China no brand casing, i guess its the only transparent real tempered glass back casing with rubber bumper on Taobao. The other 2 with glass case has metal bumpers.
Ringke i dun think is glass, its either TPU, acrylic or hard plastic.
more disccusion for hardware, software and accs plz
Replying to your post on V2
For the TGSP The dust is not under the TG but at the side. My installation isnt perfect either, got minor air bubble at side but doesnt disturb the viewing experience. There is also a minor crack after dropping the phone 3 times, not sure if those expensive TG can wisthand the impact or not since the phone is heavy.
For the glass case, im not sure how the flew in, maybe from the camera and fingerprint area,. But so far no crack after 3 drops.
Overall i dont notice much weight difference since the phone is already heavy.
QUOTE(syNzoR @ Sep 3 2018, 08:36 PM)
Replying to your post on V2
For the TGSP The dust is not under the TG but at the side. My installation isnt perfect either, got minor air bubble at side but doesnt disturb the viewing experience. There is also a minor crack after dropping the phone 3 times, not sure if those expensive TG can wisthand the impact or not since the phone is heavy.
For the glass case, im not sure how the flew in, maybe from the camera and fingerprint area,. But so far no crack after 3 drops.
Overall i dont notice much weight difference since the phone is already heavy.
luckily u get urself installed the TG 1st before you drop ur phone. i'm curious how did u drop ur phone for 3 times?
Don't worry, this version less cursing Smart Gadget
Lol. Luckily im not buying with this smart gadget. With confident they claimed. Postage next day after payment. Majority of their buyer didnt get phone on time. Duhhhh
luckily u get urself installed the TG 1st before you drop ur phone. i'm curious how did u drop ur phone for 3 times?
the casing looks good, well spent.
My own phone barely a month old (not a #papan9, still a glass sandwich though) but I've dropped it countless times already lol, so not surprised if other folks do the same.
In my case, thankfully my front X-One + back clear soft vinyl skin + Rugged Armor are all doing their jobs.
This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 3 2018, 09:17 PM
Lol. Luckily im not buying with this smart gadget. With confident they claimed. Postage next day after payment. Majority of their buyer didnt get phone on time. Duhhhh
Pros and cons lor. On the plus side, I saved additional RM250 (Qoo10 coupon) + RM 74 (ShopBack Rebate). The price to pay for that is a slightly longer wait before getting my device
Ya true. If only 400 coupon still abailable. Haha. But i thought theres other seller in qoo10?
Hehe, yeah, there are, but I’ve bought from Smart Gadget before and they “were” quite reliable. Who knew this round so much drama
Anyways, I think we covered Qoo10 and Smart Gadget too much already in previous version... change topic bro.. so have you decided to leave the resolution at WQHD or back to FHD+?
Not every seller is bad, i bought from 11street and got my phone on Haji. They open the shop for 3 hours to cater for self collect buyer. And even give additional 64GB SD card on top of the RM250 + RM70 cashback
Guys, need your help to check. When I shake shake shake my phone with closer to my ear, i can hear something loose and moving inside the upper part of the phone. anyone can try and feedback? Like something screw and metal part "longgar" in the phone.
how did you guys get this rm74 (shopback rebate) i only got rm250 rebate?
i found that the trickiest part when installing this UV TP is when you put the glass on and let the glue flows to cover the whole TP. i got bubble at the side and middle then i slide it up down up down for many minutes to push the bubble out. is damn annoying. once you got all the bubble out and make sure no excess glue leaking then the UV part is very straight forward.
This post has been edited by quintesson: Sep 3 2018, 09:36 PM
Guys, need your help to check. When I shake shake shake my phone with closer to my ear, i can hear something loose and moving inside the upper part of the phone. anyone can try and feedback? Like something screw and metal part "longgar" in the phone.
probably the camera optical image stabilization thingy.
Samsung clearview cover is a joke...3days usage already got scratch...a deep scratch u can feel when running the fingernail across the screen...wasted 209rm 😡😡😡🤬.still waiting for my tampered glass to arrive
Clearview of coz is scratch magnet. It may looks fancy and pretty and nak jaga susah. Sold mine during S8 era.
how did it get scratch is a flip cover? you meant the clear cover itself scratches the screen?
Any Whitestone dome user willing to borrow their tray for my Uv TG installation pls pm. I feel it has the best fail save installation kit but not wiling to pay for the premium price
Hehe, yeah, there are, but I’ve bought from Smart Gadget before and they “were” quite reliable. Who knew this round so much drama
Anyways, I think we covered Qoo10 and Smart Gadget too much already in previous version... change topic bro.. so have you decided to leave the resolution at WQHD or back to FHD+?
Haha noted. Still wqhd. Battery drain still acceptable. Just that i see the number going down quite fast. Will test a few more days.
Not every seller is bad, i bought from 11street and got my phone on Haji. They open the shop for 3 hours to cater for self collect buyer. And even give additional 64GB SD card on top of the RM250 + RM70 cashback
Ya bro. Have experience buying from qoo10 and 11street before. Usually seller with hi star quite reliable.
QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:23 PM)
no worries, its due to Camera Lens Barrel that required to operate the Auto Focus function. happens with s9+
Well your phone do last long. My phone did not even reach one day. Around 5 pm with 38% battery left with 3 and a half hours SOT only. It seems my Note9 phone is repeating the same problem that happened with my old Note8. RMA perhaps?
Since we still in the battery topic, I'm wondering if I'm the only 1 paranoid enough to follow the 40-80 rules? means charge till 80 and charge back at 40. This is crazy. That means we only use 40% of the battery lol ... 1 day need charge 2 times ... I see ppl post SOT all also start from 100% ....
But your standby time is amazing. I unplugged around 8 am and left with 38% battery at 5 pm. That is not what I expect from a 4000 mAh battery. The battery life is around the same as my old Note8 after change battery and mobo previously.
So it mean we cant touch our Gear Sport to card terminal for transaction?
The PayWave one can such as at McD and KFC. But at Petronas that uses swipe cannot. Only Gear S3 supports MST. Even the new Galaxy Watch also did not have MST.
Newer phone A8 star also no MST Samsung start not include MST?
Since we still in the battery topic, I'm wondering if I'm the only 1 paranoid enough to follow the 40-80 rules? means charge till 80 and charge back at 40. This is crazy. That means we only use 40% of the battery lol ... 1 day need charge 2 times ... I see ppl post SOT all also start from 100% ....
same here, first one/two days i drained battery from 90 to 20% quite happy with SOT. now just stick with 40-80 cause i have ready access to charger most of the day.
So after all the fuss, we still need charge battery 2 times a day =.=
I also noticed the battery performance not that different from my Note 8. Very similar, quite weird as the battery difference 3300 vs 4000.
Now thinking if I should reformat & start again from scratch...
That is what I noticed also. It seems the new Exynos proc is quite a battery guzzler on mobile data when compared with my old Note8. My Note8 on full mobile data can last till night around 8 pm with less than 15% battery life.
i got 15-18 hours with email sync but no more social apps
Actually all my sync options are on all the time (that's the main purpose of having SMART phone 😉) Here is most used apps for today +30 min call on WhatsApp P. S: when I took this screenshot, SOT is around 7 hours and 13%of battery remained
This post has been edited by SADEGH940: Sep 4 2018, 12:19 AM
So after all the fuss, we still need charge battery 2 times a day =.=
Are u heavy usage or screen brightness very high ? Mine on auto brightness, morning 9am 100%, 10pm still have 40-50%. within this 13 hours, screen 18%, pubg 10% for 1hr38mins, device idle 4%, others...whatsapp, wechat, fb, insta, snapchat, youtube, chrome, camera, games
This post has been edited by waiwai_wai: Sep 4 2018, 12:18 AM
Btw anybody interested in UV Glue TG buzz me. Got a set to let go. 2x glass, 2x glue and 1x uv light in the pack. RM50 for the whole set (actual cost)
Decided to go naked all the way, feels much better.
