Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

westlife
post Dec 10 2018, 03:29 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 10 2018, 03:16 PM)
Nope you did not mention 'most"... Here, your earlier post.. I shall do some work for you..

"For those who are upgraded to turbo, why so eager to get like 500mbps for your mobile phone or laptop? What kind of stuffs do you use that need that kind of speed? Playing games only need like 10mbps stable speed. And streaming movies only need like 50mbps stable speed. If you say downloading...you will never get that kind of speed. You will be lucky to even get 100mbps speed for downloads.

This is actually the reason why TM or other service provider is daring to give users like 1000mbps speed. Cause in real life, nobody use that much bandwidth. Imagine everyone uses 500mbps constantly..do you think TM have that kind of infra to support it?"

Need I say more? It appears you still have some way to go to how the internet works and is used today, and or what it entails to get stuff from A - B and vice-versa.. Seeing as you clearly painted all with the same brush. Again I reiterate, just cause you can only see so far, doesn't mean that everyone else must only be capable of seeing that far. As for games playing.. Try having the best possible ping, (since it's so important that higher speeds don't).. Then play a game streaming off, say Nvidia's servers with just 10Mbps connection.. Do a video record of how lag-free your experience is..  biggrin.gif

Lastly, if MOST people do not use or require more than 10Mbps in today's world.. Pray tell, why are there a lot of "butthurt" streamyx or pre-unifi subs, who are stuck on precisely that speed plan.. I'd like to know how & why even the masses you claim to know much about aren't satisfied with just 10Mbps, since it does it all.. Apparently.. #sarcasm.
No over-reaction here.. Just stating facts.. To comeback at your reply above in your manner of speaking...

Don't forget we are coming from 480p to 540p to 720p to 1080p to 4k to even 8K. Websites have also grown beyond mere html code, consisting primarily of text, "lightweight" images and gifs at the most. Now, you can run a full office suite completely on an internet connection. Heck an entire OS is built just on that.. Look up Chromebook.. Using the same, you can collaborate with other users simultaneously spread across the globe, on the same file and or folders.. with encryption no less.. All of these is becoming every day living.. Just a decade ago, ask yourself, how many mobile devices capable of utilizing the internet today did you have in your average household? Yeah.. let that sink in.. Fast- forward to today, toddlers now "own" their own personal devices and or colonize the living room TV. etc.. So yes, the needs of the majority as you say has indeed been growing and just as 10Mbps was considered the norm or fast till people found out it isn't.. The same will happen to 100Mbps and ISPs best be prepared for such. Lest be caught with pants hanging..

I rest...
yes, the content grows over time. 1080p streaming needs 5Mbps, 4k streaming needs 25Mbps. the requirements grows over time, but they are growing in the speed that is few times more than before.

dun forget, everyone has 100Mbps at cheap price of rm129 with free calls and tv. one to two years back people are paying rm329 for the same speed.

and most people are from the still paying 30Mbps at rm179 and it can fit their needs perfectly 2 years back.
now one can pay rm50 cheaper monthly 3.3 times of speed than before. in just 1 to 2 years, for most people their requirement can change so fast? if individual, yes, maybe. but certainly not for majority.

for individual, your requirement can change, but certainly not for majority of the people. and as i had mentioned, i am referring to most people and individual needs has no point to discuss and it only affects one person.

westlife
post Dec 10 2018, 04:11 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 10 2018, 03:52 PM)
Again with the 1080p streaming requires 5Mbps and 4K requires 25Mbps.. I'm assuming you be quoting Netflix or someone who quoted Netflix on this. Nope, not even off the fastest overseas servers or local CDNs will true media of such res be served that much. At least, not without a lot of buffering and having to first load up a stable pre-buffer/cache. Even TM reserves a dedicated 20Mbps connection just to stream UnifiTV alone!!. These are connections off the ISP's own local servers, or at maximum within SEA.. Even then, It's not full 1080p AND is known to occasionally lag. Would it benefit from better internet speeds, pings and equipment? or should they stick to the current specs? It's rhetorical by the way.. You do not have to respond.

Nevertheless, we are in agreement.. Cheaper or rather best bang for buck is a priority for many.. Myself included. Though we must remember that, prior to the recent price reshuffling, TM and possibly other ISPs (looking at you Maxis) has (and still does) been grossly under-serving whilst overcharging us customers. Just 3 years ago, who knew that 100Mbps could be sold to us for RM129? We were paying RM179 (some still are) or more for just 30Mbps.. Go back more and some subs were RM2xx+ for lower speeds even. I can't remember how much exactly back then. But you get my point. They could have done so much more but chose not to because of this concept of "the majority" won't need it. Except now we do and they are scrambling.. My point is, sure the masses won't use the public transport system like MRT, etc but do you build for today's crowd or for tomorrow's crowd? Unfortunately, on the internet speed front, tomorrow is yesterday..Is all I'm saying..
Exactly!
i am not where you get hold of the info of 20Mbps reserved bandwidth for unifi TV. as far as i know, TM reserves 8Mbps only for unifi TV and it works perfectly well.

again, get my point correctly again, i am referring to now, and not future and i am referring to majority of people.
the faster the speed the cheaper the price of course it is good. no one will reject better stuff.

like i said many time, i am referring to majority of the people, 100Mbps is certainly more than enough, i am not referring to individual here.

it is exactly the point, last time no rm129 for 100Mbps, while now there is, and to majority, if the speed is sufficient, 100Mbps at such price is a perfect. believe it or not, if tm offers 30Mbps at rm89 like maxis, there will tons of household switching to the plan.

for those that are on 500Mbps or 800Mbps and fully utilise it, good for you. but it is not my point. i am not interested in knowing individual needs. and my comment earlier is on most people and not all people. or u are trying to prove that most people needs 800Mbps by denying the statement for majority?

