can streamyx stock wifi router be used for unifi since they are all pppoe?
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!
Nov 21 2018, 10:28 PM
14,281 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
can streamyx stock wifi router be used for unifi since they are all pppoe?
Nov 22 2018, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(taqu @ Nov 22 2018, 06:01 PM) Website loading consists of 2 process: 1) Download the content 2) Process & view content on browser. For part 1, most websites are optimised for 10-20 mbps especially those hosted far from Malaysia, very few are actually optimised for high speed.. Part 2 depends on your device. If the website got alot of videos/ads, it consumes more device CPU to process, so your 500mbps is not helpful here. Super low usage, even 5 to 10Mbps is actually enough.Youtube doesn't really benefit from 500mbps. Most of 'em only need 5-8 mbps. Even 4K Youtube videos require 40-60mbps. Netflix 4K around 20mbps. For most people 100mbps is more than enough. 300mbps & above will be beneficial for many heavy users in the home, heavy Torrent & heavy downloaders. I choose not to downgrade from 500mbps to 100mbps bcoz it's only RM20 difference for me. This is my home's typical usage with 2 people & 3 kids: ![]() |
Nov 24 2018, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 23 2018, 11:00 PM) Excuse the OOT, but holiday in at my gf’s place in Pg, her mum is using maxis home fibre, 10 Mbps/ rm 139 iinm. Yesterday, i helped her call maxis CS and switch her over to maxis 30 Mbps/ rm 89, the CS said it will take 48 hours to perform the switch. Just now less than 36 hours after making the call, I turned off the BTU and router for a cold boot. After that, lo and behold, the switch is done! Yeah. Very good plan to save cost since it is the most affordable plan in the market with symmetric download and upload speeds.Speed up and price down! Switch over is so much easier than TM! |
Nov 26 2018, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 26 2018, 07:02 PM) Don’t complain so much guys. Tm just reported a huge loss for the last quarter and expect things to go from bad to worse from now onwards. Everyone is switching to cheapest rm129 100Mbps plan and they earn a lot lesser comparing to last time rm329 for some water fishes. Of course they are making loss. No surprise.QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 26 2018, 08:25 PM) Yeah, maxis is doing charity indeed, they really provide the most affordable fibre broadband in the market now. People should just take advantage of this cheap plan since the price is permanent. good thing also maxis allows existing customers to switch plans just need to sign 2 more years contract meaning no more water fishes will pay the legacy high price for the same plan anytime.Most importantly 30Mbps is really more than enough to a lot of people especially for those who are price conscious. QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 26 2018, 08:53 PM) AFAIK the hypptv box only works if you moved from a previous UNIFI package to the new 100mbps plan. What is the full name of your rm129 100Mbps plain in system now?Like in my case I moved from RM139/30M plan to RM129/100M plan and my Hypptv STB still works fine. This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 26 2018, 10:20 PM |
Nov 29 2018, 02:59 PM
Nov 29 2018, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 29 2018, 08:07 PM) For those who are not happy with their current Unifi plan and don't wish to downgrade to their 30MB plan with quota limit. Now can proceed to TM Point and request for their Unifi 50MB @ RM 99. I wanted to terminate my parent's VIP10 and they offer this to me. But I guess in the end, I will still proceed with Maxis cause I can combine the broadband and my Maxis line and get to enjoy unlimited data for my mobile numbers too... Plus I get to save RM 60 per months, for the same speed that offer by Unifi and without any quota limitation... rm99 permanet price even after 2 years? unlimited quota?P/S : The TM Point I went is at Pandan Indah, not sure whether other TM Point will offer the same or not. And my parent VIP10 is no longer under contract... |
