Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

Khuan0813
post Feb 27 2020, 06:15 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Azims @ Feb 27 2020, 05:41 AM)
But 720p@60fps is no go.
Yes, it will buffering with GX30 since the speed is just 3Mbps. But I believe that GX68 can watch 720p@60fps without problems because the plan does not have speed capped.

Most of the videos that I watch in YouTube are just 720p only. So there is no problem for me. And I seldom watch YouTube because it does not have the Korean dramas that I want.

And all the videos and dramas on the website are 720p only. So I can watch them without buffering. If the video is real 1080p, then it will have some buffering within the video but it will recover very quickly.

This post has been edited by Khuan0813: Feb 27 2020, 06:26 AM
Khuan0813
post Feb 27 2020, 08:25 AM

1,039 posts

If the server of the website has problems or many peoples are visiting the site at the same time, the videos on the site also will get buffering.

It is not the problem of what telco you are using and the chance is 50% in our daily life especially at night time, after working hours.
Khuan0813
post Feb 27 2020, 09:49 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 27 2020, 09:25 AM)
Individual experience can never represent the experience of majority as ur physical location, no or user at ur area, coverage all will vary.

If one person says it is good, it may not be true for all.

If all say it is not good, it will likely to be true for one.

Instead of focusing on individual experience, looking at the real world statistic will be a wiser and more objective move.
https://www.opensignal.com/reports/2019/04/...work-experience
Those comments here are all individual experience in their own physical location, including yours.

That's why I said before, those comments here and those reports are just for your reference only. May have personal bias.

If you are interested in the U Mobile GX plans, just go to buy a new number or sign up and try in your locations.

If you are satisfied with the service, just continue to use it.
If you are not satisfied, just cancel it.

If you are using a oppo or vivo or realme phone, make sure that your phone supports 4G band 7 before you go to try U Mobile. The specifications listed on their official website is not accurate.

This post has been edited by Khuan0813: Feb 27 2020, 09:52 AM
Khuan0813
post Feb 27 2020, 02:50 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 27 2020, 09:41 AM)
I can also stream Youtube videos at 720p/HD on GX50 since Dec 2019. Location = Klang Valley.
Later on someone will say you are a U Mobile fan. tongue.gif
Khuan0813
post Feb 27 2020, 04:24 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(slupidbanana @ Feb 27 2020, 03:03 PM)
GX50. I am having problem receiving sms verification from Twitter and SETEL. Does anyone has this problem? Just switched to this Telco and I am having bad experience using it sad.gif
Are you using the same phone before and after you change to U Mobile?
Khuan0813
post Mar 2 2020, 11:21 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Malefic Roar @ Mar 2 2020, 06:04 AM)
720p60 buffer so bad in 4g connection  (GX38)
How about now? Still buffer?

720p 60fps are videos in YouTube or elsewhere?
Khuan0813
post Mar 2 2020, 05:26 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Malefic Roar @ Mar 2 2020, 02:36 PM)
Still buffer

It takes time long time to load the video and to play it
QUOTE(futra @ Mar 2 2020, 04:18 PM)
It's written in their t&c.. youtube stream speed uncapped max 480p only.. 720 above speed capped
How about 720p only videos in YouTube?
Khuan0813
post Mar 3 2020, 04:47 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Malefic Roar @ Mar 2 2020, 07:21 PM)
Better buffering
Just finished watching a 720p travel vlog to Korea (30 minutes) in YouTube with GX plan, do not have buffering at all.

Location is Ipoh.

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Mar 2 2020, 09:58 PM)
Bottom two when I was still in P48 package. Top two when I ported to GX68

Unlimited speed my ass.

Is P48 plan a unlimited data plan?

In my opinion, those speed tests are meaningless.
As long as the speed of GX68 is enough to support all your previous online activities without problems, like watching 720p YouTube videos without buffering, then it's enough.

This post has been edited by Khuan0813: Mar 3 2020, 04:51 AM
Khuan0813
post Mar 5 2020, 07:53 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Mar 5 2020, 04:15 PM)
Basically your car and sms automatic ceased since you don't top up.
But I think your data still can working without any issued.
The only way is go to centre.
There is no online to clear listed.
Cannot use the data if the account is in passive period.
Khuan0813
post Mar 6 2020, 05:15 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Mar 6 2020, 02:40 PM)
fuck my line totally out today. no signal at all. wtf is happening to umobile.
Have you tried to restart your phone?
Khuan0813
post Mar 6 2020, 07:37 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Mar 6 2020, 02:40 PM)
fuck my line totally out today. no signal at all. wtf is happening to umobile.
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 6 2020, 06:07 PM)
No line problem today with my GX50 in Klang Valley. Actually, no problem since I first subscribed in Jan 2019.
Ipoh here had only one time last year since I started to use U Mobile in July 2018.

It was not no signal at all, but just the line was weak until cannot online only.

Just restart my phone, then no problem anymore. laugh.gif
Khuan0813
post Mar 9 2020, 04:39 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Mar 9 2020, 10:52 AM)
Lte on gx50. Switched to gx68 no more lte. What's going on
How about restart your phone?
Khuan0813
post Mar 13 2020, 02:24 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 13 2020, 01:33 PM)
Got billed RM3 again, just like last time

This time I go straight to MCMC, instead of contacting umobile 1st

What is this?
Khuan0813
post Mar 14 2020, 04:34 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 13 2020, 03:52 PM)
An SMS that charges RM3 as if I’ve opt in to it but I didn’t, I just get the SMS out of nowhere....
I see.