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Dec 10 2018, 04:03 PM)
You missed out a point. Content quality grow over time as so with bit rate. Videos might have the same resolution but with higher demands, the bit rate are increased. Increased bit rate requires more bandwidth so for a reasonably good 1080p with bit rate enough in today standard, you would need 8Mbps for the bare minimum and 10Mbps for minimal buffering.
so 100Mbps cannot meet the need of 10Mbps or 100Mbps for most people. are u trying to say that?

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 10 2018, 04:13 PM
westlife
post Dec 10 2018, 06:45 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(fool1988 @ Dec 10 2018, 06:18 PM)
Just get my unifi installed 3 days ago, here is my scenario.

Contractor will pull the fiber cable come into my house through back of my house, however, i want to place the router in my living room which is on front of my house, so, there is two option, one is drill all the way into my house or from behind across my bumbung all the way to front of my house then drill a small hole go into my living room, i choose Option 2, and the fiber total about 40 meter, according to them, 1 meter RM10, so 40 meter suppose to be RM400 but they count me RM350. I got some concern whether the fiber cable can tahan the outdoor weather or not but they show me the fiber was covered by one housing all the way until my living room, according to the, the "case" was weatherproof, but, not too sure how long it can last.

westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 11:39 AM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 11 2018, 10:20 AM)
My Turbo 800Mbps has been downgraded to 100Mbps.

TM didn't bother to my request and just downgraded.... their revenue get reduced from 250+ to 129+ now... wakkakakak
what request you had made?

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 11 2018, 11:43 AM
westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 01:33 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 11 2018, 12:59 PM)
Yes, need to sign the new contract of RM129 with 2 years... damn.. somemore no free modem
Downgrade from turbo 800Mbps to 100Mbps.
yes, if switch to other plan, no new devices will be given, unless apply new one then terminate old one, but this one requires available port, which to most people, this move is almost impossible since most areas especially populated areas will have all ports used up by now.
westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 01:34 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 11 2018, 01:21 PM)
worth since it is just extra RM10 for additional 200Mbps.. how about the other feature like TV pack?
got one basic rm30 tv pack but no STD20 free calls.
westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 01:44 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Dec 11 2018, 01:40 PM)
...TM says there are 1.4 million unused unifi ports nationwide and hopefully with lower prices, these can be used...

The Star, 7 Jul 2018
obviously those unused one remain unused as they are in the areas that people will not sign up, while those populated areas with no free ports who want to sign up but stuck with streamyx.
westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 02:09 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Dec 11 2018, 02:04 PM)
There are only 1.2M Unifi subscribers and TM has 1.4M unused ports.

I wonder if TM just uses the "no port" tactic to prevent folks from terminating their existing package to subscribe to a cheaper package that's on promo to new subscribers...
i dun think so. becos i did take a look of the green box, indeed one green box only has 8 ports. so it is only for 8 houses. the problem is that the 8 ports is to serve maybe double the no of houses around, that's why there will be people want the service but no ports.
westlife
post Dec 11 2018, 05:03 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 11 2018, 05:00 PM)
Finally they came over and change modem.

Can achieve 300/50 speed without problem.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/7870470852
300Mbps plan is having the same upload speed as 100Mbps one?
westlife
post Dec 12 2018, 03:02 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Dec 12 2018, 02:58 PM)
is there any way to change ISP without penalty charge?
rn using maxis fiber , and i think wanted change to Unifi ...
rm500. no way. tongue.gif
westlife
post Dec 12 2018, 03:21 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(audiocool @ Dec 12 2018, 03:17 PM)
RM500 for maxis ?

I had ask TM Point in Butterworth when I plan to downgrade my unifi, the customer service told me that the penalty charge no longer RM500, penalty charge is total amount of the remaining contract. Let say you are paying RM139 monthly and you still have 1 year of contract, you need to pay the penalty of RM139 * 12

I'm still skeptical on what he told me. Maybe any members here have the answer ?
he is switching from maxis to unifi. it is rm500. only tm changes rule to remaining months. so technically u cannot terminate unifi at all since no diffference.
westlife
post Dec 18 2018, 05:32 PM

14,284 posts

QUOTE(mikey8811 @ Dec 18 2018, 04:24 PM)
I went to TM point and got my downgrade to the RM99 for 50 Mbps package. This does not include any free calls and comes with the set top box with no TV packages.

It is essentially an internet only package.

I had to argue like hell to get it. They feigned knowledge of its existence initially and made some calls to supposed "superiors" They wanted me to pay RM 129 for 50 Mbps which is silly when the 100 Mbps package costs the same.

While I kind of feel left out as I really wanted to be Turbo'd and didn't mind continuing to pay RM 179 for 500 Mbps if Turbo'd, I realise it's probably not going to happen as I am in an apartment. even though I did "Submit" for consideration under the Turbo status. I see from recent comments that some folk got Turbo'd pretty quickly after submitting but am unsure if it's because they are in landed property or apartments with fibre cabling already built in.

At least I get to save RM 80 a month.

Hopefully, TM is more transparent with what they are going to do moving forward as I could have saved the RM 80 per month for the last 4 months rather than just waiting to get Turbo'd which was never going to come anyway.

Thanks for all the helpful replies here.
Rm99 for 50Mbps internet only deal is good what. Better deal than rm89 maxis 30Mbps one.

For light users, 50Mbps is more than enough.

Most household are paying more than what they need actually.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.1998sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:18 PM