25 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 12:09 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 20 2019, 12:06 PM)
For the ILP medical card, if I pay the premium cheaper at the beginning, later like after few years time,when I have more budget, I can put more money in the ILP saving part. This will be better right?

Technically you can do so, however the amount you may need to top up will be higher than doing it initially because you have loss "Time" factor in investing the amount.

Time x Money = Investment

Assuming investment target is 100,000

1) 25 years x 4,000 = 100,000

2) 20 years x 5,000 = 100,000

As you can see the above example, you may need to dump in 1,000 more in 5 years difference in order to achieve the same amount.
lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 12:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 12:36 PM)
Nice way to put it.  thumbup.gif
Yea. My Pru is around 5 years old. Last year only upgrade my med card to pruvalue med with med saver RM300. Recently my family member bought insurance from GE and explained to me her insurance coverage. I check with my Pru agent and he told me time to upgrade my life insurance because at that point 5years ago, my life assured is below 100k  sweat.gif . My Pru med card cover me until 70 years old only. That’s why before I wanna upgrade my Pru,I was comparing to GE, what if I change to GE if GE offer better and I affordable to pay monthly premium. Knowing Pru, if I wanna upgrade age coverage to 80 or 90, the premium gonna be pricy. But what if I can get better coverage in GE and med card up till 99. That’s the story...
I would advise to get medical card that can last atleast 80 and above considering the lifespan nowadays for Malaysian has increased compared to the past.
lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 01:52 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Apr 20 2019, 01:30 PM)
Hi, just wondering if there's a kind of insurance that covers travelling for work for my uncle. Driving from perak to jb twice a month and flight to East Malaysia once a month. Age around 50. Mainly to cover for medical and accident (loss of income, because got 4 kids still in secondary school + university) *touch wood*
Budget below rm500 per month but can be adjusted.
What is his occupation ?
lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 06:51 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Apr 20 2019, 06:35 PM)
Just wondering, anyone know what's the range for life insurance charges for a 80 year old male?

Wondering because when I see the plans, they always show the forecast for 30 years, but the cost of insurance probably increases quickly as you age. So, even if the plan promises to cover your life till 99 or a 100, you'll need to top up the policy by quite a lot as you grow older?
That’s because medical cost increases overtime and it’s unpredictable.

If you take your insurance without the medical card then the forecast can say its 100% accurate.
lifebalance
post Apr 21 2019, 11:15 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(zfc @ Apr 20 2019, 10:19 PM)
Is critical illness insurance considered as medical insurance or life insurance for the purpose of income tax claim?
its considered as medical portion.
lifebalance
post Apr 21 2019, 06:20 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(JMoo1 @ Apr 21 2019, 06:17 PM)
Hi  if age 57, male no smoking , no disease no diabetics what is the minimum rate for medical card?  Possible to buy until age 80 and above? Or it will be very costly?
Depends if you're covering under term insurance or investment link policy.

If it's a term insurance (standalone) then the cost of insurance will increase over the years but you're paying the cost price without any investment.

Otherwise if you want something cheaper over the long term then you can get the investment link policy but the monthly contribution will be more initially.

Yes it's possible to cover until age 100 yr old.
lifebalance
post Apr 22 2019, 11:21 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Apr 22 2019, 09:41 PM)
Hmm,
Max budget for purely medicine card insurance .. any idea which insurance company I should buy ? ?
Can go with Great Eastern / AIA
lifebalance
post Apr 23 2019, 10:53 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Apr 23 2019, 10:45 AM)
Imho, there’s no such thing as max budget for insurance. The so-called budget is just a guideline.

The idea here is to get the highest amount of protection at the lowest cost possible.

It’s advisable to get a few quotes and compare the benefits.
If he’s talking about max budget, he could also mean what’s the max amount he is willing to spend for his insurance premium.

Ideally what you’ve mentioned is the “ideal insurance” but in reality, it’s not always the case.
lifebalance
post Apr 23 2019, 11:11 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Apr 23 2019, 10:58 AM)
I heard insurance policy all burn off one? And you need to pay every month until you die. Its that true?
Not necessary.