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 13 2020, 09:33 PM)
An update again, Umobile still the same, this is definitely getting annoying again... ranting.gif  bangwall.gif
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 13 2020, 10:25 PM)
I've just noticed that gamelord is somewhat a subsidiary of umobile? I had the same exact issue last month, my RM3 got deducted.... complain to them and they made it hard to request for a refund by only allowing the account owner to request for a refund only.... already reported to mcmc last month....
seems like a dirty trick from umobile?

will definitely try your suggestion
I am also a U Mobile prepaid user since 11 July 2018, almost 2 years already.

I totally do not receive any of these kinds of messages until today.

In my opinion, your case may be someone ( your family members like young child ) has accidentally opened the link and touched the subscribe button using your iPhone.

Try to find out what will make this happen to your phone carefully, I strongly believe both Gamelord and U Mobile, and other telco companies will not simply charge the 3 automatically if there is nobody has pressed the subscribe button accidentally.
Khuan0813
post Mar 16 2020, 05:56 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 15 2020, 05:50 PM)
I recalled having this issue with maxis before but they were able to waive it without question asked, all they need was the phone number... if umobile is like this then I might consider sticking my main number with umobile

And those WAP services were exclusive to umobile
Now you have used all the big 4 telcos in Malaysia.

From the information you posted here, I still strongly believe that there is something wrong with your phone, if you are using the same phone within this period, or your using pattern.

Now you already ported in Digi. Hopefully no more such messages sent to you.

If not, you got nowhere to go anymore this time.

This post has been edited by Khuan0813: Mar 16 2020, 06:01 AM
Khuan0813
post Mar 19 2020, 06:46 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(404xfound @ Mar 19 2020, 04:25 PM)
So I just upgraded my umobile to GX68 (now only RM58 promotion price) and the download speed is slow af (1.0+mbps sometimes even 0.9+ only). The upload speed is fine, getting 15 - 20mbps but download speed is too slow.

Is it because of my location? I feel scammed lol.
Within 18 - 31 March this movement restriction period, the line is congested for almost all the telcos in this country, especially from 9am to 12 midnight.

Khuan0813
post Mar 20 2020, 03:23 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(404xfound @ Mar 19 2020, 10:25 PM)
Will they get un-congested anytime soon? Feel like I wasted money for no reason hmm :/
Yes, after the lockdown finished, that is 1 April 2020.

Hopefully our government does not extend the lockdown period.
Khuan0813
post Mar 20 2020, 03:31 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Mar 19 2020, 08:01 PM)
Normal as usual...

[attachmentid=10453008] [attachmentid=10453009]

Those want to "balik kampong", go ahead...! Don't congesting "my" cell towers.... LOL... Hope in your kampong area the connection is normal as well...
So good your location does not have line congestion during this period. laugh.gif

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 19 2020, 09:08 PM)
GX68 still limits video-streaming to SD/480p/0.8Mbps. Sometimes may go up to HD/720p/1.6Mbps. Only for reading web-news, downloading files and apps and updating software, do you get full speed of about 30Mbps. Hence I did not upgrade from GX50 to GX68/58.

Only unlimited Hero P139 does not limit video-streaming, ie can even video-stream at 4k/2160p/16Mbps.

Network congestion can also reduce download speed, eg many Unifi Mobile subscribers are getting only 0.5Mbps to 2Mbps during peak hours because of the success of TM's Unifi Mobile RM59 promo. ... https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750658/+2740
....... Why.? = because 1 4G cell tower can only serve about 60 subscribers who are actively downloading/streaming stuffs at the same time = a few may kena disconnected by UMobile in the middle of their downloading/streaming based on FUP, in order to serve other light-data-users first.

Maybe we should do our video-streaming during off-peak hours or first download the videos to our Android device for watching later.
Brother is the line congested in your location during this period?
Khuan0813
post Mar 20 2020, 01:35 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 20 2020, 11:07 AM)
No. No problem streaming Youtube videos in SD.

Do you know the difference between 4G and 4G+ or LTE-Advanced, ie does UMobile offer 4G+? Seems 4G+ network has less congestion and better speed. Only the newer Android(8.0 or higher) devices support 4G+ or LTE-Advanced.
The only difference is the maximum theoretical speed, bandwidth and minimum latency you can get.

4G can reach speed up to 100Mbps, while 4G+ can reach up to or over 1GBps, with less than a few milliseconds of latency.

U Mobile has 4G+, but I am not sure whether all the locations have, or just some locations only. But I am sure that Ipoh here got 4G+.

Besides that, the 4G modem of your phone must support 4G+, then only you can get 4G+ on your phone.
Khuan0813
post Mar 26 2020, 04:11 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(beng970804 @ Mar 25 2020, 09:36 PM)

Just switch to GX68, and this is my speed....... Should I just call UMobile and justify the price I pay for? Or this is normal..
The speed is not accurate because of the lockdown period.

You should try after 14 April 2020 then the results that time are normal.

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 25 2020, 09:50 PM)
2,7mbps already syukur
i only get 0.12mbps only
where ur location
Yes, he is so lucky can get that speed. biggrin.gif

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:00 PM