22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

NikkiDaTeddy
post Aug 24 2009, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(skyjuicegal @ Aug 24 2009, 07:17 PM)
hehe...just did my braced today..doctor said won't feel pain at first but after 6 hours i might feel a bit tighten on my teeth.. the nurse give me some wax and told me if its not enough i can request more for free ^^ can't wait to see the result...will update more when i'm free smile.gif today i'm officially in this group~~
Welcome onboard. rclxms.gif

This few days y will have difficulties getting use of your new accessories. Just font force yourself too hard. thumbup.gif
NikkiDaTeddy
post Aug 26 2009, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Aug 26 2009, 06:02 AM)
yes.. it is normal smile.gif  after few days or a week, depending on individual, the pain should go away.. haih.. u all just need 1 and a half year to debrace.. i still have a long way to go sad.gif
Girl, why did u say that? How long is ur treatment?
NikkiDaTeddy
post Aug 26 2009, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(eyhc89 @ Aug 26 2009, 01:58 PM)
I didn't put on retainer for 2 days and I felt like my lower jaw teeth has moved a bit. And when I put on yesterday, it felt quite tight. OMG. So advice for all of you is to put on retainer even after you've debraced. I've seen many people's teeth went back to the original state cos they didn't put on retainer.
Good luck all. Bear with the pain. It'll be over very very soon. smile.gif
Not just retainer... Even the rubber band also. Sometimes i forgot to tie the rubber band for a day and the next day when i tie it back, i will feel the tightness instantly also.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Aug 27 2009, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Aug 26 2009, 05:01 PM)
my ortho told me it will take about 2-3 years depending on the progress..  sad.gif
How come so long? IS bcos u're using normal system? Actually, doctor told me, if i use normal system, for my condition my treatment would be at least 2 and a half to 3 years. Thats why i use InOvation. My treatment duration now will be 1 and a half to 2 years. Cos my case was very serious. Too many thing to be done. smile.gif I even extracted 4 teeth even with inovation.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Aug 28 2009, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(skyjuicegal @ Aug 27 2009, 08:46 PM)
just few day obviously my jaw has expanded..and my teeth slightly move...i feel so sick cz the pain when i'm eating..sometime feel like giving up..4th day already...still can't eat any solid food =.= when i brush my teeth also feel the pain and breeding..it's normal right..hmm...hope the time flies ganbateh every one...

anyway..i still confuse with damon-3 and inovation-c..wat the different?
The different between damon 3 and inovation? Hmmm...

Let say, They are like Coke classic and coke diet? No different only one is less calorie? As for damon 3 and inovation are same just different brand?
And why inovation C is because inovation C gives better CERAMIC treatment over damon 3.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 1 2009, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Aug 30 2009, 10:44 AM)
no i am using self ligating type..maybe my case is too serious that's why need so much time.. i also extracted 4 teeth  sad.gif 

my ortho told me will only install braces on lower jaw after 5/6 months but later on she said my progress is good so she is going to install on the next appointment, which is just the 3rd month  smile.gif  hopefully everything is going good and i can debrace earlier..  smile.gif

Added on August 30, 2009, 10:49 am

don't give up!! just bear with it and eventually u will get used to it smile.gif after 1 week, u should be able to eat harder food, it's like that when u first put on that thing.. dont try too hard if your teeth cant bear.. dont brush too hard...  time really flies, i didn't even notice i already with braces for two months.. it was just like yesterday that i instaleld it.  gambateh  ya smile.gif
Yup, time just passed like a blink of an eye. So fast that i've been in treatment for 11 months already. smile.gif Glad to hear that your progress are going well.
smile.gif Since u said that ur case is quite serious, i bet u will be so happy when u see result...hehehe
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 3 2009, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(eyhc89 @ Sep 3 2009, 07:29 PM)
Wow. Tell them it's definitely necessary girl. For my case, both my parents insisted that I put on braces although mine wasn't that serious. My dad said it's important that one's teeth is presentable. It makes a difference somehow. And I'm happy with how my teeth looks like now. You have nice teeth ---> you become more confident ----> you smile more -----> people perceive that you're friendly and sweet (just some sort of philosophy to convince parents). lol
Yup, eventho with all the metal in your mouth, u still smile and laugh confidently. With mouth wide open and u dont have to cover with hands anymore.
When u smile or laugh confidently, that's what ppl refer as bright smile. I never regret having braces eventho at age, much older than most of you. smile.gif

I love my straighter teeth now.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 6 2009, 09:36 PM

