25 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post May 28 2019, 10:24 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(christeen @ May 28 2019, 01:49 AM)
What's the coverage differences (pros and cons) for life insurance plan above?
Let's say sum assured 500k, how much is the yearly premium for each of the plan?
The 4 plans are all death and disability insurance, premium wise depends, you may want to get individual quote
lifebalance
post May 28 2019, 04:19 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ May 28 2019, 02:59 PM)
hi all sifu sifu,

how much a medical card cost (per annual) for a 38 years old male, and 2 years old child (female)?
Assuming annual limit of either 200k / 300k for each of them.

only medical card, not ILP kind of plan.

thanks!
about 1300/yr for 38 male
about 1400/yr for 2 female
lifebalance
post May 28 2019, 04:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ May 28 2019, 04:24 PM)
lifetime limit? is it 3x annual limit ?
no life time limit, annual limit can extand to 1m - 2m
lifebalance
post Jun 3 2019, 04:10 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Fak3-1234 @ Jun 3 2019, 03:25 PM)
is it recommend to buy medical insurance online?
Personal preference, having a reliable agent to provide you the right advise and service is important I'd say, but I won't be going with sub-par agents who are fly-by night.
lifebalance
post Jun 4 2019, 10:53 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Fak3-1234 @ Jun 3 2019, 04:27 PM)
sub-par agents who are fly-by night
I dont get it sir
They could be part-time agent just looking for extra money and not serious into investing their time to learn about the application of insurance planning.

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jun 3 2019, 04:46 PM)
Can anyone recommend medical insurance for newborn? Please share the monthly cost and benefits. Thanks in adv
Newborn is around 150/mth minimum, medical card coverage starts from 1 mil yearly with no lifetime limit.

You have options to add on other riders for your new-born such as payor waiver

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jun 4 2019, 07:55 AM)
Investment link, payer is IT manager and 41 years old
lifebalance
post Jun 7 2019, 12:21 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(soul_fighter @ Jun 5 2019, 02:36 PM)
Greeting. Need a favour here.

Would like to ask about waiver of premium. Been googled and reading about it, how i still dont have much understanding in it.

"A waiver of premium is a provision that allows the insured not to pay premiums during a period of disability that has lasted for a particular length of time. ... Under the waiver of premium provision, the insurance carrier will waive premium payments for you after you have been totally disabled for at least six months."

What is the pros and cons of having waiver of premium?
Please explain to me in lay man term.

Many thanks.
It means if you are permanently disabled or critically ill, the insurance company continues to pay your insurance premium for you.
lifebalance
post Jun 8 2019, 10:52 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SureshG @ Jun 7 2019, 05:02 PM)
Any GE agents here? I have a policy for my mother in law that expires at the age of 70. She's now 60. I'm looking for options to see if I can upgrade to 100 years old.
So far her health okay?

Overall BMI normal ?

QUOTE(hamjipeng @ Jun 8 2019, 10:43 AM)
Hi sifus,

Sorry for the long post-

I'm new to insurance and I'm looking to get my first policy and been researching around:

Basic background, 24yo female, single, office job

1. Currently focusing on medical with higher coverage as main concern as medical costs are increasing day by day.

2. From what I understand, life is compulsory in all ILP plans so is it OK if I just get the minimum sum assured to stretch my ringgit? Is it necessary to get like 50k as per initial quotes by the agents(premiums of rm250/month)? Or maybe I can purchase separately in the future?

3. Is it necessary/important for me to get CI? I understand that it is to act as income replacement, if the amount is like 50k, I would probably have savings around that amount too, not sure whether I need this rider? Or I can purchase a standalone for higher coverage in the future?

4. ILP are structured that cash value compensates the high COI in the future right? So if now I pay a larger portion of premium with less riders and moore allocation into the fund, the higher acc value will sustain longer and I'm less likely to receive letter for topup next time?  My dad's family history has long age and healthy, so I'm looking to cover up to at least 80 yo.

