Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

outpace
post Apr 2 2019, 11:27 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 30 2019, 09:49 AM)
With so many different battery brands from various places Germany 🇩🇪, India 🇮🇳, South Korea 🇰🇷, Thailand 🇹🇭, Indonesia 🇮🇩,  Philippines 🇵🇭 etc, is there any that's  made in Malaysia 🇲🇾 ?
CAMEL PRC company is going to make batteries in Kuantan.
Promote local economic, employment rate, bring down the cost of batteries in general, happy to hear?
outpace
post Apr 13 2019, 10:05 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(zaly @ Apr 6 2019, 08:36 PM)
Varta 90ah come from manufacturer (German Made) can last for 6 year for my BMW but after changed another Varta 95ah (bought locally) can last just 2yrs++
what can i say, the new battery just last one or max 2++ yrs only
What BMW model?
supposed the original battery was absorbent glass mat battery? Did you replace it with an absorbent glass mat Varta too?
outpace
post Apr 13 2019, 11:37 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Apr 8 2019, 10:35 PM)
DIN60 AGM jual berapa bos?
Lead acid battery is not some super high tech precision manufacturing level. Not to say that batteries are easy to manufacture, but the construction and chemistry is pretty similar across brands.
This is true

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 13 2019, 11:09 PM)
It's really funny visiting various different battery shops and hearing them proprietors saying how good the quality of the batteries on their shelves while conveniently lumping other brands not on their shelves as substandard quality.

The reason being by the end of the day after taking into account of all their testimonies, there wouldn't even exist a battery that's good cause their testimonies would have cancelled out each & every battery brand. 😂 🤣
You are right, in almost every competitive industry.

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 13 2019, 11:13 PM)
I think a more accurate question would be was the battery that lasted for 2 years only, bought from BMW SC's directly or from 3rd party battery resellers.
blink.gif

Why car model, absorbent glass mat or not are not crucial questions to ask?

outpace
post Oct 27 2019, 10:46 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Oct 27 2019, 10:27 AM)
I gave up trying to look for a battery that’ll last 4 years. For some reason the original battery that comes with the car lasts 3-5 years (Bmw and vw in my case). I tried replacing with the highest spec I can find.. even Varta agm which costs 1.6k, and it died after 2 years. For vw it’s worse, can last probably 1 year or slightly more. I’m charging the vw battery regularly so it has been 1.5 years, don’t know how long I can push it. Battery on vw is Exide. Before this was Varta.
sit on the rear trunk of your BMW and the another one sit on your front engine bay of your VW?
that's normal if without top up charge every few months.

VArta or Varta aftermarket AGM here in Malaysia is not from the German Varta, it's manufactured by the same Korean factory (Johnson Control Delkor) that manufacture Delkor, GP, Bosch, Energizer and some other sticker brands

outpace
post Nov 2 2019, 12:04 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Oct 27 2019, 05:30 PM)
Ah that clarifies things! Thanks

@outpace now can you tell me if they’re specced the same? Pretty sure Bosch costs way cheaper vs varta. If it’s the same factory why should I pay extra for brands sake.
Price is always subjective, depends on how much of premium that user willing to pay right? Starbucks might be sourcing cake from the local bakery but selling price aren't the same for sure.
Of course, these brands do have different specifications in play, hence the differences in price.

QUOTE(cent88 @ Oct 28 2019, 12:07 AM)
Other than CCA and AH, any other spec we shall take note as well? Like how much max current a battery can release in a sudden or short period of time.
What i noticed recently is my Yokohama Beta NS40 crank quicker than my FB HiDash NS40 and Amaron Hi Life NS60 in the same car.
Besides, the light dim the least when aircond compressor kick in and also engine accelerate smoother with Yokohama Beta.
Which make me feel that Yokohama Beta is Energizer AA battery and the other two are normal AA battery.
CCA isn't everything, especially when longevity is what we concern, if I'm not wrong, there are ways of making a lead acid battery to pump up higher CCA but sacrificing lifespan, the frame structure within, the acidic level of the electrolyte or something like that.

