Theory/Lessons The Sweep Club! Janitors Unite!, Say no 2 tapping, stringskippin......

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 11:18 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 1 2007, 08:35 AM)
Ha! No la... I didn't add the hammer/pull off/slide notations...
It's actually something like this:

-----------14-18s21p18---------------------
---------14-----------19-------------------
-------15---------------18-----------------
-----16-------------------20---------------
---16-----------------------21s16p14-------
|-14----------------------------------15-14-|

Makes much more sense eh?
Bruuuu-tal... shocking.gif

QUOTE(Rossie @ May 31 2007, 08:55 PM)
The second question:
How do you sweep pick?

One kick-a$$ malaysian guitarist recently let me in the secrets of the way he sweep picks...

He actually mutes all the notes, but it's not that audible when played fast. And he angles a little on his picking angle, to let the pick glide across the strings. John Petrucci's way of sweeping is quite hard, he doesn't really mute the picked strings with his picking hand (as described above), so the fretting hand need to keep up with the rolling and muting technique to keep everything nice and clean. And JP's picking angle is almost 90 degrees, that means JP digs in real deep when he sweep picks!
Hehe, palm-muted sweeps roxxors ftw! thumbup.gif

...but only on ascending sweeps... can't seem to contort my right hand enough so I can actually palm-mute on the descending sweep, though... sad.gif

...ok, maybe I pose question number 2.5...

Do you think that if you get passed a certain speed, there's very little apparent difference between sweeping (properly!) and raking?

Like, take the ultra-fast sweep arpeggios from e.g. Jason Becker's Serrana parts video (AIM clinic?), Rusty Cooley's Under the Influence and other ub3r-l33t-shredders on YouTube... it's hard to make out the low notes on the 5 and 6 string sweeps and pretty much the only thing that stands out are the notes on the first 3 strings...

I'm sure that their playing is clean, but speed and distortion kinda make it redundant... or maybe my brain just can't process the notes fast enough! laugh.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 11:31 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 1 2007, 11:23 AM)
Ok.... I have a problem.....
As you all know, I usually play Pentatonics and Blues scales when I solo..... but I always have trouble fitting in sweeping arpeggios into my solos because of that...... an Em Arpeggio doesn't usually fit with my Em Pentatonic for example...
Should I just try harder (or do you have any tips/tricks) or just concentrate on my Pentas and Blues?
Or maybe you can help me out on where should I stop/start my arpeggios/pentatonic or just list down some cool licks?

Listening to Trivium and Dragonforce makes me want to pick up a broom and sweep!
Technically, an Em arpeggio should fit in the Em Pentatonic... the Em arp is just EGB and your Em pentatonic has those notes too...

But you're right, it doesn't really sound like it fits in the Em Pentatonic... maybe because amost no one actually sticks a sweep arpeggio in the middle of a pentatonic/blues solo...

well, there's Malmsteen of course... see particularly Voodoo Chile from his G3 where sweep arpeggios come out of nowhere right smack in the middle of his "blues" solo... tongue.gif

bottom line, Blacktrix: you can do anything you want, as long as you're willing to live with the consequences... thumbup.gif

EDIT:
QUOTE(soulfly @ Jun 1 2007, 11:29 AM)
7 string sweep teh r0x0r!
ROXXORS FTW!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif

E|----------------------8-12-s17-12-s8---------------------|
A|-------------------10----------------10------------------|
D|-----------------9----------------------9----------------|
G|--------------10--------------------------10-------------|
B|------3-7-s12--------------------------------12-7-s3-----|
E|---5-------------------------------------------------5---|
B|-5-----------------------------------------------------5-|

But whether it can actually be played is a whooole different story.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Jun 1 2007, 11:38 AM
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 11:39 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 1 2007, 11:35 AM)
That's what I thought initially..... same notes.... should sound good, right? Well... beauty is in the eyes (or in this case, ears) of the beholder... so to me, it sounds..... urgh...... But I suppose you can add in a sweep arpeggio into a blues solo if:
a) you're damn good at it,
b) you know every single scale and lick by heart and super long fingers,
c) you have an ego the size of 5 Death Stars..... and then some,
or d)Your name start with Yngwie and ends with Malmsteen, which means you're all of the above.
You forgot to mention: You eat half a dozen cheeseburgers a day! tongue.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 04:20 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 1 2007, 01:39 PM)
E|---------------------------14-15-14-------------------------|
B|----------------------16-------------16----------------------|
G|-----------------12----------------------12------------------|
D|-----------15--------------------------------15---------------|
A|------13------------------------------------------13----------|
E|--12--------------------------------------------------12------|

pushing sweep to the next level ..anyone ?  tongue.gif

use it on E minor.something..forgotten . long time ..