QUOTE(relentless_wind @ Sep 5 2009, 03:59 PM)
yeah, my parents are like that too sad.gif like after i tell them that i really want braces for the 100th time, my mum will point out random people with braces in public and go "See? Doesn't that look so ugly? When you smile all people see is ugly metal" sleep.gif
QUOTE(snowy_sharz)
yes.. my mum always says people with braces look so ugly and geli... but i feel ppl with braces are cool looking tongue.gif she always ask, why want to pay to suffer and look ugly ? just let eveything be natural la.. yada yada.. and eventually i gave up discussing this matter with her lor.. and not long time ago two of my cousins got their braces on and my mum commented again that they look so ugly in braces
I'm so sorry to hear that about how your parents thinks about braces. As a braces wearer, i should give you more courage to put on braces. Trust me, i've been ugly for the past 20+ years with ugly teeth. People make fun of me bcos of my teeth. I cried too many times bcos of the humiliation. But my parent dont really care about it and i cant financially support the treatment. Thats why i waited until now. I'm a working adult now and still decided to wear braces.

No doubt, people around me like colleagues and clients will stare and ask about my braces. But i'm more than happy to share about the experience. Some asked me why i want to sacrifice so much for this, i just tell them, u never experience what i experienced and you wont understand how it feel to be ugly.

So far, i see a lot of benefits. After 11 months of treatment, my teeth are straighter, i'm able to close my mouth without force, my lips and mouth appear smaller and my face become smaller too.

Maybe it was alot of sacrifices during the treatment, but actually i gain much more compared to what i've lost. I rather be UGLY for 2 years then pretty for the rest of my life than ugly for my whole life.

Braces is not that ugly, really!

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Sep 6 2009, 09:37 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 15 2009, 12:26 PM

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 15 2009, 12:19 PM)
hey guys and girls. I was thinking of putting on braces. I'm 25 this year so would it be abit too old to have it?

I'm from Penang. any bracesians from Pg? any recommendation?
There are no such thing as too old for braces. I've seen women at 40+ wearing braces too. Some ppl think, "Aiya, married edy no need braces la". Nice teeth has got nothing to do with age and marital status. Its all for your own good.

Sorry i'm not from penang, cant recommend you any clinic.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Sep 15 2009, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 15 2009, 01:05 PM)
40+ wearing braces?  rclxms.gif

So have de-brace already?
Yup, 40+ with braces. I think mother of 3. The kids also wearing braces.

De-brace? U asking me? Nope, i hav not de-brace. But almost one year already. I installed my braces on 4th Oct 2008. I will be visiting Dr. How next week. Wonder what he will do. Those lubang where i extracted my teeth are almost done closing. Left back one lubang a bit slow.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 1 2009, 03:34 PM

Hi Evin,

As for your dream job. You may be surprise that qualification as air hostess are not that high. Cos my sister-in-law is an air hostess in Singapore Airline. Honest speaking, she doesnt hav nice teeth. Now, i have nicer teeth than her. So, ....u decide...

In case you didnt know, I'm a bracesian. I had braces on for 12 mths already. Extracted 4 teeth + 2 wisdom tooth. Honestly, the extraction is not painful at all cos doctor will inject the anesthetics to numb it. I cant feel anything during the extraction. I know this is a life changing decision that you hav to decide.

You're still young. So maybe you dunno how is it like to step into working world with a regret. Cos i experienced it. I'm 20++ yrs old. And had been in the working world for some time. i always felt sad and miserable with the way i look. Often hav to cover my mouth when i laugh. And i decided to make a change to myself. And i'm now more than happy. Cos even with braces, i'm not shy to laugh with mouth wide open.

I may not be a air hostess or any other glamour job. But i have at least made something out for myself so that i would not regret.

Hope u get what i mean. Anyway, unfortunately i could not attached picture for u to view. Something is wrong with my LYN... Anyway, Good Luck! smile.gif

NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 2 2009, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(evin @ Nov 1 2009, 05:49 PM)
hi..
NikkiDaTeddy

Thanks for your information~im thinking to join SIA too~~ but still hunting for other airlines..hehe
hows the paid and all the bonus? izit good?
but is still 2years time away..im still studying for my PR degree~
i know is better for me to brace my teeth to look even more nicer then now~~ biggrin.gif
hehe...wanted it to be nicer...but i have to tahan the pain..
as i can see those previous post...all of them says its  pain pain pain..
cant eat and worry of many thing~
aarrgg...really cant make a decison~

anywhere...thanks ya~~
im still considering...
The pay in SIA is good. Better than alot of other airlines.

