post Oct 7 2020, 12:51 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 5 2020, 10:55 PM)
most of the time the coating is the issue
i have rain-x applied and will hear mild juddering noise after couple of swings

same goes to my previous car
On my cars with ceramic coating, both also no juddering using original wipers

Other car with no coating, I applied Meguiars windscreen sealantn and using PIAA wipers also smooth as silk.

Rain X is crap
PJS
post Jan 11 2021, 06:10 PM

54 posts

My 2.5T gets better fuel consumption@ 8.8km/L with Petron 95 vs Petronas Ron 97 @8.0km/L which I've been using for past 9 months. I guess when putting out 227bhp with Ron95 vs 250bhp with Ron97 it requires less energy.

But I do notice the missing ponies and promptly pumped Ron 100 to make up for the loss. LOL.

PJS
post Jan 25 2021, 03:52 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(GAUTIM @ Jan 21 2021, 11:36 AM)
Me just booking 2.5 T. Thank you for your suggestion. Can’t wait for the car to arrive. Thank you
My 2.5T consumed half liter of engine oil after 5k km. Mileage now is 11000km, last serviced 4 months ago at 6000km and the oil level was at the Max mark after service, now it's touching the Low mark.

Its quite minor I know and wouldn't cause any issue even if it dropped to Low if I wait until next oil change service in 2 months, but I topped up half a liter anyway, just to have some peace of mind.

Anyone else's 2.5T has oil consumption issue?
PJS
post Jan 27 2021, 01:21 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 25 2021, 04:25 PM)
If it me I rather send to sc and have a check. To lost half liters for low distance, 5k km and relatively low mileage car is not normal
Are you driving 2.5T as well?

Its quite normal for some conti cars to lose some oil after few thousand kms. I'm not worried since I drive with a seriously heavy lead foot and this is a turbo. LOL.

Just not too sure if the Petronas synthetic oils they used are up to par for the demands of the engine.
PJS
post Feb 5 2021, 06:05 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Feb 4 2021, 03:08 PM)
If you're in KL, can try sending a PM to user @I'm A V-Kool.
I did V-Kool 40 when I replaced my windscreen and I'm very pleased with their workmanship.

RFID is a PITA on my CX-5.
I installed RFID since Oct 2018 on the headlamp and my success rate is slightly above 50%.
I have installed RFID no less than 5 times on a few cars. Best reception is on the top of windscreen. They are 100%.

When installer test your windscreen with their scanner, they can tell if the tint is reflective type like vkool and 3M, then there's no choice but to fix the RFID on headlamp which is a compromised location due to the more upright angle and lower position on the car.

On my car with vkool, RFID is fixed on headlamp, success rate is low if you drive in too fast. The trick is to go slow at the beginning of the toll lane as rfid receiver is at the front of the lane, not at the back like Smartag.

The car that has Raytech tint and RFID on top of windscreen never had any problems with RFID and Smartag. Raytech tint is way cooler than any VKool or 3M tinted cars I sat in. Their specs exceeds the best of 3M or VKool specs iirc.

Another car has Hyper Optik, tint performance is just so so. No issue with RFID or Smartag either.

Due to Smartag and RFID issues, I avoid 3M and VKool on all my new cars.

This post has been edited by PJS: Feb 5 2021, 06:05 AM
PJS
post Feb 5 2021, 06:16 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 4 2021, 05:43 PM)
no

For performance car like Mazda MX5, if you slam your foot all the way pedal to metal, the system automatically cut off the compressor also to give u more power output for a short duration
Aircond compressor on many cars are designed to cut off when wide open throttle is detected + rpm climbed above 4000 /5000rpm, for the protection of the compressor, not for power output. It's usually written in the owners manuals if this function is available. In cars with >200bhp, parasidic losses from a/c compressor and other accessories are negligible to the car's performance. No idea about MX5 since it has a small underpowered engine for a sports car, maybe it does needs the compressor cut LOL.
PJS
post Feb 5 2021, 06:56 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Feb 4 2021, 11:05 AM)
I feel tearing out the whole car's tint gives me heartache cuz we paid for the skytint right with the car price thats why was thinking of it and the vendor said can take out front windscreen and replace with 3M crystaline and rest of the windows with 3M Ebony
Skytint is crap. I tried to replace only the windscreen tint and add dark 95% tint to rear passenger windows only. Still can feel the heat. And it looks ugly with the blue tinted drivers window not matching with the black tint at the back. I went back to my installer and removed Skytint and fixed new premium dark tint films on rear windscreen and side windows, it totally transformed the experience. Because I didn't take the package deal and went back to replace the windows separately, it costs me more. Total damage with the Skytint that we throw away, about 5k? Should've listened to installer's advice to replace Skytint in the first place. LOL.