I also using other brand UV Glue TG 5D but after few day , corner of the TG slowly "open", dont know how to explain, changed 2nd pcs already Do you have any idea why like that ?
This post has been edited by waiwai_wai: Sep 4 2018, 12:23 AM
I also using other brand UV Glue TG 5D but after few day , corner of the TG slowly "open", dont know how to explain, changed 2nd pcs already Do you have any idea why like that ?
Probably ur glue quality not good or the TG glass is not curved exactly to the phone screen edge curvature hence the glass slowly lifting over time
QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Sep 4 2018, 12:18 AM)
Are u heavy usage or screen brightness very high ? Mine on auto brightness, morning 9am 100%, 10pm still have 40-50%. within this 13 hours, screen 18%, pubg 10% for 1hr38mins, device idle 4%, others...whatsapp, wechat, fb, insta, snapchat, youtube, chrome, camera, games
Hows ur pubg bro? Hows ur setting? Went phone gets hot, frames rate started to drop lol
I also noticed the battery performance not that different from my Note 8. Very similar, quite weird as the battery difference 3300 vs 4000.
Now thinking if I should reformat & start again from scratch...
Yeah, I agree. In terms of standby drain, the Note 9 seems pretty similar to the S9+ and Note 8 in terms of battery drain rate although it has a bigger capacity battery. In usage I'm sure it can achieve a higher SOT if you're constantly using it or watching a video. Either the processor or the UI is sucking up juice during standby, and that's a bit disappointing.
Yeah..u should continue the 40-80 rules. i already done it..but i charge from 20% till 80%..it will make your battery life long life span. Please do once a month to drain your battery until 0% then full charges till 100%. this will make your battery better.
What's that spike in your battery usage? Gaming or GPS usage? Such a steep jump
Well, i'm not a game person to play a game for whole day. I only surfing such as fb, twitter, instagram and whatsapp. A little bit watch youtube and movie.
I received my Note 9 (128GB) PO unit from Sen Heng on 21 Aug, just in time before flying to Daejeon, South Korea for work related training. To my surprise one of the training coordinators spotted me using Note 9 and inquired about it.
Apparently, the 128GB model costs them USD1K equivalent in Korean Won. Our PO units are almost USD100 cheaper than what they get in Korea . SME really gave us a good deal this time
This post has been edited by cva2928: Sep 4 2018, 08:08 AM
Well, i'm not a game person to play a game for whole day. I only surfing such as fb, twitter, instagram and whatsapp. A little bit watch youtube and movie.
Yeah, my usage pattern is about the same, although I don't use instagram. Only web browsing, FB, WhatsApp and YouTube. I've never had such a spike in my battery usage pattern before which is why I'm curious
I received my Note 9 (128GB) PO unit from Sen Heng on 21 Aug, just in time before flying to Daejeon, South Korea for work related training. To my surprise one of the training coordinators spotted me using Note 9 and inquired about it.
Apparently, the 128GB model costs them USD1K equivalent in Korean Won. Our PO units are almost USD100 cheaper than what they get in Korea . SME really gave us a good deal this time
Yup, after the Note 8 and S9+ I kinda made up my mind not to try another Samsung anymore, but the pre-order deal was too good to turn down.
With this Qoo10 RM400 voucher and a new unit going for RM3080, good luck to those scalpers who thought of making a quick buck selling their units for 3300 or so in the Garage Sale
QUOTE(Evrae90 @ Sep 3 2018, 11:14 PM)
Actually, Samsung if not most brand implemented snow sort of restrictions to NVR let it drain till 0 nor up to 100%... Depending on manufacturers, it's either low 10% and upper 90%
I'm following the 80-40 as well since I wanted longevity as much as possible plus it's not an issue for me.. my S9+ lasted from 80+ to 50+ when reach home.. b4 bath, top up abit until 60+, b4 dinner top up abit to 70+, b4 SLP top up abit to 80+
Jz no nd to be so strict about it. And enjoy Ur phone..
I use the 40-80 rules with my S7 Edge and Note 8, and the battery health status seems to be amazingly good. My Note 8 retains 97% battery health after almost a year of using and 83% for my S7E after almost 2.5 years.
I never drained my battery until 0%, as I read that it is bad. Not sure whether is it true or myth.
Where u get this info? According to battery university site, they only stated 3 months once or if u felt the battery gauge incorrect.
Most of the time they jz remind NVR drain to 0 or top up until 100
Yeah, my usage pattern is about the same, although I don't use instagram. Only web browsing, FB, WhatsApp and YouTube. I've never had such a spike in my battery usage pattern before which is why I'm curious
That patern show the battery was 33% low then i charged till 80%. That why it looks a bit drop then super increase like that. As far i know note 9 is faster charging (33%-80% only took 20 minutes as seen on accu battery apps). If i do normal charging till 100% it will be take approximately 1 hours 12 minutes (if my battery is 33%).
Spike is due to charging, no? It looks like he top up to 80%.
QUOTE(maliquers2020 @ Sep 4 2018, 09:10 AM)
That patern show the battery was 33% low then i charged till 80%. That why it looks a bit drop then super increase like that. As far i know note 9 is faster charging (33%-80% only took 20 minutes as seen on accu battery apps). If i do normal charging till 100% it will be take approximately 1 hours 12 minutes (if my battery is 33%).
Ahh, OK, that explains it. Thanks for the clarification, folks. That looked new to me coz I don't charge my phone midway through a day, hehe. I let it run down for the whole day then charge at night when I'm home
i only heard about this 40-80 rule.. so basically just use ur phone until 40% then charge it to 80% then continue the cycle?
If you are going to change phone every 2 years. I think you can use your phone to the fullest. Don't drain to below 5% and don't charge more than 95% should be good.
Yup, I absolutely agree and it makes total sense. No need to stress so much as long as you don't abuse the battery.
Where u get this info? According to battery university site, they only stated 3 months once or if u felt the battery gauge incorrect.
Most of the time they jz remind NVR drain to 0 or top up until 100
Yes you said it is true. But some of blog i research they give opinion like that. Depends on how you to manage that battery. But the better way is : 1. Follow rules 40-80 2. Never drain the battery till 0% 3. Never charging the battery till 100% 4. Restart your phone once in month. 5. Never put your hp in hot place ( hot sun in a car) or cold place (put in refrigerator to cool down). This will damage the battery life. 6. The best way to put your hp is in room temperature. Not too cold or too hot.
Alternative, you can try Tronsmart. It has fast wireless charging as well for one of its models.
Yes Transmart a good brand with long warranty. Personally , i fancy the Aukey PB-XN5 5000mAh which is a lightweight and slim but have no Quick Charge function.Lazy to wait
Yes, the Aukey model is pretty good as well. Xiomi is kinda mediocre IMHO.
Hm.. I think you guys just too fuss about the screen protector.... Previously I'm using S7 edge, give it a Clear Coat and a good casing... doesn't have scratches and cracked... lasted me for 2years plus and now given to my mom use....
I can invite you using my referral code, and you can get RebateMango Gold status and get almost RM100 in cashback. Then go to Qoo10 via the RebateMango link and buy as usual. Make sure there is no item in your cart before proceeding. But need to wait up to 90 days to get the cashback.
Hm.. I think you guys just too fuss about the screen protector.... Previously I'm using S7 edge, give it a Clear Coat and a good casing... doesn't have scratches and cracked... lasted me for 2years plus and now given to my mom use....
My Note 3 never have any screen protector. No scratch and still in original battery. How many years already. For sure more than 2 years I con't even have casing since day 1
The Note 3 is like more than 4 years old now. Truly amazing when the phones are being cared for by their owners.
