Anyone tried to oc trident Z royal 32gb cl16 3200mhz kit?
Using x570 aorus pro wifi
This post has been edited by NoobboyZzZ: Dec 31 2020, 12:09 PM
AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...
Dec 31 2020, 12:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
317 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: cheras |
Anyone tried to oc trident Z royal 32gb cl16 3200mhz kit?
Using x570 aorus pro wifi This post has been edited by NoobboyZzZ: Dec 31 2020, 12:09 PM |
Jan 4 2021, 10:29 PM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
die, perfect. die
QUOTE(NoobboyZzZ @ Dec 31 2020, 12:09 PM) try to use thaiphoon burner to check what chipset being used. if u get cfr/cfr is not bad, but if u get micron e-die it would be perfect. both capable of 3600mhz (so called ideal frequency for ryzen) but edie offers better timing & possibly performance due to lower latency. i might be wrong though. This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 4 2021, 10:29 PM |
Jan 5 2021, 06:40 PM
398 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
For those who asked about DJR results (Klevv Bolt XR 32GB (2x16GB) 3600). For my own convenience I tested with a Renoir APU.
This is my first DJR kit. I have 1 more laying around which will be tested later on. Don't bother about latency too much, this is due to the utilization of the Vega Cores. 1) Hynix DJR DR 32GB fine tuned 1:1:1 4000 ![]() 2) Hynix DJR DR 32GB transferred 4000 timings (adjusted primaries and tRFC) 1:1:1 3800 ![]() 3) Micron Rev. E DR 32GB fine tuned 1:1:1 3800 for direct comparison ![]() As you can tell this DJR kit is slightly better than average Rev. E kit. For now I'd still prefer Rev. E though as they are 1) pretty easy to OC 2) they hardly make any issues on XMP (the DJR kit failed to boot on XMP) 3) there is little variation between kits For those who know what they are doing DJR seems to be worth a shot especially if priced at RM600 which imho is a steal. Even cheaper than Rev. E kits (which unfortunately are not available in exclusive kits in Malaysia). Disclaimer: Technically Klevv could change the IC's of this kit at any time since the timings 18-22-22 @1.35V would allow quite some IC's to be used. So no guarantees from my side ESPECIALLY as they chose to ignore my email inquiry on this that I sent 2 weeks ago. So don't expect good service from them either. Oh and just before some get too much into comparing Aida64 numbers... don't compare between different rigs. It depends quite a bit on clock and cache, and it's quite easy to cheat here n there have a look at the read ![]() This post has been edited by nrw: Jan 5 2021, 06:51 PM |
Jan 18 2021, 08:26 AM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
Is there any AGESA version requirement to push RAM above 3733?
Using an Asrock Phantom Gaming ITX + 5800X on the latest BIOS, I can get relatively low timings on 3733 but the board always fails to POST at 3800. Doubt it's the RAM sticks as I'm using Crucial Ballistix 3200C16, these should be able to handle anything on Ryzen at 1:1 with IF clock. This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jan 18 2021, 08:27 AM |
Jan 21 2021, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 18 2021, 08:26 AM) Is there any AGESA version requirement to push RAM above 3733? Ah you'd have better asked in AMD Ryzen. Didn't see this here.Using an Asrock Phantom Gaming ITX + 5800X on the latest BIOS, I can get relatively low timings on 3733 but the board always fails to POST at 3800. Doubt it's the RAM sticks as I'm using Crucial Ballistix 3200C16, these should be able to handle anything on Ryzen at 1:1 with IF clock. Try the latest Beta BIOS and the latest 'final release'. Lets say you don't touch ram and let it default to 2667/2400 will the PC boot with IF set to 1900? Basically there could be a few things you could try to do. You could try different VSoC voltages between 1.075 and 1.125V. Then since you have an 5800x you'd want to set VDDG CCD to something between 0.950 and 0.975V (if you have 2 ccd's can try adding another 0.05 to the max end but that's irrelevant for your 5800x) VDDG IOD you'll have to set to 0.950-0.975V (sometimes up to 1.050V can work as a failsave or if ram got a2/b2 pcb (which you do not)) VDDP (unrelated to IF as this is the physical layer from IOD to DDR) should work at 0.900V. Don't set this too high. You can try to adjust this +-0.015 but usually thats not necessary at these RAM speeds. This post has been edited by nrw: Jan 21 2021, 06:22 PM yimingwuzere liked this post
