5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

ze2
post Aug 17 2018, 09:33 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 17 2018, 09:20 AM)
Hi guys... i need some help here.

Just got my car yesterday and too many things to learn and forgot.

How to turn off the radio?

Find the "mute" button pls. tongue.gif
ze2
post Aug 17 2018, 09:51 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Aug 17 2018, 09:43 AM)
Ya... i know the mute button, but i'm looking for completely turn off the radio. Just like our older car...
You can't completely turn it off. sad.gif
ze2
post Aug 17 2018, 04:10 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 17 2018, 04:06 PM)
My SA msg me asking me how is the car?

Ask me to remember go for service within 1 month or 1000km whichever come first..

But i just clocked almost 300km only. how ah?

I think i need to drive to Johor and back later... hmm.gif
I've clocked closed to 1.3K.

Come borrow me your jet black for a few days. blush.gif
ze2
post Aug 20 2018, 09:20 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Aug 19 2018, 09:27 AM)
The press twice n horn is more of an decoration then an alarm. It wont helps u prevent theft nor scared away theft without your attentioon.
Yes u r right. Just something to prevent your engine from ignited illegally.
Am surprised and thanks for the heads up.
Only if Bermaz is giving options for us buyers to add on to many of the features like alarm, power tail gate, head up display, power seat for passenger etc.

The tint is one product which I am not too happy with.
ze2
post Aug 20 2018, 12:10 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Aug 20 2018, 09:32 AM)
Just sharing some experience driving the CX5 for 1st few days. Mine is 2.0GLS model.

1) I like how they system is intelligent enough to let you to control if you want to engage the auto hold and i-stop based on the brake pressure when you press the brake pedal upon stopping. I don't see any reason why need to deactivate the the i-stop when you have full control to activate it or not based on the situation.

2) Decent amount of power for 2.0 model. Accelerating to 150km/h was not an issue. in fact you'll never realize you've driven that fast if not by looking at the speedometer. Never need to change to sport mode so far. But upon testing the sport mode, it just revs the rpm higher. I don't notice any improvement on throttle response. But it was a short testing only. Will try again soon.

3) GVC is over rated. Yes, it works. But i think it helps at a very minimum level. I think only driver could feel the difference but the passengers won't feel any difference.

4) NVH is so damn good. Cruising at 150km/h is not an issue. The car is very stable. The road and wind noise is very minimum.
My dad drives the new CRV. I occasionally drive his car and obviously CX5 cabin is better insulated and isolated. It might not be the best in its class(I haven't drive the Tiguan yet) but sure one of the top in its class.

5) Handling is superb. CX5 is able to handle any low speed and high speed cornering without any problem and hassle. The steering responds was accurate and not much correction needed(might be due to GVC helps to normalize the weight balance of the car).

6) Built in navigation is so bad. A lot of POI is missing. Many address can't be searched. When I searched online, found that it is using Tom Tom GPS. There are tutorial to update the map our self. Will give it a try and see if the map improves. Overall Mazda infotainment system control is good. Very easy to use. All information is easily accessible via the rotary knob.

Overall, the car is perfect if huge space is not a main concern. I use the car daily with my wife and 2 kids(both sitting in car seat) and found the space amount is sufficient for me. If I were to describe the car in 1 sentence, it will be - WORTH EVERY PENNY.
IMHO let me chip in some and I hope you don't mind.

Point 1) Agreed that this can be control but I had a few time trying to exit a boom gate out of a parking and press the brake pedal to hard to stop the car hence the iStop is activitated, and once the boom gate is open, the jerk of the engine starting back is quite annoying. It is just me......I need to learn how to control it esp exiting parking with boom gate.

Point 3) Last sat I fetched my family and mom to Genting, the GVC system works brilliantly as my mom and my kids didn't roll around too much at the back seat unlike my previous sedan cars. Bear in mind, this is an SUV and to be able to reduce the rolling effect of the passengers is really an amazing system developed by Mazda. I drove quite fast around the bends.

The conti tyres were noisy but grip is good.

