13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 03:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 14 2018, 03:30 PM)
That is not kitchen... it's dining hall. Kitchen is at the rear . My room is just 6 feet., do I say right?
Aiyo, buy a new router first. Is it really hard to buy one?
You gonna need a new one anyway.

JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 03:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 14 2018, 03:47 PM)
Went to TMpoint twice today to downgrade/upgrade my plan doh.gif

first at 1130am, 8th in queue, yet till 1230pm still got 4 in front of me doh.gif
have to abandon as have lunch appointment at 1230pm

went back at 130pm, this time got 22 queue in front me, waited for almost 2 hours, only then it's my turn

but thank god it's a cute awek serving me wub.gif
trying to change my RM139 30Mbps to RM129 100Mbps, was happier when I'm told can get the 100Mbps today as she just need to activate it on the spot
but after click click click, told me not possible today, as need to send technician to do speedtest at my place, was per system my area speed limitation is 50Mbps only doh.gif doh.gif
Eh.....abang ni miang betul lah.... brows.gif

Normally 50Mbps restriction means yours is VDSL rather than fibre.
Might be bad news for you since TM only use Profile 17a and not 30. hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 04:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 14 2018, 03:58 PM)
cute awek sudah kahwin, noticed the cincin on her finger tongue.gif
aiks, VDSL means I'm screwed & stuck to maximum 50Mbps? doh.gif

could it be my area's unifi's fiber infra still haven't fully ready?
It's strange that I couldn't find the usual fiber cabinet in my area hmm.gif
but from my house it's confirmed going into the usual fiber white box,
but if using VDSL, can Maxis tumpang on it also? as Maxis salesman are very aggressive recently calling me to change ISP
Amboi abang ni......isteri orang pun kau nak tackle? shocking.gif Berani juga.... brows.gif

Yes. Cause VDSL Profile 17a maximum downstream is 100Mbps down and 50Mbps up.
Example, if the copper distance from the cabinet to your house is 20 meters, you only get effective 89Mbps down and 42Mbps up. (remember about DSL and PPPoE protocols overhead?) icon_idea.gif
This is for best case scenario.
100Mbps via Profile 17a is unlikely unless TM uses Profile 30a. (The default TM zte vdsl router has support for 30a, but not 30b)

30A profile support up to 200Mbps down and 100Mbps up. Last I asked my TM friend, he said 30a has interference issue and TM doesn't use it unless necessary.
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 04:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 14 2018, 04:08 PM)
nope, landed
the infra in my area was ready just last month
Eh? What is your BTU model? blink.gif

Landed property? I thought max vdsl package allowed for landed property is 10Mbps only? Mana ada 30Mbps? confused.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 07:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Sep 14 2018, 07:04 PM)
Hey guys. Ridiculous story to share here.
To recap, I am the unlucky one to not being able to enjoy unifi due to lack of port.
After complaint to mcmc, and after 3 working days, finally TM called me to inform port is ready. And yes when I go to Tmpoint they also see from their system there is one port available.

Here is the thing.
I was trying to subscribe for 100Mbps BEST rm129 plan and at the same time to maintain my existing land number (means no new number for unifi, and with this, I also save rm25 monthly not to pay the rental fee).

Today, CS called and said my area is not fully supporting 100mbps, and I thought he is going to say 30mbps is ok. But so ridiculously, he offered me a 10mbps package for rm129!!! This is crazy... Even 30mbps also only rm89, and now what is this kind of offer?

And now, I am still stucked at the mighty 1mbps streamyx.
.......Another potential VDSL port instead of fibre yawn.gif ?

SUBB landline only has VDSL = limited to 10Mbps for now. Marketing name -->Unifi lite 10Mbps RM129.

If your housing area is designated as SUBB, say goodbye to fiber deployment for the area. bye.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 08:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Sep 14 2018, 08:03 PM)
Just wanna share my experience.

My sister's house got turbo to 800mbps. She's using ac1200 located in her living room upstairs. So yesterday I bought Tenda AC 18 at Lowyat plaza for RM 299 (at Sri, viewnet is RM 300 haha no difference really) to bridge connection from her house to my house. So I hanged the Tenda router on a window in my room which is also upstairs, and used the mode "universal repeater". It works fine. Quite satisfied. Managed to get 100mbps up and down wirelessly. The signal is really good.

