12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi TV Ver 2, Formerly known as HyppTV

UnifiTVFan
post May 10 2023, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ May 10 2023, 12:58 PM)
so I need to change LionsGate to other later is it  hmm.gif
No lah. What I mean is that you can no longer redeem free access to Lionsgate+, but you will have permanent access if you have already redeemed it before 1st October 2023. What I meant is the situation faced by upcoming subscribers after 30 September 2023.

This post has been edited by UnifiTVFan: May 10 2023, 04:00 PM
UnifiTVFan
post May 14 2023, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(Reckoning @ May 14 2023, 07:41 AM)
Hi all. Need advise. Been subscribing unifi tv ultimate since white box days. Awaiting unifi to give me a free plus box. Been years so i stop hoping for it haha

So i want to ask should i get the unifi plus box in shopee or better with mi box s 2 gen.

Seems im missing out on disney plus etc that comes with ultimate.

If I remember correctly, you will get a 2nd gen Unifi Plus Box once you have recontracted with them for 2 years. laugh.gif Bear in mind that the 2nd gen UPB could be better than the 1st one, but more restrictions have been applied to the box, like no non-Google Play apps and no access to the developer mode. Anyways, like what @Iptvfan hinted, Netflix, HBO and more channels and apps are heading to Unifi TV later this year.
UnifiTVFan
post May 31 2023, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ May 31 2023, 01:25 PM)
Smithsonian Channel On Demand silently included on Unifi TV’s Catch Up section.
Yes. It also seems like Rock Entertainment team no longer allows new TV providers to carry Smithsonian Channel (linear) as they want them to carry their in-house Global Trekker. One more thing. Unifi TV actually licenses Smithsonian Channel's VOD as part of their Rock Entertainment's carriage deal like how Aniplus VOD is part of K-Plus (linear) and Miao Mi VOD is part of Celestial Movies (linear).

Also, the recent decision made by Warner Bros. Discovery APAC to drop all 5 linear channels from HBO GO implies that they're planning to make HBO channels on more TV providers across Asia, which further supports @Iptvfan's claim that HBO channels along with other Warner Bros. Discovery channels are heading to Unifi TV this July-September. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 1 2023, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 1 2023, 11:24 AM)
Or they are going the way of Disney and dropping linear channel altogether
According to the recent "interview" Warner Bros. Discovery APAC had with Content Asia TV, here's the quote.

"Warner Bros Discovery’s (WBD) HBO Asia has built on rather than abandoned its flagship linear service, adding day-and-date/simultaneous releases of original series at the same time across all its video services – including streaming platform HBO Go – in Southeast Asia.

“We’re focused on maximising audiences for HBO content,” WBD programmers say."

Source: https://www.contentasia.tv/news/schedulewat...abandons-linear

So, nope. They still want to keep their linear channels while operating their OTT app at the same time. smile.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 13 2023, 11:37 PM

For those who are still mad at Unifi TV and Astro for cessing Nat Geo channels and Star channels, here's an update from Disney APAC.

"Disney pulls Star/Nat Geo channels in Southeast Asia, HK & Korea from Sept, Taiwan follows in Dec 2023, 100+ jobs slashed", Content Asia TV