I then replaced my older car's VKool which was not even cool, with Raytech as well. Now it is freezing cold inside even under the sun in 38 degree C heat.
PJS
post Feb 5 2021, 09:13 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 5 2021, 08:33 AM)
Suprise to hear u get good reviews with Raytech vs Vkool. As the other thread of car tint all did not have good reviews with Raytech even with their highest spec tint.

But agree that skytint is not work great on our hot weather
Tint films quality deteriorates over time. Only time can tell if certain brand can last x number of years. My old cars VKool is over 5 years old, got some scratches made by some car wash idiots so it's time to replace it anyway. New tints most likely will live up to spec and outperform old tint films.

I'm not saying VKool is no good. If I fitted new VKool it will probably be cooler than old VKool. My old VKool was just not as good as new Raytech. Whether Raytech lasts as long we can only tell after few years. But their service is top notch at the branch I went. If the tint ain't good no more I'll just replace it some years down the road.

In all fairness, in other forums there are many keyboard warriors who like to quote other people's reviews even tho they never experienced it themselves. If they put their money where their mouth is and fit different tints on the exact same car then they can compare apple vs apple and say conclusively what is the best tint. Even if same model of car specced differently, leather vs fabric, white vs black paint will also cause a different feeling with same tint so how to tell that "my friends" car VKool is better than my car's 3M, or vice versa, right?
PJS
post Feb 5 2021, 08:13 PM

54 posts

Look at Total Solar Energy Rejection of Skytint. Because it's not dark enough(70%VLT), the TSER is only 50%.

Other films use metallic or ceramic particles to reflect more of Sun's energy so they feel cooler.

The more common and cheaper way to reduce TSER is to apply darker tint, which will bring the TSER above 70% and you will be cool as cucumber inside the car.
PJS
post Mar 9 2021, 08:06 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(rasasayang @ Mar 8 2021, 09:26 PM)
hopefully everything running smooth and no problem. especially on the legendary lower arm bush sound issue.

haha yea, I really enjoy the shark view with the sky dim light around 730pm.. and night..  biggrin.gif
Lower arm bush is very cheap to replace even after warranty. Not like other cars where the whole lower arm need to be replaced. As long as the car is under warranty we can get it replaced foc. It is possible there are after market PU bushes that will last longer and offer better handling.
PJS
post Mar 22 2021, 08:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(wensiang @ Mar 20 2021, 10:53 AM)
Hi, future owner here. Was planning to buy 2.5 than decided to go all out for 2.5l turbo because of 450nm torque n 4wd. Hope i wont regret..and hope the petrol consumption wont be too high 😅
LOL!😂 Congrats on in your choice!

FC is not high. If you can afford an 180k Mazda u can definitely afford RM120 fillups every week.

My 2.5T get 8-9km/l in city which is decent mileage for an SUV. In fact slow slow drives in taman taman gets about 9km/L compared to stop start traffic in city that gets about 7-8km/L.

This post has been edited by PJS: Mar 22 2021, 08:56 PM
PJS
post Mar 22 2021, 08:55 PM

54 posts

Btw, if u own a 2.5T, just pay for Ron97 to get full 250bhp from the power mill. Why go cheap to save a few dollars if you've already paid for a 250bhp engine but decided to save a few bucks until u don't even get to enjoy all the bhp that u paid for?

The old Petronas 97 was actually not up to par. I can feel the difference when I pump Petron Ron100 vs old Petronas 97. The 2.5T was supposed to put out 250bhp with Ron 97 but somehow when I add ron100 then only I felt the additional horses. Which means it was not running optimally with the old Petronas 97.

The new Petronas 97 is better, there's indiscernible difference between this new Ron97 vs Petron Ron 100 so we actually do not need to go any higher than Ron97 to get the 250bhp that the car is designed for.

PJS
post Mar 23 2021, 04:21 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(wensiang @ Mar 23 2021, 09:44 AM)
I think this car will  be higher power with 97 ron, but the increase isnt that big especially you are using it to race 😄
Use 95 good enough if u wanna speed up more just step the gas peddle more 😁

Btw i got good news from my sales person from mazda, he said my cx5 turbo will come with 10inch information screen 🤣
New unit from factory, hope it is real, he said price might increase by 2k for future buyer
The added power is noticable even in day to day drive. An extra 23bhp is no small thing for any car.

PJS
post Jun 3 2021, 12:25 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ May 30 2021, 09:57 AM)
Hi there.

