Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

river.sand
post Jun 11 2019, 09:27 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 11 2019, 08:12 AM)
Anyone from penang? Maybe can meet up for coffee. Need some info n experience sharing.

I have been using grab recently n notice price is on the high side.... less than 10km up to rm15. N hard to get drivers peak period. Might consider doing it for fun .
You want to share experience about drivers or riders? If it is about riders please open a new thread.

BTW, many here complain that Grab value riders more than drivers. But apparently riders are also not happy with the high fare.

river.sand
post Jun 11 2019, 10:50 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 11 2019, 09:53 AM)
So not worth doing to kill some time? Btw will drivers know destination of riders before accepting?
Additional info to yhtan's post...

You have two choice:
1. turn on AA (Auto Accept)
You do not know the destination before accepting, but you can still cancel a job afterwards (subject to rules).
You pay lower commission to Grab, and are entitled to bonus (subject to rules) during peak hours.

2. turn off AA
You know the destination before accepting.
You pay higher commission to Grab, and are not entitled to bonus during peak hours.

My own experience was, I made lots of mistake with AA off. So I prefer to turn on AA (particularly during peak hours) and cancel the jobs if need to.

BTW, most drivers in this forum will tell you grabbing is the worst job in the world biggrin.gif
river.sand
post Jun 11 2019, 11:49 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 11 2019, 11:28 AM)
Classic example of rider tag Family Mart Sunway Pyramid which is located inside, either u wait at Oasis boulevard or in front Celcom. The driver waited in front of Celcom while rider at Oasis Boulevard

Judging from this snapshot, the driver was not even at Sunway Pyramid.
He was near the shoplots opposite Pyramid.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Jun 11 2019, 11:50 AM
river.sand
post Jun 12 2019, 05:59 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 12 2019, 01:19 PM)
it may no necessary due to app gps issue
the rider may intentionally put different pick up point because Asia Jaya 2 his destination fare is higher or a lot higher than from Luther Centre
similar to midvalley north entrance vs north point residence scenario
Last time I got a rider who was at Giant Cheras Connaught, but set his pick up location somewhere else. He messaged to me, asked me to go to Giant main entrance.

I waited at the stated pick up point for 5 minutes, then pressed Cancel.

As I was leaving the place, I got a new job from the same rider. This time he set the location right. But as soon as he noticed he got the same driver, he canceled the job.
river.sand
post Jun 14 2019, 12:47 PM

3,806 posts

I had this experience...

It was a back-to-back job. I dropped off the first rider at a condo, and picked up the second rider at the same location.

I waited for 5 minutes then pressed cancel. Surprisingly the passenger no show option didn't appear. I waited for another 1 minute and tried again, but it was still the same. I proceeded to cancel the job. My CR increased, and I was not compensated.

When I contacted CR, they told me back-to-back job not entitled to passenger no show compensation.

I was not so concerned with the RM3 compensation. After all the second rider wanted to go to KLCC. But it annoyed me that my CR was affected...
river.sand
post Jun 14 2019, 01:55 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 14 2019, 12:58 PM)
did u drive back to guard house? pick up pin might be there rather than the lobby inside.
there was one time I reach a land property, press cxl pax no shown no appear. drive away do one rounding. 50m-100m b4 reaching same pick up, I press cxl again, this time “pax not shown” pop up. no sure reason
No, I remained at the lobby.

But I thought it was the point we press Arrive is more important?
river.sand
post Jun 15 2019, 07:13 PM

3,806 posts

Grab gets 20% commission from the fare riders pay.

The term 'commission' suggests that Grab is the agent, while drivers are the principals.

But in reality, Grab is the principal and drivers are the agents.

Uber used to call it Uber fee.
river.sand
post Jun 18 2019, 04:41 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 18 2019, 12:02 PM)
it happened when crap has narrowed the pick up diameter in system...must be really close only can press “I have arrived”...,, deswai we call them crap & not grab...yummy!!!
If we are not close to the supposed pickup location, we get a message. But we can still go ahead to press "I have arrived".

