20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

TSfairylord
post Sep 21 2018, 10:32 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Sep 21 2018, 10:27 AM)
2 failed top ups also cannot be happy with the system, your team must ensure zero failure rather than lower rate.
Haha, not too harsh, nothing it's perfect which bring business opportunities, otherwise there will be no competitor, meaning no further improvement or upgrading as no feedback to receive.

TSfairylord
post Sep 21 2018, 08:30 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 21 2018, 08:27 PM)
Bigpay uses Cirrus (Mastercard) ATM network, not MEPS. You need to withdraw cash from a ATM showing Cirrus logo.
Oh, really...Need to add this unique info in post #01 then.

TSfairylord
post Sep 26 2018, 12:24 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(mojo86 @ Sep 22 2018, 10:55 AM)
What is happening on the 27th?  blink.gif
Please find the information in post #02.

But i'm not certain if those yet and wish filling up the express interest form to participate to the event will still trigger BP to send you the mentioned email with a url link to confirm your attendance on 27th. May be BigPayJonathan mind to answer how one who have not receive and wish to receive your email to participate and confirm their attendance.

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 22 2018, 01:00 PM)
There is a common thread which caters for credit card and debit card in general.
Let other products be announced in that area. There are reasons we have specific threads for specific products and we also have a common thread for just about everything else.

If I allow wanton announcements/topic contamination (without any relevancy) for everything then might as well we disband BP thread (along with other threads) and lump everything in 1 thread to discuss everything.  Folks ... that won't work right ?

The origin of this section materialised when everyone started getting organised on the contents for credit cards discussion. It is a chaotic situation before this organisation came into effect.
It is the nature of BP product itself - it is Mastercard affiliated thus the withdrawal is via Cirrus network. Same reason if you use your Mastercard cc overseas then you need to look for a Cirrus supported ATM. You definitely can't find a MEPS all over the world. (I think David83 stated this better in the next post)
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 22 2018, 01:00 PM)
Because MasterCard is not Malaysian company.
MEPS is from Malaysian company for local banks to integrate together in the network.

Mastercard ---> Cirrus
Visa ---> Plus
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 22 2018, 01:26 PM)
You are confused. The ATM will choose a network, local ATM card will use MEPS channel, MasterCard use Cirrus, Visa use Plus, Singapore ATM card use NETS, China ATM card use Unionpay etc.
Both Bigpay and CIMB-Lazada prepaid MC uses Cirrus, the charge is higher than MEPS (RM1/4).
Thanks for crystallize the information.

TSfairylord
post Sep 28 2018, 12:32 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Sep 26 2018, 02:56 PM)
People expect me to give a black & white answer, with clear amounts and frequency, when there aren't two cases that are the same. Things might look similar from a back-end perspective, but then the reality would be completely different.

Imagine if you had friends from overseas visiting you in Malaysia, and one of their kids had a sudden health emergency. Some hospitals won't even treat you unless you pay money upfront, and that can be quite a lot. Insurance will reimburse, but not put money upfront. In order to save some dough, you guys decide that they're going to use their home credit card to top up your BigPay and that you're going to take out the cash at a local ATM. After calculations, it's still a lot cheaper than paying for foreign exchange and mark-up fees and ATM fees...

For a few days in a row, you might have high amounts being topped up from a CC that doesn't even belong to the BigPay account owner with immediate ATM withdrawals. On paper, could that look like a stolen CC being used to take out cash? Potentially.

But the reality is different. That's why our team will always call you first if there's anything that might trigger our system.

It's not that I'm avoiding the topic. It's just that there's no clear-cut answer.
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 26 2018, 05:25 PM)
Thanks for this. Much clearer when you state, in essence, that "case-by-case evaluation". Mostly helpful to point out to the kiasu ones here who keep warning of sudden banning of cards if users don't follow some line they imagine exists in the BigPay sand.

OP, could we link this post in post 1?
Will add to post #01 in related FAQ - Q4 : Can I reload BigPay with other's credit card?

QUOTE(mhspeng @ Sep 27 2018, 09:47 AM)
But i'm looking at my statement for HSBC VS now, i didnt get any 5x points. only 1x points.
Really? Any other users have similar case?
TSfairylord
post Sep 28 2018, 12:53 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 27 2018, 01:52 PM)
yes, wave-enabled.

1st use must be pin-based, then your wave would be "enabled".
Adding the Paywave and the info mentioned to Card Benfits in post #01 too.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 27 2018, 03:04 PM)
the "source lost" is here  biggrin.gif

Thanks a lot bro.

QUOTE(skty @ Sep 27 2018, 04:04 PM)
Wow. Wasting my time to read through all those posts that keep repeating again and again the same content over the last few months.

My own fault tho because I decided to keep reading and hoping someone shared something useful.

