6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Theory/Lessons The Sweep Club! Janitors Unite!, Say no 2 tapping, stringskippin......

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 06:44 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 1 2007, 05:08 PM)
see the topic

P.S.
All you tappers (the one hand and 2hand variety), stringskippers, legato-ers, overhand-ers keep out! tongue.gif

KEEP OUT ! scared anot !!  tongue.gif
Wah, gaps also scared... gasp! wink.gif

valkyrie1232
post Jun 1 2007, 08:48 PM

721 posts

Woohoooo! The sweeps that gapnap just posted....inhuman! notworthy.gif
I remember you showing me the first figure before...bloody Matthias Eklund sweep or something.

Incidentally, the Young Guitar Demo from Jani Liimatainen has that similar sweep pattern also! Insane la!

Gapnap, sometimes when you're as good as you are, it's easy to forget that some of us are still human. tongue.gif

And no Mr Blacktrix you're not weird. Theatrical Metal FTW ok!

blacktrix
post Jun 1 2007, 09:18 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

What theatrical metal.........

I just went for My Fair Lady...... tongue.gif

If I hit Broadway, will go see Beauty And The Beast and Wicked.... unfortunately my favorite Producers just ended it's run there sad.gif

But of all the big name broadway musicals, Phantom of the Opera is probably the most "metal" of them all..... heck.... even Nightwish covered it! It's actually quite a cool riff to play on the guitar...... I bet a sweep picking solo there would fit in nicely as it's very operatic in nature.....

see? see? see? You thought I was going nowhere with this rant.... but still manage to throw it back into topic!
Equilibrium777
post Jun 2 2007, 12:32 AM

1,228 posts

I like Jesus Christ Superstar. . . got some whicked soloing in there. . . lolz. . .

ugh. . . i can't even do 3 string sweeps properly. . . you heroes all doing them 6 - 7 string sweeps. . . =.=

another insane sweep is the one from Neil Zaza's I'm Alright. . . 3 octaves on 6 strings. . . lolz. . .

if you have fingers of an orangutan you can just play aprpegios on one string. . . xD
Air Hendrix
post Jun 13 2007, 05:31 PM

342 posts

just happened to stumble across this thread...
good stuff here...
would suggest the TS change the thread to 'recommended guitar exercise' rather than to solely focus on sweep arpeggios...
what say the mod?
PetroToxin
post Jun 13 2007, 05:56 PM

1,179 posts

Hmm I think I have to start Sweeping on bass laugh.gif

This post has been edited by PetroToxin: Jun 13 2007, 05:57 PM
SweetTooth
post Jun 13 2007, 08:39 PM

2,650 posts

headhunter7
post Jun 13 2007, 09:46 PM

2,355 posts

My furthest...is 4 string sweep. I suck I know sad.gif..
I cant get over JP for alternate picking the intro in Glass Prison. WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF
Equilibrium777
post Jun 13 2007, 10:04 PM

1,228 posts

LOLZ

gigantour. . .when i saw i was like. . .

BBQ!!! showoff xD

but he is the alternate picking school. . . even steve morse alternate picks his appregios. ..
Rossie
post Jun 14 2007, 12:01 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

You mean the intro with the sweeping after the wahwah part?
Beatmasta
post Jun 14 2007, 12:33 AM

Drummer Guy
577 posts

damnit..i tried it over n over again..wei so hard how to pull of the fret 21 bck to 16..insane la..btw wat u guys mean string skipping? laugh.gif
+3kk!
post Jun 14 2007, 12:40 AM

8,275 posts

lol sweeping, becker still give me nightmares. anyone manage to nail prepatual burn and serrana ?
SweetTooth
post Jun 14 2007, 12:48 AM

2,650 posts

i find sweeping nicer(the sound and tone). alternate picking arpeggios sound too strong. dunno how to explain blink.gif
sweeping sounds more fluid and natural(thats why i prefer directional picking/economy picking/alternative picking/whateveritscalled)

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Jun 14 2007, 12:49 AM
Rossie
post Jun 14 2007, 10:58 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Jun 14 2007, 12:48 AM)
i find sweeping nicer(the sound and tone). alternate picking arpeggios sound too strong. dunno how to explain blink.gif
sweeping sounds more fluid and natural(thats why i prefer directional picking/economy picking/alternative picking/whateveritscalled)
Try listening to John Petrucci's Damage Control, especially the lick at 6:11.

If it ain't too fast, I prefer alternate picking arpeggios, gives me much more control.
Equilibrium777
post Jun 14 2007, 01:08 PM

1,228 posts

yeah . . .a gree with rossie. . . more control. . . and the notes have more accent. . . also note that many ppl sweep in blurs. . . i for one still sweep in blurs. . . which i'm still working on. . . meaning all the notes just come and go and you can't really hear whats in between other than the frst and last note. . .

i got a friend who nailed the serrana apreggio. . . one of the best around. . . he started me up with all these speed stuff and he's an insane player. . . he personally knows Zack Kim and they jam together. . . lol. . . and them 2 use PG guitars =.=
Rossie
post Jun 14 2007, 09:00 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Have you tried the sweeping exercise in Rock Discipline?
Nice exercise, but not enough to develop sweeping further, imo, but gives a good explanation of the concept behind it.
SweetTooth
post Jun 14 2007, 10:33 PM

2,650 posts

i just practice the sweep run in speed kills.. the arpeggio madness part. simple but should be productive i guess
Equilibrium777
post Jun 15 2007, 02:32 AM

1,228 posts

. . . i'm just doing simple sweeping for now. . . just started and i lost my picking power due to MIA from my guitar for 3 weeks. . . gonna take me a while to get back in shape =(
gapnap
post Jun 15 2007, 11:56 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Jun 14 2007, 01:08 PM)
yeah . . .a gree with rossie. . . more control. . . and the notes have more accent. . . also note that many ppl sweep in blurs. . . i for one still sweep in blurs. . . which i'm still working on. . . meaning all the notes just come and go and you can't really hear whats in between other than the frst and last note. . .

i got a friend who nailed the serrana apreggio. . . one of the best around. . . he started me up with all these speed stuff and he's an insane player. . . he personally knows Zack Kim and they jam together. . . lol. . . and them 2 use PG guitars =.=
hmmm..i used to sweep in blurs ..and i train up a little , then i get my sweep notes "clear"..

but the thing is ..once you get your notes clear , you cannot get the "sweeps in blur" sound anymore..which i miss it..sooooo much sad.gif sounds more mysterious tongue.gif

so , i think there is no right or wrong in blur sweeping or clear sweeping , especially at this level ..it all boils down to what you want ..
SweetTooth
post Jun 15 2007, 01:16 PM

2,650 posts

sweeping in blur... some people might call you a noob for not playing cleanly =/

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0219sec    1.05    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:18 PM