Dont worry too much. Some of us experienced more pain than others and some didnt feel any pain at all. But i think the advance system wont be as painful as traditional type. Probably you wont feel comfortable in your first month. After that, you'll slowly get use to it.

Many of us in this thread went to the same doctor. Our doctor will suggest things to be done while wearing braces. At times, screws will be installed at gum to help to speed up the process, to minimize the gum part and more. So that is why each of us experienced differently.

So i suggest you go consult a doctor as soon as u can, then maybe take some time to consider about it. IF u start one month earlier, u will finish one month earlier... hehehe... fast fast kao tim and u'll be pretty to go for air hostess interview. hehehe....
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(jasmineh2y @ Nov 5 2009, 03:10 PM)
Anyone knows where can i find Damon System dentist in KL/PJ?
My dear, there are plenty in PJ and KL la....
How's Orthodontics in Bangsar? or Tmn Tun also got one big clinic which is ortho and dental specialist...
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Nov 5 2009, 03:25 PM)
one of my screw removed during last Tuesday visit... suspected it block the wire, so, just remove it. Lucky, not much pain during & after removed..
Block wire? meaning?
Then now got one hole lo? I mean...two holes.

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 5 2009, 03:30 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 5 2009, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Nov 5 2009, 04:22 PM)
one of the backet is glue on lower teeth, so, it near to screw. Only one screw removed, 3 remains. The hole? it's closed within same day lo..
Closed within a day? so believable... shakehead.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:45 pmBtw, I extracted my wisdom tooth two weeks ago. Then that part where doc injected the anesthetic was somehow turned into ulcer cos the injection caused me a wound.

After more than one week, the ulcer almost completely healed. But i can feel a small bit of something hard there at the wound. Then i used my finger to touch it.

To my surprise, it was hard and it feels like teeth. I suspect that it was the root of my teeth? Then i was waiting for the wound/ulcer to heal and close up. However, after so many days, i can still feel it and it didnt show any sign of recovery...

I'm not sure whether this is normal... and i cant find some time to visit doctor to let him check... Anyone encounter similar case before?

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 5 2009, 04:45 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 7 2009, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(ysbabe @ Nov 7 2009, 02:23 AM)
yes, it shud be some bone/tooth fragments (small sharp piece rite?) leftover from the extraction.

i removed a large molar in april 2008, the dr had some trouble pulling it out becoz of the roots. Anyway, finally got it out (thank GOD). After some time, when it was healing, small sharp fragments started to appear on the gums. It kinda grew or drop out from the inside. Overall, had about 4-5 small pieces that came out over....2-3 months?? Can't exactly remember. But it didn't really bother me, just felt abit annoying to have sharp pieces on my gums.

so from time to time, i'll touch it with my fingers, if it's loose enough, i'll just try to take it out. Most of the pieces, no problem came out rather easily. Only 1 bigger piece when I forcefully pulled it out, it bled a bit and had a small hole in the gums but it was just really small.

So I think you shouldn't worry about it. Just sharing my experience smile.gif
Thanks for sharing. I hope nothing too serious also. smile.gif

Tooth fragments? Woh....sounded scary to me... Um...i really dunno what is it. But it hard. My worry is that i scared its the root of another tooth beside. Just scared that it will affect the tooth. Or if it got lose and lost of grip then the whole tooth fall out by itself. Abit scary to imagine. Anyways, I think to be on the safe side, i will let Dr check today la.

NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 14 2009, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(ysbabe @ Nov 7 2009, 02:23 AM)
yes, it shud be some bone/tooth fragments (small sharp piece rite?) leftover from the extraction.

i removed a large molar in april 2008, the dr had some trouble pulling it out becoz of the roots. Anyway, finally got it out (thank GOD). After some time, when it was healing, small sharp fragments started to appear on the gums. It kinda grew or drop out from the inside. Overall, had about 4-5 small pieces that came out over....2-3 months?? Can't exactly remember. But it didn't really bother me, just felt abit annoying to have sharp pieces on my gums.

so from time to time, i'll touch it with my fingers, if it's loose enough, i'll just try to take it out. Most of the pieces, no problem came out rather easily. Only 1 bigger piece when I forcefully pulled it out, it bled a bit and had a small hole in the gums but it was just really small.

So I think you shouldn't worry about it. Just sharing my experience smile.gif
OMG, u know what? You're right!!! That thing is gone already. I discovered that it was gone after having breakfast. I guess i swallowed it. tongue.gif
Just glad that its no longer there...
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 14 2009, 09:19 PM

QUOTE(baby_boi @ Nov 14 2009, 07:51 PM)
WHOA!!!
its has been such a long while hhahahaha.
Hows everyone!? Nikki?! how r u?

