as me. Next overseas trip would be somewhere else becoz the world so big must try different experiences.
babylon52281
post Nov 20 2019, 05:56 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 20 2019, 02:11 PM)
Mine 8 years 6 times consider OK lah
Yours 6 months 8 times it becomes resident city and no more tourist / visiting city liao 😂
No more become holiday dy, become more like work. So the fun is gone for RegentCid dy. Hahaha

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 20 2019, 03:51 PM)
I was in Kyoto from 13th to 16th Nov and it wasn't fully red yet, still a lot of greenish.

Next time need to plan a week later to go to Japan.
Hahaha. My case next time must plan 1 month later. sweat.gif
babylon52281
post Nov 21 2019, 03:21 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Nov 21 2019, 12:57 PM)
i was rather worried when we need to remove the receipts will damaged my passport pages.. haha  sweat.gif

japan is a country which is still not into eco-green yet. you get plenty, i meant plenty of plastic bags on every purchases you made..  rclxub.gif
Not really.
They are eco-friendly not in terms of consumption but in terms of what they do with it after they had used. Japan is unparalleled in waste sorting & recycling, so while they create a lot of trash during consumption they counter that with maximising recycling as compared to some countries that would consume much less but leaves a greater environment impact when they just dump everything into landfills.
babylon52281
post Nov 21 2019, 03:25 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Nov 21 2019, 10:34 AM)
i was in Arashiyama 2 weeks ago

and yes even without my edits, the leave colours are already changing
That's a nice picture. Personally I prefer trees to still have some greens to contrast the changing red leaves, so it would highlight the red hues as in ur picture.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Nov 21 2019, 03:26 PM
babylon52281
post Nov 25 2019, 10:04 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 25 2019, 02:53 PM)
8Am and you are already at the attractions at Kiyomizu and Bamboo Forest?? What time did you wake up? 6am? Its like going to work. sweat.gif
Anyway... so jealous reading up on your adventures while I have to slog it out at work now. sweat.gif
Go holiday, why waste daylight especially when night falls earlier in autumn?
babylon52281
post Nov 27 2019, 09:28 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 27 2019, 12:20 PM)
Yup... Am looking forward to Kyushu and Fukuoka areas too for future travel. Hopefully the Japanese Yen will drop back to 37.3 so that it would be easier on the pockets. 
TBH I feel that going to Japan and Europe costs almost the same. With the exception of cheaper airfare to Japan compared to Europe/UK which is much further away. Costs of food, transportation and lodging are almost similar if you convert out from RM.
If you looking towards Kyushu, and want an authentic more Japanese feel, and less touristy with plenty of hidden gems, and I guess more poignant, then I would highly recommend Nagasaki city and surrounding area.
babylon52281
post Nov 28 2019, 11:08 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Nov 28 2019, 07:34 PM)
I bought my flight tickets to japan next year, only to know that it falls on the golden week. So had to start doing my planning right now. Was wondering, if anyone had encountered something like "The physical train ticket is not available on the following dates: 27 Apr-6 May, 10-19 Aug, 28 Dec-6 Jan".

Meaning there will not be any train tickets for Shinkansen Bullet Train?
Golden Week is their peak holiday period. If you don't want to crowd with the whole of Japan going on their holidays, I suggest you try change ur travel dates.
babylon52281
post Nov 28 2019, 11:10 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Nov 28 2019, 08:43 PM)
I am in Osaka now. It's very cold here but people wear thin clothes whereas in Tokyo I think not as cold as Osaka but people there wear thick clothes. it's very windy in Osaka.

I found people here very friendly than in Malaysia. Only 1-2 people rude.
Being polite and courteous is their culture, something that Malaysians forgotten in their chase for money, titles, and positions.
babylon52281
post Nov 30 2019, 11:16 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(vondeland @ Nov 30 2019, 05:14 PM)
Planning for family trip for 8 (2 elderly folks) from 25th Feb to 28th Feb to Fukuoka. Do you guys think we should just travel around Fukuoka will do?
Depends on what ur party would like to do, see, visit, experience.

You could do Dazaifu+Kyushu museum in half to 3/4 a day, Nanzoin in half a day, Ohori park in half a day, Sumiyoshi, Kushida shrines and other nearby temples & shrines in 3/4 of a day or the whole day if you include the nearby museums, then remainder can be shopping in Tenjin area, Amu Plaza, or Kamikawabata shotengai or all 3. Since you have elderly, take more time at each places.

Or else, can go other prefectures as fruitie mentioned. Nagasaki is just a 2 1/2 hr bus ride away, if ur party is into the A Bomb thingy among many others. The 3 best views of Japan is in Nagasaki and best viewed at nite but during winter, temps might be unbearable for some. Nagasaki is also less popular with PRCs so it feels less touristy and more authentic feel, until a cruise ships docks on weekends. lol!

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Nov 30 2019, 11:17 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 3 2019, 12:39 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Dec 3 2019, 12:28 PM)
anyone knew if the Kyushu JR pass can be used for subway from Hakata to Tenjin?
Nope. Subway not under JR. Just use whichever IC card that is compatible with Hayakaken & Nimoca.
babylon52281
post Dec 3 2019, 12:45 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Dec 3 2019, 12:38 PM)
I read from first page, too many to consume.  bangwall.gif

I think I read until July/August's post only
Lol! People write itinerary based on their interest, why not find out what ur interested to see, experience, do?
Just start with a guide https://www.japan-guide.com/

Only becareful not to try and do everything that's listed down.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 3 2019, 12:46 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 3 2019, 05:32 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Dec 3 2019, 04:21 PM)
I not sure how many hours one place took. So just see see how you guys planned it. Not going to fully copy  biggrin.gif
If you see some of these people scheduling, you will go crazy. Hahaha! Some prefer to touch n go then rush to another spot, others might spend half day at the same places. So their itinerary can be quite varied in scope.

I suggest you use the subforum search function to read on their schedule and shared views. That would give you a good picture of what you want to see and which that you can skip, and how long you would think to stay at a location.

P.S Always plan for 1-2 extra places at a nearby location you would optionally like to go if you have the time. That way if you get bored early with one spot, you can still visit another place within ur budgeted time. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 3 2019, 05:38 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 3 2019, 11:03 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Dec 3 2019, 05:54 PM)
Is it worth to explore places provided by Osaka Amazing Pass and Kansai Pass?

Going with family.. Prefer sightseeing and food exploring more, lesser on shopping
When considering these all day passes, you should weigh the price of the pass with the cost of each ticket if you were to buy it separately. Again it comes down to how many sites you will cover during that validity duration. If you take it slow n easy, its likely not gonna be worth it.

PS, If you travel with kids and/or elderly, you will probably take more time at each location.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 3 2019, 11:05 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 5 2019, 10:50 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 5 2019, 10:37 PM)
Must pay but most of airline already included inside air ticket.

Example from MAS

AirAsiaX booking system didnt shows so can't confirm.
Back in Oct when I returned home via AA, I didn't have to pay any extra charges upon leaving AFAIK.
I didn't make the ticket arrangements tho.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 5 2019, 11:22 PM

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1349sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:37 PM