I'm about to place an order for the Mazda CX5 2.5 Turbo soon. Unfortunately, gotta give up my hot hatch for something more practical and spacious as I recently "upgraded" to become a father.

Would like to know if there are any drawbacks to this particular variant? Any reliability issues when it comes to the turbo? And what are some good things about it?

Due to the MCO (again), I won't be able to test drive the car at the showrooms. So my experience with it is as much as I've gotten from watching reviews on YouTube. My wife currently drives a Mazda 3 so I'm already quite familiar with the brand, and to be honest, would've loved to have a CX5 with the updated interior (like the CX30 and the new M3) but I can't wait anymore, as my wife's SA said a new CX5 will likely only come end of 2022, plus it might take years for the new CX5 to be equipped with a turbo engine.

So yeah, any thoughts on the 2.5T variant? I'm going to book this purely out of blind faith. I was actually considering the X70 as well but I think despite all the bells and whistles that the Proton offers, it's probably still not as refined as the CX5. Was also looking at the VW Tiguan Allspace R Line, but the safety features are sorely lacking and it's also more expensive. Another option would be a demo unit XC40, but the interior is a little too small for my liking plus I heard the maintenance is gonna bleed me in the future.

Thanks for the input guys!
Go for it, it's the best SUV at this price range imho. Just trust your judgement, 2.5T is a good choice. I myself was considering the more expensive Mazda 6 2.5 but after multiple test drives finally decided on CX-5 2.5T due to the power and torque! I didn't like the high center of gravity and bodyroll of an SUV at first but got used to it after a while.

The only drawback is fuel consumption, don't expect Jap car economy or same fc as CX-5 2.0 but it is not that bad compared to other larger SUVs or at least as good or better than the fuel guzzling X70. Since you're used to performance cars fuel economy should not be a concern.

Rear seat space should be your concern if you intend to carry a baby seat, a nanny and your mother in law. But if space is really tight I would just throw the MIL in the boot!

LOL. Can't help but throw in a MIL joke. Hehehehe. 😁😁😁

PJS
post Jun 9 2021, 01:44 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Jun 8 2021, 03:51 PM)
just got quoted for original mazda wiper replacement (rubber refill only) for RM130 RH + RM85 LH. Abit expensive but i got bad experience change my Honda's wiper to OEM wiper then get wiper judder issue.

any of you have good reviews for cx5 replacement wipers?
I bought from Bermaz for 100.90 + 65.60. They worked fine. Like you, I don't want to mess with after market wipers so just replaced with Mazda originals first since they're cheap.

PIAA replacement set would sure cost more than 200 per set and I was told there is no exact drop-in replacement model for Mazda's wiper arm, some PIAA wiper blades also looked ugly with their adapters.

I will bring the old Mazda wiper blades to my PIAA dealer to fit silicon refills for next change. The PIAA silicon refills lasted 5 years on my 2 older cars.
PJS
post Jul 29 2021, 01:15 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous26 @ Jul 6 2021, 04:09 PM)
Hey guys, my CX5 2.5T currently clocked in at 2.5k KM, i have encountered few issues and hopefully advice will be given.

1.) The front driving and passenger windows seems to be making some noises when going through uneven roads, it seems the windows rubber is the culprit, anyone have the same issue here?

2.) When the car is in full stop or idle, such as waiting traffic light, I can feel some slight vibration coming from the engine, although not intense, but it’s definitely noticeable and making me feel uncomfortable, it gets a little bit better when I use the Auto Hold function, which makes me wonder if this is normal for Skyactive Engine? (I-Stop has been disabled).

3.) Center console also have some ‘tik tiak’ noises, more noticeable during cold start and after turning on the AC. Currently i suspect caused by expansion and contraction of the plastic, anyone have the same issue and claimed for warranty?

The car has been great and the driving experience is fantastic, but it starts to makes me question the quality of Mazda cars…….. already have multiple issues after only less than 2 months of usage… while my previous toyota still kicking strong even after 10 years…
These are small issues that will go away easily.

1. The windows rubber seal or door rubber seal tend to make some rubbing noise while going over uneven surfaces when the car was new. Mine went away after a while. I always wipe the rubber seals with wet microfiber cloth when washing car maybe this cleaned whatever thing oil or sealant that was on the rubber, or maybe the rubber seals got compressed and moulded to the shape of door frame and windows after some time.

2. Let the engine break in for a little while longer, I noticed the vibrations smoothen out by itself. I have the 2.5T as well.

