Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

ootik123
post Nov 15 2018, 10:52 PM

102 posts

Is there anyway i can jimat that rm 53 visit fee ? cause im been think that it is not very worth to pay , if the problem is still not fixed after the technician visited . Can i visit to the tmpoint cause my workplace near the tmpoint (Ipoh main branch). I can bring the BTU, router and anything to there.

This post has been edited by ootik123: Nov 15 2018, 10:54 PM
ootik123
post Nov 16 2018, 07:08 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 16 2018, 01:04 AM)
Since you are unable to troubleshoot or lack the skills to do so you have no choice but to get them to come and check.
Otherwise just unsub. No Unifi no need to pay for technician. Very jimat.
But if the tm technician replace my btu or router , is that my contract is going renew again?? Cause my contract just have less than 4 months to finish ?
ootik123
post Nov 16 2018, 10:58 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Nov 16 2018, 08:03 AM)
No renewal of contract if the fault is due to their equipment.
But my router and stb already more than 1 year since the unifi installation date , about 1 year and 7 months alrdy which mean no more warranty =( . But luckily the BTU is lifetime warranty , maybe i will call the technician to check my setup. But reject them if they going to change my router, i rather to buy myself instead of tm giving it for free and renew my fking contract for 2 years again.

This post has been edited by ootik123: Nov 16 2018, 11:00 AM
ootik123
post Nov 17 2018, 01:41 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 16 2018, 11:11 PM)
Erm u need 2 shed more details on your situation, your ONT/modem/BTU model? Its specs? Do u really need 800M? U need 2 ask urself this seriously, this is whole new territory and realm, u need to master new networking knowledge in order to fully harness your bandwidth. Your wifi devices like phones, laptops, tablets etc hardware potential also serve as a limiting factor for u 2 fully harness the bandwidth.

Like TS SilentVampire mentioned, if your primary usage is on wireless, u can 4get about getting 800M via wifi from flinkDIR842, your max speed also degrades wih distance from your router as the signal strength of wifi broadcast fades and weakens and whatnot.

Short answer: Dlink Dir842 only if u make special request for it, else no replacement at all will be done. That's what happened in my case.

stuartlee2015, how was your case last time when u get 300M dl and 50M ul, how u got your router replaced? TM sent technician automatically to your house or u had to make request for it? Or TM asked whether ur hardware had to be replaced?
Does ur contract renew?
ootik123
post Nov 17 2018, 01:45 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Nov 17 2018, 12:06 AM)
mines still 100Mb/s, i got the upgrade email for phase 1 but still stuck paying 300 every month for 100Mb/s,  no turbo yet :'( i really need the speeds.

Someone also mentioned smallnetbuilder, i usually contribute there, but i am sad to say that the listed speeds for the router models are wrong, because the theoratical speeds did not include PPPOE and VLAN, something that Unifi uses which significantly slows down routers especially broadcom as they have no actual hardware acceleration. i see quite a lot of users asking about the AC68U and  AC86U, sad to say the AC68U will not do 300Mb/s on unifi config, i remember debating once the software speed of the dual core ARM A9 from broadcom in that it cannot accelerate PPPOE and VLAN. I would reduce the speeds by 40% of stated theoratical software NAT speeds for broadcom based routers.
What deos the turbo upgrade phase 1 mean?
ootik123
post Nov 17 2018, 12:06 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 17 2018, 01:58 AM)
NO
When TM changing the router for you, does your contract is already ended or still going on at that time?
ootik123
post Nov 18 2018, 01:53 PM

102 posts

Why dafuq yesterday night so smooth and this morning slow af, even the facebook cant load mad.gif
ootik123
post Nov 18 2018, 04:48 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 18 2018, 04:39 PM)
I thought it was my SmartDNS acting up again but looks like Unifi is really jammed up now. On Google DNS.
Maybe yesterday night indonesia earthquake affected the undersea cable, thats why u get full speed in speedtest with local speedtest server but not in international server. I don think changing the DNS will help cause i changed many too
ootik123
post Nov 18 2018, 04:54 PM

102 posts

sad cant torrent my games and movies today
ootik123
post Nov 18 2018, 05:14 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 18 2018, 05:04 PM)
Everything still okay here in TTDI, KL. 175.137.xxx.xxx IP range.

Currently seeding a torrent, upload capped at full 50 Mbps on my 100/50 plan since yesterday.