If you’ve opted for term insurance then yes, it’s just like your car insurance, if you don’t make any claim then it just burns off and you need buy the cover again.

For standalone medical card it is the same, if you didn’t make any claim for the year, the premium paid is burnt off.

This is different if you’ve opted for investment link policy. There will be cash value in the policy as you pay through the years. However if your insurance policy consist of the medical card rider, then it will come to a point of time where the policy may not have enough cash value in the policy to sustain the medical card as the cost of insurance for the medical card continue to increase over times.

There are also insurance policies like Death & Disability / Critical Illness coverage which you have choice to pay within 5 / 10 / 20 years or whole life.

So it will depend on what kind of insurance policies you’ve signed up for.

lifebalance
post Apr 23 2019, 11:52 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Apr 23 2019, 11:05 AM)
how we can know the COI is enough to cover future insurance cost for how long? Lets said I stop paying the insurance at age of 65 (retired).
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 23 2019, 11:48 AM)
We never know due to both variables.
1. Variable in term of COI - medical COI tends to rise over the years, due to inflation, population aging, newer medical equipment/treatment etc.

2. Variable in unit trust return. Investment link is actually investing in unit trust only, not something sophisticated to understand that unit trust return vary due to market condition. Bare in mind, the unit trust may actually yield a loss instead of gain, which may result a shorten duration of ILP or else insurance company needs to raise the ILP premium.
ILP premium is never guaranteed to be fix throughout.

Insurance company generally has a projection based on previous record of COI increment and unit trust return, that give a projection to ILP client that one can refer to, but it is never guaranteed.
As what cherroy pointed out.

These 2 variable will make it hard to determine the future COI as well as how much premium you should contribute now in order to make sure that it 100% can last through >80 yrs old.

You may always try to stand by some extra buffer on top of what you’re paying for your insurance premium at the moment for the future if you are worried that your cash value within your insurance policy may not sustain until the age that you’re targeting to last until.
lifebalance
post Apr 23 2019, 12:05 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Apr 23 2019, 12:01 PM)
This is precisely the reason why, for me, after 10+ years paying for an ILP, GE advised me to up my premium payment for a whopping 26%. Had I understand this earlier, I could have gone for a term medical insurance.
Not necessary, you did get to enjoy other insurance benefits besides hospitalization benefit alone.

Having said that, I’m sure the premium that you’ve paid had helped you to buffer some of the increasing cost for a period of time although I’m not sure how your insurance policy was structured by your insurance agent.

biggrin.gif choose your insurance policy & agent wisely.
lifebalance
post Apr 23 2019, 03:18 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Apr 23 2019, 03:03 PM)
Yeah you are right, but I was uncertain....as a lot of insurance agent promo it like its a secure for our old age....but now it defy my original understanding which is to buy at early age to secure us when we grow old.

So, just another question. If I bought insurance at early phase will the premium stay the same across my lifetime until old? Or it growth over time which will burn out our COI?
Unless you can guarantee yourself not to get sick or dead before you’re old to buy your insurance, you wish you had insurance so you’re covered for things which are not pre-existing (illness).

Like cherroy says, you don’t want to try to “win” against insurance.

If you’ve read my post earlier, it already answers your question. Medical cost is the key component that is the costliest. Your insurance cash value exhaust because of its increasing cost.

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Apr 23 2019, 03:10 PM)
Heh. Consumers should go in with the mindset of buying an insurance with the hopes of not wanting to use it at all. Hopefully.
Haha then when get into accident in a car / house on fire / lying in bed, thank their lucky star they had insurance, when happy go lucky that time, say waste money.

lifebalance
post Apr 24 2019, 09:19 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Apr 23 2019, 06:36 PM)
Oh.. so there is no whole life medical card la.
laugh.gif if got whole life medical card I think it will sell like hot cake
lifebalance
post Apr 25 2019, 10:48 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(cchin8888 @ Apr 25 2019, 10:47 AM)
Anyone have Ammetlife agent intro in Penang? Interest is medical card..
contact 03-2271 8000 AmMetLife directly and they'll get someone to call you
lifebalance
post Apr 28 2019, 04:09 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(dun_panic @ Apr 28 2019, 03:40 PM)
Need insuran suggestion for my 8months baby, currently with alianz 195 per month. I feel not worth it compared to my etiqa benefits.
Should i change?
Current cover 80k a year, no limit lifetime
Room only 150 which i think not enough
Also the saving/investment is not transparent enough
What’s not worth ?

