Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v7

mfa682
post Sep 2 2019, 03:49 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 2 2019, 08:39 AM)
I made the switch to DiGi quite a few years ago when their 4G/LTE service started to improve with coverage and also with their competitive pricing. Best decision I ever made.
Looks they managed to retain you with some candy treats 😜
Yup, candy tricks work not only for kids, but for adults too πŸ˜†οΈ
mfa682
post Sep 2 2019, 09:00 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 2 2019, 08:11 PM)
Yup, got that update as well. It's considered an version upgrade for One UI. Hopefully we will get One UI ver 2 when they release it in the near future.
I thought one ui 2.0 is for Android 10? I highly doubt Note8 will get the update for 2.0 😭️. I hope I'm wrong though
mfa682
post Sep 2 2019, 09:45 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Sep 2 2019, 05:26 PM)
noticed One UI update for Note 8 in Galaxy Stored.
Updated it but not sure that what is the update for.
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 2 2019, 09:03 PM)
Doesn't hurt to be wishful Bro. After the current update, it should be One UI version 1.1
Icic. Thanks for the update
mfa682
post Sep 4 2019, 01:58 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 3 2019, 09:31 PM)
Fortunately sold to one and being scolded by other cause they said why so low price 🀣🀣🀣
your price looks reasonable, how much the other who scolded you suggested to sell?
mfa682
post Sep 6 2019, 08:05 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Sep 4 2019, 05:01 PM)
Thinking to replace my note 8 with mi 9t pro but specs wise,Β  i dont see any major upgrade i will get except for the gaming performance and battery life. Screen on note 8 much better than mi 9t pro since it QHD vs FHD. The only phone i think can be consider as upgrade for this phone r oneplus 7 pro and rog phone 2. Both have high refresh rate, stereo speaker n etc. What do u guys think? Anyone replace their note 8 with mi9t pro or op 7? U guys satisfied or regret it?
Well u r asking in a Note8 thread, no doubt most people here will advise to stay with Samsung due to their great track record and awesome local warranty support.

In my opinion the 90hz refresh rate and above is no joke. I can tell on the spot after testing that the higher refresh rate is no doubt better than my Note8 (even after factory reset) when it comes to smoothness. I read review from a lot of users and a lot of them mentioned that they can never go back to 60hz refresh rate, even the well known reviewer MKBHD tells the same thing when reviewing his op7p unit.

As for QHD and FHD comparison, I believe some people said its noticeable, but I personally can't tell a difference between the two resolutions. Unless its between AMOLED and IPS display then it's a different story.

As for warranty, I have no idea. Pretty sure Samsung does better job than those two in terms of warranty.

There's a forumner here has had all the phones u mentioned except xiaomi, u might wanna ask his opinion eventhough he already sold his op7 pro for a note 10 plus. @mafioso

If I were u, I would have bought op7p in a heartbeat, even knowing that I must let go of wireless charging, ip68 and s-pen.

Edit: didn't read your question properly.

This post has been edited by mfa682: Sep 6 2019, 08:37 AM
mfa682
post Sep 11 2019, 10:24 AM

1,799 posts

Has the newly announced iPhone price gone up again? If yes hopefully Sammy won't follow suit 😭️😱️
mfa682
post Sep 11 2019, 04:56 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 11 2019, 10:28 AM)
Price increased for the newly introduced Pro model. Also do keep in mind that MYR against the USD is low hence higher price here in Malaysia. Samsung did follow suit but their price usually drop fast after a few months.
I guess not just Sammy, other brand such as oneplus is also stepping up to premium price range 😭️, then price drop after few months unlike fruit company
mfa682
post Sep 11 2019, 07:11 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Landmarkyap @ Sep 11 2019, 05:24 PM)
But fruit models many LL, ZP, turbo sim, hybrid n the price difference 1k to my set
Ya those are indeed cheaper....
mfa682
post Sep 12 2019, 10:13 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 12 2019, 08:14 AM)
Is this the latest firmware because I don't see any for the month of September. August update was quite a huge file, 600+mb
Fruit company sell so expensive/premium and because of the brand logo, the depreciation is much less. Due to a fact that their prices are getting more and more expensive, less people are going to buy the newer models.
That's a saddening fact but it's the truth.