push further ? sure
E|--------------------------------------------------------12--17--12----------------------------|
B|--------------------------------------------------10-----------------10---8-------------------|
G|----------------------------------------------7-------------------------------10-7-------------|
D|----------4--h7--4---------------4---h7-------------------------------------------7 h4-------|
A|-------6-------------6----------6---------------------------------------------------------6---  |
E|--5-8--------------------8-5-8--------------------------------------------------------------8-5|
you can use it on a Adim7 to Am7 transaction..
now...this is bullsh1t  tongue.gif

valkyrie , everybody here knows that you can execute that sweep easily .
c'mon..admit it  tongue.gif
Hey... where's the double-tap in the sweep mou? hmm.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 1 2007, 06:44 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 1 2007, 05:08 PM)
see the topic

P.S.
All you tappers (the one hand and 2hand variety), stringskippers, legato-ers, overhand-ers keep out! tongue.gif

KEEP OUT ! scared anot !!  tongue.gif
Wah, gaps also scared... gasp! wink.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Jun 15 2007, 01:51 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Jun 15 2007, 01:16 PM)
sweeping in blur... some people might call you a noob for not playing cleanly =/
...if your slow sweeps sound like a blur, then ya lah... but at gaps' speed, that's a different story...

e.g. the super-ultra fast 5-6 string sweeps by guys like rusty cooley, francesco fareri, it pretty much sounds like a "blur" - not because it's sloppy, but because it's so bloody fast your brain can only make out the texture of the notes and not the individual notes...

...and technical ability aside, it depends on your tone as well... if you've got a lot of reverb/bass/low-mids in your tone, chances are the ultra-fast sweeps won't sound very distinct...

my RM0.24... icon_rolleyes.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 15 2007, 02:37 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 15 2007, 02:22 PM)
+RM1

so now RM1.24

tongue.gif i think it depends on the song too

like rhapsody , i think luca's sweeps sound pretty blurry , but hey , it suits the whole epic song !

plus , if you are too scared that people might call you a "noob" ..then i suggest don't shred . cause shredders get criticized up and down .stick to FEEL !. woot  smile.gif
Haha... his 3-string sweeps sound damn blurry, but I think that's because he's trying to get more like a hybrid sweep/strum sound from it, so it'll sound more like a chord than an arpeggio...

But his 6-string sweeps, especially off tracks like "Land of Immortals" sound quite clear...

Anyway... +RM5.76

So now RM7.00 FTW! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 15 2007, 02:22 PM)
plus , if you are too scared that people might call you a "noob" ..then i suggest don't shred . cause shredders get criticized up and down .stick to FEEL !. woot  smile.gif
Pain! cry.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 15 2007, 03:12 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 15 2007, 02:39 PM)
Watched both of their videos again; don't forget Chris Impellitteri...
blink.gif

Sh*t, I've got to go practice...
Who? Luca Turilli? Rusty? Francesco?

I've only seen Suspension by Francesco (who was recommended to me by good ol' EQ777, who said Francesco is faster than Rusty... he is! shocking.gif ).... overall, IMNSHO I think the song sucks balls compared to Rusty...

Rusty... notworthy.gif

In terms of speed, Rusty is to Francesco like what BB King is to SRV.
But Rusty tapaus Francesco in terms of feel... Francesco's vibrato is sickening... sounds like Kirk Hammet, if he could shred at 1337-nps... tongue.gif

EDIT: Hope I don't get flamed for dissing Kirk Hammett... I'm sorry... but not really... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Jun 15 2007, 03:15 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 15 2007, 03:30 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Jun 15 2007, 03:25 PM)
i think Francesco is Faster than Rusty , in terms of recordings..

but we don't know the actual maximum speed of Rusty , and the actual maximum speed of Fareri as well

however , i used to attend a shred forum

i forgotten already , cause i no longer active , if i am not mistaken ..its either
guitar 9 , chops from hell or the shred zone

most prob is the shred zone ...this forums , Francesco , Rusty and other shredders actually logs in and participate in the forum , answering fans question etc..

Once there was a post , Francesco told everybody , he saw Rusty's actual speed and his speed is nothing compared to Rusty . oh yea..Rusty seldom post in the forum..
Typical shredder pseudo-humility... hehe... tongue.gif

Yeah, well, Rusty ROXXORZ FTW! notworthy.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 15 2007, 06:22 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 15 2007, 04:40 PM)
Yeah, I prefer Rusty too, he's much more melodic...
I hear some JP influence in his playing too, not to mention his tone! Reminds me alot of JP...

Suspended... That song sounds just so wrong...
Chris Impellitteri is just sick... The old school of speed maybe?
I read somewhere that Chris Impellitteri got dissed at sucking at guitar, so he decided to be the fastest player alive... notworthy.gif
Hehe... Chris Impelliteri is pretty sick, but yeah, a bit old-school sounding.

