Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

TSDuckies
post Aug 1 2019, 06:43 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 1 2019, 06:26 PM)
After almost 1 year of owning Cx5. This is the battery health I got until today. user posted image

40% playing with i-eloop within a year of owning.
How much u pay to check ya? And where.
TSDuckies
post Aug 1 2019, 10:38 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 1 2019, 08:52 PM)
Mazda SC. FOC.
I told them I'm going for a long trip then I ask them to check for me worrying almost a year already will get Christmas lights halfway.
And the foreman told me that if the measurement less than 400 CCA then need to be careful already.
Ohh.. I ask them to check and they said okay but never gave me the measurement.
TSDuckies
post Aug 2 2019, 09:47 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Aug 2 2019, 09:16 AM)
rclxm9.gif mine coming to 3rd year.. clocking 27k  icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 2 2019, 09:28 AM)
3rd year clocking 27k, seems ok.

Mine a year clocking 10k, is it too less?  hmm.gif
Mine first year clocking 25k already hahaha.
TSDuckies
post Aug 2 2019, 09:55 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 2 2019, 09:53 AM)
Where did you travel?

I first year I drove to KL and Hatyai but still 10k km.  smile.gif
Daily mileage is like 40km go and back from office already. Sometimes balik kampung another 40km go and back.
TSDuckies
post Aug 5 2019, 08:29 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Aug 5 2019, 07:49 AM)
hi guys, do you feel our car break too soft? everytime have to press harder to break the car.  Almost 5 months, i still cannot use to it...especially when emergency break required!  Is there any way to adjust it in SC? modification of break is not an option as i dont want to ruin my warranty. thank you
I used to have this problem as well till a point if I did an emergency break I feel I cant stop on time. Everytime when I go over 60 and if I need to do a hard brake I need to step my brake all the way down. I went back to SC and they test drive with me. Turns out the brake and ABS is not working properly. They reset the settings and now my brake is much better.
TSDuckies
post Aug 5 2019, 09:38 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Aug 5 2019, 08:36 AM)
do you know how they reset the setting? physical adjustment? how long it take?

thank you.
Don't know but I just let them set.
TSDuckies
post Aug 6 2019, 09:40 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 6 2019, 09:31 AM)
It's a well known "issue" that when we raised this matter to the instructors during Mazda Academy driving class, we were told that it is designed like that by the Japanese designers.
Any reason it's designed in this way?
TSDuckies
post Aug 6 2019, 06:13 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Hmmm I wonder what's the new price for the facelifted version of cx 5 since it has more added features like power boot and AA. Extra 5k?
TSDuckies
post Aug 6 2019, 08:08 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Aug 6 2019, 06:32 PM)
From salesmen in Penang and Puchong, the top spec 2.5Turbo AWD will be below RM180k. I believe maybe slight increase from before.

For the top spec, there will be (in comparison to the current 2.2D AWD)

Android Auto, Apple CarPlay
HUD
Redesign AC panel
Centre digital panel
Memory seat
360 camera

And they take out CD player.

They need to be careful for the pricing. Forester will be launched soon. Other SUVs inthis class are maxed at below RM180k, CKD.

Not sure the other lower variants.
I'm more curios on the 2.0GLS and 2.2D variant hahaha.
TSDuckies
post Sep 10 2019, 11:40 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Just saw Honda Civic Facelift promotional video. Although not really in the same segment but it's just fun to see what other car makers are bringing to their model for facelift. Apparently, they are bringing Honda sensing - particulars 2 features which are similar to our MRCC and SBSC hahaha.