5. Had a comparison with all big 3 agents which I have tweaked a little to exclude the CI first, budget is around rm150-200:

Prudential-rm160 annual 1.38m coverage deductible 300, life/tpd 20k, Ci 20k, sustainability 64-72yo

GE-rm180, 50k life/tpd, 50k CI, coverage 90+900k no deductible (why separate?), sustainability 99 yo

AIA-rm186, life/tpd 10k, coverage 1.5m deductible 300, sustainability 100 yo

Appreciate if anyone could give some advice for my case.. Not sure whether I'm on the right track or I'm just cutting everything off to get the possible lowest premium lol...

Now on to my dad.. Haha...

My dad is looking to upgrade his plan, 57yo, however he is pilot which is class 4 occupation quoted by all agents.
Current standalone plan is coverage 90k, 2k+/year, which will definitely increase up to 8k-10k+ in future.

He wants to get a medical card similar to mine, any ways to play around so he can get a lower quote? He has company insurance which is unlimited coverage currently and he wants to utilise personal insurance after retirement only. Health is definitely no problem also as their industry have very vigorous checkups half yearly and his family history is like very long age.

Thank you so much!
With regards to what policy to get for yourself, the best policy is the one that fits you the most at the moment based on your requirement and budget.

If you’re willing to spend more for a better coverage then you may need to allocate slightly higher budget to get it. Otherwise stick with standalone coverage.

As for your dad, since it’s a high risk job, the premium payable is definitely higher until he retires. Which he can then update the insurance company and the insurance premium will be adjusted accordingly.

He can have the option to get either as an investment plan or standalone depending on his budget.

If he’s worried about paying a higher premium in the future then he should get it as an investment linked plan.

otherwise he need to opt as standalone and be charged based on every 5 years tier incrementally.

Long life is subjective, lifestyle play an important role as well in sustaining long life.
lifebalance
post Jun 8 2019, 06:05 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(hamjipeng @ Jun 8 2019, 02:32 PM)
Thanks for the advice, we are looking at investment linked plans now and deciding which company offers the best for our family. My dad's quote from agents for an ILP is around RM8k/year, he wants to find other cheaper alternatives without forgoing the ILP plan..
Yes, ILP quotes gotten from few different agents, I prefer ILP as don't want to worry about the huge jump of premiums in older ages, although it might be more expensive abit but I guess more ease of mind?
Thank you so much, this is really helpful, I will continue ask around and ask my agent for help, so far one agent has been really helpful and he even helps me to analyse quotations from other companies  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif About my sis, even if there is no health problem at all with her spine, I will still need to declare? Because from what I know, usually insurance companies will counter offer that excludes spines / loading charges... The checkup was done like > 5 years ago and the doctor didn't say there was any problem with her, but well the record is still there..
Okay what I can say is that ILP plans depends overall on the company performance over the long term and different companies have their own ways in projecting it. Some taking higher or lower percentage

If she had been hospitalise before or had history with her health then you will need to declare even if there is no more problem now.

A cheaper ILP would mean shorter sustainability.
lifebalance
post Jun 9 2019, 11:39 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jun 9 2019, 11:20 AM)
Has anyone heard of hospital income riders? Sort of choosing that and between premium waver as well as gennext. AIA here anyone?
that's optional if you need the extra income per day for every day you stayed in the hospital
lifebalance
post Jun 9 2019, 12:24 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 9 2019, 12:05 PM)
I guess that's important for those who are self employed/freelancer and not so much for a salaried worker?
You can say so, there will be loss of income if the person is unable to work for a period of time if he's managing his own business which requires his presence in order for the business to run.

However not all type of businesses are affected if he has capable employees that can help to keep the operation running temporarily.

Again, this is more of an extra option for loss of income. Do remember that cost of insurance still applies for getting the benefit and it may add up to the total premium payable on top of your existing policy benefit.
lifebalance
post Jun 10 2019, 12:07 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jun 9 2019, 04:21 PM)
I'm just calculating whether it's better to add on some riders to the insurance to reach the amount for tax relief of 3000 per year. As of now it's below the monthly amount to reach 250. Is it more worth persay?
You can use the extra premium budget to put into other benefit since it doesn’t benefit you much
lifebalance
post Jun 10 2019, 03:42 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lonelyPotato @ Jun 10 2019, 03:39 PM)
May I know how much is the premium of pure medical insurance (no ILP) for Male, 34 y/o, non smoker, annual limit 200k-300k, no annual limit.

