Unifi TV Ver 2, Formerly known as HyppTV

Calveez
post Jun 11 2019, 03:26 PM

42 posts

Currently using old HPTV (1st version) can this be jailbroken?
So far when contacted Unifi the unit for upgrading or upgrade to a newer unit require to pay RM300,
cos no more warranty on the box. Is it true?
Any idea?
Calveez
post Jun 12 2019, 09:54 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 11 2019, 05:44 PM)
Try asking for a new box when u next sign new contract.

I wasnt successful but some people say they were.

The old box is very very long lasting but u cant do anything with it like newer android models.
I just recently upgraded my Unifi package (during offer period) but when the installer came to change my modem. He said the TVbox is not included in the upgrade package, therefore cannot change or replace it with the new unit.
So misleading - the upgrade also involves adding new channel "ruby" package but doesn't cover the TVbox.
Sigh..will try to call them and negotiate again.
Yeah...the old box is indeed super lasting..but useless only can watch "their" shows not even youtube.
Calveez
post Jun 12 2019, 03:24 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 12 2019, 10:01 AM)
looks like they dun replace free anymore.

but u need not fret over it.... the new box is a very poor box too, basically built for playtv only.

for <rm120, u can buy a separate box and do a ton of apps with it with no headaches:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+180
In this case I gotto switch over to Unifi box to watch the ruby package and switch back to the Tx3 box for other shows.
This tx3 box is not IPTV ? Can watch astro TVB series ?
I am so lost in all these boxes...dunt know what is to what usage. So sorry, an extreme noob here.
Calveez
post Jun 12 2019, 05:09 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 12 2019, 03:45 PM)
the unifi STB is only good for unifitv channels.
but the quality is the best u can get.
so, yes, u should stick to STB to enjoy the PQ, esp the HD channels - becos this is streamed via the STB with dedicated bandwidth.
u will probably not like the PQ if u watch the same channels on another box via app becos it is rather poor IPTV.

a separate box is used for other apps although u can use playtv@unifi app for the unifitv channels - quality lower as said.
a separate box allows u to do everything else - youtube HD/4K, netflix (in SD only typically), astrogo, hbo go, iflix... all other android apps under the sun.
"TVB series", it can be live tv or VOD.
if u have an astro (with chinese/TVB pack) subscriber's astrogo id/pw, u can use the legit app on the box and watch them.
if not, u can try some other apps that might give the same but may not be complete or not totally reliable - becos they are illegit and free.

for further info on such boxes and apps:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4405774/+280
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3115619/+1200

it takes a bit of work to get all these good stuff, take some time to read first.
Thanks for all the info.
Will read and understand more review before moving ahead. thumbsup.gif

0.0258sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:40 AM