Need to establish the main purpose of the insurance plan.
lifebalance
post Apr 28 2019, 08:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(w3sley @ Apr 28 2019, 07:26 PM)
Since you are in this whole life topic, can I ask if whole life consider pre-existing condition since its life? Its abt death right?
Depends on what kind of pre existing illness, if it has risk of causing death earlier then it will be rejected as well.
lifebalance
post Apr 29 2019, 11:11 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bengyson @ Apr 29 2019, 11:08 AM)
Hi everyone,

I have quoted by AIA insurance agent with below quotation. Do you think this is a good medical plan? My concern is about the premium cost and sustainability.

At what stage we should consider to top-up the premium?

R&B: 200
Life: 100K
TPD:100K
CI: 50K
Premium waiver
with Deductible 300

Sustainability is range between 61 - 64 yo based on projected X & Y.

Premium is 2800 per annual.

Appreciate all your valuable advice.
At what point you need to do a top up, that will be unknown as the cost is unpredictable.

Since you've opted for a low premium contribution with high coverage, be prepared for the policy to top up very soon by the insurance company.

Sounds good now, wait till later rolleyes.gif
lifebalance
post Apr 29 2019, 11:46 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 29 2019, 11:17 AM)
Lets say i dont wanna buy ILP insurance ... just wanna buy term medical card ...
the logic is lets say 18years old premium is 1k, as it increase with age, 30 years old mayb around 2k, 40 years old 3-4k , 50-60 years old 4-5k and so on.

Can I say that actually the myth of buy insurance when you're young (cheaper) is misleading ? Since that no matter when you buy, the price structure is there. The only thing buy younger is to cover any illness that happen when youre young.

Lets say a person A have this disease at age 40, whats the different if that person bought the medical card ;
1) When he/she around 18years old
2) when he/she around 38years old
3) When he/she around 42 years old

Can this be summarized that option 3 not a good option coz insurance will no longer cover the "existing disease", whereas option 2 is the best here ? option 1 is covered but based on this scenario is bought when too young ? am i rite ?
like I said many times, as long as you're healthy, you have a choice on when u want to apply for insurance, just don't cry father mother when you are down with a pre-existing illness and its too late to apply for any insurance.

QUOTE(bengyson @ Apr 29 2019, 11:28 AM)
Yes, it always sound good for now. So is that a good practice to have longer sustainability? at what range it should be optimum?
I was told that AIA has the highest COI compare with other insurance. Maybe I should get more quotes for comparing..
until 80 yrs old will suffice for now unless you can live beyond that then maybe can consider until 100 yrs old.
lifebalance
post Apr 29 2019, 11:51 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 29 2019, 11:49 AM)
any guaranteed renewal stand alone medical card to introduce ?
Smart Medic Xtra Great Eastern
A-Med Regular - AIA
lifebalance
post Apr 29 2019, 11:57 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Apr 29 2019, 11:53 AM)
But standalone actually have price increase after June, I not sure about AIA. But Great Eastern will increase  sad.gif  sad.gif
Medical repricing is always on-going, it's just matter of when it will be pushed to the policy holders. If the insurance company is willing to subsidies the cost then the price will sustain for awhile before it becomes "unfavourable" to the shareholders then they will eventually push it to the policy holder.

Unless there is a reduction in medical cost / equipment / medical research / pharmaceutical / corporate shareholder interest / economy. Insurance company will need to continue to innovate their insurance plan offer / expand their investment horizon.

25 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1160sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:12 PM