Actually all my sync options are on all the time (that's the main purpose of having SMART phone 😉) Here is most used apps for today +30 min call on WhatsApp P. S: when I took this screenshot, SOT is around 7 hours and 13%of battery remained
Very tempting to own this Note 9
yeah i agree with you on sync options
but my Note 8 battery draining so fast
mind you unplugged at 5.30am but 40% left at 12.00pm with 2hrs ++ SOT
sabar saja lah love this Note 8 only the battery quite small
Ok la. Anyway it seems you have the same problem as my old Note8. I advise you to go to any Samsung SC to get your battery and mobo replaced. For me it is not normal for that kind of battery drain. Just lie to them said battery drain a lot, phone is always hot and ask them to change battery and mobo together.
sabar saja lah love this Note 8 only the battery quite small
Actually I also owned the Note 8 for about a month and yeah, besides the battery, there isn't really much of a reason to upgrade. Might as well keep your Note 8 and wait for the next one
Anyway just want to confirm with you guys, is it normal with this kind of battery life? 1 hour SOT ald 20% battery power lost. It seems way worst than my Note8 after I replaced that mobo and battery of my Note8.
Ok la. Anyway it seems you have the same problem as my old Note8. I advise you to go to any Samsung SC to get your battery and mobo replaced. For me it is not normal for that kind of battery drain. Just lie to them said battery drain a lot, phone is always hot and ask them to change battery and mobo together.
thank you bro for the advice. will go to SC maybe later this month
never thought there is something wrong with the battery
because i always think this problem due to digi signal is weak
but at home when on wifi also the battery draining fast
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2018, 10:01 AM)
lol...
i still on note 2... same case same battery.... live and kicking.
Anyway just want to confirm with you guys, is it normal with this kind of battery life? 1 hour SOT ald 20% battery power lost. It seems way worst than my Note8 after I replaced that mobo and battery of my Note8.
thank you bro for the advice. will go to SC maybe later this month
never thought there is something wrong with the battery
because i always think this problem due to digi signal is weak
but at home when on wifi also the battery draining fast
It seems that it is the same problem with some other Note8 users. And I am one of them. After change battery and mobo unplugged 8 am can last till 5 pm with 20% battery left.
Actually I also owned the Note 8 for about a month and yeah, besides the battery, there isn't really much of a reason to upgrade. Might as well keep your Note 8 and wait for the next one
hahaha we're on the same boat
maybe will change to Galaxy S next upgrade coz
i never really use sPen. under utilized for my use
I normally lose my first 20% to my first hour of SOT too, but the difference is that I've plugged out my phone since a full charge at 10pm the previous night.
how do we know if battery drain due to weak telco signal
sometimes i felt this is the biggest culprit
my phone become hot and need to switch off
and i'm not running any games or high resources apps
mine was bad during the first week. nothing compared to my p20 pro. on the eight day everything was superb, i guess it takes time for the phone to learn your usage pattern and also for the battery optimisation. managed to get 5 hours plus SOT and left with 35 percent after 16 hours standby. Im running dual sim as well.
I normally lose my first 20% to my first hour of SOT too, but the difference is that I've plugged out my phone since a full charge at 10pm the previous night.
That is why I felt kind of weird. I just left my phone last night on WiFi with AOD off, I lost around 8% of battery in one night. The same problem that happened during my Note8 days. But the Note8 previously battery drain is more aggressive, 8 am unplugged 3 pm battery almost out. That is why I want to ask any Note9 users here experiencing what I experience?
QUOTE(pakmulau @ Sep 4 2018, 10:57 AM)
Usually the cell standby battery drain is quite high but Note8 most users in the other forum are experiencing almost the same problem. Battery seems to deplete at a faster rate than usual. And my case after change mobo and battery easily last till 6 pm with some percentage of battery left.
I start having minor scratches on my screen hahaha. I think its from the fake beach sands at Sunway Lagoon.
Sooo tempted to amik hammer and break the screen and claim screen warranty but sabar je la sampai near the end.
Long way to go... another 11 months
Think of it like the windsceen on your car... you have a small chip off but you have to tahan because if you claim insurance already then for the remaining period need to insure again or be super duper careful!
That is why I felt kind of weird. I just left my phone last night on WiFi with AOD off, I lost around 8% of battery in one night. The same problem that happened during my Note8 days. But the Note8 previously battery drain is more aggressive, 8 am unplugged 3 pm battery almost out. That is why I want to ask any Note9 users here experiencing what I experience?
Overnight battery drain is an inherent Android problem but it seems to be worse off in Samsung devices. I tried the S8, S8+, Note 8 and even S9+. Losing 6% to 8% overnight is normal if you leave the settings as it is. What I do now is when I go to bed, I turn off location, switch on data saver, and put the phone on mid-battery saving. That gets my overnight battery drain to about 3% overnight (approximately 7-8 hours), which is acceptable for me.
Before this I had the P20 Pro, and the drain was slightly better, it was about 3% to 4% if I didn't tweak any settings overnight.
Mine.. Over 5 years, but been in cases and TG secured.. Still fresh and my beast till next Note release.. From next year, will probably remove all protection and use the phone as slim as intended.. Enjoy some feel good before selling off or keeping as memorabilia..
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:03 AM)
The Note 3 is like more than 4 years old now. Truly amazing when the phones are being cared for by their owners.
Yup. Never a single issue.. Knocks on wood.
QUOTE(craxors @ Sep 4 2018, 10:42 AM)
lol...
only thing i hate now is the camera quality.
Haha, camera quality sure can compare with today's phone models. HDR, OIS, AI this and that, etc.. Absolutely can't compare. Luckily I'm not a photos guy and easily pleased in that department.
Haha. Thats so called gorilla glass 5 is nothing sometimes. Still let ur screen scratch though utuber show it can resist knife. Lol
Yeah.. I'm surprised too.. I mean, they really have to scratch it hard before it scratches start to appear. So beats me how with significantly less force with daily usage, it manages to get scratched so easy..
Overnight battery drain is an inherent Android problem but it seems to be worse off in Samsung devices. I tried the S8, S8+, Note 8 and even S9+. Losing 6% to 8% overnight is normal if you leave the settings as it is. What I do now is when I go to bed, I turn off location, switch on data saver, and put the phone on mid-battery saving. That gets my overnight battery drain to about 3% overnight (approximately 7-8 hours), which is acceptable for me.
Before this I had the P20 Pro, and the drain was slightly better, it was about 3% to 4% if I didn't tweak any settings overnight.
It seems like it. But what I noticed your estimated battery life is almost 1 day but mine is less than half. Ald used more than 1 week and no improvement.
Think of it like the windsceen on your car... you have a small chip off but you have to tahan because if you claim insurance already then for the remaining period need to insure again or be super duper careful!
Already put a reminder on my Google Calendar to break it on July next year lol.
only thing i hate now is the camera quality.
Like you, I'm still on same battery. Rose Gold color peeled off in some places though because never use any casing.
I still have my Galaxy S with same plastic protector given by the shop still ticking on its original battery. It is without casing since day 1. I've been using this phone with my Note 3 for personal and office use until recently replaced by Note 9. Now can carry 1 phone only
Yeah.. I'm surprised too.. I mean, they really have to scratch it hard before it scratches start to appear. So beats me how with significantly less force with daily usage, it manages to get scratched so easy..
Ya bro. In jerry rig video need to up till very hard material to scratch it. But real usage. Inside pocket also can make it scratch. Haha. Thats why i go naked. Sure casing itself sometimes can cause scratch with the trapped dust.
Sounds like a plan
QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Sep 4 2018, 11:18 AM)
It seems like it. But what I noticed your estimated battery life is almost 1 day but mine is less than half. Ald used more than 1 week and no improvement.
I started using mine less than a week, on our National Day to be exact. I think it boils down to apps and usage. Did you play games on it during the week? I don't play games, and my usage is mostly just web browsing, FB, WhatsApp, some YouTube vids, emails and maybe some online banking/shopping.