Nov 30 2018, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 29 2018, 11:21 PM) I was asking for termination, and they offer me RM129 for 100MB and RM79 for 30MB, but when I ask them about this RM99 for 50MB, they feel reluctant to tell in the 1st place. Maybe there are other queing behind me and some others are standing beside the CS too... rm99 for 50Mbps not low enough? Basically I didn't ask till that detail, cause what I concern is to lower down the monthly fee. But yes, it is unlimited without quota, tv pack & call plan will follow what your current plan is having. Never thought of asking the price whether will revise after 2 years contract. And according to them, this plan will NOT entitle for turbo upgrade. Base on my own experience with TM, I believe everything is possible to tailor made for each user, if you dare to ask them in the 1st place. Just like how I got my RYE offer. Plenty users are getting the sms to double their existing plan with just RM10 extra a month, while I get nothing at all from TM. So I just walk into TM Point and tell them I want to get this offer too. And voila I manage to get it eventually. And bear in mind, before I go to TM Point, I tried live chat and call 100 to request for it, all was rejected.... |
Nov 30 2018, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 30 2018, 01:00 AM) No need notice, scare tactic only. Tell them ill give u 5min notice to process my termination all price without tax, no difference. comparing to the cheapest price plan in the market now (rm89 30Mbps unlimited quota plan), it is just rm10 more and speed is almost 2x more, which this is certinaly worth it. Some more it is unifi.Add on tax, beyond rm100 alr |
Nov 30 2018, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 30 2018, 01:16 AM) Parent usage not that heavy, plus if I combine my maxis line and maxis broadband and become MaxisONE Prime, my 2 maxis mobile line will get to enjoy unlimited data, as compare with 15GB(weekdays) + 15GB(weekends) & share line 5GB + 5GB... Ic. Then indeed Maxis 30Mbps is the cheapest and most value for money plan now.And they don't need the landline nor the unifitv... Normal home users do not even need any higher speed. No point paying for higher speed while 90% of time cannot utilise it fully. Especially for unifi, staying at the cheapest plan at that time will guarantee low cost upgrade in future also. QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 30 2018, 01:33 AM) True, they shud open this offer to all, in the public. But no, unless threatened, they wont give a dammn. If got maxis, str8away switch to it, dont look back. Maxis give 30M upload speed, more than TM's 20M upload speed for 50M download plan. Like u said previously, symmetric gives better experience. Yeah. Correct. Just stick to the cheapest plan possible for internet services. 30Mbps is good enough for most users. Staying in cheapest possible plan always has the price advantage. One can always upgrade to higher speed plan in future if really needed.Yes. Symmetric speed is good. This makes the maxis 30Mbps plan attractive, while it is cheap but it is all rounded even for anyone who needs to upload content as fast download unlike any higher plan get asymmetric speed. This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 30 2018, 08:44 AM |
Dec 1 2018, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 1 2018, 11:36 AM) Look underside of the router To be fair, the older stock Tm router archer c5v2 works seamlessly and it is superb stable. I never need to restart the router unless config changed.If you can buy your own router, buy it and pick a high end one. You'll regret getting the stock TM router if you do. This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 1 2018, 12:20 PM |
Dec 1 2018, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 1 2018, 12:11 PM) If it comes with as new, then that's fine. But once you're out of contract, better options are out there if the original router has died. Indeed, if it is out of contract, certainly other better wifi router will be a better choice. The good thing about Unifi is that isn't very susceptible to lightning damage. During my streamyx days, I was buying new modem/ routers almost annually. Other than that TM routers have been widely considered as nothing super and not anything anyone should willingly pay for. In fact, good performance tp-link is quite cheap actually. |
Dec 1 2018, 02:19 PM
Dec 1 2018, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 1 2018, 03:27 PM) Lol. Is it worth another half day leave for a 20 RM discount? That's your call. only if u download huge files and constantly 24x7 then it makes a difference which most people won’t.IMHO, if switch if I can get 100 Mbps+ Ultimate at 139. Been on 500 Mbps for a month now, not much difference to my user experience but I'm only paying 159 so not enough reason to switch. For 1Gps speed theoretically 125MB/s, MP3 file — 3MB, less than 1 second TV episode — 350MB, 3 seconds 720p High Definition TV episode — 950MB, 8 seconds Blu-Ray Movie — 15GB, 2 minutes 500Mbps plan u need only double the time. If one fully utilise the speed all the time, the thing u will spend will be storage instead. 😜 |
