25 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post Apr 10 2019, 09:32 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 9 2019, 11:20 PM)
What sort of insurance can I and should get if I am a 23 year old Male non-smoker, with a premium of maybe around RM200-250 per month? It was mentioned to cover a medical card first and then life and critical illness?
ILP, premium spent depends on how comprehensive you want your insurance to be.
lifebalance
post Apr 10 2019, 11:22 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 10 2019, 11:20 AM)
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-...-remission.html

Which insurance company would cover experimental treatments such as the above? Just curious..
doubt so can cover "experimental" treatments for now
lifebalance
post Apr 10 2019, 06:28 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(pravred @ Apr 10 2019, 06:12 PM)
Dear sifus I read a few pages here as well as product brochures and still can't make up my mind which insurance suits me.

1. i'm a 29 year old male still single and sole breadwinner. Only kid for my aged parents 68 and 64
2. Non-smoker
3. Looking at a long term plan with investment benefits.

I have not met any insurance agent or looked up for insurance till today so I may not have the best idea. Looking forward for some advise and preferably a plan I should consider at my age.

Thank you,
Praveen
Hi Praveen

From the look of it, you seem to worry that if anything happens to you, no one will take care of your parents especially financially. Since you didn't really describe your current marital status, I would assume you're single.

In such case, it's probably more important for you to cover against death or disability, as well as for medical insurance for yourself in case you get hospitalized, in such situation, the death and disability benefit will help payout to your dependent which is your parents so that their financials are taken care of. It will also have dual effect to assist you if you get disability.

Once you've the 2 benefits above, the next thing could probably be critical illness which is used to replace some of your loss of income due to your health impacted by a 36 critical illness.

That being said, it also depends on how much you are willing to spend for your insurance to be how comprehensive to cover you.

Seek a life insurance agent to help you out.
lifebalance
post Apr 10 2019, 10:24 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ Apr 10 2019, 07:57 PM)
Hi! smile.gif
Currently I have 2 plans, SMART LEGACY and SMARTPROTECT ESSENTIAL INSURANCE 2 from Great Eastern.
May I know if this is a bit redundant? and if it is, where and how should I change the plan?

Here's my brief intro,
25 y.o. male, single. Parents is in their 50s. Mom still working (gov servant) and dad retired and 1 sis (studying). The monthly premium is between 10 to 15% of my monthly salary.

I tried to consult with my agent/planner, but he keep on pushing new plan to me saying i need more protection  @@

Hopefully the sifus here can help!

Thanks smile.gif
biggrin.gif your agent should tell you how much coverage you need, it's your own decision if you'll follow your agent's advise, if it's not within your financial means at the moment then just tell your agent that you can't afford the additional coverage.
lifebalance
post Apr 12 2019, 09:24 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 12 2019, 12:47 AM)
Yup my workplace does provide insurance, it is by AIA.
Its AIA Plan 150 and has personal accident plus term life. Term Life covers about RM100k and Personal Accident about RM150k. However if I am not mistaken it only actively covers when it occurs during 'work hours'.

I do not ride a bike, I drive a car to work. No known critical illness history in my family, be it father or mother side.

My job is a consultant.

I am still not sure about the regular insurance (non-investment) compared to the investment-linked ones because I always thought insurance main purpose is to mitigate risk rather than seeking investment returns.
No it should cover you at any point of time, this is not SOCSO.

As mentioned before ILP is not only for investment purpose, the cash value is used to buffer future increment in cost of insurance which you may not require to top up for it unlike term insurance.
lifebalance
post Apr 12 2019, 09:51 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 12 2019, 09:48 AM)
One thing is for sure is that the savings from getting a non ILP is real and actual cash" whereas cash value for ILP is not even guaranteed. The savings can then be invested into higher yielding investments to pay off the increase in premium in the future. Or maybe put it in an FD with guaranteed returns. Certainty vs uncertainty...
oh my the long argument about investing urself vs insurance again, not gonna go there.