Yeah worth every penny!! rclxm9.gif

ze2
post Aug 22 2018, 05:21 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 22 2018, 01:58 PM)
Relax boss.. This is the owners/fans' thread and not Garage sales.. If we buy stuff and it's good or worth, we share.. If it's equally bad or not up to snuff, we'll share too.. It's like those Groovy vs Ninja or some cap ayam brand sunshades.. Any sellers come in and doesn't like it.. Can't be helped.. Our money, our decision.. IMO, in the meantime, I'll keep using my mount and smartphone pending official release and see if it's worth it or not. For all we know, Mazda might want to charge an arm and a leg for it. Then we can discuss about viable alternatives.. Including replacing the entire HU if need be..  smile.gif

On another note, I just tested a full tank of Shell's Euro 5 and it performed worse than Petronas... Netting just about 600km with 2xkm left in the tank.. I put in Shell when range left showed 7km.. Wanted it to be as empty as possible before pumping different brand. Similar driving style.
Shell petrol and diesel have always been craps.

Am enjoying my ninja shade while my wallet is still thick.
Am going to get Focal speakers.

ze2
post Aug 22 2018, 07:09 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 22 2018, 05:27 PM)
Everything is possible to change.. It's all about the $$$$.. Got cash to commit and don't care about warranty to much.. Sure, go ahead.. I'd love to know how much it costs to implement and review..  brows.gif
Here I thought Petronas was crappier than Shell.. Could be it's that particular station's stock.. Will endeavor to try another station and see how. Next up to try would be Petron or Bhp.. Enjoying my Ninja shades too.
Not sure if it is station related, but I usually go to big and busy petrol stations.
Yes Pet is worse compared to kerang. I bought the Pet card during promotion from 11 jalan with value of RM400 but paying RM320 due to further discount code.
My 2 cars using the Pet Ron95 been sluggish. After that not even considering despite the promo.

Man, looking forward to upgrade th ori speakers. blush.gif

ze2
post Aug 23 2018, 10:05 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 22 2018, 11:50 PM)
My 4th time refuel with BHP this round on 2.0gls.... let's see how far it can go hmm...
Keep us posted.

I am trailing behind you for the KMs clocked. I've pumped in BHP ron 95 too.
ze2
post Aug 23 2018, 10:39 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(icekacangkacang @ Aug 23 2018, 10:10 AM)
If possible please use RON97 because skyactiv engine suit for RON97 in order to reduce engine knocking sound and less carbon deposit inside the engine.
Install a good quality oil catch can will be even better. Not sure if this will void the warranty la.

Else do period maintenance of 50K Kms of walnut blasting.
ze2
post Aug 23 2018, 08:37 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 23 2018, 07:11 PM)
Apparently Madza Malaysia provides complimentary a bottle of carbon cleaner during each service schedule....i had mine on my first 1000km service but have not pour into the fuel tank yet....not sure if this helps out  hmm.gif
How come my 1k service I am not getting it?

Well the carbon cleaner is just not sufficient to clean the gunk.
ze2
post Aug 27 2018, 08:44 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 27 2018, 08:24 AM)
I for one doesn't like the i-Stop feature as I use the auto-hold most of the time and by stepping hard on the brake to enable auto-hold will automatically triggered the i-Stop.
The jerking feeling also doesn't help either.
Already becomes a habit for me to switch-off the i-Stop every time I started the engine.

If you want to permanently disable the iStop, can get bro Sidek Salleh to disable it via the MZD.
But should you want to enable it again in the future, you have to get back to him unless you have the know how with the coding and what not.
Same here.

That day a moron taxi driver just cut right in front of me which he was in the wrong as I was going straight on the main road, as usual I emergency brake and the iStop is activated as I need to turn the steering wheel to avoid that moron from hitting me. Steering wheel is not functioning as engine is stopped.