Regarding passenger no show, I believe it is measured from the point we press "arrived", rather than the indicated pickup point. Can anyone confirm?
river.sand
post Jun 19 2019, 09:20 AM

3,806 posts

river.sand
post Jun 20 2019, 05:55 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(wirelessbuyer @ Jun 20 2019, 05:51 PM)
You just google Ramly Motor Works, located at taman medan.
This Ramly Motor must be making good money. Maybe before long we will see price hike laugh.gif
river.sand
post Jun 23 2019, 08:25 PM

3,806 posts

Anyone else on U Mobile?

Recently very bad. When using Waze, take very long time to calculate route. And this happens in multiple locations.
river.sand
post Jun 23 2019, 10:23 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(wirelessbuyer @ Jun 23 2019, 09:54 PM)
It's really annoying when need to stop at road side while waiting for waze to finish calculating. Some rider muka masam already even when i explain nicely to them.

Grab driver app also stupid don't even allow driver to change the navigation app after accepting a job.

Will stick with gmaps until this problem solve.
Riders expect us to know the way without relying on navigation app.

Just today a rider of mine set the pick-up location wrong. Then she called me and said, "I am at..." doh.gif
river.sand
post Jun 24 2019, 08:32 AM

3,806 posts

Yesterday an auntie brought fish into my car. Today still got smell doh.gif
river.sand
post Jun 27 2019, 09:01 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Lancelot9 @ Jun 26 2019, 08:30 PM)
Just after 8pm come in a booking. From Ss 2 to klcc. Rm 18 n eta 51 minutes no tbb. Wtf is it?? Cancel!!!!
How do you know the ETA before you pick up the rider?

Do you manually enter the drop off and pick up locations to find out the ETA for every trip?
river.sand
post Jun 27 2019, 09:59 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 27 2019, 09:23 AM)
doh.gif

You concern more on the ETA rather then the fare ? Like this better do charity ride then.

RM18 - 20% = RM14

Would you do a job from SS2 to KLCC for RM14 in 50 minutes or at best in 30 minutes ?

No wonder grab smart to take advantage of certain grab lembu drivers.
I am asking the other guy.

And I am asking in general, not just SS2 to KLCC. I know many drivers would compare fare vs. ETA and cancel the trips.

BTW, stop come here cursing doh.gif I am smart enough to do Grab part time.
river.sand
post Jun 27 2019, 11:49 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 27 2019, 10:22 AM)
Yesterday evening first job masuk KL Convention Centre, enter Jalan Raja Chulan and see the traffic not moving for 5mins, i feel like upcar liao.

6.10-8pm only completed 2 job with net earning of RM43.60. Luckily got one job heading from Masjid India to Sunway pyramid with RM42 fare. Seriously crap should review their fare structure at peak hour, especially those with heavy traffic.

I was informed that these few days those hotel has a lot of Raya Open House event, i will try to avoid KL City Centre for this 2 days.
A better fare structure is to use actual duration rather than estimated duration, but put a cap to avoid driver gaming.

Another thing is weekdays 8pm - 9pm should be made peak hours in Klang Valley. KL-Seremban Highway towards Sungai Besi is still very jam at this time.
river.sand
post Jun 28 2019, 02:54 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 28 2019, 11:30 AM)
it seem in the morning the fare has gone up quite significantly, shortage of drivers kah? Evening time the fare isn't that high also
Check your fare got surge or not.
river.sand
post Jun 29 2019, 09:24 PM

3,806 posts

Today picked up an India Indian couple (not local Indian) from a hotel. Destination was Jalan Thambipillay.

Along the way, the guy gave me direction on how to get to the destination. When we reached Jalan Thambipillay, the lady got off, while the guy told me he was going to Nu Sentral. He further explained that he was new to that area, and needed me to give him a lift.

New to that area? He knew how to get from his hotel to Jalan Thambipillay. Nu Sentral was within walking distance.

I refused to give him free ride, and insisted to drop him off there.
river.sand
post Jun 30 2019, 09:04 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(birdman8 @ Jun 30 2019, 02:18 AM)
Have you reported your case to grab after incident?
No. Doubt Grab would take action without evidence. I didn't record down the conversation.

It was my last job of the day. If the couple were nice people, I wouldn't mind give them short free ride. But that guy was clearly cheating.
river.sand
post Jun 30 2019, 09:14 PM

3,806 posts

Today my DR dropped 0.04, must be the cheapskate India Indian couple gave me 1-star rating biggrin.gif

This was not the first bad experience I had with India Indians riders. By comparison, PRC riders are much better.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:57 AM