155 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

purplebeanie
post Nov 19 2018, 04:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 19 2018, 03:19 PM)
Get 320s 14 from Shopee or Lazada, that model also EOL. Also consider 330s 14, however I cannot confirm that it has IPS panel and 52Wh battery at this time

Good luck dealing with Asus support

Here are some good options:
Acer Spin 5 13 - good sRGB IPS, soldered RAM
Acer Swift 3 SF314-54/54G +RAM
Lenovo Yoga 520 (i5-8250U) +RAM

With smaller battery:
Dell Inspiron 7472 - good sRGB IPS
Dell Vostro 5471 +RAM+SSD
HP Pavilion 14 ce0082/83tx +RAM
HP Pavilion x360 14 cd0036tx +RAM
Thank you for the detailed reply. Appreciate it 😃

Should I go for the 330s 14 since EOL models are more likely to have lesser support? 🤔 After issues with my Asus, support is important to me.

Both Acer models offer a good deal, will consider them. Lenovo's RM 500 offer for Thinkpad is really attractive at this time so I'm also looking at Thinkpad A485. Wondering how does Ryzen and Vega fare against Intel and NVDIA? Heard that Ryzen is still new.

Also, is 8GB RAM and 500GB HDD better compared to 4GB RAM and 128 GB SSD? In considering a laptop in terms of specs, how can we tell which offers a good deal?

Last question, (sorry you have to type a lot, hehe), how do you choose a laptop that has value for money? I understand it's based on needs, budget and usage but is there anything else to look out for? In terms of support, I saw that in 2018, Lenovo took 1st place, followed by HP, Dell and so on so forth.

Thanks again, Sifu. Appreciate it

Sea2004
post Nov 19 2018, 04:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 19 2018, 10:23 AM)
Go used if you have a tight budget
I have considered buying the 2nd hand laptops but worried about it getting faulty often. Since I need it for long term use, don't think it is worth the risk to buy 2nd hand laptops without any warranty. A Pc shop in Digital Mall offered a 2nd hand Asus laptop for RM600 but had a broken screen. I am still keeping my options open and waiting for the best offer. So far, I have found 2 deals within my budget : Dell Inspiron 15 (Intel i3) and waiting for even better offers.
purplebeanie
post Nov 19 2018, 06:47 PM

22 posts

😁

This post has been edited by purplebeanie: Nov 19 2018, 06:48 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 19 2018, 09:16 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(purplebeanie @ Nov 19 2018, 04:12 PM)
Should I go for the 330s 14 since EOL models are more likely to have lesser support? 🤔 After issues with my Asus, support is important to me.

Both Acer models offer a good deal, will consider them. Lenovo's RM 500 offer for Thinkpad is really attractive at this time so I'm also looking at Thinkpad A485. Wondering how does Ryzen and Vega fare against Intel and NVDIA? Heard that Ryzen is still new.

Also, is 8GB RAM and 500GB HDD better compared to 4GB RAM and 128 GB SSD? In considering a laptop in terms of specs, how can we tell which offers a good deal?

Last question, (sorry you have to type a lot, hehe), how do you choose a laptop that has value for money? I understand it's based on needs, budget and usage but is there anything else to look out for? In terms of support, I saw that in 2018, Lenovo took 1st place, followed by HP, Dell and so on so forth.

Thanks again, Sifu. Appreciate it
1. Doesn't matter, just get the cheaper one. Basically not much difference between 320s 14 and 330s 14

2. A485 is decent. Ryzen mobile APU has similar multi core performance and better iGPU performance, however it suffer from worse battery life and CPU performance is inconsistent

3. 8GB RAM and SSD are must, however you can always upgrade them

4. Build quality, display quality, input devices quality, battery life, thermal performance (for gaming/powerful laptops) etc. For support, basically every brand is decent except for Asus and maybe MSI (and Chinese stuffs). If you want the best, Dell, followed by Lenovo and HP onsite. Acer don't have onsite but their support is quite good. Again, it kinda depends on your luck too

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Nov 19 2018, 09:17 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 19 2018, 09:18 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Sea2004 @ Nov 19 2018, 04:39 PM)
I  have considered buying the 2nd hand laptops but worried about it getting faulty often. Since I need it for long term use, don't think it is worth the risk to buy 2nd hand laptops without any warranty. A Pc shop in Digital Mall offered a 2nd hand Asus laptop for RM600 but had a broken screen. I am still keeping my options open and waiting for the best offer. So far, I  have found 2 deals within my budget : Dell Inspiron 15 (Intel i3) and waiting for even better offers.
Go for used business laptops (premium models not entry level ones). Low end laptops tend to suffer from quality issues so they might die even earlier.
acmilan01
post Nov 19 2018, 10:09 PM

173 posts

hi sifu, please assist my frd find a laptop.