Link: https://www.contentasia.tv/news/disney-pull...ws-dec-2023-100 (You need to be a user to access the article unless you wait for the free newsletter in 2 weeks.)
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 13 2023, 11:38 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 8 2023, 03:21 PM)
Until now no news. Maybe plan abandoned
As long as Unifi TV still carries Warner TV, Boomerang and Travel Channel, I think there's still some possibility for them to get the full suite of their channels. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 17 2023, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 17 2023, 07:28 PM)
It seems konfirm netplikk launch next week with new pack also launch. Price is also super good promo price. Very comfirm.
So, what you mean by "new pack" is Ultimate Pack + Netflix pack or it will have more new linear channels in it!? biggrin.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 17 2023, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 17 2023, 09:39 PM)
Hear is new ultimate pack with netpliiik. New channel a bit later. All rumors so far le but netpliiiikk seems very very confirm
Your "rumours" always seem very legit. Just a matter of time. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 18 2023, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 18 2023, 10:31 AM)
Yeah. Amazon Prime has some decent series too
If I'm not wrong, the reason Unifi TV doesn't want to bundle Amazon Prime with their current packs is that a lot of people who order stuff from Amazon have already subscribed to Amazon Prime, so why would they repeat the same thing if their own staffs also do that alot?! That's just my opinion. But Amazon Prime has an issue of occasionally removing their licensed titles even their originals like some of the earlier seasons of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel are missing somehow (at least last time I browsed through the catalogue on the app.
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 19 2023, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jun 19 2023, 07:18 AM)
Disney Hotstar only 720p with my hako pro, but when i use the same device for watching Disney+ USA i can watch 1080p and 4k.
For some reason, I can stream Disney+ Hotstar at 1080p for Western content like Family Guy and American Horror Story, and 4K for the newer movies. I do it using UPB (1st gen). App version: 23.05.22.9

I don't watch non-Western content in the app, so I can't comment a lot on that.

I think it's Disney's new practice to limit the types of devices that can stream their content higher than 720p. I know a lot of sideloaded apps and "non-mainstream brands" are facing with this issue. Even Netflix also does the same if I'm not mistaken.
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 20 2023, 04:53 PM

The new Ultimate MAX Pack is listed as one of the Unifi TV packs. Can't really access the page as it's currently redirected to Ultimate Pack page. But the detail states that it grants "access to Unifi TV app, Netflix, Disney+ Hotstar, beIN SPORTS CONNECT, SPOTV NOW, BBC Player, SIAR, Lionsgate Play, Viu, iQIYI at no extra cost". That's 3 more apps than regular Ultimate Pack (except for the special RM 49.90 and RM 59.90 ones).

This post has been edited by UnifiTVFan: Jun 20 2023, 04:54 PM
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 20 2023, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 20 2023, 05:15 PM)
How much is it? Wah really all in.
Just now I checked, RM 89.90. Not sure which package of Netflix (Full HD or 4K) will be part of the package though.
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 22 2023, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 21 2023, 10:10 PM)
I hear there is a cheaper option at rm69.90
It's back again, but no website for it still.
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 22 2023, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 22 2023, 01:15 PM)
Still rm89.90 for so much is really very good offer. I will take this.

The netflix is basic, standard or premium?
I just send the screenshot to Unifi via Messenger, and their staff is still "checking". Will keep you all updated. smile.gif

Update:
It's Netflix 4K (Premium). tongue.gif

This post has been edited by UnifiTVFan: Jun 22 2023, 02:30 PM
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 22 2023, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 22 2023, 05:25 PM)
I also called. Want premium just top up. Also this price if take now will be forever until i terminate. Not say after 3 mths price will increase back. Confirm.

Maybe wth new netflikk policy premium is quite redundant for most ppl.
Here's something about Unifi TV's pricing. Sure, there're different promos and packages from time to time. But the price that you once subscribed to (regardless of how ridiculously low it was) will stick with you until you change the subscription yourself. But bear in mind you may need to recontract for either 12 months or 24 months if there's a more attractive offer in the future. I still remember that I was asked by the team to recontract and get the latest Fiber packages in order to switch over to the RM 49.90 or RM 59.90 Ultimate Pack (the one has more OTT apps). So, that's the only catch I notice so far.
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 25 2023, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 25 2023, 12:35 PM)
If u take the packs they give u a free box. So far no issues for me using the box
The thing is that it's very weird to get an extra box and another round of 24 months contract every time a subscriber wants to switch over the newly-introduced packs.

I recently realize that I watch a lot of the linear channels, VOD titles and OTT apps like Disney+ Hotstar on my mobile devices because the UPB is usually being placed in the living room all the time, and it's very inconvenient for people who don't stay there all the time.