At her house, I managed to get 300mbps on the phone wirelessly with her router.

I wonder if I bought another Tenda AC 18 and replaced her tplink/archer ac1200, would it be better in terms of speed for both me and her house?
Nope, you probably will get extra 50Mbps.
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 08:41 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nicktaylor @ Sep 14 2018, 08:27 PM)

Macam tak berapa betul je........

Can you take a picture of the white box sticker underneath and its port?
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 08:49 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(shahie @ Sep 14 2018, 08:48 PM)
received a bonus from TM.... just yesterday get 100mbps for Rm129, just now got turbo-ed.... lol
Fark, I also from Miri, yet nothing available* for my two accounts.

bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 14 2018, 08:50 PM
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 08:51 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nicktaylor @ Sep 14 2018, 08:50 PM)
Here bro,
K, that confirmed it. It is a fiber connector.
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 10:37 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(ladiesman217 @ Sep 14 2018, 10:27 PM)
Me and my mate gotten our turbo SMS today as well. (both very different locations) We also managed to hit 93mbps only. I think we havent not been given the full speed yet ?

We are at 50mbps before this. So i would be expecting x10 of our existing speeds.
If it is conducted with LAN cable, high possibility the BTU port is wrongly misconfigured at 100Mbps instead of 1Gbps. hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 10:40 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(newbienew @ Sep 14 2018, 10:38 PM)
I will update my case, checking if I get the Turbo to 500 mbps tomorrow. I force them to do an order like you just,  its unfair for them to keep me wait and I m paying more than you.

Now at PONR status, hopefully order close properly
If you are successful, TM gonna be bombarded with a lot of request and complaint later rclxms.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 10:46 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Sep 14 2018, 10:46 PM)
Is that anyway to reconfigure the btu?
There is no way for user to reconfigure the BTU. Only TM can do so, either remotely or on the spot.
JohnLai
post Sep 14 2018, 11:21 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

SilentVampire,

I think you need to ask them to disable spectre mitigation patch even with LAN cable connection to PC/Laptop.......

Core i5-5200U maxed its CPU usage and only reach 370Mbps with spectre mitigation..........unless the cpu has HIGH clock to compensate.......
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 12:04 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 14 2018, 11:59 PM)
Lol, I don’t think the newbies would understand that, as if they do, they won’t be here, asking us all the questions, and to be honest, I don’t like giving this sort of advice for them. If anything happened to their PC after they do that, the blame will be squarely on my shoulders, even if it has nothing to do with me.

hmm.gif True.......but a lot of people with WIN10 gonna complain about not able to get 500 or 800Mbps via LAN with their 'weak' cpu unless Microsoft deploys latest Intel microcode. sweat.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 01:06 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Sep 15 2018, 12:58 AM)
Apparently I have been turbo'ed, my current speed supposed to be 300Mbps.

Here is my speed test using LAN cable:

It doesn't reach 300Mbps, I have checked that all my LAN cables are CAT5e, but let's put that aside for now, it could be due to LOLTM.

This is my speed test using WIFI 2.4ghz (11n):

(Note: My laptop does not support 5.0ghz)

Forget about matching the speed achieved through LAN, it's even slower than even what is specified in first post, which states that:
802.11n - 600 Mbps (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) - 150Mbps typical for network adapters, 300Mbps, 450Mbps, and 600Mbps speeds when bonding channels with some routers.

Could it be something wrong with my router configuration? Or is it time for me to change my router?  sweat.gif It's a TP-LINK TL-WDR3600 I bought 4 years ago. At that time, it was a big improvement over the router provided by TM.

PS: My laptop is right next to my router, so it shouldn't be an issue of distance.
Your TP-LINK TL-WDR3600 only has 802.11N, no 802.11AC, thus max link speed at 40Mhz channel with at EITHER BANDS is 300Mbps.

300Mbps x 0.60 = 180Mbps

60% effective speed after deducting all those protocol overhead.

Now, if there are other neighbours using same 2.4ghz band and their channels are overlapping with yours...........best case of one hotspot interfere with your hotspot........you will get half of the 180Mbps speed which is 90Mbps, if there are many hotspots..... console.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 01:31 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Sep 15 2018, 01:25 AM)
For "40 MHz", were you referring to the "Channel Width"? Previously it was set to "Auto", I set to 40 Mhz and the speed is the same, sometime it even seems slower.  sweat.gif

Some of the devices in my house does not support 11AC, so I would need to stick with 11N, or is there router capable of outputting 11AC and 11N at the same time?