Never ending discussion of something that nobody other than BigPay can confirm. All are just one’s opinion, theory, idea, assumption, that are based no fact. I really lazy to comment further.
Hmm...good on you, but as a TS, i have committed.
Hopefully i have updated the post #01 complete enough to help all especially the newcomer.

Thanks for all supports.

TSfairylord
post Sep 28 2018, 01:14 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Sep 28 2018, 01:10 PM)
New Update rclxms.gif

Thanks for the update, for iOS only, let's wait for Android too thumbup.gif
TSfairylord
post Sep 30 2018, 08:39 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Sep 28 2018, 09:36 PM)
At 1st post say BP can't use at car workshop, is it only for AMbank terminal?
Have anyone success use it?
Tmr i will try and gv u guys some update.
I think you have tried and tested, actually the info in post #01 is referring to that particular merchant (car repair shop) and the rejection will be most likely due to the terminal and recorded the terminal used was from AmBank, but the actual reason unsure.

If any not applicable merchant list in post #0 retested and BP acceptable, will update the latest. So, buddies, please try if you don't mind and feedback us although they are listed there.

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 29 2018, 08:22 AM)
There are 3 types now: Credit Card, Debit Card, and Prepaid Card (which is quite new to many people)
Educate your friends with this video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZuhQqSlhJA

Your friend reject Credit Card as he will pay 0.931% to his bank, but only 0.21% or (MYR 0.70 + 0.01%)
(whichever is lower) for Debit Card or Prepaid Card transactions. Please show the following table to your friends...
https://www.mastercard.com.my/en-my/about-m...nterchange.html

You can find out the card type and issuer...
https://www.bincodes.com/bin-checker/
For Bigpay - 559998.

The terminal/merchant should know after checking the BIN, ie the first 6 digits of the card.
Thanks mate for the details info. Will add to post #01.
My shop terminal from alliance bank indeed charging 0.7% on debit, cc 1.3%, can't remember if prepaid in the MDR schedule (may be I should try and see the daily statement of charging) and encourage customer to use BP if free or lowest charges applied.

TSfairylord
post Oct 2 2018, 02:40 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(blacks8 @ Oct 2 2018, 02:33 PM)
Today when trying to make a payment for Movies in GSC apps. Its end up error. Check my BP balance 29.00. Payment amt is 21.00. Done top up in BP and redo payment to GSC. Its success. Is there any minimum balance to maintain in BP?
May be just real-time error, whats the error prompt out on terminal screen?
TSfairylord
post Oct 3 2018, 11:07 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(boyslikeboys @ Oct 3 2018, 11:05 AM)
i signed up yesterday will i be getting contactless card ?
New applicant all get contactless feature.

So no worry
TSfairylord
post Oct 3 2018, 12:43 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

It would be better feel if the referral commission were to made slightly better for these 2 referral invitations required to exchange for free contactless card, at least cover the window period while old BP card is blocked in the midst of waiting for new BP card.

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Oct 3 2018, 12:42 PM)
Just tried to use my BigPay card in T&G kiosk at Bangsar South and it was successful to reload.
So, its great if all TnG kiosk accept BP. thumbup.gif
Anyone keen to try kiosk located in other place icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by fairylord: Oct 3 2018, 12:45 PM
TSfairylord
post Oct 4 2018, 03:04 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Naruhito @ Oct 4 2018, 02:22 PM)
Hi everyone,

I just made payment in foreign currency through internet.

However, I was informed by BigPay that regardless if it is local or overseas spending, for every RM20 spent, you will only get 1 point.

Please take note.
Yup, thanks for reconfirmation. As informed, the RM2=1 points for oversea usage was wrong information given officially. That feature is only for previous version known as BigPrepaid MasterCard which was not brought over to BigPay.

QUOTE(laith @ Oct 4 2018, 02:28 PM)
Which CC has the highest cashback with the lowest top-up into BP?
Assuming you are low amount user and aiming for highest cashback in terms of %.
Use PBB QV top up on Monday RM480 for the promo while it lasts which would gain you approx 15% of CB.

You can search the post by Ramjade.

TSfairylord
post Oct 5 2018, 09:58 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 5 2018, 08:57 AM)
Have anyone withdraw using BigPay in Japan before? I’m heading there and just wanna change a very minimal amount here and withdraw there for a better exchange rate.

But I worry that suddenly cannot work or some ATM makan the card then I’m doomed for the trip.
Hi, there are few forumers have been using BP in Jpn, but unsure if they had make any withdrawal via ATM. May be you can check with them. I remember there was a member mentioned most of the place need no pin and there was a place reject the card.

Search the keyword of "japan"..

Enjoy your trip.