Dec 3 2018, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(Mazda9 @ Dec 3 2018, 07:41 PM) My fiancé is currently paying rm189 for her 50mbps plan + std 20 (free Calls) + varnam pack. just tell them this rm99 50Mbps plan they will know rite? no need to explain further? She is unable to upgrade her plan as she lives in condo. Took her to Menara TM today and changed her plan to RM99 (50mbps+ STD20 free calls + varnam pack. Order was processed at 1pm today and completed at 7pm today. Also, manage to pressure TM to change all her equipments. TM log an order and informed that equipments will be changed within 72 hours with no further questions asked and contract refresh for 2 years. It is a good deal. better than maxis rm89 30Mbps plan even. This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 3 2018, 08:10 PM |
Dec 3 2018, 08:27 PM
Dec 4 2018, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Dec 4 2018, 03:21 AM) Just signed up with Unifi. Is the DLINK router any good? I noticed that connecting to youtube seems to be slow? Any config settings I should look at or refer to just so I can maximize the speed of the connection? Also, should I tweak DNS settings for faster connectivity? D brand is the worst. Especially if u get the rubbin bin model. Known to have poor coverage and security flaws. |
Dec 10 2018, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Dec 10 2018, 10:53 AM) Not sure if this has been posted before, I just checked turbo status page and found that I'm once again eligible for turbo upgrade. why not. certainly possible. becos 10mbps lite plan is supposed to get upgraded. My plan was 1mbps Streamyx previously (384kbps until last year July, TM upgraded to 1mbps for me because they wanted to free up the old port), TM gave me free upgrade to UniFi Lite 10mbps in October this year, now the turbo status page shows I'm eligible for free turbo upgrade to 100mbps I'm only paying RM 60 (excluding SST) monthly at the moment for the upgraded UniFi Lite package. Not sure if it is a system glitch or not good for you to pay less than half of the price that most people are paying now to get 100Mbps speed. |
Dec 10 2018, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 10 2018, 12:07 PM) For those who are upgraded to turbo, why so eager to get like 500mbps for your mobile phone or laptop? What kind of stuffs do you us that need that kind of speed? Playing games only need like 10mbps stable speed. And streaming movies only need like 50mbps stable speed. If you say downloading...you will never get that kind of speed. You will be lucky to even get 100mbps speed for downloads. exactly, most people will not need that kind of speed at all time. most of the time will be a spike of seconds or minutes they need depending on what they do. This is actually the reason why TM or other service provider is daring to give users like 1000mbps speed. Cause in real life, nobody use that much bandwidth. Imagine everyone uses 500mbps constantly..do you think TM have that kind of infra to support it? even 1TB of data, given full speed of 800Mbps, just need 2 hours 46 minutes 40 seconds to download at full speed. 8TB of data needs only 1 day to download. 30 days one can download 240TB of data. |
Dec 10 2018, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(ulala2 @ Dec 10 2018, 02:40 PM) Yours' can't expect other people using their internet as u or Abubin. i think u are over-reacted. i am referring to most people and NOT ALL people. For example, i always download lot of drama or movie and watch streaming online whether is using PC or TV BOX. Adding to that, always go for HD version. If ur speed is slow, u may still facing buffering issues especially when u using TV BOX/ KODI or ither website. Similarly, when my unifi is 100mbps, playing mobile legends still will lag, but now with 800 mbps, alwasy ping at <20 m/s. Another example, imagine at home u got PC, laptop, TV BOX all run concurrently streaming online movie, if low speed all keep buffering and no mood to watch. For those that clearly aware of what they can do with the speed, that's good. there is no point to even discuss on individual's need as it only affects one person. I am discussing about the needs for most majority of people. seriously, i do not think anyone would be interested on your individual need here. to most household, it is way more than enough, most people are doing streaming of videos or web browsing. the bandwidth currently at 100Mbps is more than sufficient. dun forget the fact we are coming from 5Mbps, 10Mbps and 20Mbps that kind of speed to now which is few times more the speed. and this upgrade was only done these 1 to 2 years. QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 10 2018, 02:53 PM) I said