Anyway, the main thing I would like clarification is that, if I am sticking to 11N, would getting a new router actually "help" in wifi performance? Or is what I'm the seeing the best I can achive with 11N?

Sorry if some of my questions sound stupid, I'm very new in network related field.
Don't see this setting in my router page.
Yes, if you force 40Mhz channel width and speed is same or even slower, your area has serious 2.4ghz congestion problem.

Dude.....802.11AC is backward compatible with 802.11N in same 5Ghz band.

For your last question, if you STICK with 11N at 2.4ghz = getting new router will not help.
You can use 11N on 5ghz, IF your devices has 802.11N dual band support.
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 01:32 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(whpon @ Sep 15 2018, 01:28 AM)
I have just got the turbo upgrade to 300 Mbps, currently using Linksys E2500 router and Alcatel-Lucent I-240G-P BTU, should I change the new router to support the new speed? Because i try LAN and WiFi also can’t reach to 300Mbps. please help.
Ugh....you have same issue as user lightbringer .

EDIT: Difference is your router wan port and lan port are limited to 100Mbps.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 15 2018, 01:34 AM
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 11:31 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Sep 15 2018, 01:58 AM)

Backward compatible, meaning that the 11AC will automatically fallback to 11N when it comes to device that don't support 11AC?

How to know if my device support 802.11N dual band support? Usually when I check my the device spec it says something like 802.11 a/b/g/n, didn't say anything about dual band.

Extra observation:
I did have another problem with 5.0ghz, when I tried 5.0ghz (11an) on my Router, the signal becomes really weak when I move to a different floor, I tested with my phone which support 5.0ghz (but not 11AC), but I do notice an increase of speed when compared to 2.4ghz however, only when the signal is strong though.
Yes, 11AC will auto fallback to 11N for devices that doesn't support 11AC.

You have to check online for detailed wifi chip specification if you wanna know your 11N devices has dual band support.....

5ghz has harder time penetrating solid obstacles and half the range of 2.4Ghz. Why do you think 11AC beamforming is mandatory?

QUOTE(cucubud @ Sep 15 2018, 07:44 AM)
Wow, now computers with Win10 also can be the bottleneck.
Difficult to tell them their computer not up to par, need to change biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
The more you know....the worse it become.

Eh, cucubud, I just realize the developer of Inspectre hasn't update the app for few months. It can't detect new spectre registry keys.
You need to do it the manual way.

How to disable spectre and meltdown protection:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/40...ative-execution
Section Manage Speculative Store Bypass and mitigations around Spectre Variant 2 and Meltdown

Remember, reboot is required for changes to take place. icon_rolleyes.gif

Then you need to verify if the protection is actually disabled or enabled later via https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/40...ings-powershell

~.~

Don't forget to enable back protection after benchmarking/speedtesting complete laugh.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 11:36 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(danialefendy @ Sep 15 2018, 10:55 AM)
The AC1200 cannot even achieve 800Mbps on wired. The router struggle even to reach 300Mbps. After changing to TPLINK c2300, the speed easily reach 820Mbps on several test.
TP C1200 can get 800Mbps on wired just fine. blink.gif

I can't say the same to wireless though.
JohnLai
post Sep 15 2018, 11:47 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

SilentVampire
5 GHz provides faster data rates at a shorter distance. For best performance and reliability, enable support for all channel widths on 5 GHz. This allows devices to use the largest width they support, which results in optimal performance and compatibility. Not all client devices support 40MHz channels, so don't enable 40MHz-only mode. Devices that support only 20MHz channels cant connect to a Wi-Fi router in 40MHz-only mode. Similarly, don't enable 80MHz-only mode, or only clients capable of 802.11 AC will be able to connect.

This statement kinda misleading.
There is no 40Mhz-only or 80Mhz-only settings.
When one sets the highest channel width, it means devices that can handle higher channel width will make use of it while device that cannot will fall back to lower channel width.

Example, I set 80Mhz on my router, yet my phone with 20Mhz support still can connect just fine.

The underlined statement above actually refers to 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac protocol selection rather than channel width.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.2472sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:35 AM