Jan 21 2021, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Jan 21 2021, 06:21 PM) Ah you'd have better asked in AMD Ryzen. Didn't see this here. Haven't tried booting with RAM at 2666 JEDEC specs with IF at 1900.Try the latest Beta BIOS and the latest 'final release'. Lets say you don't touch ram and let it default to 2667/2400 will the PC boot with IF set to 1900? Basically there could be a few things you could try to do. You could try different VSoC voltages between 1.075 and 1.125V. Then since you have an 5800x you'd want to set VDDG CCD to something between 0.950 and 0.975V (if you have 2 ccd's can try adding another 0.05 to the max end but that's irrelevant for your 5800x) VDDG IOD you'll have to set to 0.950-0.975V (sometimes up to 1.050V can work as a failsave or if ram got a2/b2 pcb (which you do not)) VDDP (unrelated to IF as this is the physical layer from IOD to DDR) should work at 0.900V. Don't set this too high. You can try to adjust this +-0.015 but usually thats not necessary at these RAM speeds. I did try several attempts with the following voltages and very loose timings on 3800: Vsoc 1.12V VDDP 1.05V CCD + IOD 1.05V Only once did it manage to "boot" into Windows, and crashed shortly after. 3733 so far worked on 1.35V DRAM, 0.9 VDDP, 0.95V CCD+IOD - haven't tried running with lower voltages yet. Edit: left RAM at 2666 JEDEC specs and tried booting with 1900 IF clock - that worked! Going to try and push RAM to that speeds now. This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jan 21 2021, 07:41 PM |
Jan 21 2021, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 21 2021, 07:26 PM) [...] make sure work out the voltages you need for your IF to do 1900 stable first.Edit: left RAM at 2666 JEDEC specs and tried booting with 1900 IF clock - that worked! Going to try and push RAM to that speeds now. after that you do ram. perhaps you didn't set procotd, rtt's, cad's last time? could be the board setting something wrong there on default ProcODT 32-36.9 should be your range, 32 will do for 99%. RTT's (nom, wr, park) are 0,0,5 for 2*8GB and 0,3,1 for 2*16GB (with higher frequencies you might wanna try 7,3,1 or 5,3,1 as well. CAD's all four to 24 (for 0,0,5 or 0,3,1 respectively)... E-Dies are super simple with that. This post has been edited by nrw: Jan 21 2021, 08:01 PM |
Jan 21 2021, 08:06 PM
1,392 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Sungai Petani |
Is it okay to ask if anyone overclock their XLR8 Gaming EPIC-X RGB DDR4 3200MHz? Would love to see your settings.
Jan 21 2021, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Jan 21 2021, 08:00 PM) make sure work out the voltages you need for your IF to do 1900 stable first. I remembered setting for all these values. Weirdly had stability issues booting Windows then.after that you do ram. perhaps you didn't set procotd, rtt's, cad's last time? could be the board setting something wrong there on default ProcODT 32-36.9 should be your range, 32 will do for 99%. RTT's (nom, wr, park) are 0,0,5 for 2*8GB and 0,3,1 for 2*16GB (with higher frequencies you might wanna try 7,3,1 or 5,3,1 as well. CAD's all four to 24 (for 0,0,5 or 0,3,1 respectively)... E-Dies are super simple with that. I've gonna try Ryzen DRAM Calculator safe 3800 values and tightening voltages down from there. Edit: results so far. 3733 RAM CL16 @ 1.35V + 1866 IF Clock - passes TM5 anta777 extreme config 2666 RAM + 1900 IF Clock - passes TM5 anta config 2666 RAM + 1933 IF Clock - fails to POST 3800 RAM with DRAM Calc safe timings + 1900 IF Clock - crashes half the time when Windows boots, or reboots shortly after starting TM5 3800 RAM with DRAM Calc safe timings for bad bins + 1900 IF Clock - same as above 3800 RAM with DRAM Calc safe timings for bad bins + 1800 IF Clock - passes TM5 anta config 3800 RAM with DRAM Calc safe timings for bad bins + 1866 IF Clock - passes TM5 anta config This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jan 22 2021, 08:39 AM |
Jan 21 2021, 09:30 PM
Jan 22 2021, 04:00 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 21 2021, 09:30 PM) Its micron memoryPrepared by Thaiphoon Burner Super Blaster ------------------------------------------------------------- MEMORY MODULE ------------------------------------------------------------- Manufacturer : PNY Electronics Series : Not determined Part Number : 16GF2X08QFHH36-135-K Serial Number : Undefined JEDEC DIMM Label : 16GB 2Rx8 PC4-2666V-UB0-11 Architecture : DDR4 SDRAM UDIMM Speed Grade : DDR4-2666V downbin Capacity : 16 GB (16 components) Organization : 2048M x64 (2 ranks) Register Manufacturer : N/A Register Model : N/A Manufacturing Date : Undefined Manufacturing Location : Unknown: 00h Revision / Raw Card : 0000h / B0 (8 layers) ------------------------------------------------------------- DRAM COMPONENTS ------------------------------------------------------------- Manufacturer : Undefined Part Number : Not determined Package : Standard Monolithic 78-ball FBGA Die Density / Count : 8 Gb / 1 die Composition : 1024Mb x8 (64Mb x8 x 16 banks) Input Clock Frequency : 1333 MHz (0.750 ns) Minimum Timing Delays : 19-19-19-43-61 Read Latencies Supported : 20T, 19T, 18T, 17T, 16T, 15T, 14T... Supply Voltage : 1.20 V XMP Certified : 1600 MHz / 16-18-18-36-56 / 1.35 V XMP Extreme : Not programmed SPD Revision : 1.1 / September 2015 XMP Revision : 2.0 / December 2013 ------------------------------------------------------------- SOURCE SPD DUMP ------------------------------------------------------------- 000 23 11 0C 02 85 21 00 08 00 40 00 03 09 03 00 00 010 00 00 06 0D F8 3F 00 00 6E 6E 6E 11 00 6E F0 0A 020 20 08 00 05 00 A8 18 28 28 00 78 00 14 3C 00 00 030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 16 36 16 36 040 16 36 16 36 00 00 2B 0C 2B 0C 2B 0C 2B 0C 00 00 050 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 060 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 070 00 00 00 00 00 00 9C 00 00 00 00 00 E7 00 09 9A 080 11 11 01 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 090 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0A0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 DE 27 100 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 110 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 120 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 130 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 140 01 BA 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 31 36 47 46 32 58 30 150 38 51 46 48 48 33 36 2D 31 33 35 2D 4B 00 00 00 160 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 170 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 180 0C 4A 05 20 0F 00 00 00 00 A3 00 00 05 00 02 00 190 00 50 5A 5A 10 B4 18 F0 0A 20 08 00 05 00 C0 1C 1A0 28 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1F0 A1 02 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 |
Jan 22 2021, 08:38 AM
Jan 22 2021, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 22 2021, 08:38 AM) Try using the safe 3733 values in Ryzen DRAM Calculator for Micron revE, if that works maybe shoot for 3800, then tighten timings and reduce voltages. Thanks for this, will try it.Btw, how do you know it's rev E? This post has been edited by nyunyu: Jan 22 2021, 09:41 AM |
Jan 22 2021, 10:07 AM
yimingwuzere If 3800 ram is working with a lower IF then the problem is not the ram. So you'd have to see if you can tweak voltages as above so you hit the sweet spot and it might start working. But tbh... at the rate they release new BIOS' (and each of them can change the voltage required theoretically, happened with zen2 quite a bit) ... just run 3733 1:1:1 call it a day and update BIOS mid 2021 n try again then. Differences super marginal anyways. yimingwuzere liked this post
Jan 22 2021, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Jan 22 2021, 10:07 AM) yimingwuzere I've tried the max values for voltages suggested by Ryzen DRAM Calculator:If 3800 ram is working with a lower IF then the problem is not the ram. So you'd have to see if you can tweak voltages as above so you hit the sweet spot and it might start working. But tbh... at the rate they release new BIOS' (and each of them can change the voltage required theoretically, happened with zen2 quite a bit) ... just run 3733 1:1:1 call it a day and update BIOS mid 2021 n try again then. Differences super marginal anyways. Vsoc 1.12V (my mobo won't accept 1.125V) VDDP 1.05V CCD + IOD 1.05V Yup I know the differences is marginal and timings will influence gaming results more anyway, but doesn't hurt to try going for RAM testing - far easier than finding the sweet spot with PBO curve optimizer at a per-core basis. Speaking of PBO Curve Optimizer, what would be the most reliable way to run a stability test for each core? Cinebench seems to be able to root out errors faster than Prime95 for me if it's very unstable, but Prime95 can cause per-core failures or system restarts after 12+ hours running when it passes an hour of Cinebench MT testing. Cinebench doesn't play well with 1T benchmarks and Core Affinity either. |
Jan 22 2021, 02:31 PM
You should really not put too much trust into the ryzen timing'calc'. It's not a real calculator as such and hence most of the values proposed are quite shitty. I think I have described that part up there well enough. More than often less voltage is better for stability. You will always have a window where everything will be working smooth. And based on alot variables this can be large, small or simply non existent. This post has been edited by nrw: Jan 22 2021, 02:32 PM yimingwuzere liked this post