Sounds like a plan I started using mine less than a week, on our National Day to be exact. I think it boils down to apps and usage. Did you play games on it during the week? I don't play games, and my usage is mostly just web browsing, FB, WhatsApp, some YouTube vids, emails and maybe some online banking/shopping.
No games at all on my phone. All my games I play and Netflix and Hulu stream solely on my iPad Pro only. My phone is mostly for social apps, shopping, online banking and emails. And some YouTube. And I activated the phone on 25 September.
This post has been edited by khainiz94: Sep 4 2018, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ Sep 4 2018, 11:32 AM)
Ya bro. In jerry rig video need to up till very hard material to scratch it. But real usage. Inside pocket also can make it scratch. Haha. Thats why i go naked. Sure casing itself sometimes can cause scratch with the trapped dust.
If me? I'm willing to risk going naked. Just buy extended warranty and screen protection plan. Use raw all the way. But with SO? Cannot, it's only a matter of when and how hard it'll fall..or it getting scratched in handbags.
I am using Note FE now.. still thinking whether it is my battery problem or what? the cell STANDBY sucks almost half of the battery usage while i saw most of note 9 user only draing 1-3%. My note FE still under warranty.. can let them check my battery and mobo also
No games at all on my phone. All my games I play and Netflix and Hulu stream solely on my iPad Pro only. My phone is mostly for social apps, shopping, online banking and emails. And some YouTube. And I activated the phone on 25 September.
Hmm, then our usage is not that much different, no idea why the estimated time left on yours is vastly different from mine...
QUOTE(pendekar7 @ Sep 4 2018, 12:24 PM)
shait. baru seminggu dah drop RM700.
Nasib baik kita ada Gear Sport worth at least RM700...
I have 2 phones.
My main one for Pokemon GO, social apps, shopping, online banking, emails and SamsungPay are my A8+.
My Note 8 for lukis2 and watch Netflix and Youtube and browse site.
Hmm, then our usage is not that much different, no idea why the estimated time left on yours is vastly different from mine... Nasib baik kita ada Gear Sport worth at least RM700...
That is why I felt weird. Around 5 pm sure left with less than 40% battery.
QUOTE(emino @ Sep 4 2018, 12:32 PM)
I have 2 phones.
My main one for Pokemon GO, social apps, shopping, online banking, emails and SamsungPay are my A8+.
My Note 8 for lukis2 and watch Netflix and Youtube and browse site.
I use the 40-80 rules with my S7 Edge and Note 8, and the battery health status seems to be amazingly good. My Note 8 retains 97% battery health after almost a year of using and 83% for my S7E after almost 2.5 years.
I never drained my battery until 0%, as I read that it is bad. Not sure whether is it true or myth.
My Note 8 had very bad battery drain. Battery wear was at 91% for an almost 1 year old phone. So I sent it in and got the battery replaced under RMA. Results, battery life back to normal liao, previous battery was dead.
Maciam semua been complaining how bad the battery in Note 9 is, same reason why i sold my S8 last time.
Maybe i should letgo my new N9 and stick with LG V30 jer, the battery is beyond awesome!
Not all. Maybe some of us got a bad unit. Like my old Note8, the battery drain is not logical. Unplugged at 8 am, fully drained at 3 pm. After change mobo and battery, easily last till night. So cannot blame fully on proccessor like you did previously. And it depends on you, no one stopping you to sell ur Note9. I mostly stick with the Note series because of the productivity features. If not I already abandoned the Note series a long time ald.
That is why I felt weird. Around 5 pm sure left with less than 40% battery.
Ya, maybe when you do pass by a service centre just get it looked at, and if it's OK then maybe just get a wireless charger that you can leave your phone on whenever you are at home or in a car and let it charge whenever you can. No point sweating over it
QUOTE(facktura @ Sep 4 2018, 12:58 PM)
Maciam semua been complaining how bad the battery in Note 9 is, same reason why i sold my S8 last time.
Maybe i should letgo my new N9 and stick with LG V30 jer, the battery is beyond awesome!
Same reason I sold my S8, S8+, Note 8 and S9+ But to be honest though, of that bunch, the S8+ had the best battery life, but the 4GB RAM stutters a little on Samsung's UI.
Ya, maybe when you do pass by a service centre just get it looked at, and if it's OK then maybe just get a wireless charger that you can leave your phone on whenever you are at home or in a car and let it charge whenever you can. No point sweating over it Same reason I sold my S8, S8+, Note 8 and S9+ But to be honest though, of that bunch, the S8+ had the best battery life, but the 4GB RAM stutters a little on Samsung's UI.
Actually one has to clear cache after updating the FW to get the best battery life and performance out of the phone. Many dont. If you restore from a previous phone, best is to leave out your APP data and set up fresh. Many apps drains battery because its data was transferred over from another phone and this is considered a poor install. Even Samsung SES technical staff recommends you to do this.
Ya, maybe when you do pass by a service centre just get it looked at, and if it's OK then maybe just get a wireless charger that you can leave your phone on whenever you are at home or in a car and let it charge whenever you can. No point sweating over it Same reason I sold my S8, S8+, Note 8 and S9+ But to be honest though, of that bunch, the S8+ had the best battery life, but the 4GB RAM stutters a little on Samsung's UI.
Ald have one. But will monitor through the end of the day. If not have to refer to SME. Luckily my SME is near and fast to repair.
Actually one has to clear cache after updating the FW to get the best battery life and performance out of the phone. Many dont. If you restore from a previous phone, best is to leave out your APP data and set up fresh. Many apps drains battery because its data was transferred over from another phone and this is considered a poor install. Even Samsung SES technical staff recommends you to do this.
I just do fresh installs everytime I get an Android phone
It takes forever, but at least it's one worry less of having rogue apps draining battery in the background.
Haha. Thats so called gorilla glass 5 is nothing sometimes. Still let ur screen scratch though utuber show it can resist knife. Lol
Glass can withstand hardness up to 6 only, sand has a hardness of 8. The screen will definitely get scratched up on day to day use, especially when you put it inside the pocket. Knife has a hardness of 3 so they won't scratch the screen.
I'm using FHD+ as didn't noticed any obvious difference between FHD and WQHD. Some users reported that there is no major difference between FHD and WQHD in terms of battery usage
Because there isn't suppose to be any. Such a beast of a phone, truly wasting it's potential if ran on FHD.
My Note 8 had very bad battery drain. Battery wear was at 91% for an almost 1 year old phone. So I sent it in and got the battery replaced under RMA. Results, battery life back to normal liao, previous battery was dead.
Do you lost all your data etc when they replace your battery?
Anyone faced this error while opening "fg_fullcapnom" file? I tried many root/file explores such as EX Explorer/ Total Commander/ Solid Explorer, but all of those apps give me same error! I think I don't have some permission to open this file but I don't know how to get that permission
Ouch! That's bad and probably a lemon battery unit inside. I guess, just gotta spare the time to visit the Samsung SC for a new battery.
Sien.. Hate to repair, just in case they dont seal back properly then later not so water resistant anymore.
QUOTE(SADEGH940 @ Sep 4 2018, 02:20 PM)
Only big difference arise is when gaming. Other than that its barely an hour lesser in SOT.
Single tap is free. To map long press then you will need to purchase the full version. Bought the full version and mapped long press to activate the flash light. Very useful
screen off working ? my not working on screen off but n8 bixby is ok ...
Fresh better.. As most of the app data can now be synced to cloud. Damn... Cant they just open the battery and replace it.. Need to format all.. Setting up blockchain wallet and Google Auth is quite irritating.
you can request them not to format.
They will tell u they will "try" their best.