Mind to share your findings and experience of BP (where are not accepted, swipe/wave) and ATM withdrawal (max amount withdrawal, any fees, which bank ATM) after back from great trip. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by fairylord: Oct 5 2018, 10:00 AM
TSfairylord
post Oct 5 2018, 11:27 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Oct 5 2018, 01:22 AM)
You could always check the rates on the MasterCard website (put 0% as merchant fee) and you'll get the final amount. Do take note that certain ATM charges an additional fee for overseas card withdrawal on top of bigpay's rm10.

For example, I'm currently withdrawing money from bigpay every month in USA to pay my rent(I have someone in Malaysia to topup to my bigpay card in Malaysia). I am charged additional $3 USD by the bank on top of rm10 charged by bigpay so it will end up around additional ~rm23 charge per withdrawal and there's a limit of $500 per withdrawal. Hence the final exchange rate is about rm4.182/USD on 2nd oct ( rm2091 / usd500). However, the rate is still cheaper than having to transfer from Maybank2u/cimb to a local bank account via FTT (last checked, Maybank2u rate was 4.196 and cimbclicks 4.22x)
hi bbhing98,

What bank the ATM you withdraw belongs to?
Is all ATM in US having limit of dispense capped at USD $500 per withdrawal?
Is the USD $3 fee also fixed for all ATM in US for oversea card withdrawal?

Thanks for the information, will be posted on #01.

TSfairylord
post Oct 5 2018, 01:26 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(kremlin @ Oct 5 2018, 11:48 AM)
Will definitely share coz I will be going places that accept credit card. Withdrawal, it is for emergency but I think I will try HSBC bank there.
QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 5 2018, 12:25 PM)
I'll be bringing few CCs and Debit Card for backup but wanting to take advantage of the rates. Money changer rates here nowhere near as attractive.

Can't find anybody who withdrew in Japan. But i'll sure update once I am back end of the month.
Thanks in advance for sharing thumbup.gif
TSfairylord
post Oct 6 2018, 08:55 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Oct 6 2018, 01:04 AM)
Not all bank charges the same rate for cash withdrawal for overseas card.
I'm using ATM from PNC bank, and it charges $3 PER WITHDRAWAL on top of rm10 charged by bigpay, and maximum amount per withdrawal is $500.
I tried another ATM from Clear Mountain Bank, it charges $3.50 PER WITHDRAWAL + RM10 by bigpay, max amount per withdrawal is $400.
Havent try any other bank other than the two mentioned

for day to day usage in USA, i always use my card to swipe for the best rate, unless i have to withdraw cash to pay for something(the conversion rate becomes higher after considering all the additional charges).
99.9% of the shops/grocery store/mall accepts card payment
i believe the fluctuation of forex rate is minimal and negligible lol. you only refer to that rate to get an approximate amount charged after conversion
Thanks for the information, unless you need cash, otherwise swipe/wave is always much "cheaper" way to spend.

For withdrawal, the highest the amount withdrawn the lesser the cost averagely.

TSfairylord
post Oct 7 2018, 11:19 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Oct 6 2018, 03:00 PM)
yeah all my purchases at Tokyo using BP went smoothly except Don Quijote (all branches). my friend tried withdraw at local ATM, merely charged RM10 only.  rclxms.gif
any information could get from your friend in regards to which ATM (which bank) and how much max limit of of withdrawal once?

Thanks notworthy.gif
TSfairylord
post Oct 7 2018, 01:05 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Oct 7 2018, 12:32 PM)
is this useful for online shopping ??
Can be used for online shopping.
Your "useful" means?
TSfairylord
post Oct 7 2018, 02:37 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 7 2018, 01:29 PM)
JUst now wanted to top up my Boost, accidentally choose the wrong card and it goes through..[attachmentid=10057942]
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 7 2018, 01:34 PM)
nice!

just tried rm10 too!
Thanks for the update, so I can update post #01 again that Boost is back to be friend now. biggrin.gif
TSfairylord
post Oct 7 2018, 09:05 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Oct 7 2018, 08:51 PM)
No additional charges.

Managed to withdrew from atm directly. But please do take note of additional charges imposed by some atm provider.

Airport immigration doesn’t ask about cash. Went in with $500 only. 😆

Melbourne is not so card friendly as it used to be. Many restaurants doesn’t accept cards or imposed additional charges for foreign card so had to use their local cc at times.
Thanks Mate, which ATM you used? Tried on the max withdrawal, what's the amount?
TSfairylord
post Oct 9 2018, 04:50 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(yongjieyu @ Oct 9 2018, 01:59 PM)
just for a question.
just now i ask my travel agent. she say if i use bigpay payment thailand bank will charge me 4% ?
or i get wrong info?
i've used it to swipe at merchant Thailand 2 times, no charge. Reconfirm with you travel agent or what payment you are referring to?

I make a guess, are you signing travel package at Thai and the agent company wanna charge you extra 4% on the payment made using BigPay, i think they are charging it to cover the MDR on any card payment charged by bank on them. whistling.gif

20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:24 PM