Jan 22 2021, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Jan 22 2021, 02:31 PM) You should really not put too much trust into the ryzen timing'calc'. Oh I know that calc is only good as a starting point and not the end goal - voltages definitely need to be dropped a bit lower than the suggested values there since it's rather lax, and timings can be tightened further.It's not a real calculator as such and hence most of the values proposed are quite shitty. I think I have described that part up there well enough. More than often less voltage is better for stability. You will always have a window where everything will be working smooth. And based on alot variables this can be large, small or simply non existent. Only things I haven't tried yet is adjusting RTTs and CADs - so far only tried 0/3/1 RTT and 60/20/20/24 + all 24 respectively. Will do that once I'm done with work for today. Edit: 3800 still no dice with coupled IF/uncore/DRAM after tweaking procODT/RTT/DrvStr. What's the likelihood of this being a BIOS issue vs a CPU issue? This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jan 23 2021, 06:32 PM |
Jan 31 2021, 08:15 AM
442 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Segamat--Nilai |
Hi guys,
Just rejoined AMD club after more than a decade lol. Since I'm on stock cooler, not messing with the cpu freqs, just adjusted the curve optimizer per core. Waiting for my waterblock to arrive hehe IF wise, I can go only up to 1866Mhz. Tried every VSOC and both VDDG possible ranges and still cant post at 1900Mhz. Prolly have to wait on any new bios updates for my B550i AX. RAM wise, I'm using 2x16GB of Corsair LPX rev 3.44. Thaiphoon indicated Micron Rev B 16Gb chips and there's no starting point available in the DRAM Calc for the target freq (3733Mhz since my IF can only max at 1866Mhz). So while keeping the VDIMM at 1.35v, VSOC at 1.1v, both VDDG at 0.95v and VDDP at 0.9v, I did the old skool way. Tighten the each timings to get the lowest possible POST, MemTest86 1pass to find errors, if get errors than back up one bit, then rinse and repeat for each. This is what I get, tested via the bootable Memtest86 standard 4 passes. I guess this good enough? Wondering if I can do something with the resistance stuff (ProcODT & DriveStrengths) to get better primaries, 18-21-17-33 looks weird, but hey it works This post has been edited by x800: Jan 31 2021, 08:16 AM |
Jan 31 2021, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(x800 @ Jan 31 2021, 08:15 AM) Hi guys, Your kit looks like single rank, should be marginally easier to clock to 1900.Just rejoined AMD club after more than a decade lol. Since I'm on stock cooler, not messing with the cpu freqs, just adjusted the curve optimizer per core. Waiting for my waterblock to arrive hehe IF wise, I can go only up to 1866Mhz. Tried every VSOC and both VDDG possible ranges and still cant post at 1900Mhz. Prolly have to wait on any new bios updates for my B550i AX. RAM wise, I'm using 2x16GB of Corsair LPX rev 3.44. Thaiphoon indicated Micron Rev B 16Gb chips and there's no starting point available in the DRAM Calc for the target freq (3733Mhz since my IF can only max at 1866Mhz). So while keeping the VDIMM at 1.35v, VSOC at 1.1v, both VDDG at 0.95v and VDDP at 0.9v, I did the old skool way. Tighten the each timings to get the lowest possible POST, MemTest86 1pass to find errors, if get errors than back up one bit, then rinse and repeat for each. This is what I get, tested via the bootable Memtest86 standard 4 passes. I guess this good enough? Wondering if I can do something with the resistance stuff (ProcODT & DriveStrengths) to get better primaries, 18-21-17-33 looks weird, but hey it works I managed to get my system to run stable with either 3800 RAM in decoupled mode or 1900 IF clock, but not both together. My results: https://pictr.com/images/2021/01/29/7egxPj.png 1.36V VDIMM 1.05V VSOC 0.9V VDDP 0.95 VDDG This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jan 31 2021, 12:46 PM |
Jan 31 2021, 01:07 PM
442 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Segamat--Nilai |
Yup its SR (16Gb dies for a 2x16kit).
I can't post at 1900Mhz FCLK, but 1933Mhz posts fine with 25mv higher VSOC and VDDG (at 1.125v and 0.975v respectively). 1966Mhz or 2000Mhz also wont post with whatever VSOC and VDDG I give. I'll prolly redo the RAM timings all over again for 3866 to match 1933 FCLK this coming week. Edit: 1933fclk gave WHEA errors in Hwinfo, with whatever voltages. Gonna stop at 1866fclk now This post has been edited by x800: Jan 31 2021, 03:46 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:37 AM |