But once u collect your phone, u can be rest assured its formatted
QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Sep 4 2018, 01:04 PM)
Not all. Maybe some of us got a bad unit. Like my old Note8, the battery drain is not logical. Unplugged at 8 am, fully drained at 3 pm. After change mobo and battery, easily last till night. So cannot blame fully on proccessor like you did previously. And it depends on you, no one stopping you to sell ur Note9. I mostly stick with the Note series because of the productivity features. If not I already abandoned the Note series a long time ald.
did u fresh setup ur note 9 or direct restore from ur previous note ?
seems like some apps is draining ur batt there.
After update my phone to the latest firmware, I format my phone again via the normal way and the Power+Bixby+Volume Up button and setup the phone as a fresh install after that.
QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Sep 4 2018, 03:57 PM)
After update my phone to the latest firmware, I format my phone again via the normal way and the Power+Bixby+Volume Up button and setup the phone as a fresh install after that.
hmmm...well then monitor for few more days.
hope that u r not that suai..keep getting lemon unit.
haha...bcos i remember someone cautioned us not to sometime back but I cant recall what was the issue then. Shall go ahead then, thanks for the advise
A FW update consists of the latest improvements, upgrades and bug elimination for the particular FW. I dont see any reasons not to update your phone with it.
Damn... Cant they just open the battery and replace it.. Need to format all.. Setting up blockchain wallet and Google Auth is quite irritating.
Nope. Which is understandable as they would not want any rogue apps to continue draining your battery after replacing it with a new one. If I were Samsung SES, I would want to format your phone as well to prevent all unneccessary and untoward complains like missing data, missing pictures etc.
hope that u r not that suai..keep getting lemon unit.
Hahaha. Now don't care much. Been getting lemon units since the Note7 days. I do remember the memories using the Note7. It was fun but a really new experience for me.
A FW update consists of the latest improvements, upgrades and bug elimination for the particular FW. I dont see any reasons not to update your phone with it.
My battery life on full 4G data. I don't know whether it is good or not. 5 hours SOT.
if u want good SOT ? keep using ur phone (screen on) for 6 hour, than u have 6hr SOT , if not heavy user like others, phone idle will drain all our juice ...
My battery life on full 4G data. I don't know whether it is good or not. 5 hours SOT.
Considering you have AOD on, I would say it's OK. I don't use AOD - not because I wanna conserve battery but because I prefer my phone screen blank... years of conditioning as a result of using iPhones
This post has been edited by attw: Sep 4 2018, 04:40 PM
Sien.. Hate to repair, just in case they dont seal back properly then later not so water resistant anymore. Only big difference arise is when gaming. Other than that its barely an hour lesser in SOT.
Don't worry as the SC technicians will perform IP68 water resistance test before releasing your phone back to you. Basically it is as good as new.
Considering you have AOD on, I would say it's OK. I don't use AOD - not because I wanna conserve battery but because I prefer my phone screen blank... years of conditioning as a result of using iPhones
Hahaha. Anwyay will try to monitor again for the next few days. If consistent around that mark, that means no problem with my phone.
Owh didnt know about it.. Since they going to format the phone.. Hopefully they didnt install propertly so fail water test and give me a new phone.
AFAIK, Im pretty sure it wont happen. The seal is actually some type of glue/sealant like the ones you use to install your TG. When technicians apply around the edges inside the phone, the glue actually dries up and forms a seal. someting like gasket sealers commonly used in car engines.
Correcto, they do exactly that and dip it under water for around 20 mins to see if it hold the IP68 test.
ok, after they dip in, how do they tell water not leaking in ? measuring that water tank (left over) ? or switch on the phone, if the phone ok means ok ?
According to the industry standard, it's supposed to be submersible at 1 metre's depth for 30 minutes. So I suppose after that given time, the device it supposed to be able to power on and function normally.
haha...bcos i remember someone cautioned us not to sometime back but I cant recall what was the issue then. Shall go ahead then, thanks for the advise
In all my Androids and iPhone I will always immediate update the firmware once available. I am never concerned about others feedback as some are positive and some are negative too. I always felt own assessment is always the best Till now I had no serious regrets updating firmware on all my phones
According to the industry standard, it's supposed to be submersible at 1 metre's depth for 30 minutes. So I suppose after that given time, the device it supposed to be able to power on and function normally.
so if there is water leak in but unit still able to power on, Buyer going to bare that consequences when the phone died cause of water damage ? That not industry standard, that is BAWAH POKOK standard la.
The SC is obviously not gonna return your phone in that condition if it fails the test. They have an obligation to ensure that it passes the test, further more if the phone is under warranty. Most of us who have visited the Samsung SC can attest that they do a very good job.
like i ask and ur sreply, how they know it pass or fail ? u can't even tell a phone is water damage with NAKED eye .....
I cannot give you an answer to tell you how they quantitatively measure a pass or fail because I am not a technician at Samsung SC but rest assured I will ask to find out more the next time I pay them a visit.
Just notice my Note 9 central lense... is not "centrally aligned" to the back casing. Very obvious being off centre.. damn...
Yes mine too.. After watching the reviews on Youtube all units have the same problem too. Even one of the reviewer did mention it was off axis and annoying.
Just a couple quick question. Using the ori flip case clear view from samsung. 1) do I still need a tg? 2) If I use whitestone tg will the case be weird and won't fit well. 3) is whitestone glass better than t-max? 4) what's the best deal I can get for tg at the moment?
I cannot give you an answer to tell you how they quantitatively measure a pass or fail because I am not a technician at Samsung SC but rest assured I will ask to find out more the next time I pay them a visit.
Just a couple quick question. Using the ori flip case clear view from samsung. 1) do I still need a tg? 2) If I use whitestone tg will the case be weird and won't fit well. 3) is whitestone glass better than t-max? 4) what's the best deal I can get for tg at the moment?
Definitely... clearview case can scratch the screen... Just bought rm17 tg from this one shop while waiting my tg to arrive...will probably cancel it as the tg from this kedai fits well with the free case and clearview Am happy now
I don't understand how the case can create scratches on screen ??
Thanks for the reply. Probably due to small dust particles in the pocket making it scratch.
Guess I desperately need a tg now.
If you don't like the idea of TG, at least get a decent SP over the screen. At least, it will protect against the sand or micro particle scratches when kept inside the pocket.
walao sien lo...Harvey Norman haven't send me the note 9...already 2nd week liao zzz 1 more week i nid travel to Shanghai for 2 months business trip liao zzzz... any idea to make them work it out quickly? just email and fb messenger spam them lol..
Ocean Blue N9 report in. I n dilemma on choosing case as i first time own a curve screen mobile. Amongs brand below which one is good enuf and value for money for drop protection? 1)) Ringke 2) Spingen 3) UAG
All of the above are great cases. Now you need to decide which kinda of style you like/suites your liking.
Yes, they will perform a factory reset, so remember to back up your data before heading over to the SC.
My P9, huashit battery replacement is FOC, coz still in warranty atm. Battery change, data still intact. Huashit SC did the replacement. P9 got well known battery problem.
go and look at my 2nd post. got video to several cases.
I dont think tempered glass is necessary. Silicon film screen protector should protect it from scratches (take it from me, someone who already scratched his screen), Samsung Case should be elevated enough to do any real damage to the screen.
In my opinion all the listed brands above will offer some drop protection, just depends on your preference (and budget, of course). Anyways, welcome on board!
I dont think tempered glass is necessary. Silicon film screen protector should protect it from scratches (take it from me, someone who already scratched his screen), Samsung Case should be elevated enough to do any real damage to the screen.
It's never just about protection.
It's the experience that matters too. Buy a glass touch screen smartphone and smack a silicone film on top of something you look into and swipe up down left right everyday?
All of the above are great cases. Now you need to decide which kinda of style you like/suites your liking.
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 4 2018, 10:07 PM)
In my opinion all the listed brands above will offer some drop protection, just depends on your preference (and budget, of course). Anyways, welcome on board!
