Clearing stocks before the coming crash, what have I missed out in the analysis?

TSplumberly
post Jul 15 2022, 07:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 15 2022, 11:17 AM)
I continued to hold-on to my SG REITs. They still paying me dividends, tho' prices have dropped. My total portfolio is still in the green,...  hovering above 33%... I will see more development in the coming qtrly reports to be announced this month and the next. SPH REIT's looks good.
You have done very well. With covid impact, REIT would be taking the punches. But you still managed to do very well. What is your secret? Ha. Picked the right & strong ones, I guess.
TSplumberly
post Jul 16 2022, 08:52 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jul 15 2022, 08:43 PM)

What a troll you are... tongue.gif
And there.... Only in stock markets..  ppl only see what they want to see..

whistling.gif
Maybe. But I believe in the saying,

luck is when preparation meets opportunity

That has benefited me many times in my life, career, health, finance, etc.

What I did earlier before the 2020 crash is one of my life's highlights, and I am proud of it. Saved me a lot of money.

P/S Thanks for following this thread, sifu.
TSplumberly
post Jul 17 2022, 01:40 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jul 16 2022, 09:01 AM)
CPI PPI Inflation all data come out dah.
sign showing macam going into recession.

can DCA further and buy the deep now?

or should wait for more?

personally I had been keep on DCA a bit by a bit every month.
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jul 16 2022, 11:20 AM)
Yep,I will continue to dca even double down
Heard about DCA in the early years when I was into unit trusts but did not practice it.

Mind sharing why you think DCA is the way to go? Maybe I overlooked something important. Thanks.

To me, it is a sales invention by the UT industry to generate sales (and thus commissions for the agents) every month. They don't have to do much and get monthly commissions. Good job. UT agents, please don't launch nuclear missiles at me. Read a few books where the authors are anti DCA.

Yes, I have seen graphs illustrating the positive gains from using DCA. It works in some cases. But I feel it is better to just stop buying, and save the money till you see a "confirmed" uptrend. Then you will get a lot more at a cheaper price. No one can predict where is the dip bottom. But with some study, it is possible to gauge with some certainty where it has turned for the better. A combination of moving average, Bollinger band, Coppock curve, RSI, etc., etc. Of course, nothing is 100% certain. If WW3 breaks out after the uptrend has started, 99% of the shares will head south.

My 2 cents (which is worth less now with increases in prices).

16 Pages « < 14 15 16Top

0.0803sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:28 AM