If you can invest better than insurance company, go ahead with ur own investment.
lifebalance
post Apr 12 2019, 10:41 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 12 2019, 10:26 PM)
I am not too well versed in insurance altho I am researching and learning more about it. Man I thought motor insurance was complex, but this is a whole new level lol.

Anyways, back to my predicament. I suppose the coverage seems to be adequate? It's actually this one I think for Plan150 by AIA: https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...ar_Brochure.pdf

I don't have any dependents so medical card should be the most important one for me if I'm not wrong. I always thought that Personal Accident and Life Insurance is the same? Like in the event you die, both would cover you no?

So the higher premium of ILP (as compared to non-ILP) is used to invest in unit trust, which the returns from it will offset the future increase in premium. What happens should it not generate enough returns? I would be the one forking out more correct? Usually for the exact same coverage for both ILP and Non-ILP, how much more is the premium on average?
For the difference you will need to fork out yourself, can consider treating it like term insurance by then since there is no cash value left and you’re paying the cost of insurance without much investment involved.
lifebalance
post Apr 14 2019, 04:00 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 14 2019, 02:28 PM)
I see. I mean I would assume if you die it would usually be accidents no? Non-accident I am assuming things like terminal cancer, someone kills you (which I think its not an accident? LOL), killed while doing dangerous activities, etc...

For ILP is it cheaper compared to traditional stand-alone if ILP has multiple bundles? Or is that not true? Generally the premium for ILP will be higher compared to traditional but if you do combo/bundle for ILP it is cheaper because of discounts given?
I am God when I can answer your question above.

I wouldn't say discount but the charges will be slightly lower.
lifebalance
post Apr 15 2019, 01:21 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Apr 14 2019, 11:23 PM)
Any prudential insurance agent here? This is the package my wife sign up to insure my kid from birth. Is it too much? I'm paying RM188 per month.

Sorry I don't know much about your background, can't tell if it's beyond your means or not

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 15 2019, 01:19 AM)
Dear sifus, my Prudential agent introduced me a cash value life insurance plan called Pru-wealth. Is it a better plan compared to a conventional term life insurance plan? Any other insurance company selling similar product? 

Thank you,
Rain
Probably you can try to explain about this plan in here that your agent has preached and I'll see if it suits you?
lifebalance
post Apr 15 2019, 10:58 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(zest168 @ Apr 15 2019, 10:02 AM)
Hi my colleague would like to increase her Life Cover protection. Any good plans out there to recommend?

Thank you.
how much insurance coverage she wants to increase ?

any idea why that amount ?

what's her plan ?
lifebalance
post Apr 15 2019, 11:03 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(zest168 @ Apr 15 2019, 11:01 AM)
She said her existing life cover is not much, therefore would like to top up a bit. She is around 45 yo, working in office environment and maybe a RM500 monthly premium top up for a start of the conversation be good.
thumbsup.gif will need to find out more about her existing coverage and see what's the right amount to top up from there. Maybe can save abit here or there and may not spend so much in the end
lifebalance
post Apr 15 2019, 11:42 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 15 2019, 11:41 AM)
I am buying to substitute my house MRTA (expired in 2 years time).
ah I see, well that make sense, you should cover for the loan still outstanding to the loan as at to-date.

Get MLTA in this case.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 15 2019, 11:42 AM
lifebalance
post Apr 15 2019, 06:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(willwen @ Apr 15 2019, 06:02 PM)
Hi, this is regarding fire insurance for shop house which is rented out.
Can it be insured floor-by-floor so the premium is less?
Because:
Ground floor is currently empty.
1st floor - storage of general merchandise
2nd floor- dwelling

The agent simply gave quotation based on the whole shop house used for retail of general merchandise, which I think carries a higher tariff rate.
I am not sure, the insurance company will normally assess the usage of the overall building and quote accordingly rather than the purpose of each "floor" as they can't ascertain what is each floor used for in the future.
lifebalance
post Apr 16 2019, 12:35 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Apr 16 2019, 12:01 PM)
Is there any medical card + critical illness + life insurance all in one plan?

