5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

dannyw
post Aug 24 2022, 04:37 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(McFcker @ Aug 24 2022, 04:29 PM)
not sure mine similar to yours, sometimes mine crank liao engine will mati the 1st round, then crank again will be back to normal.
But been like this for few years.
Engine die off? This 1 never happened. Once a while 1st crank cannot get, then need to crank longer only can start, this happened many years already, mostly on engine is hot like after refuel petrol or tapao time.

This round is like 1 second no power to crank, after that back to normal & is powerful as my battery is new. That's why hold me not to replace my starter yet. hmm.gif
dannyw
post Aug 24 2022, 05:03 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(McFcker @ Aug 24 2022, 04:47 PM)
yeah, once crank it start few second then slowly macam dying ada engine light then mati liao need to recrank then back to normal.
This not seems like Starter. Fuel pump or Spark plug? See any expert answer here.
dannyw
post Aug 24 2022, 07:54 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(stupidcar @ Aug 24 2022, 05:18 PM)
If the starter doesnt crank i just whack with hammer. 10 years i figure just change it
How you do it? Can do alone? Open up the bonnet can easily reach?

Need to learn or emergency.
dannyw
post Jan 9 2023, 12:09 PM

1,286 posts

Guys, may I know what sound is that? Only happened when cold start after gear engaged. After drive won't notice at all.

https://streamable.com/sscioh
dannyw
post Jan 9 2023, 12:47 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Jan 9 2023, 12:22 PM)
Never heard of such sound before. Better let yr foreman check.
Thanks. Problem is, when i drive out, before reach junction already can't hear. That's why can't show to foreman.
I did suspect water pump bearing or tensional, but during last few months changing timing belt all no problem. But this sound is there been years already, just last few day a bit loud, today seems normal. (Means if close door and window is up almost won't notice.)
dannyw
post Jan 9 2023, 03:28 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jan 9 2023, 02:09 PM)
After you open engine hood can you locate the sound origin?
No chance to do so, as i need to move gear to D only can hear, once move to N, can't hear. So I need another person to help me identify and need cold start. doh.gif

If not serious, i will just leave it as so many years is there. My last change timing belt not changing water pump, that's why make me suspect is that the issue or not?
dannyw
post Jan 9 2023, 07:58 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jan 9 2023, 06:11 PM)
Sounds like mounting problem to me. Or worse, gearbox?
Possible. As 1 of the day inside the lift i hear the exact sound. Lol
Mounting quite sometime already. 12 years, change once only. Gearbox also another issue. I notice if i not drive my car for more than 2 days, when first shift gear can hear the buzzing sound for 1 to 2 seconds. After that everything normal, no problem on auto shift gear. If drive everyday no such symptoms. So maybe gearbox also no good already. All these while only use and change at SC, but they use 4 bottles, maybe not enough. They only fill in all, never check the level.

dannyw
post Mar 29 2023, 03:50 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 14 2021, 11:38 AM)
tensioner vibration. just noise, doesn't feel anything weird inside. already replaced engine mounts. happens when in D, idling at a stop. i think most likely caused by lower RPM when idle in D gear. it's annoying.
Bro, may i know is your problem solved? I have similar symptom, but different is switch on aircon no weird noise.

Very obvious at morning cold start after gear engaged D, but when press the gas, sound gone, switch on headlight sound also gone. So is only can hear when drive with D, no press on pedal time can hear.
dannyw
post Mar 31 2023, 11:27 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Mar 29 2023, 10:17 PM)
depends on the workshop if they got wiring guy. but i think most power window problem should be easy enough can go anywhere. accessories shop also can.
i replaced the alternator overrunning alternator pulley. cost like around 100. upah workshop should be another 70. 

also good idea to replace the tensioner too. insist on proton original tensioner. the original should cost around 300++ right now. proton no longer make tensioner with metal roller, only plastic roller. tried various aftermarket tensioners, they all are no good.
There is 2 tensioner for our car, right? 1 is at timing belt, another is at outer part. I remember one pulley (like roller) replace during changing timing belt at Proton SC.

Just I'm not sure now is the fan belt tensioner or, alternator pulley or water pump. Not easy to identify.
dannyw
post Apr 12 2023, 10:17 AM

1,286 posts

Thanks for few members here advice. I have replace the Thermostat due to fan spin longer than usual. Started last year, after change the fan motor, ok for few months, then like back again.

My Thermostat also take few days to be optimum. After change immediately can feel the fan spin shorter time, then few days later getting better, less and less spin, and spin shorter time too.

Now notice cold start drive rpm drop until vibrate quite bad. This week slightly better. Is it ECU adjust & learning? No problem before change.
dannyw
post Apr 12 2023, 05:18 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Apr 12 2023, 01:29 PM)
Not sure whether is related to your issue or not. There's 2 spec of thermostat for campro in market. If not mistaken one is 78°C and another is 84°C. If you installed the one with higher opening temperature, i imagine your fan will run longer to dissipate heat between each thermostat open-close cycle. The changes in your fan behavior might warrant a coolant level check, water pump check or radiator efficiency check.

However this doesn't explain your cold start issue. Have you taken a look at your throttle body and consider a cleaning of it?