It makes me feel Cx-5 is pretty good in terms of features. Sadly no MRCC for us (unless you mod it outside). What I think will make our current CX-5 complete and better are these features:

1. Power tailgate (some of you guys have it but GLS version does not have it. Can be added outside though)
2. MRCC with auto start top ABS pump
3. HUD
4. Full digital instrumental cluster (more stuff more things to repair but still it's dazzling)
5. Better infotainment screen/device

Other than that no complain. After owning the car for more than a year, I still love it thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by Duckies: Sep 10 2019, 11:42 PM
TSDuckies
post Sep 12 2019, 10:19 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 12 2019, 10:14 AM)
Hmm? I thought all the post October 2018 GLS comes with power tailgate? I know mine came with it, but additional cost was added into the Mazda retail price when it was implemented then...
I got mine in August so don't have hahaha.
TSDuckies
post Sep 18 2019, 11:37 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Good video about ATF. Do we have ATF dip stick?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o690DovjDAc...6nuWDst_gz5_HBY
TSDuckies
post Oct 4 2019, 01:30 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 4 2019, 01:22 AM)
Money ready but still cant decide

2.2d awd new old stock
2.5 turbo
2.2 fed new 2019
If money ready and don't mind expensive go for 2.5 turbo je. Fully spec with tons of new stuffs inside.
TSDuckies
post Oct 29 2019, 11:35 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Oct 29 2019, 11:20 AM)
Last weekends driving on some flooded roads never be the same again.

Last time I recalled driving my Saga, carefully drove along those flooded roads without stopping, stop will make the car stall.

Now I just drive smoothly (of course not on the heavily flooded roads) avoiding queuing up the traffic to take turn to drive on the non-flooded area.
This is my main purpose of buying SUV.
4x4 should be better lol
TSDuckies
post Nov 13 2019, 10:21 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(1+DC @ Nov 12 2019, 08:56 PM)
Received sms from Mazda today for recall campaign.... 2.2D
Recall Campaign@Intake Shutter Valve.
QUOTE(kyoshooo @ Nov 12 2019, 09:35 PM)
Me too plan to do it 2molo together with my side mirror claim.
QUOTE(cloudwin @ Nov 13 2019, 09:47 AM)
Mind to share whether the recall has any due date? Did not receive the sms and the car just done the service last month. So, next service might be another 5 months down the road based on my usage  sweat.gif
QUOTE(widget @ Nov 13 2019, 10:18 AM)
I believed not all 2.2D units are affected by the recall.
Mine is Feb 2018 unit and I've checked on Mazda Sentinel website that mine is not affected (as of now)
Only 2.2D affected? How about the petrol variant?
TSDuckies
post Dec 3 2019, 03:59 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(@non @ Dec 3 2019, 03:44 PM)
been looking at the lineups for SUVs earlier

CRV - recently lots of complains on quality issues also door knob issues + CVT
Subaru XV forestor -  space problem, design seems squarish, not exactly my preferred type
Toyota - nothing much in mind
Tiguan - worries about the reliability post warranty
X70 - heavy, petrol consumption high, maintenance concerns later
x-trail - CVT and dull interior

GLS vs GL - aesthetics is one factor, also about the safety gears in place? the front parking sensors, BSM, RCTA. but the gaps at ~RM17k between the 2...
I did my fair share of research when I bought mine last year. Just my opinion for these models:

CRV - It's spacious and full of safety features but the interior is not that appealing and the CVT performance is disappointing. Car handling is average as well.
Subaru XV forestor - The new face lift Forestor is quite good. It comes with full set of safety features but sadly the exterior and interior is not appealing as well.
Toyota - CHR I guess? Not recommended at all.
Tiguan - Agreed with your concern on warranty and maintenance/repair cost. Nevertheless, it's a good car. Handling is good and it's a handsome car.
X70 - Heavy and the car handling is not good. It's suspension is bad as well. The whole car feels rocky when cornering. But given the price and it's features rich, it's certainly considerable.
x-trail - Not recommended at all. Nissan never changes. It's the same old stuffs that gets recycled again and again.

GLS and GL, to me I think the extra 17k justifies the price with the additional features.

Btw, you missed out the Peugeot 3008 and Hyundai Tuscon.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Dec 3 2019, 04:01 PM
TSDuckies
post Dec 4 2019, 10:37 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(@non @ Dec 3 2019, 05:20 PM)
Thanks TS/ Duckies for the sharing. Noticed that you had bought the GLS version too  thumbup.gif Can share how you find the safety device if any helps + any comments on the derivable power for 2.0?