I don't have any personal insurance yet. Planning to get 1.

Thanks in advance
Yes there is, it's known as an investment link plan which you have the main coverage Death & Disability, within the policy, you can add on riders such as Medical Card, Critical Illness, etc
lifebalance
post Apr 18 2019, 01:14 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(stevencjh @ Apr 18 2019, 12:49 PM)
May i ask for AIA A-Enrich Gold is we can get the money guaranteed for the next 20 years? My agent quotes me by paying  RM3700++ per month for the next 6 years, i will get RM5000 guaranteed for every 2 years and the amount increases after 10 years. Is it worth than place FD since i am not a ppl who knows how to invest?
biggrin.gif don't get con, there is a Guaranteed and Non-Guaranteed portion within the policy. The average out % return I calculated to be around 1% - 3%.
lifebalance
post Apr 19 2019, 11:19 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 19 2019, 08:32 PM)
Anyone surrender Prudential policy before? Anything that I should be aware off before/when surrending my current life/med insurance.

Reason, recently I review back my current insurance (so long no upgrade my current policy) and make compare with Great Eastern, found GE seems to be very good, at least no co insurance and med card until 99 years old.

Btw, my current med card coverage until 69 years old, meaning after I 70, I sick also useless since no med card coverage
When surrendering your policy, make sure you know what you’re doing.

If you have any pre-existing illness that is covered under your previous medical card, may not be covered by the new medical card depending on how the underwriter takes in on your pre-existing condition.

And if your old policy medical card expires by 70, that must have been a very old card haha easily >10 years ago feature.

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 19 2019, 11:05 PM)
Remaining loan amount is 450K.
Then you should cover for 450k under the MLTA*

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 19 2019, 11:21 PM
lifebalance
post Apr 19 2019, 11:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Rain88 @ Apr 19 2019, 11:33 PM)
Dear sifus,

I also requested my agent to quote me a one million medical card (until 100 years old) .

I came across this  'Target sustainability option : age 70  '

(The Insurance Premium is determined based on this chosen target sustainability. Projected sustainability year or age under the Projected Investment Return X% and Y% will be ranging around this target. Actual sustainability of the policy may be before or after the projected age / years, depending on the actual investment return, policy benefits and charges. Please note that actual sustainability may reduce if you stop paying premium or making any withdrawal from your unit accounts.)

My agent claimed, if put age 100 or 80, the premium I need to pay will be 2x compared to the price she quoted to me now. 

I am confused.

Please advice.

Thanks .
It's basically just the application computation where it will set a higher premium allocation in order to sustain the policy for a longer period.

However it may not reflect accurately as overtime cost of insurance may increase more than what is projected at the moment.

lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 11:37 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 20 2019, 12:36 AM)
Hi guys, i saw from Ringgitplus there are two types of premium types, i tried to search around but to no avail cant figure what is it in details.
Any one can clarify?

[attachmentid=10229894]
What this meant is the premium payable will be on a same amount for the whole period, which is normally an ILP policy.

However, do take into consideration that not all ILP are built the same, the premium may increase in the future if there is insufficient cash value.

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 20 2019, 12:46 AM)
Any pros and cons for both?
As in the case of this, I would assume for sure Flat type is better than Progressive, as I saw a lot person is not aware of this and suddenly they got increase in premium price to pay.  hmm.gif hmm.gif
ILP will have a more riders that you can add on in the long run with a lower overall cost and having more benefits for yourself than just a standalone by itself

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 20 2019, 01:09 AM)
The reason is because i am comparing Prudential PRUwithyou with GE Smart Legacy in the moment, I am 26yo this year
Prudential PRUwithyo
GE Smart Legacy

thou from the surface, it seems that I would go for GE because GE has
1) RM500k Minimum Sum Assured (PRUwithyou is RM100k)
2) Loyalty Bonus: Up to 1% increase of the Basic Sum Assured every year up to a maximum of 30%
3) Flat rate. Stays the same throughout coverage term. (which I assume Flat > Progressive, as I wouldn't want to increase my commitment as I aging?)

which GE looks more appealing
thou GE Smart Legacy doesn't show including critical illness, but I researched and see critical illness should be included in their Smart Legacy MAX premium
If overall the benefit with GE is better, take GE

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 10:00 AM)
Dear sifus, wanna ask. Medical card with co insurance vs medical card without co insurance, which one better?