Hope evyones got some major improvements..

So i extracted 4 tooth,and now im focusing on closing the gaps..im on elastics now.
im telling u,theres been a HUGE change to my facial structure..especially the lower parts..
i recently uploaded new pix to my facebook and my mom saw them,she sort of noticed how my mouth area changed..its rather smaller now but i love it,it doesnt look like last time. and im totally excited on seeing the final outcome..i know im still quite far,but its getting really exciting that idont mind anymore..hahaha
doctor how sed id be done in six to nine months..hopefully i make it before graduation next july!!

But i have one huge prob tho...two of my front lower brackets kept detaching from the teeth..doctor how has fixed it 3 times and they still pop off..first of all its not my fault..cuz after every session i dont eat,just in case me eating might have been the cause..but the last time i went to get it fixed,on my way home they pop off again! was soo shocked.

I Cant afford going to and fro  from cyberjaya to bangsar often so this is kinda frustrating..and i can tell dr how is kinda frustrated by it too..u think this might obstruct my progress? has this happen to anyone before? or am i all alone? somehow i think he shud change the brackets but he has never done that..its been fixed three times and all three times they pop off

i downgraded to a thinner wire,and he moved the positions jst in case i was biting on them..he even said that if i still bite on them i might get that thing that blocks u from chewing..what do u call it again??? arrghh..
any thoughts?
Hi Ronnie,

I'm good. Closing gaps too. The holes are almost closed. Maybe left back some milimetres. Doctor will re-position my brackets on my next appt.
Yeah, i agree with you that our face structure will change...to better of course. Every now and then, i have to check my smile cos i dont smile the same way now.

I didnt encounter bracket getting lose or popped out. Maybe you should tell doctor your worries. That 'blocks'? They are called bite stopper. Tell you what, the bite stopper suck. You cant chew and speak properly with it. I'm glad thati only had it for very short period.

6 to 9 months to completion for you? That's great! I'm not sure how long more i have to go thru... I didnt ask doctor. :>
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 15 2009, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(evin @ Nov 14 2009, 11:45 PM)
Nikki~

do you still remember me?

i have make up my mind~~
im going for xray and 2 tooth extraction on next monday~~
and im scare~

im still thinking to take besi 1 or transparent 1~~
transparent 1 need to pay more 500 per jaws~ means have to pay 1k extra~

mummy say upper jaw takes transparent..~ lower jaw takes besi one~ haha...got abit cacat ^^ sweat.gif

most of the bracesians here says that transparent is not that effective rite?
aarrgghh....dunno which 1 to take~~

any suggestions?

hehe~
im still scare~~
~ cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif ~
Hmmm... Just like you, before this, i couldnt make up my mind that what should i take. Then, actually, i did some survey. U know why ppl say transparent ones are not as effective? Actually, there are different types of braces... Even transparent type also got a few types. Those less effective one is this type:

I'm using In-Ovation. Which is this type.

This is also the transparent type me and a few other (including Baby boi aka ronnie) wear. In-Ovation is a brand name. This brand has the same technology as Damon 3. Both sare same technology but different brand. Reason why we choose In-Ovation over Damon 3 is because it is transparent. Damon also has its transparent type, but my doctor told me his experience with damon transparent is not very good. So i go for In-Ovation instead. (you can go do some survey also?) Just google In-Ovation. :>

True that it is less visible. Especially in the beginning when u only use a very thin wire. Then until when u need to change wire, doctor will change to something thicker. Then it will look a bit more visible. But still good, by that time, u'll used to it.

Some brief abt my braces history alright? I put on my upper jaw on 4th Oct 2008, then lower jaw in early Dec 2008. Here is my before after pic:

As u can see, its not totally transparent. U can still see a bit of 'besi' but at least not so obvious compared to the fully metal ones. smile.gif

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 15 2009, 11:01 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 18 2009, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(evin @ Nov 18 2009, 01:06 AM)
hey ~~ i have alr extracted 4 teeth~~ sakit-Nya~~
going to brace on 30th~ sein...full booking edi~~ but y ur in-ovation hor..still can see besi de~
the first transperent de is not nice leh.....i dunno my ortho use which 1 de~ have to ask him next time...
wats the price you did for your braces ? mine if want transparent 1 jaw add Rm 500
Yah that's why i said its not totally transparent. Not invisible, they are just less visible. Mine are visible now cos i uses thicker wire now.
Well at least better than looking like this:
hahhaha

Hahaha...My price was 6k at How's Orthodontic.

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 18 2009, 09:07 AM

22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:25 PM