3. Move your a/c vents at the center console and the noise should go away. This is a common problem. You can leave it as it is, or get it replaced or lubricated under warranty.
PJS
post Sep 5 2021, 11:55 PM

54 posts

Btw, I got a set of totally new unused original CX-5 coil mats with logo if anyone is interested. Make an offer.
PJS
post Dec 5 2021, 11:51 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous26 @ Dec 2 2021, 10:19 PM)
Hey guys, does anyone experiencing losing engine oil with 2.5t variant? Currently my car is clocked in at 19k km, still 1k away from my next service schedule, but today suddenly low engine oil warning popped out on my instrument panel, after checking the dipstick, indeed the engine oil is running low, which makes me wonder whether is the engine makan the engine oil or is this possible the SC has filled insufficient engine oil during my previous service? Or perhaps there’s something went wrong with my car?

Previously my car comes with Shell Helix Ultra engine oil, 10k km no issue at all, now using petronas syntium and facing this issue, may I know if this is normal for 2.5T to lose engine oil?
Yes, seems to be the norm for 2.5T. My 2.5T consumed about half liter every 4000km since new, it stopped burning oil after 20k km on the odometer.

Now that Bermaz uses Synthium synthetic oil they only fill the oil to exact mid point. About 4000km after the 20k service, I find that the oil level has been exactly the same (24000km on the odo). It has stopped consuming oil!

Maybe there was turbo blowby during in town hard acceleration, or there were some carbon deposits that caused this, or the engine just needed to be run in? Maybe my long high speed drive last month helped bedded in the piston rings or the turbo to achieve optimum clearance? Maybr the carbon deposits cleaned up after I used deposit cleaners for 3-4 consecutive fill ups? The problem seems to be gone for now, but I will continue to observe.

To tell if your engine is burning oil, just rub your fingers or a clean tissue on the insides of the exhaust pipe, if it has black oily soot then it's burning oil. Oily soot in tailpipe also means there will definitely be some carbon particles and oil that will get sucked thru the PCV valve back into the engine intake valves and become carbon deposits. The inside of the tailpipes of my other non turbo Mazda 2.0 Skyactive are totally clean so only the 2.5 Turbo had the oil burning problem.

This post has been edited by PJS: Dec 5 2021, 11:53 PM
PJS
post Dec 6 2021, 12:19 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(TheStrongestBrain @ Dec 4 2021, 10:02 AM)
Is 2.0 variant sufficient for normal city drive? Will it underpower? I'm thinking whether should I get 2.5T, but it might overkill for city drive
What is your priority and your budget?

2.5T fuel consumption can easily cost 50-60% more than a 2.0 and 30-40% more than a 2.5. If you can afford it, why not?

Buy based on your budget and your priorities, not what other people tell you.
PJS
post Dec 6 2021, 11:27 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 6 2021, 11:11 AM)
Hi guys, I was considering the 2.5T but realized our local lineup may be due for a refresh soon. Has anyone heard anything about a facelift in 2022? Pauline Tan’s website has an article on the 2022 refresh which comes with a different headlight, taillight, and front grille designs.

My wishlist for the facelift as someone whose seriously considering an entry level premium SUV (200k-300k) is:

- Better 360 degree camera and reverse camera resolution. Reviewers all criticized the low res cameras on the current models we have.
- MRCC. No reason why the top spec at 180k (likely more expensive for this facelift) doesn’t have radar cruise control with stop-go traffic support.
- Better rim choice for the Malaysian market. The current ones make the tires look smaller than they are (they are 19” if I’m not mistaken). The ones in the press photos look miles better than ours.
- Option for brown interior leather would be amazing.
- Option or standard across the board better speakers.
- Hopefully the wireless charger comes to our market too.

Mazda is already making it clear to everybody they’re moving upmarket. Just increase the price to 200k and throw in these goodies!
After test driving the VW Tiguan, the CX5 felt like an elephant compared to the agile rabbit. The Tiguan 2.0T Allspace has comparable horsepower and torque but handles much better in turns really smooth and agile in corners, and accelerated much smoother with it's DCT. My 2.5T felt sluggish and clumsy in corners now. Damn!

I was in the same budget range last year and ended up with CX5 for the Japanese reliabilty, 5 yr free maintenance it's 250 bhp and 420NM. Now the Allspace got similar bhp, only a few k more after discounts, only thing is the reliabilty concerns.

CX5 is a pretty dated design, you have to live with some common issues like weak lower arm bush, power mirrors that fails all the time, rattling dashboard due to its ckd build, and higher fuel consumption than the Germans. Make your choices wisely😉

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0973sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:32 AM