I seeing GE medical card with high annual limit but lifetime unlimited and no co insurance.

And I having pruvalue med with MVP RM1mil with med saver RM300, this is consider limitation of my this medical card? My agent told me my medical card does not have annual limit, I actually don’t quite understand what he meant by no annual limit when my this medical card does have a limit of MVP up to RM1mil only.

Any expertise can explain to me?
Basically having a co-insurance vs non co-insurance

You pay lesser premium charges for with co-insurance policies but you’ll always have to fork out RM300 whenever you get admitted to the hospital.

Whereas with no co-insurance, it’s more hassle free not having to fork out additional money every time you get hospitalized.

When your agent says their is no annual limit for the prudential medical card, your RM1 mil is the annual limit, whatever exceeds that amount, you will need to pay for it.

Don’t have to be confused about the “marketing” package by the insurance company

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 10:45 AM)
Still not so understand how does this co insurance work. Assuming my monthly premium quoted from both GE and Pru around RM250 monthly, wouldn’t GE medical card seems stronger because no co insurance?
As per above explanation.

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 11:18 AM)
Yes, it seems everything else is the same except Pru have co insurance.

1. Annual limit: GE - RM1,320,000 and Pru no annual limit when I asked my agent
2. Lifetime limit: GE unlimited and Pru goes by MVP RM1mil, is that my lifetime limit with Pru?
3. Both also same room and board of RM200

How do you state that having full coverage can end up being expensive? Maybe I am zero knowledge about this insurance thing. I seeing both monthly premium of med card is the same amount.
Let’s just say insurance company want you to share the cost of insurance with them, so when you share the cost with them, they are willing to charge you lesser.

Then you will need to do some mathematics on how much co-insurance / deductible do you need to pay every time for hospitalization before the insurance company cover the other balance amount.

Some insurance plan has high deductible e.g 20k - 60k, so which means you will need to pay RM20k - 60k of the hospital bill before the insurance company pays for the rest. But you get to pay super cheap premium for such insurance.

But again is that what you want ? Have an insurance policy but yet have to worry about paying high deductibles for it even though you can say “I have a very cheap insurance”.

Basically you get what you pay for just like everywhere else. Can’t expect pay “Cheap” premium and expect “Superb” insurance coverage without drawbacks.
lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 11:38 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 11:34 AM)
Oh I understand finally. Thank you for explaining to me. It seems there’s pro n con on each med card and I’m quite sold to high annual limit and lifetime unlimited from GE actually. Especially my partner who is having GE med card, asking me why my Pru insurance, I still need pay RM300 when I admitted to hospital one time. Asking me what is the point paying RM300 when I paying my monthly insurance, you get the picture.
With that being said, just go with the company medical card that you feel more convenient with. console.gif
lifebalance
post Apr 20 2019, 11:59 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ilnov @ Apr 20 2019, 11:55 AM)
Yea, you have point here. My only dilemma is I keep Pru more than 5 years. If suddenly change to GE, feel like restart everything, so I question myself worth it or not? And is quite hassle always have to pay this RM300 if wanna get medical claim.  mega_shok.gif but again will this co insurance able to protect my insurance from the cost of insurance in future?
biggrin.gif if existing company allow you to upgrade to a better one, then that's always better, if not, if you gotta change, then you gotta change it.

It's just like driving an old car, you got an attachment to it, buy new car got new depreciation to start over but you got a better & newer car. How to compare ?

Takkan I say new car no good ? you're the one driving the car, you should feel it rather than me tongue.gif

25 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1063sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:55 AM