[attachmentid=10110614]
I can get full speed if there is any peer are from Malaysia , but if there is no peer from Malaysia the download speed is just damn slow (less than 100kbps) rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 02:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 02:32 PM)
Already changed my router few years back because the old one died.

My current router is Asus RT-N12HP and it says on the box it supports up to 300MBPS. That should be ok right?

[attachmentid=10113394]
Nope, this router may max support 100 mbps ,although it stated there 300mbps 802.11n mode wifi .Because your router only can receive max 100mbps from your unifi BTU via LAN. Read there 100MBPS WAN and LAN port, not the 1000 MBPS WAN or LAN port. 1000mbps= support gigabit
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 02:42 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 02:41 PM)
Any suggestion of which model for 100mbps?
What is your budget limit on the router?
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 02:45 PM

102 posts

How to get the 500mbps for only rm159 per month. Can somebody teach me pls ? Im currently paying the 500mbps plan for rm179
RM229 (500MBPS)- RM80 (Promo Discount RM80) + RM30 (ruby pack plus) = RM 179
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 02:56 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 02:53 PM)
How much would that cost? I check lazada and shopee seems like quite different pricing from RM200-300++
If you does not mind the wifi performance , will u use the tm default router by asking them changing it for you? But maybe u can try request a good model one

This post has been edited by ootik123: Nov 19 2018, 02:57 PM
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 03:01 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 19 2018, 03:00 PM)
Lol. And get stuck with a 2 year contract?!
Don't be so like that lah.
TM doesn't do any good routers, they just give you what they have on hand.
Delayed gratification is better, save up for a few months then get a better router!
Forget to add , if u does not mind the contract renew again biggrin.gif
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 08:26 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 07:09 PM)
Just want to know what is the max wifi speed it can produce. If similar to my current Asus RT-N12HP then no choice but to look for a new router.
If you can spend 40 ringgit more, i recommend you choose the TP-LINK Archer C6 Gigabit AC1200 (RM 239)or the D-Link DIR-825+ AC1200 (RM 239). These both router support 1000mbps WAN port and LAN port which you can get higher speed than if tm wanna speed upgrade again. They all support 5ghz which provide a better internet speed result than 2.4 ghz.

If the router WAN port only support 100mbps and your internet plan was like 300 mbps , your router will only can support up to 100 mbps and not more than 100mbps although the wifi band state that wat 450 mbps or 300 mbps or wat so ever. Therefore, make sure the router WAN port is 1000mbps / gigabit port if you wanna future proof

This post has been edited by ootik123: Nov 19 2018, 08:29 PM
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 08:39 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 19 2018, 08:36 PM)
bro, but there is this weird thing. when i temp off my kaspersky, my speedtest went up to 400Mbps, but not up to 800Mbps, it shoot up temporary from my constant tests of average 250/800Mbps download

Could it be the anti virus thing?
and i also did the safe mode with networking, steady 400Mbps, still, not satisfied, no nearer to supposedly 800Mbps
You got upgrade your ethernet port or the wifi card firmware?
Try monitor your task manager when speed testing
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 09:03 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 19 2018, 08:47 PM)
my original Ethernet port is Gigabit supported, according to what i Googled
and i bought the RJ45 to USb is gigabit supported as well
looks like your cpu is bottlenecking. Have you ever try the original ethernet port and the result are the same as the adapter one too ?The adapter is rated usb 3.0 ? and did you plug it into usb 3 port ? If your laptop is quiet old already , try clean some dust inside ur laptop and apply new layer of the thermal paste on it.

ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 09:04 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 08:58 PM)
seriously? that’s actually my brother in law’s router and he’s been complaining of not getting the turbo-ed speed of 100MBPS. but what’s the max he can get with the router. your write up is too complicated for me to understand lol
Did he ever try speed test via LAN cable to get the full speed?
ootik123
post Nov 19 2018, 09:10 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 19 2018, 09:06 PM)
nope. on mobile most of the time
If mobile on 2.4 ghz some devices may not get full speed because ur mobile lack of dual band supporting for 2.4ghz . If can try it on 5ghz (remember on 802.11 ac mode)
Try advice him to tweak the 2.4ghz to 802.11n mode to provide a better internet speed result. Many things will affect the 2.4ghz band wifi like congested channel ,the 802.11 mode, the width of your channel. Tweak the best setting. Don try to force the router 40Mhz width if there is many neighbours is using 2.4ghz , cause this will result a more congested wifi traffic .

This post has been edited by ootik123: Nov 19 2018, 09:13 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2174sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:10 AM