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 12 2019, 09:16 AM)
still in dilemma wheather want to upgrade my N8 to N10+ since got trade offers going on. but N10+ no phone jack and missing a button, a bit sadding
The type-c to audio adapter not too much of a hassle so shouldn't be a problem I think?
mfa682
post Sep 18 2019, 11:52 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 18 2019, 11:32 AM)
Either they are very keen on testing how durable the Gorilla Glass on their smart phone can perform or just penny wise pound foolish (no offence intented). I would guess the latter.
Not offended, but I believe people like me do not fall under those two categories lol. Without screen protector, it's clearly noticable the phone feels thinner, and the smooth buttery when swiping the screen feels so much better that no screen protector (afaik) can give. We do know whatever elephant king kong glass will never prevent minor scratches though, but we don't give a damn since we dont own eagle eyes.
mfa682
post Sep 18 2019, 12:07 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 18 2019, 11:58 AM)
Salute you Bro for speaking up and sharing your point of view. There is no right or wrong in this scenario. This only affects those users who have OCD or OCPD. I don't understand, for something they already know that is bound to happen, why not just invest in a screen protector rather than trying to remedy the situation later
Well made SP very expensive maybe? lol. What I don't understand a lot of consumers spend thousands ringgit buying flagshits but very stingy to buy apps only cost a few dollars lol. Beli iPhone XS Max boleh, beli app tiga ringgit kedekut... 🀣️🀣️
mfa682
post Sep 18 2019, 12:32 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 18 2019, 12:10 PM)
Exactly Bro. There are such people out there, and I know a few of them, sadly. Too bad for them, iPhone these days can no longer jailbreak. Android on the other hand has made headway and improved heaps that rooting has become a thing of the past.
Unfortunately, I'm still stuck with root and xposed πŸ˜…οΈ. Unrooted my phone once but that didn't even last three days lol.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 18 2019, 12:15 PM)
which spec not preferable to you bro?
note10+ is too big , i always wish samsung making some size around S9 S10 with spen ,so now there come Note10 with spen , 176g of weight and very nice and fit to hand  biggrin.gif
i change phone every 2 year , so ngam ngam ho la after 2 year change new phone hehe
What happen to your Note8? Trade-in ady? Thought last time got slow charge problem?
mfa682
post Sep 18 2019, 12:49 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 18 2019, 12:37 PM)
I still love the freedom and customisation of rooting and running xposed but with all the e-wallet apps that I am using, the cons out weighs the pros for me unfortunately πŸ˜“
Indeed. If I were in your shoes, we might end up in the same boat.
mfa682
post Sep 18 2019, 05:58 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 18 2019, 04:00 PM)
hahaha... well said, fortunate not fall on those 2  notworthy.gif
Yup once a while do hold it naked just to feels how such technologies evolved to nowadays
hehe.. maybe spend too much for the phone and can't do more  brows.gif 
the wired earphone / headphone.. kinda don't like something dangling around my neck especially during jogging / exercise  icon_rolleyes.gif

+1 every 2 years ya  icon_idea.gif
Kenot hold naked feel like can terbang anytime because too slim πŸ˜‚οΈ

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 18 2019, 04:20 PM)
Just ordered a new Alcantara cover for my Note. Old one looks a bit seasoned already, but not really at first glance, unless you look very carefully.. Almost 2 years of use. Still love using it, because of how soft and nice it feels on the hand.
Really like alcantara cover but it's a bit overpriced.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 18 2019, 05:14 PM)
yup note always on heavy side maybe due to some s-pen feature ? but the note10 not plus version really take my heart , at first wanna option for rog 2 , but the weight so heavy , hardly for daily used
i got bluetooth earphone too , for me to movie / youtube / music , but when come to gaming stil need wired earphone because due to the delay sound lol
At least u don't get audiophiles issue concerning audio jack. Audio jack removal hit those people really hard.
mfa682
post Sep 20 2019, 12:37 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 20 2019, 09:46 AM)
Yeah, and our phone would also end up weighing a ton like those Swiss watches. Sapphire glass is heavy yo. No kidding. Just pick up a Rado watch and you will know.
Next time buy Sammy phone can get tag heuer for the same price 🀣️
mfa682
post Sep 20 2019, 05:28 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 20 2019, 01:28 PM)
That time i rather buy watches than phones liao😴

Can sell back 4 more money some more hahahaha
same here. better investment in long run.

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Sep 20 2019, 02:52 PM)
for glass, if it is more resistance to crack, then is easier to scratch
if it is more resistance to scratch, then is easier to crack
it is like a balance of both
old Gorrila glass more resistance to scratch so not that easy to scratch it
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 20 2019, 02:57 PM)
Of course it's best to have a balance composition between the two. You win some and also loose some. Hence why a good screen protector solves the problem with a peace of mind.
indeed thats the gorilla glass logic over the years. pray that soon gorilla will turn into kingkong so we that we can have the best of both worlds tongue.gif .
mfa682
post Sep 21 2019, 03:57 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 21 2019, 12:41 PM)
so far mine survived accidental drops... surely none of my smartphone being naked, at least bumper case πŸ˜… remembered last used naked phone were Nokia below... still used as alarm thou πŸ™ˆ

Lejen!
mfa682
post Sep 26 2019, 07:38 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 25 2019, 08:25 PM)
But sometimes the return cost much higher than case itself πŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺ
Ya, not worth the time at all. And it's a hassle.
mfa682
post Sep 26 2019, 11:47 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 26 2019, 10:40 PM)
Return policy works if received product different from advertisement, had done with Shopee once and the seller reject it 😀 but when had dispute with photos of different only Shopee approved my Refund request... kinda fortunate thou. Seller don't want to send me return package so end-up got refund and the items... but useless hence cannot use it πŸ˜…
What did u buy anyway?
mfa682
post Sep 30 2019, 01:16 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 29 2019, 06:19 PM)
Got this PA-Y13 last year 11.11 sales at cheaper price  icon_rolleyes.gif  indeed working great with my tablet, powerbank & phones  thumbsup.gif
Nice. How much did u get during the sales? Might getting one soon to put in my office. Last time I bought Tronsmart U5TF 90W 5-port support QC3.0, best charger I had but hardly utilize it fully.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0828sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:52 PM