1. Brand: Asus/Dell/HP
2. Performance: 4/8GB RAM, SSD
3. Battery life: -
4. Weight: -
5. Usage: normal office usage can dota 2
6. Screen size: 14 inch or above
7. Budget: RM 2k max 2.5k

I did recommend lenovo ideapad, but he prefer Asus and HP/Dell as second choice.

This post has been edited by acmilan01: Nov 19 2018, 10:21 PM
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 02:11 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(acmilan01 @ Nov 19 2018, 10:09 PM)
hi sifu, please assist my frd find a laptop.

1. Brand: Asus/Dell/HP
2. Performance: 4/8GB RAM, SSD
3. Battery life: -
4. Weight: -
5. Usage: normal office usage can dota 2
6. Screen size: 14 inch or above
7. Budget: RM 2k  max 2.5k

I did recommend lenovo ideapad, but he prefer Asus and HP/Dell as second choice.
Every brand has good and bad models

Budget is a little tight, if you want MX150 GPU, Acer Aspire 5 A515-52G (2018 model) with RAM+SSD upgrades (over budget)
Or Ryzen stuff like Aspire 3 A315-41G with 2500U (iGPU performance similar to 940MX), however build quality and battery life are barely acceptable
Ideapad 320s 14 is decent but GPU is a bit weak (920MX/MX110)
dylan_chng
post Nov 20 2018, 02:20 AM

658 posts

What is the cheapest laptop (don't need 360 hinge) with i3 8th gen processor?
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 03:06 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Nov 20 2018, 02:20 AM)
What is the cheapest laptop (don't need 360 hinge) with i3 8th gen processor?
First, why you want 8th gen i3? Second, why must buy the cheapest
acmilan01
post Nov 20 2018, 09:45 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 20 2018, 02:11 AM)
Every brand has good and bad models

Budget is a little tight, if you want MX150 GPU, Acer Aspire 5 A515-52G (2018 model) with RAM+SSD upgrades (over budget)
Or Ryzen stuff like Aspire 3 A315-41G with 2500U (iGPU performance similar to 940MX), however build quality and battery life are barely acceptable
Ideapad 320s 14 is decent but GPU is a bit weak (920MX/MX110)
Noted and thanks
dylan_chng
post Nov 20 2018, 01:56 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 20 2018, 03:06 AM)
First, why you want 8th gen i3? Second, why must buy the cheapest
Sorry for my lack of details. I must have been half asleep.

I belive that anything not 8th gen is not worth it since I'm buying new. When buying new, I expect the latest components.
I also belive that anything below i3 for laptops is useless and i5/i7 would make laptop louder since they will heat up more.
The heat reason is also why I hate dedicated grpahics in laptops.

I also should have added that I'm looking for a touchscreen FHD laptop with at least an i3 processor. AMD equivalent also ok.

ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 03:34 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Nov 20 2018, 01:56 PM)
Sorry for my lack of details. I must have been half asleep.

I belive that anything not 8th gen is not worth it since I'm buying new. When buying new, I expect the latest components.
I also belive that anything below i3 for laptops is useless and i5/i7 would make laptop louder since they will heat up more.
The heat reason is also why I hate dedicated grpahics in laptops.

I also should have added that I'm looking for a touchscreen FHD laptop with at least an i3 processor. AMD equivalent also ok.
haha nvm

OK so a few things to clear up:
1. Getting the latest tech for the same price compared to old tech is worth it
2. i3 is fine for light workload, in fact some ppl can get away from Pentium/core m CPU
3. Which i5 and i7 you refer to? The lack of architecture improvement and keep pushing up clock speed/cores are the main reasons why 8th gen mobile chips run hot, however if the cooling system is capable of handling the heat output together with a few tweaks, there shouldn't have any thermal issue
4. dGPU indeed increase heat output, but some ppl need it (like me). Again it can be tuned for better thermals

What's your max budget? Usage? Any preference on weight, display size, display quality and battery life?
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 03:34 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chiplax @ Nov 20 2018, 02:14 PM)
Budget - 7k
GPU - gtx 1060 full and above
Monitor - at least 120 hz
Purpose - gaming
No preference on weight and battery life? Fine with 17 inch models?
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 03:54 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chiplax @ Nov 20 2018, 03:37 PM)
Yup fine. Gaming why need consider weight, battery and size?

Lighter, longer battery life and smaller are three factors that affect gaming performance of laptop.