most people. Do you think more people uses more than 100mpbs or less people? It's good you can maximize your internet but like I said majority of users don't. That is why I am telling the users know why exactly they want to achieve 500mbps for their WiFi. Knowing and needing is different thing. Using your car analogy, how many people you think that is driving their cars at 200km/h even in high ways? Majority or minority? well said. latency and bandwidth are totally different things. low latency helps in online gaming etc. bandwidth one will need to use till 99.99% of the given bandwidth then will only notice the difference.As for the people who play games, you just need a lag free connection. If you have 10mbps and your line quality is good then you can play games without issues. You need to know 100mbps or 500mbps, does not means lower ping. The lower ping could probable be due to them changing you to a newer switch in the back end. That will explain the lower ping. NOT because of the speed increase. QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 10 2018, 02:52 PM) True and yet meh... See no one expects to get full 800Mbps all the time..That's just pure unicorn talk.. But guess what, at any point in time, given the right circumstances, achieved speeds will definitely be more than the next lower 500Mbps tier.. Similarly with 500 vs 300 vs 100 and so on.. Thus giving the owner the desired effects for paying for the increased speeds. yes. correct. most of the contents for streaming are compressed over Internet even they are labelled as 4k. Pay no heed to such... To them, an internet subscription is and must only be used by a single individual on a single device, doing a single simple task.. No more no less.. The concept of multi-tasking, encryption, multiple individuals doing different things on more than one device at a time, is the stuff fiction is written of to them. These are the kinds that also believe that streaming Netflix's 4K is true 4K..or that all servers & applications are fixed and won't benefit from more bandwidth.. even netflix has official recommendation for the bandwidth need for streaming. given that most people are in 100Mbps plan. it is certainly more than sufficient. many have switched to 100Mbps due to the lower subscription becos if they cannot utilize the bandwidth, even the extra paid is not significant, they are wasting money still. of course, for those who are lucky to get the cheaper price for faster speed like 500Mbps/800Mbps etc. that's good for them, but this is not applicable to all or even most people. given TM pattern, good move is always to keep at the lower cost plan, becos they always like to counter offer new deal later while existing users who are paying higher price for the same or lower bandwidth will kena pwned. This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 10 2018, 03:05 PM |
Dec 10 2018, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 10 2018, 03:02 PM) me, coming from 10->30->50->100->800, i'll say. yeah. correct. unless one is fully aware of what he needs the high speed for. the price paid for is certainly be able to justified for. but certainly not for most household. agree... for MOST households, 100mbps is sufficient, can easily make do, whatever. for some households doing heavy streaming/DL, need to cover wifi losses, 300-500 will be best. i will say 800 is overkill for ALMOST all households. the bad news is UNIFI does not give me a choice! it's either 100 or 800!! one thing we must not forget - to use 800, 1000 fully, one gotta use cables, change router, change devices - whole lotta $ to spend! i am not sure such spending is justified, for me at least. majority of household are not even technical savvy enough to be aware of the difference even. they know that they need to stream video, surf web etc. telco like TM etc can give so high speed plan 'generously' now which is at least 20x speed than before, is also due to the fact that majority will not be utilizing even 10% of the bandwidth most of the time. if the entire nation is really utilizing 100% bandwidth at all time, do you know how much cost to the infra they need to setup in order to fully support it. dun forget, there are still many many many household are stuck with streamyx becos of infra limitation and their maximum speed is 8Mbps for DL and 512kbps for UL. a lot of people may think that 100Mbps or even 30Mbps if there are more people share among the house will not be enough,which this is not even the case. a lot of business fibre plan has lower bandwidth than consumer fibre plan and it is shared by hundreds or thousands of people. |
| Change to: | 0.2181sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:23 PM |