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Oct 30 2019, 01:58 PM)
wow 24 pages quite fast. I should throw some math here for your data and for other people.

A typical car battery from googling has around 45Ah (US standard), at 12V nominal. Taking the approximate, thats 12x45= 540Wh. Since its bad to let the battery discharge  below 40%, that gives 3 out of 5 for our battery which equates to 324Wh. So if the idle power use of the car is 10W, that means it would have reached its low point in 32 hours. I looked up lead acid battery chemistry, they do like to be charged but dont like to be drained like a normal battery due to sulphation where the sulphur in the acid coats around the conductor and eventually blocks it off from conducting. The largest legal laptop battery you can bring on the plane is 100Wh, same applies to power banks and so on. A power bank of 20Ah (20000mAh) will have 3.7*20=74Wh.

Looking at this math, please please do not leave your lights on and minimise electrical usage of your car when the engine is off, and if you go off for a long time, please have another non lead acid battery charging your battery. If you drive everyday there is no need but if you go off for a week its something you should consider. Some ammeters can measure the electrical usage and perhaps something for you to consider testing to find out whether or not you need a charger if its over night or the minimum time you need to put a charger when you go off for long periods.

A couple of things i am trying to figure out, What is it that determines the capacity of the battery given the same sized lead acid battery for the same voltage?
I would also like to try experimenting, if its possible to create a NIMH supercap hybrid for below rm 2k for similar or better watt hours, which would mean 10 years of battery life, but if every 2 years you change your battery for rm 200, then that wouldnt be a saving, though the instant start from the supercaps could help start/stop features in cars.
How do you get the idle power use of the car, say for 12 hours, how to get the 10W?

That's why most of the sifus here who are able to stretch the lifespan of their normal flooded lead acid battery to many years are those who frequently charge their battery.
Let's not talk about those AGM sitting at the back of the car comfortably, cars like BMW, Audi, and BENZ. These AGMs are designed to be lasting very long time with better deep cycleability, but AGM also dig deeper from their owner's pocket, but I think it's worth to have them.

Look forward for your project bro NIMH supercap hybrid
there have been many trying for many years to get alternative for heavy and clumsy lead acid battery, but the fossil burning cars still not running away from the lead acid

outpace
post Nov 2 2019, 12:13 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Nov 1 2019, 12:32 PM)
i think what you're saying is that the heat is causing increased gas formation and also the reactivity of the acid? In which case for cars with battery infront its better to use unsealed?
Anyone here who have used unsealed battery can comment on lifespan?

I will say though that heat is only a small part of the equation, consider also the cost of the battery. For my parents their car battery only lasts less than 3 years, basically more than the normal 2 year amount for a battery that costs less than rm 200.

I also found out about the opposite battery, metal alkaline which uses 2 different metals and salt water which i guess forms the alkaline. From what i've seen in small scale testing the capacity would be impressive so i will build one and try out myself in the future before going on to make one for a car.

Small GP sealed lead acid battery lasted 7 years as a backup power for sensor, not car related but its GP brand so i dont know if anyone uses them. I find that they can be pretty pricey when it comes to tech offered but they do offer decent quality too.
From what I have read, heat is a very big part together with "undercharging" (draining by parasite draw, frequent short distance travel) that form the failing equation.

Your small GP sealed battery probably is and AGM or GEL battery, or deep cycle battery that have thicker plate therein.
It's different from the very thinly plated SLI batteries in the car.
outpace
post Feb 23 2020, 04:54 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 19 2020, 10:10 AM)
Ok and thanks for your information. Here's what I can deduce.

Polo. It seems to have an exceptionally high power consumption of 24 CCA/month, far greater than all the cars that I have tested todate. Or maybe that is VW standard thingy, I don't know.

Gen2. Now I think I know what you are trying to say. However if I had guessed it correctly, the Gen2 high power consumption 16 CCA/month.