On the side note, there is a user in Facebook that run his Gen2/Persona without thermostat. But would this contribute long term damage to engine due to non optimum engine temperature remains unknown.
My is 78°C which claimed as Original from Proton, but i do notice the washer is not. RM5 for that.

Now the fan behavior is back to normal. I even notice spin also not that loud, compared to before is like full speed.

Ya, cold start drive issue normally is throttle body. I've clean it 2 years ago, just wonder why before i change thermostat no such issue, after change only obvious? hmm.gif
Or due to during change take out the intake filter let it run and naked cause the dirt in? But is just for 10 ~ 15 minutes only, shouldn't be an issue.

Anyway, I will monitor first. As purposely sent to clean will cost another RM100 cry.gif
dannyw
post Apr 12 2023, 07:36 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Apr 12 2023, 07:27 PM)
If your fan hasn't been changed for some time, maybe it's fan motor. Average lifespan is 5 years. Just keep close monitor on temperature gauge will do.

I clean my own throttle body. Not very difficult after 2 times of practice. Tricky part is the connector. Need to push in, pull clip, then only can pull out to remove. The rest is 10mm bolts, 1 vacuum line, intake cover and one can of carburetor cleaner from Mr DIY. All the best.
Fan motor changed last year. Is 12 years car, so the motor last for 11 years. But mileage is about 150k. In fact when the fan keep spinning issue, temperature still remain the same. But not feel good as i have to keep monitor it worry will go higher.

Wow, you DIY? Lot of people warn for touching the butterfly. Normally i during major service at SC ask them clean up for me, that also is outside only, they also worry to take out. But can feel the different already.
dannyw
post May 16 2023, 09:11 AM

1,286 posts

Guys, besides the oil filter leaking, is the oil sump gasket consider serious?

My last replace was 2015. Now have some burning smell after stop the engine.
dannyw
post May 17 2023, 10:28 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ May 17 2023, 09:49 AM)
Would be accurate if you clean all the leaks and access the leaks severity from clean state?
True. Just a bit challenge for me to clean without jack the car up. Will try it see spray some water work or not?
dannyw
post May 17 2023, 08:49 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 17 2023, 06:04 PM)
Your photo where got oil leaking? My drain plug dripping few years every time squat down can obviously see the oil droplet, recently baru change.
Right side on the photo joining, all the black powder stain not cause of oil leak? Based on my last year photo, front side also have black powder, behind seems clean. At least been a year or more, that's why if not serious i will just leave it.

Reason being is i schedule back to Proton SC for major service this month end, just want to get original atf oil, spark plug, fuel filter & etc. So thinking want to do together or not?

Btw, the oil filter leak no issue on driving on highway, right? Few days a small drop.
dannyw
post May 17 2023, 08:51 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(potatocam @ May 17 2023, 06:57 PM)
Hi all, just now on the way back from work, i noticed my car temp go up until almost to the max during idle/stuck at traffic jam and traffic light.
But when the car moves, it dropped back to the normal level (centre) almost immediately.
Then when the car stopped again at traffic light, the meter goes up slowly and drop down again when moving.

Stopped the car, open bonnet, see no leak whatsoever, no smoke/burn smell, the fan was spinning.
Last CNY, already changed to new water pump + timing belt set, which also change the coolant.

Was the problem related to termostat or others?  hmm.gif Also the car is 15 years old.
Another possibility is fan motor. I changed my last year. Fan start weak or no spin already, when you drive, the wind cool down the radiator so it drop back.

I changed my thermostat not long ago..

dannyw
post May 18 2023, 08:21 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 17 2023, 11:50 PM)
Maybe old stain, will need to clean it with detergent or degreaser then monitor.

Last time mine dripping like that, few years frequent monitor oil level also no obvious drop.
Yours not from the screw nut? It happens once on me, after service few months, leaks on the nut side.

My looks black from the upper part (near dip stick area). Wipe with tissue is oil stain, but not looks like fresh leak as my oil filter. Hope is not something else.

dannyw
post May 29 2023, 03:50 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ May 19 2023, 02:43 PM)
Can try carburetor cleaner. Remember to put old newspaper below to catch the drip after you spray.

If really it's the dipstick housing, then it's a cheap fix. Just pull it out after unscrew the anchor and replace the O Ring.
Is my dipstick too close to the hose? Proton took out clean it and apply some glue on it.

I worry to close when engine vibrate will cause the hose leak.

dannyw
post May 30 2023, 02:29 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ May 30 2023, 10:52 AM)
Yeah it's a bit too close to be comfortable. Mine is a bit further away from hose. I suppose when your engine is cold you can always loosen the bracket screw and adjust the position, then tighten it back. Just don't force it too much else the glue give away. By the way i thought it would be easier just to change the o-ring?
Thanks, bro. Unfortunately Proton do not have just O-ring, that's why either glue or change the whole set.

Anyway, i have change the o-ring outside and ask them to move away from the hose. I notice they roll with white tape even after replace the o-ring. They say without the white tape won't last long.

dannyw
post May 31 2023, 11:11 AM

1,286 posts

How about radiator cap? Necessary to use back original or any OEM will do?

I notice if I touch on the cap sticker, little coolant will leak out. But if i clean it, remain untouch, no leak at all. Normal? or about time to change as well. Actually like this been quite long already.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0608sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:38 AM