If that is the case will go for Ringke
QUOTE(edan1979 @ Sep 4 2018, 09:47 PM)
go and look at my 2nd post. got video to several cases.
Sure. Will try to view that.
QUOTE(Xnet @ Sep 4 2018, 09:29 PM)
Just ordered Ocean Blue - RM3080
Wao!! Cheap man. Where you bought it? Need to get another unit 4 my wife.Btw I bought mine @ $3299 on 1st Sept (sealed box, non operator set).
This post has been edited by RagingCandy: Sep 4 2018, 10:29 PM
If that is the case will go for Ringke Sure. Will try to view that. Wao!! Cheap man. Where you bought it? Need to get another unit 4 my wife.Btw I bought mine @ $3299 on 1st Sept (sealed box, non operator set).
Cannot speak for other brands but if you are talking about UAG, it definitely has amazing protection, have tested it for the last 5 years. Haha!
I think most UAG people here are long time loyalists. So go figure why UAG can get and convert so many loyal customers. xD kinda speaks for itself.
This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Sep 5 2018, 12:11 AM
So jelly la to those who bought for cheaper than rrp... well thats the price to pay to be the earliest to get though so many lesson learnt that place like lazada qoo10 11street will get cheaper with voucher eventually
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:03 AM)
that not 100% LCD Screen most china set copy 3 party why i bought i really need backup photos and message very imported for temporary use note 3 and backup for complete but back side power button very bad
before LCD screen orignal by samsung never replacement screen quality superb but 3 party very bad screen quality and color poor
very sad my note 3 LCD screen death was due my phone suddenly jatuh but screen not crack just tempered glass crack but screen not crack but LCD Screen death for blank screen so my 3 party screen already replace and now poor quality
i go phone shop to install screen replacement 3 party they charge RM50
So jelly la to those who bought for cheaper than rrp... well thats the price to pay to be the earliest to get though so many lesson learnt that place like lazada qoo10 11street will get cheaper with voucher eventually
If you got the preorder set with the Gear Sport then no need to jelly those buying for RM3080 la... about the same after you sell off the Gear Sport
that not 100% LCD Screen most china set copy 3 party why i bought i really need backup photos and message very imported for temporary use note 3 and backup for complete but back side power button very bad
before LCD screen orignal by samsung never replacement screen quality superb but 3 party very bad screen quality and color poor
very sad my note 3 LCD screen death was due my phone suddenly jatuh but screen not crack just tempered glass crack but screen not crack but LCD Screen death for blank screen so my 3 party screen already replace and now poor quality
i go phone shop to install screen replacement 3 party they charge RM50
The price now up to RM220 Some more they claim Super AMOLED. Perhaps it is just normal LCD, but I think normal LCD different wire connection already. Maybe China low grade AMOLED
It has been the same case for all phones. There is always a price to pay for being an early adopter. The official RRP of the Note 9 still maintains at rm3699, it is only Qoo10 that is offering the discount vouchers.
This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 5 2018, 08:40 AM
It's the experience that matters too. Buy a glass touch screen smartphone and smack a silicone film on top of something you look into and swipe up down left right everyday?
Reminds me of sofas with plastic wrap on foreva.
Perhaps it's jz me I been using glass and pet protector for years and honestly I don't feel much difference unless I test it side by side which glass wins by low margin.
It has been the same case for all phones. There is always a price to pay for being an early adopter. The official RRP of the Note 9 still maintains at rm3699, it is only Qoo10 that is offering the discount vouchers.
True bro but for Note 9 it was well worth being an early adopter with the free Gear Sport
U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts
QUOTE(fazdnoah @ Sep 5 2018, 12:20 AM)
The best deal that i've come across so far during early PO period has to be from one of the sellers in 11street.
3699 PO set with Gear Sport - 250 (11st voucher) - 69 (shopback cashback) = 3380 with FOC 64GB Samsung Evo MicroSD card.
Yes mine too.. After watching the reviews on Youtube all units have the same problem too. Even one of the reviewer did mention it was off axis and annoying.
It IS quite annoying now that I realise it hahaha...
Just notice my Note 9 central lense... is not "centrally aligned" to the back casing. Very obvious being off centre.. damn...
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 4 2018, 07:57 PM)
hmm what are you guys talking about?
the camera lens positioning?
got the video to that review? and the time please
This post has been edited by mafioso: Sep 5 2018, 11:10 AM
hi guys, need some info... just get my note9 (my fisrt android/samsung).
1- if using smart switch, all data from my old phone will be transfer to my new phone? like sms, whatsapps conversation, wifi id pwd etc? my old phone is iphone 4s.
2- if apple have itunes, for samsung u guys using what?
1- if using smart switch, all data from my old phone will be transfer to my new phone? like sms, whatsapps conversation, wifi id pwd etc? my old phone is iphone 4s.
tq...
Just use the Smart Switch, it will do the trick and perform the migration even from Apple to Samsung. Usually, everything you select will get transferred.
Just got my ringke onyx and PET film protector from taobao on Monday. Been using the combination for two days, I'm happy with it. The oleophobic feel on the film is very good and smooth, very close to glass feel. I'm a bit regret on getting the purple case though, the color is lighter than my expectation, looks feminine to me. Should have gotten the black one. I just put on a matching wallpaper with the purple case.
Just sharing, i accidentally found something useful.
Eventually, there is a setting to avoid user to off WiFi / Mobile Data from lock screen.
Go to Settings > Lock Screen > Secure Lock Settings > Lock network and security. Turn it ON and it can prevent other people to off WiFi / Mobile Data so that easier to locate phone if it's lost. *touch wood*
QUOTE(zerohunter @ Sep 5 2018, 11:34 AM)
Eventually, there is a setting to avoid user to off WiFi / Mobile Data from lock screen.
Go to Settings > Lock Screen > Secure Lock Settings > Lock network and security. Turn it ON and it can prevent other people to off WiFi / Mobile Data so that easier to locate phone if it's lost. *touch wood*
I think it comes turned on out of the box after u setup PIN/fingerprint/iris etc.
Yes, but it's a decent trade off for the protection.
You all keep thinking that it's bulky but Spigen tough Armor or otterbox are even worse for the same level of protection. And Spigen rubber will deteriorate, starts becoming loose over time because the grade is just not good. UAG is the only one that can keep it decently stylish and thin with the best protection. Lol.
This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Sep 5 2018, 01:35 PM
Just did a fresh install yesterday, before that I used smart switch to restore everything and battery was not ideal. It is much better now it seems. So for ppl who see their battery performing badly and used smart switch to restore app data. Can consider doing a clean install.
Cannot speak for other brands but if you are talking about UAG, it definitely has amazing protection, have tested it for the last 5 years. Haha!
I think most UAG people here are long time loyalists. So go figure why UAG can get and convert so many loyal customers. xD kinda speaks for itself.
So true! I am one of the loyal customers. One time I use Spigen Neo Hybrid for my Note 4 where previously using UAG for my Note 3 and regret it soon after. That case does not even able to protect my phone at all. After two months using the Note 4, my Note 4 fall flat on the floor and crack the screen. Burn RM700. And on that day I immediately buy a UAG case after that happened. Since that day, UAG cases all the way.
Even my brother also now using UAG because of the design and the protection it provides.
You all keep thinking that it's bulky but Spigen tough Armor or otterbox id even worse.. UAG is the only one that can keep it decently stylish and thin with the best protection. Lol.
It is definitely very bulky to me...regretted buying it for previous Note. Thin ?? - you must be joking
You all keep thinking that it's bulky but Spigen tough Armor or otterbox id even worse.. UAG is the only one that can keep it decently stylish and thin with the best protection. Lol.
Yes, I've used Otterbox before as well. In that sense, the UAG is slightly less bulky and definitely lighter
Just did a fresh install yesterday, before that I used smart switch to restore everything and battery was not ideal. It is much better now it seems. So for ppl who see their battery performing badly and used smart switch to restore app data. Can consider doing a clean install.