922/yearly, sorry forgot to add on, this is for 1 mil coverage with no lifetime limit

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Jun 10 2019, 03:48 PM
lifebalance
post Jun 12 2019, 02:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jun 12 2019, 02:25 PM)
Hi guy, wanna to ask you...

Do you heard about SunLife Insurance?
SunLife Insurance Malaysia is under which bank?

For example,

Etiqa > Maybank
Thanks a lot.
CIMB
lifebalance
post Jun 12 2019, 10:59 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jun 12 2019, 09:26 PM)
My current premium is rm200/month for the great Eastern investment link insurance. Now I want to top up the premium from 200 to 250 but my policy already more than 7 years i.e. the premium allocation rate is 100% that all rm200 will be used to buy new units. So will it reset the allocation rate when I top up the premium? Or it start the new allocation rate just for the top up amount rm50?
Only the additional RM50 portion that is being top up either as regular premium or solely as investment portion will be subject to deduction of commission for 6 years. Which will then get 100% allocation on the 7th year onwards
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2019, 12:07 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 13 2019, 10:39 AM)
Hey guys there 2 types of insurance plan right, ilp and standalone one??? Wta which one is cheaper or are both the same over time?
ILP is cheaper overtime as the cost of insurance charges is lower than pure standalone.

QUOTE(kbandito @ Jun 13 2019, 10:50 AM)
This is Great Eastern's latest fund performance.
On a 5-year CAGR basis, the Fixed Income Fund made 5.2% average per year, the Balance Fund made 3.4%/year, and the Progressive Fund made -0.8%/year (negative).

They need to sack the fund managers for not able to outperform idiot-proof fixed income fund. I know last year was tough but 5-year CAGR performance of that is abso-effing-lutely unacceptable.

XD email GE and tell them that la, they don't read Lowyat forum
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2019, 03:21 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jun 13 2019, 01:57 PM)
Agreed, ge funds really poor performance. My son's Allianz very good, the nav increased from 1.4 to 1.7 for the Dana padu
You do know that fund price fluctuates over the long term depending on the fund performance ?

Present performance doesn't indicate the future performance of the fund.

Depending on the fund risk that you've invested into, be prepared for some up and down during this market trade war.
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2019, 09:46 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(KeyMochi @ Jun 13 2019, 09:34 PM)
Hi all.

I just purchased a premium from GE called smartprotect essentials 2. During the discussion with my agent he said my mental illness history MIGHT get my insurance get rejected. Any advice from sifu here is appreciated.
Only the Underwriter can determine your situation now whether to reject to approve your application after their consideration.
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2019, 09:49 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(KeyMochi @ Jun 13 2019, 09:48 PM)
Ah yes he did mention that so he's going to GE tomorrow and see how it goes. Thank you smile.gif
Sure, you're welcome =)
lifebalance
post Jun 17 2019, 09:29 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 16 2019, 12:50 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I have an old insurance, where the payor is my parent.

I wonder do we have to do a transfer to order for tax relief for myself?

Thanks,
You may need call up to your insurance company/agent to check on the procedure as you didn't mention which company ur policy belongs to.
lifebalance
post Jun 17 2019, 10:10 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 17 2019, 06:26 PM)
is ILP the annual payment is fix the same yearly? Bcs like my just medical package the annual payment will increase every 5 years and ya after 50 years and older the price you have to pay yearly is very high.
ILP annual payment is fixed the same yearly.

What you signed up for currently is a term insurance medical card which increases every 5 years.

However, not all ILP policy are designed the same as the agent can quote you a cheaper ILP version which makes you think you are paying a lower premium compared to another insurance company but the contribution made may not be able to sustain for a long term before the insurance company sends you a notice for you to top up on your ILP premium.

Go with an honest agent when it comes to buying ILP policies who will tell you up front on what you're signing up for.

25 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.1140sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:49 PM