Except u can suggest laptop with powerful performance but light, long battery life and small at the small time
Bcoz some ppl do care about it

There are some models with fairly light weight and good battery life without sacrificing much performance (mainly GPU), however they are usually expensive

Here are some CFL-H models with 1060 and high refresh rate panel option:
MSI GE63/GE73/GP63 8RE
Illegear Raven Elite (TongFang GK5CN67)
HP Omen 15-DC0126TX
Illegear Laguna (Quanta NL5C)
Asus GL504GM
Asus GL703GM
Illegear Raven (TongFang GJ5CN6E)
Lenovo Legion Y530 (customize)
Commandos Carbine 5 / Level51 W15 Lite (Clevo N950TP6) with desktop CPU

AW15/17 also not bad but they are very bulky and don't have the best cooling solution out there (not saying that it's 'bad')

If it's only for gaming, try to get CFL-H i5 as it has less heat output and still has decent performance in most games

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Nov 20 2018, 03:55 PM
dylan_chng
post Nov 20 2018, 04:17 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 20 2018, 03:34 PM)
haha nvm

OK so a few things to clear up:
1. Getting the latest tech for the same price compared to old tech is worth it
2. i3 is fine for light workload, in fact some ppl can get away from Pentium/core m CPU
3. Which i5 and i7 you refer to? The lack of architecture improvement and keep pushing up clock speed/cores are the main reasons why 8th gen mobile chips run hot, however if the cooling system is capable of handling the heat output together with a few tweaks, there shouldn't have any thermal issue
4. dGPU indeed increase heat output, but some ppl need it (like me). Again it can be tuned for better thermals

What's your max budget? Usage? Any preference on weight, display size, display quality and battery life?
I'm refering to U seriers i5/i7.
Max Budget is 4k but prefer to spend closer to 2k.
Usage mainly word document, powerpoint but going to be doing a bit C++ and basic Java in the future.
Weight as light as possible
Display would like 13"/14" FHD touchscreen
battery life don't really care as long as charger is really long. My current laptop charger is 3m.
kamikraze
post Nov 20 2018, 04:36 PM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,391 posts

msi gs73vr is very thin, till the body chasis feel so soft and bendable.. any good alternative similar to the specs? i7 7th gen/i5 8th gen, 16gb ram, gtx1060 6gb?
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 08:45 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Nov 20 2018, 04:17 PM)
I'm refering to U seriers i5/i7.
Max Budget is 4k but prefer to spend closer to 2k.
Usage mainly word document, powerpoint but going to be doing a bit C++ and basic Java in the future.
Weight as light as possible
Display would like 13"/14" FHD touchscreen
battery life don't really care as long as charger is really long. My current laptop charger is 3m.
Thinkpads:
T480 with touch enabled IPS
A485 with touch enabled IPS
X280 with touchscreen

Acer Spin 5 13 - good sRGB IPS
Lenovo Yoga 520/530 +RAM

Small battery:
Acer Swift 5 SF514-52T - good sRGB IPS
HP Pavilion x360 14 cd0036tx +RAM

Note that non convertible laptop with touchscreen usually don't have pen/stylus support
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 08:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 20 2018, 04:36 PM)
msi gs73vr is very thin, till the body chasis feel so soft and bendable.. any good alternative similar to the specs? i7 7th gen/i5 8th gen, 16gb ram, gtx1060 6gb?
How much you want to spend? Preferred max weight in kg and min how many hours of battery life?
kamikraze
post Nov 20 2018, 09:12 PM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,391 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 20 2018, 08:46 PM)
How much you want to spend? Preferred max weight in kg and min how many hours of battery life?
weight at about 2.4kg is fine, min battery life 4 hours, build sturdiness medium.. money to spend about 4-6k..lower is better
ZM Fong
post Nov 20 2018, 09:37 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 20 2018, 09:12 PM)
weight at about 2.4kg is fine, min battery life 4 hours, build sturdiness medium.. money to spend about 4-6k..lower is better
MSI GP63 8RE - excellent cooling and good build quality (exterior), potential QC/QA issues. 120Hz TN
HP Omen 15-DC0126TX - good cooling and good-excellent build quality. 144Hz IPS
Lenovo Legion Y530 (customize) - good cooling and OK-good build quality, 144Hz IPS
Illegear Raven (TongFang GJ5CN6E) - OK-good cooling (for 1060 model) and good build quality, 144Hz IPS

Thin and light:
Illegear Onyx (TongFang GK5CN6Z) - good cooling (for thin and light), good-excellent build quality. 144Hz low ms IPS
Commandos Katana 5 (on sale) / Level51 Prime 15 (Clevo P950EP6) - mediocre cooling, good build quality. 144Hz low ms IPS

Upgrade to 16GB by yourself if not enough RAM since it's usually cheaper

155 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:01 PM