Honestly, if someone wants flexibility when it comes to OTT apps like Netflix, they should wait for the ala-carte option instead of choosing Ultimate Plus and Ultimate MAX because the only difference between these two packs and Ultimate Pack is Netflix. If you really want the "around" RM 20 discount for Netflix and you won't change your mind staying with the new pack, then it's the best way for you to go. Otherwise, I won't recommend it considering the economy and the pandemic could still be a threat if you do that (24 months are quite long you know).

But, everything aside, I'm waiting for the upcoming wave of new channels like HBO, etc. Netflix is still considered as special interest for me.

That's just my opinion. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 25 2023, 11:48 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 25 2023, 09:28 PM)
I plan to put the new box in my upstairs hall. New channels still coming?
Won't you feel weird that they didn't launch any "so-called movie channel(s)" for the channel number 401++ (except HITS Movies, but it's a retro movie channel, so it doesn't count as contemporary movie channel)? They also ceased Techstorm (CH 505) probably due to low viewership or sudden realisation that it didn't suit to be grouped as learning channels (or probably because of the channel numbering - giving ways to Discovery channels). Also, they're heavily monitoring Warner Bros. Discovery channels - Warner TV, Boomerang and Travel Channel during ads break (even at 2 AM). Usually, it means that they will bring in their sister channels, and it's just a matter of time. As I said, as long as they keep carrying those channels, and how their team keeps mentioning HBO MAX and Cinemax in a few of their "interviews", I think they're probably have them in mind all the time. Also, Warner Bros. Discovery APAC probably provides their linear channels to the TV providers if they want to carry their upcoming streaming services. You know the recent incident, right? HBO linear channels are exclusive to TV providers, who also carry HBO GO. smile.gif

Here's a quote to back my previous statement.

"The transformation of home entertainment consumption has led to streaming giants such as Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, HBO Max, and Amazon Prime dominating much of the world’s audiences. Large-scale vernacular players like iQiyi from China and Simply South from India have also captured the bulk of localised content delivery to regional audiences." From The Ever-changing Landscape of Home Entertainment by Anand Vijayan

PS: All Disney/FOX distributed Hulu titles will be made available on Disney+ Hotstar. As you can see the next big name coming to Unifi TV could probably be HBO. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 26 2023, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 26 2023, 08:35 AM)
Maybe they add for free for the new packs.
I can see maybe that's the reason of why they provide Netflix (Basic) for Ultimate Plus and Netflix (Standard) for Ultimate MAX. I think they're doing the budget thing to squeeze everything upcoming in their packs. That's just my opinion. But based on how they're able to put Disney+ Hotstar and beIN Sports (both linear and app) into Ultimate Pack, I believe they will do it again. tongue.gif
UnifiTVFan
post Jun 27 2023, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jun 27 2023, 05:34 AM)
Unifi Plus Box Gen 3, remote with Netflix button.

Does the box have a different spec compared to UPB gen 2 (hybrid)? Also, is it also a hybrid?
UnifiTVFan
post Jul 29 2023, 03:25 PM

"At this moment, only the Unifi Plus Box 2nd gen is able to watch Netflix after upgrading the firmware. There will be no upgrade for the Netflix streaming app for the non-hybrid UPB." Unifi, Messenger.

So, if you're wondering when or whether you will get Netflix on your 1st-gen Unifi Plus Box, the answer is no (at least for now). I also doubt whether they're considering to shift their focus to solely the hybrid box.

Fun fact: Cartoonito is actually being distributed by Cartoon Network in APAC (a division of Warner Bros. Discovery APAC). Does that mean Cartoon Network is heading to Unifi TV?

Anyway, I personally don't think it's worth it to get Netflix with 2 years contract since you can get the app without contract individually. Rumours say that Netflix will be offered as ala-carte around two months after its debut on Unifi TV. tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:35 AM