...someone must've dissed Rusty pretty bad for him to that fast now! tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 21 2007, 01:57 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 16 2007, 07:16 PM)

Added on June 16, 2007, 10:46 pmDo you guys sweep or alternate the intro of Groove or Die?
I just die. doh.gif

heheh... what's groove or die? sounds like an ultimatum given by a funk band to the bassist... whistling.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 21 2007, 04:45 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 21 2007, 04:25 PM)
It's Andy Timmons' shred song...
http://youtube.com/watch?v=mIAaAXBtwwI&mode=related&search=

Added on June 21, 2007, 4:26 pmHere's Albert Lee's Country Boy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOFpQd7aJ9U

Added on June 21, 2007, 4:27 pmI just got the Gigantour vids, JP really did alternate pick all the freaking arpeggios!
shocking.gif
As EQ would say: i c i c XD
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 22 2007, 01:57 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 21 2007, 04:57 PM)
Erm... I don't really get it?
QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Jun 22 2007, 12:41 PM)
ic ic xD
Nuff said... tongue.gif

eh... one thing that's been bugging me about some sweepers. Sometimes I see guys like Francesco Fareri and Shred Durst and Gapnap (yep, good ol' Gapnap rclxms.gif ) sweep, they pick over the fretboard itself, especially when doing some ub3r-saiko-1337 sweep-taps. notworthy.gif

How the #*$&(# can you control all the string noise etc. when the tension over the fretboard is so slack?? ohmy.gif cry.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 22 2007, 06:03 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 22 2007, 05:39 PM)
I think they'll reply:
PRACTICE...
cool2.gif
Thanks, Sherlock! ...but I guess I had that coming... blink.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 22 2007, 06:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jun 22 2007, 06:10 PM)
My name ain't Sherlock! My name's John... nevermind...

My name does start with a "John"  cool2.gif
Ok then.

John. Be Good. cool2.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 25 2007, 04:08 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Jun 22 2007, 12:41 PM)
LOLZ. . . !

ic ic xD

it just sticks. . . and Gambale is another sick sweeper. . . lolz. .  in a way unorthodox. . . i like. . . the way he approaches sweep is very different
Check out his site... and his views on sweep picking... damn, I thought Malmsteen was full of himself! doh.gif

But between Malmsteen and Gambale, who recorded songs with sweep arps first?

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Jun 25 2007, 04:09 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 26 2007, 10:06 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jun 25 2007, 11:07 PM)
Off topic, but any good videos or websites you guys recommend for sweep picking. Been practicing for 3 weeks, got down 3 string sweeps already, but just looking for any extra help. Thanks guys.
3 weeks = 3 string sweeps...

hmmm... in one year = 52 weeks = 52 string sweeps rclxub.gif = 5+2 string sweeps = 7 string sweeps ROXXORZ FTW! rclxms.gif

I always thought JP's Rock Discipline was a good instructional vid for sweeps... and everything else...

Whatever it is, stay the heck away from Malmsteen's "instructional" videos... damn fun to watch, but can't learn much from it... doh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 26 2007, 12:24 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jun 26 2007, 11:57 AM)
RustReaver4D1, you have WAY too much time on your hands, haha. Never seen anyone as crazy about 7 strings as you.

Yea, i just got my hands on Rock Discipline. Thanks for the recommendation. Now i know why Matt Heafy practices along to this video everyday. But JP has a different kind sweep picking style. And i've noticed that the only time he screws up live is during sweep sections. Even God makes mistakes sometimes.  tongue.gif
Nah... rarey use the 7th string anyway. But I like the wide neck... helps give my thumb a better grip for sweeps, and it makes it easier to shift positions on the neck.

Supposedly, using the 7th string makes it easier to play sweeps with a larger range in one position... but most patterns involve playing 2 notes on the E string, which is bloody annoying. smile.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 26 2007, 02:21 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jun 26 2007, 02:17 PM)
Haha, my hands are so small that i cant even wrap them around a Gibson neck. Can't imagine how i would fare with a 7 string.
The point is that you won't wrap your hand around the 7 string neck... it forces your thumb to stay behind the neck and not over it. Dunno lah... some sweep patterns are easier played with the thumb over the neck, but I find that patterns below the 12th fret force me to play with the thumb behind... which in the end puts less strain on my left wrist... biggrin.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Jun 26 2007, 07:22 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Jun 26 2007, 07:13 PM)
. . . for me. . . got no such thing as sweep with thumb over neck =.=. . . it's just out? i don't know. . .if you look at all em God's of Sweep. . . they Never wrap the neck and sweep. . . it's just impossible i think. . . correct me if i'm wrong. . .
the Serrana parts AIM video... Jason Becker had his thumb over the neck for some sweeps...

Malsmteen does it quite often too...

ok, I don't mean you wrap the thumb over the neck like for blues or anything, but the thumb sticking out a bit over the neck, kinda like playing... peekaboo! cool2.gif

0.0214sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:45 AM