Oh really? I used smart switch to restore and i found that note 9 battery doesn't meet my expectation. Perhaps its time for me to have a fresh restore
892 posts
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 5 2018, 01:25 PM)
UAG looks very rugged but too bold for my liking...don't really like the strong cross lines and 4 fake screws at each corner. It does gives the illusion that it's very bulky industrial look although in actual fact could be slimmer than others.
Spigen's subdued design has always been classy for me, protection is a plus.
Lol seems like i'm the only one among the sea of UAG's here.
Well anyway, one man's meat is another man's poison.
It is definitely very bulky to me...regretted buying it for previous Note. Thin ?? - you must be joking
I am comparing with the ones that claim to give ultimate protection. If you are telling me about the Spigen thin case series, of course it's bulkier. But it's entirely different series altogether.
This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Sep 5 2018, 01:42 PM
You all keep thinking that it's bulky but Spigen tough Armor or otterbox are even worse for the same level of protection. And Spigen rubber will deteriorate, starts becoming loose over time because the grade is just not good. UAG is the only one that can keep it decently stylish and thin with the best protection. Lol.
Stylish and thin for UAG?
I think that would be a slap in the face for Samsung's designers as so much of hard work and dedication has gone into designing one of the best looking smartphones around, giving it a premium feel with curves and edges at the right places. Owners slap on a case that makes the phone looks like a piece of brick.
Then again, this is personal preference. I personally wouldn't use anyting more than the silicon backcover from Nilllkin or the original supplied back cover.
This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 5 2018, 03:42 PM
The thing is my old Note Fe i never turn "Smart Stay" On but i do not have such issue.
I guess i know what u meant. I'm suspecting the culprit is FB app itself. So far video in IG does not automatically turn the screen off after a period of time.
Do u still have the Note FE with u ? Maybe u can try to install latest FB app in Note FE & see if the same thing happens...
Using Plasma Ash with my Blue N9, initially i dont like the design at all but considering the protection that it give, i bought it anyway before my Dbrand skin + rhinoshield arrive. I was shocked how it actually not bulky at all and the design is not bad..
I'm wondering if those listing their Note 9 for sale at 3400 is oblivious to the Qoo10 offer or they got the offer and are scalping those who are in the dark?
Slickwraps is having 60% now. Ending in 5hrs time.
Hows the quality compared to dBrand? But this dont have free shipping, need to pay USD5
last time i used slickwraps was on note 5. peel it back after 2 days. dont really like it. quality wise around 70%-80% of dbrand? because still got some glue after peel out. not on dbrand.
Is this compatible with Samsung dex? My friend bought one but only can do mirroring.
Did he test it with Note 9 or previous Samsung flagship?
If Note 9 should work, but if previous Samsung Flagship need one with external usb C to provide power or else it will be mirroring. That is how it was with my S8.
This post has been edited by emino: Sep 5 2018, 07:53 PM
Did he test it with Note 9 or previous Samsung flagship?
If Note 9 should work, but if previous Samsung Flagship need one with external usb C to provide power or else it will be mirroring. That is how it was with my S8.
What's the setup? He has a hdmi to hdmi cable connected to the TV. The other end connected to this adaptor, then the adaptor to his phone.
yaya, i do full glue, if half glue is around rm25 but corner still slowly lifting
any other note9 owner here ? is it very normal that the TG will "lift up" for note9 ?
It won't lift if properly installed. You can try buying a Hoda or T-max from one of our forumer, Sakuraz and get him to do the installation for you. Satisfaction guaranteed.
bought few case from tao bao and received today. But want let go Ringke Fusion X Series Black, anyone want and willing to let go MYR50. Just took out front and back sticker and try, still prefer UAG case. PM me... COD at Pavilion. Thanks
This post has been edited by pagne666: Sep 5 2018, 09:56 PM
The price now up to RM220 Some more they claim Super AMOLED. Perhaps it is just normal LCD, but I think normal LCD different wire connection already. Maybe China low grade AMOLED
yes they price up aug price was rm197 that i already bought and installed
i plan buy note 9 i looking 512GB always out of stock if i buy Qoo10 any they give free gift like gear sport or etc seee someone post i saw page 5 i unable to find that promotion
QUOTE(pakji @ Sep 5 2018, 10:31 PM)
i plan buy note 9 i looking 512GB always out of stock if i buy Qoo10 any they give free gift like gear sport or etc seee someone post i saw page 5 i unable to find that promotion
Gear sport only for pre order customers. Now u can only enjoy qoo10 discount + cashback
Now how do you connect a mouse and keyboard to it? The normal Bluetooth keyboard and mouse with a receiver won't work right?
If its already Bluetooth, why would you need a receiver? I use Alcatroz Dock 2 keyboard with mine. Right now they are going on sale at Popular for just 100.
I saw yesterday someone selling Note 9 in here. New, gift from company and it is pre-order package in box. Forgot how much
I like browsing through Garage Sales to spot all these "gifts" from company, from girlfriend, from parents, etc and wish I was in their shoes, hahaha...
my note 9 drain 12% of my battery on idle when I went to sleep yesterday.. no idea why.. this past one week n a half the most it drain while i was sleeping was 4-5%
I like browsing through Garage Sales to spot all these "gifts" from company, from girlfriend, from parents, etc and wish I was in their shoes, hahaha...
Sounds to me like scalpers excuse or reason as I saw they are selling at the RRP, when they actually bought it much cheaper with the Qoo10 voucher.
my note 9 drain 12% of my battery on idle when I went to sleep yesterday.. no idea why.. this past one week n a half the most it drain while i was sleeping was 4-5%
Maybe try a restart before you sleep tonight and see if that helps.
oh really? gonna try it out now, anyways, any benefit for us to restart our phone daily/weekly?
There are multiple reasons why you’re supposed to restart your phone at least once a week, and it’s for a good cause: retaining memory, preventing crashes, running more smoothly, and prolonging battery life.
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 6 2018, 09:30 AM)
There are multiple reasons why you’re supposed to restart your phone at least once a week, and it’s for a good cause: retaining memory, preventing crashes, running more smoothly, and prolonging battery life.
i see..gonna start a new habit of restarting my phone every week now.
bro, hows ur note 9? ever encounter memory leaks?
i wonder is there any apps that can counter these "memory leaks" problem.
i see..gonna start a new habit of restarting my phone every week now.
bro, hows ur note 9? ever encounter memory leaks?
i wonder is there any apps that can counter these "memory leaks" problem.
So far, never encountered these kind of memory leaks or wake lock issues with my S7E and Note 8.
If you want to monitor the background apps, you can download and install this app called Accubattery. It monitors your background usage and also your phones battery health status. Kill two birds with one stone.
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 6 2018, 09:47 AM)
So far, never encountered these kind of memory leaks or wake lock issues with my S7E and Note 8.
If you want to monitor the background apps, you can download and install this app called Accubattery. It monitors your background usage and also your phones battery health status. Kill two birds with one stone.
ok bro. thanks for ur replies, will try it out to see how it goes
QUOTE(al_madd @ Sep 6 2018, 09:53 AM)
Mi band can connect/pair with samsung health? Thank you...save my budget
hmm..not sure bout that. i just do some google search for any budget smart watch for ur usage.
The health app is not really one of Samsung's main priority in development for now but hey it works well, besides the battery drain the app causes.
True Bro. So hopefully they gradually keep improving to perfect it. The battery drain can be tackled with a few software updates if they really serious about resolving it.