Here's the thing, one has to factor in power consumption as well in determining battery lifespan. The higher the power consumption, the shorter will the lifespan be, and vice versa. I know for sure that cars that runs only during the day, their batteries last longer than cars that runs at night. Simply because there is no load on the battery from the lights on day cars. Since you mentioned about frequent midnight jobs, that could be your very reason.

My sister-in-law gatal-gatal when to install a huge entertainment unit etc etc and then asked why her battery cannot last long. Now in order to say money on the DIN55 battery, now she never turns on the entertainment unit anymore.

A good friend of mine came in a new Odyssey and said that the battery dies after a year period. With the 2 huge automatic sliding doors, USB ports throughtout the car for charging 5 phones dan lain lain lagi, macam mana tak mati ?

I met a Chinese lady yesterday, whom is interested in attending my talk next month. She said she tries not to use the air-con where possible, just to save money on batteries and she managed to push her battery lifespan longer than before. I commended that it was very wise of her.

If anyone were to run 2 simple test, using 2 new batteries & let it self-discharge by itself sitting on the floor. The higher powered unit will certainly out last the lower powered unit accordingly based on CCA differences by the same proportion.
What talk you going to held in next month?
outpace
post Feb 23 2020, 04:56 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 19 2020, 07:25 PM)
Bro., thank for the picture but if you could provide a picture of a setup 12V Gel Battery under the hood with those adaptors attached, it will definately clear all doubts.

I have always read about gel battery but never actually seen one yet. Can't wait to know more about this type of battery when it arrives in Melaka.
Just buy one online if you arr interested to buy right?
outpace
post Aug 26 2021, 12:00 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Aug 24 2021, 12:52 PM)
Battery explode? With today's technology and chargers, batteries still can explode?
Yes, there is some chances that hydrogen oxygen built up within the battery (when charging) could not be dissipated fast enough (either due to failed / contaminated flame arrestor or some odd circumstance of the battery's condition)
or a failed alternator or when we charge battery which no longer has electrolyte.

It's rare, but these incidents happened, to any brand of battery.
outpace
post Sep 4 2021, 01:45 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Sep 3 2021, 03:44 PM)
The Century has higher CCA and Ah and only $10 more  than silver Varta.
Which spec of Century Q85 you got?
the Century Q85 that I could see is 95D23L like the black Varta Q85,

what Century Q85 that with higher AH and CCA than Varta 115D23L?

How much you paid in the end?
outpace
post Sep 4 2021, 03:43 PM

574 posts

I see, thanks, so Century do have higher spec Q85 like Varta other than 95D23L

Why Varta Q85 (115D23L) having lower CCA and AH than Century Q85 (110D23L) despite having higher performance ranking ?

Even Century 95D23L (70AH 670CCA) is higher in spec than VARTA 115D23L (70AH 660CCA)

outpace
post Sep 13 2021, 12:07 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Sep 12 2021, 06:40 PM)
Check out Q85-EFB 115D23L Century Continental MF Car Battery (Idling Stop, for Start and Stop Engine Vehicles) Car Battery for RM400.00 - RM430.00. Get it on Shopee now! https://shopee.com.my/product/330323008/576...33-1631446619.9.

As above have not purchase it yet 😂
I see, so you are still sourcing battery for your CX3? What made you think it's about time to replace the battery?
How long has it been in use?

I'm still puzzled by the paper info that showed Varta EFB Q85 115D23L battery's Ampere Hour and Cold Crank Ampere are lower than Century EFB Q85 115D23L and EFB Q85 95D23L (in term of CCA)

outpace
post Sep 13 2021, 12:15 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(nefashu @ Sep 12 2021, 05:24 PM)
RAMCAR on my preve last for 4 years. change it because its too old. my second RAMCAR only last for 2 years becasue PKP. car not moving for 6 month and park in shade.
The second battery might be still alive if you or your workshop recharge it properly, there is always chances that depleted battery can be recharged.
though 6 months seems like a bit long, all 4 tyre fully deflated? doh.gif
outpace
post Sep 19 2021, 11:55 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Sep 17 2021, 08:53 AM)
Mine is the non hybrid version.