Pug - recently heard that they tested quite comprehensive for the car here but still got some doubts after all those previous cases of Pug problems.
Tuscon - yes, will look into it. No plans for the DCT, turbo version. The 2.0 maybe
Let me quote the difference between GLS and GL. Not sure if it's still the same since I got it from last year.

From the list, keyless entry and leather seats is definitely good but this can be upgraded outside. Parking sensors, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and smart city brake support are definitely worth the extra 17k. In fact, these features saved my ass (accidents) many times.

As for 2.0 derivable power, it's sufficient in city drive and fast enough on highways but nothing impressive. If you are looking for power, you can look at the 2.2D variant.
TSDuckies
post Dec 5 2019, 08:57 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(wajaflyguy @ Dec 4 2019, 11:01 PM)
My sharky stalled as it was coming out from parking lot and unable to start. Towed away and suspect fuel pump issue!
Petrol or diesel variant?

QUOTE(skeith @ Dec 5 2019, 12:41 AM)
Another mod to make my car more lively. Dont ask me if I care about my warranty or not. I dont know how to answer either.

[attachmentid=10368993]

Whats inside the picture and why?
1. Air intake guide - direct guide cold air into intake, colder air means more oxygen means more BOOM
2. Redline Filter - just after market air filter that has bigger lubang to let more air in
3. Air ramp - smoother air ramp between air filter & throttle body to cut down the change of turbulent air created around the wall or ramp
4. Throttle body - upgrade from original 54mm to 61mm. Better respond n instant up 2Hp (dyno proven)
5. Audi R8 Spark Coil - retrofitted a 4000cc engine spark coil into 2000cc engine. more spark means more BOOM
6. Oil catch tank - filter out unwanted unburn gas recycle from the PCV system, it should help to cut down more carbon form around the intake section of the engine
7. One way valve - prevent unburn gas rebound back to engine to cut down unwanted pressure form inside the engine. 
8. Moar

[attachmentid=10368994]

Whats inside the picture and why?
1. Straight 4-2-1 Exhaust Header
Chop off a Catalyst Converter, this will help exhaust gas push faster without the Catalyst Converter. So engine spend lesser energy on pushing all the unwanted gas out from engine hence power more concentrate to the wheels.

but how about the environment?
been doing a lot of study to this. the 1st Catalyst Converter only operates below ~50c. The operating time will be freakingly short in our always-hot country. So just chop it off for good. We got another Catalyst Converter to save the environment when the gas temperature is more then 50c.

Results?
- My 2.0 GLS RPM is now very smooth when stopping in the traffic, it can stay in 700RPM without moving for more then 30s in both D and N gear.
- My fuel can give me more mileage, somehow, from average 12km/L to 15km/L. Check out the attachment below, both city n highway drive mix. I usually drive 110-160 on highway.
- Not as powerful as 2.5 but definitely has more confident in overtaking cars in narrow lane now
[attachmentid=10368995]

ok thats it. kthxbye
Wa power la sifu! Thanks for sharing!
TSDuckies
post Dec 9 2019, 11:13 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Dec 9 2019, 11:11 AM)
Did my first 1k service last Saturday.
According to them, for 1k is only inspection. No change of engine oil...first time i heard about this..anyone oso get the same.

I did mine last year, they changed the engine oil for me which I was surprised since only 1k mileage. Maybe now cut cost hmm.gif
TSDuckies
post Dec 27 2019, 09:17 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Dec 26 2019, 02:51 PM)
Another question, what does the Mazda 5 yrs warranty/100,000KM covers? i know engine oil and labour.... wat else????
Below is what BMW's 5Yr/100,000km warranty covers:

1.Schedule service
2.Labour
3.Engine oil with oil filter
4.Air filter
5.Micro filter
6.Spark plucks
7.Brake fluid
8.Service vehicle check
9.Front brakes (disc & pads)- not covered
10.Rare brakes (disc & pads)- not covered
11.Windscreen wipers- not covered

Anyone can share the official list from Mazda?
QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 27 2019, 02:47 AM)
I would love to have an official list too.
I did post the maintenance cost and schedule at the first page as per shared by service center. Not sure if that's enough to answer all of your questions.

39 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.3411sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:00 PM