This iStop system is not good under such situation. mad.gif
ze2
post Aug 29 2018, 11:15 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 29 2018, 12:01 AM)
My report for the day....previous pumped in about 40 litres but gauge shown full tank lar ...561km, not the best I guess?
I am getting this too at the avarage of 12.7km per l.
50% stuck in the MRR2 jam.
ze2
post Aug 29 2018, 07:20 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Isendir1 @ Aug 29 2018, 05:56 PM)
I feel this Konica Minolta Skytint is passable, just took me 1 minute to cool car (i toggle to 20c aircond on auto). If i need privacy, maybe i will just get that sunshades. changing a new tint really waste of 1.5k worth of tint IMO.
The front tint is not rejecting the heat well. If cost is not an issue, should upgrade to a better tint or some may go with double layer.
ze2
post Aug 30 2018, 03:16 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 30 2018, 08:59 AM)
Indeed!
My most gripe is the front windscreen tint.
I know they want to make it fully JPJ-compliant, hence the 8x% VLT, but because of the low TSER and IRR, if one is driving under the hot midday sun and the light hits the thigh or stomach part, almost can feel the burning feeling.

If budget is tight, can consider replacing the windscreen tint to better quality as the side and rear tints are still decent and quite dark too.
Can also use magnetic shade for the side and rear if want more privacy
Really want to smack Bermaz for choosing this spec for the tints. JPJ is one, Puspakom also another one. You follow JPJ spec, Puspakom will say fail to comply.

mad.gif

Yes my thigh and stomach is burning and it is good to burn fat. mad.gif
ze2
post Sep 3 2018, 10:47 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Sep 2 2018, 12:38 PM)
Hi guys.. Anyone tried 70mai by xiaomi before?

Any budget dvr to recommend? wink.gif
Am using it and IMHO it has good video quality, fast and sleek. With the price less than 120, it is a bargain. rclxms.gif

Only draw back is, mandarin supported only.

ze2
post Sep 3 2018, 10:50 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Sep 2 2018, 10:17 PM)
If rear space and boot size are your priority, get the CR-V and be done with it. Stop looking back at the CX-5.
Rear seats of CX-5 is not as spacious as CR-V or other similarly-sized SUV. On my previous 2011 Kia Sportage GT and my FIL’s 2014 CR-V, we can seat 3 adults in the rear but on the CX-5, it will be very cramped

The only way you can seat 2 adults with baby seat is by placing the baby seat in the center, and the adults have to be slim built.
I’m using Graco Slim baby seat with belt-type Isofix latch, so I am able to put the car seat in the center, but if your baby seat is using fixed isofix, you can only seat 1 adult in the rear
Bro, I thought the child seat suppose to be mounted at the rear passenger seat? Guess your kid preferred to have a front view?

From the pic, the seat is kinda bulky. Glad my kids doesn't required this anymore.

ze2
post Sep 3 2018, 11:25 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Sep 3 2018, 11:19 AM)
It is mounted on the rear passenger seat, but at the center instead at the left or right rear seat.
On overseas CX-5 model, they have 3 positions for the rear tethers, i.e. left, center and right at the rear of the seats but on local CX-5, the rear tethers are only for left and right seats.
Ah, didn't notice that the tethers were available for left, right and center. Thanks for the heads up.

ze2
post Sep 6 2018, 11:52 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Sep 6 2018, 11:26 AM)
Actually i haven't wash/polish the interior since i got the car...

Will the micro fiber cloth able to clean them without scratching them? I am thinking to buy Cyber Clean blob..

Agree, next time i will drift tat corners... icon_idea.gif
Aiya, just wipe la. If scratch just buy those carbon sticker and paste on it. whistling.gif

Yes cornering a bit sluggish, I will tekan and pek the corner faster. thumbup.gif
ze2
post Sep 6 2018, 02:23 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Sep 6 2018, 01:20 PM)
Haha..cannot la...i like that piano black finishing...match my exterior color..  brows.gif

Noted, willl tekan more entering corners...  nod.gif
Oh ya, Jet Black ho.... rclxms.gif

Someone said using the soft gel type to stick the dust, or something like that.

I dunno la, mine got hair line scratches. Work of art.

I went up to Genting on sport and manual mode. Not bad the cornering capability.
ze2
post Sep 6 2018, 02:52 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Sep 6 2018, 02:46 PM)
During uphill you let the gearbox decide the gear for you or you go for "manual" using the + / -?
I used manual +-

5 persons on board.

Power was sufficient for NA 2.0

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0414sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:28 AM