On Malaysian HRV non hybrid models, nope, its not offered. But in the instruction manual , there is an Auto Start Stop feature, so its probably offered for other countries.

However you are right, Honda employs what they call "Two-Stage Electronic Load Detection (ELD) " in their electrical system. But not for power regeneration braking.  biggrin.gif

http://cf.linnbenton.edu/eit/auto/krolicp/...LD_charging.pdf
https://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/cgi/viewconten...ntext=auto_pres
Good share thumbsup.gif

I believe the charging voltage would also be low even if you on the AC with lowest fan speed, when the load goes up (like with air cond blast and headlight on, the charging should go higher)

Guess this is some of them have been saying Honda vehicles typically need need higher capacity battery or battery that can accept charging faster like EFB batteries.
outpace
post Sep 20 2021, 12:06 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Sep 17 2021, 10:31 AM)
Just to let u know, the early batch of x70 is using battery Din60L (60ah).
Later revision( assembled in bolehland) is using battery NS70L which is way cheaper.
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Sep 17 2021, 02:39 PM)
That's weird, I remember seeing and reading out the word AGM Battery on the sticker in front of the Sales Advisor when it was launched.

Anyway from a DIN60L to NS70L macam down-grade je.
Is going from DIN60L (60AH) to NS70L (what AH you are referring?) a downgrade?
look as if the NS70 battery receive steroid boost if comparing both in dimension.

This post has been edited by outpace: Sep 20 2021, 12:09 AM
outpace
post Sep 20 2021, 12:15 AM

574 posts

Blurred numbers, but it seems like 690 Cold Crank Ampere on this battery?

If that's the case, not like a downgrade

outpace
post Sep 20 2021, 12:31 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Sep 17 2021, 09:54 PM)
AGM battery cost a bomb and not suitable to be fitted in engine compartment.. I won't believe proton will put AGM battery in their cars.  laugh.gif

If following the true spec of NS70L(we all know that the local suppliers/manufacturers/importers tend to do hanky-panky shit) is 65D26L which should have 65AH.. Din60L has 60AH only.
Whilst DIN60 means 60AH, is 65D26L having 65 Ampere Hour? seems not that case

I was asking in my previous post to see if someone familiar with Century or Varta can answer why Century 95D23L (70AH 670CCA) is higher in spec than VARTA 115D23L (70AH 660CCA), cause seems like lots of Century or Varta's fans/promoters/ambassadors are active here. You can see both Century Q85 Varta Q85 are having 70AH, not 95 or 115

outpace
post Nov 27 2021, 11:22 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 27 2021, 10:00 AM)
When a car manufacturer decides to go seperately with a new technology via product differentiation, it creates for them a new market provided the consumers are receptive to their product. New products will come with a higher pricing since there are various other hidden costs attached apart from the fact that more energy is required to produce a battery of higher capacity. Higher energy simply means higher pricing or cost of production.

The real problem starts when customers are not receptive to their product which inevitably increases holding costs further which can translate to pricing as we can observe from the various posts in various threads.

If that wasn't enough, introducing another new product in the new facelift, which is completely different product from those in the existing market that's enjoying economies if scale, I wonder what the hell are these people trying to do ? Maybe they don't want so many customers already which is weird, aren't the customers the bread & butter of their business ? Are trying to kill the goose that lays the golden egg, too get more golden eggs out of it, who knows ? Irregardless of whatever the situation is, with the way things are going it will only lead to further price increases because of inefficiency.
Looks like your second part aim directly on many many many car manufacturers

outpace
post Mar 24 2022, 06:36 PM

574 posts

I don't understand this. Care to explain?

Top 2 looks like before driving

The bottom 2 look like you either have cooked your battery tester or you have a voltage stabilizer in place during testing or you tested your battery while alternator is running.

This post has been edited by outpace: Mar 24 2022, 06:40 PM
outpace
post Mar 24 2022, 06:42 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Mar 24 2022, 06:39 PM)
before (LEFT) and after  (RIGHT) driving for 1hr

last photos, battery test during engine running
I see, not much increase in that volt

but for a batttery that has been used for years, OKay