Seriously??? I don't bother to restart at all. The last time I did that was on firmware update. Phone had been performing well since day one and don't see any need to restart it. Unless it hang but yet to experience it
You are always lucky Uncle Benny, or do you feed your phone supplements and steroids 🤣😂 (kidding)
QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Sep 6 2018, 10:53 AM)
Guys
For SP Clear-Coat or Whitestone Dome is better ? Better accuracy for S-Pen ?
im not sure either its only me who facing these "minor" problem.
when u applied any TG, if u're trying to wrote something at the curve EDGE side, ur accuracy will be off-set. may be because the there's a additional ply (original screen + TG) that makes the minor issue.
but does anyone practically use their s-pen to wrote something at the EDGE of the curve screen?
How to set custome notification sound for apps? quite confusing all notification sound the same
Go to Settings > Notifications... You may set different notification sounds for each app. Or when u received a notification & you wan to change the sound, hold the notification & swipe to left or right slowly until u see the Setting icon. Tap the settings icon to go into that app notification setting & you can set custom sound from there.
Finally youtube dark theme is here. Update your app , force close youtube, go to apps and clear app data, then restart app and dark theme mode will appear.
True. I dont really restart at all. Unless some app runs in errors.
Finally youtube dark theme is here. Update your app , force close youtube, go to apps and clear app data, then restart app and dark theme mode will appear.
Thanks for the heads up. I just close the Youtube app, tap Recent App List, "kill" the Youtube app, then tap the Youtube app again. Woola... Dark theme mode is there...
Tried the steps you mentioned but the dark theme didn't appear. Still white as ever.
Thanks for the heads up. I just close the Youtube app, tap Recent App List, "kill" the Youtube app, then tap the Youtube app again. Woola... Dark theme mode is there...
deleted
This post has been edited by gahpadu: Sep 6 2018, 01:07 PM
Ok, this is not proven scientifically, but here’s my “ritual” every night before I sleep (when using Androids)
- Turn on Do Not Disturb (with exception of repetitive phone calls or calls from Contacts) - Turn off WiFi (but make sure your mobile network is strong in your room) - I read somewhere in another forum that there’s a bug in Oreo that disturbs the Doze mode in Android when connected to WiFi) - Turn off Location and turn on data saver.
Disclaimer: What works for me may not work for you. Proceed with caution
892 posts
QUOTE(attw @ Sep 6 2018, 01:40 PM)
Ok, this is not proven scientifically, but here’s my “ritual” every night before I sleep (when using Androids)
- Turn on Do Not Disturb (with exception of repetitive phone calls or calls from Contacts) - Turn off WiFi (but make sure your mobile network is strong in your room) - I read somewhere in another forum that there’s a bug in Oreo that disturbs the Doze mode in Android when connected to WiFi) - Turn off Location and turn on data saver.
Very true, especially 2nd point. Bad/weak mobile signal will suck up batt juice like mad. Better still, switch off the phone completely during your nap time
Wah.. This is extreme.. I dont bother. I turn off Wifi while Data is on default On and I set my AOD to turn off at 12am and turn on at 7am. Battery drain varies from 6-8% per night.
Yeah, that’s how I get 2-3% lor. If I do nothing, it’s between 6% to 8% as well. As a default I don’t use AOD, not due to worry of screen burnts or battery life but due to my conditioning from using iPhones
Point two kinda true kinda false WiFi won't disturb doze.. but it will affect standby drain depending on the strength.. Light doze activated after X time when phone screen is off Deep doze activated after X time in light doze n when device idle as on stationary
the wifi thing is probably the one that made my note 9 drain 12% battery yesterday.. will try off tonite
Point two kinda true kinda false WiFi won't disturb doze.. but it will affect standby drain depending on the strength.. Light doze activated after X time when phone screen is off Deep doze activated after X time in light doze n when device idle as on stationary
Ya, it’s not proven, I just tried it based on what I’ve read and there is a difference, so I just use that as a practice till now, haha.
QUOTE(kraziekd @ Sep 6 2018, 02:03 PM)
the wifi thing is probably the one that made my note 9 drain 12% battery yesterday.. will try off tonite
Is the mobile data connection strong in your house? If yes, just try turning off WiFi and doing nothing else different to see if there’s a change in the drain. If there is, then that helps
i didn't put my sim card at my note 9 at night because i put it in my one plus one to tether it to my pc and hotspot for my note 9.. only put sim card at the note 9 during work time.. will also try check if maybe some app might have drain it
This post has been edited by kraziekd: Sep 6 2018, 02:16 PM
i didn't put my sim card at my note 9 at night because i put it in my one plus one to tether it to my pc and hotspot for my note 9.. only put sim card at the note 9 during work time.. will also try check if maybe some app might have drain it
What??? U open the sim tray on daily basis? Seriously??
Wow! So complicated and tedious, ejecting the sim tray to remove the card everyday. Mine usually goes in the first day of use and stay there until I change phones 😅🤣😂
Wow.. Why dont u just hotspot from ur Note 9 to PC? I understand its going to consume more battery, but wth, just plug into charger overnight.
Ya, it’s not proven, I just tried it based on what I’ve read and there is a difference, so I just use that as a practice till now, haha. Is the mobile data connection strong in your house? If yes, just try turning off WiFi and doing nothing else different to see if there’s a change in the drain. If there is, then that helps
Signal strength of mobile n WiFi does affect the standby drain My home only have 1 to 2 bar so I tried airplane mode, WiFi on (with WiFi scanning for location accuracy off) and drain improved significantly.. from 1%/h to 0.5%/h
Tested for a week liao...
Now want to test if location on gonna affect drain significantly.. I remember reading somewhere in xda, newer gen GPS hardware uses less than 1mah/h on standby and there's no nd turn it off.. lol..
Old habits of previous android, must turn off GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth, autosync, autobrightness.. haha..
Wow.. Why dont u just hotspot from ur Note 9 to PC? I understand its going to consume more battery, but wth, just plug into charger overnight.
prob cause I been doing that with my one plus one since last year n its what makes the phone super laggy n overheating n didnt wan to risk it on the note 9 XD
question: is it bad to open the sim tray case on daily basis?
This post has been edited by kraziekd: Sep 6 2018, 02:29 PM
Signal strength of mobile n WiFi does affect the standby drain My home only have 1 to 2 bar so I tried airplane mode, WiFi on (with WiFi scanning for location accuracy off) and drain improved significantly.. from 1%/h to 0.5%/h
Tested for a week liao...
Now want to test if location on gonna affect drain significantly.. I remember reading somewhere in xda, newer gen GPS hardware uses less than 1mah/h on standby and there's no nd turn it off.. lol..
Old habits of previous android, must turn off GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth, autosync, autobrightness.. haha..
Same here, testing & monitoring the battery by not turning off GPS for a weeks now... So far so good, battery not significant affected... I guess Android OS or newer gen of GPS restrict the GPS on battery usage...
Back in old days, GPS was turned on manually when needed (e.g. Waze, Google Maps)...
prob cause I been doing that with my one plus one since last year n its what makes the phone super laggy n overheating n didnt wan to risk it on the note 9 XD
I tried with my Note 9 so far so good.. hotspot doesnt heat up as much during my Oneplus One and OP2 days
Yeah, but you can’t blame us, they’ve not done much to increase our confidence, haha.
I’ve had the S8, S8+, Note 8 and the S9+. The overnight drain hasn’t improved with newer hardware or bigger battery
I do the tether thing the first week then leceh straightaway go Maxis Center apply subline for my Note 9. Luckily under Maxis 1 Prime, all my sub will get unlimited internet under my main as well.
The tray got a silicone lining... and IMHO it's not meant to be operated on daily basis....
I do the tether thing the first week then leceh straightaway go Maxis Center apply subline for my Note 9. Luckily under Maxis 1 Prime, all my sub will get unlimited internet under my main as well.
mine is digi.. and their supplementary line for digi infinite 150 kinda sucks
This is important. Otherwise its super bright until killing me...
Eh cant find the clear app data option...
This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 6 2018, 03:06 PM