Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

PJS
post Dec 6 2021, 11:35 PM

54 posts

I'm bother about 2.5T fc not because of the fuel cost but the poor fc combined with a small fuel tank makes interstate travel and even town driving not so enjoyable when you have to fill up just when you reach Penang as it will be down to 1/4 tank, or having to fill up more than once a week for town driving. How I wished it had 80L or 100L tanks like other SUVs that can run in town for a couple weeks before having to fill up at the gas stations.
PJS
post Dec 7 2021, 02:35 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(GAUTIM @ Dec 7 2021, 11:33 AM)
Well said. CX-5 was just overrated. Me too regretted 2.5T. Too many issues with the car. The suspension clunking is the worst and now starting Ghost Touch on the screen. New car is less than a year  bangwall.gif . This call premium? ranting.gif
Yup. My screen blanked out a couple times before, once when trying to reverse into heavy traffic, since the screen is out I had to manually watchbout for cross traffic while reversing. Had to restart the car to reboot the system. Got this recorded on video but it has not recurred since so I'm not bothered to go complain to SC yet.
PJS
post Dec 7 2021, 02:42 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 7 2021, 12:03 PM)
Thanks for chiming in, bro. That's valuable insight from someone who has been there before. I'll add the Tiguan 2.0T Allspace to my list for test driving just to get a feel for what's out there, but my main goal was to achieve a good balance between fun to drive and being family-friendly. If the car's handling is "too good" like too sport/sensitive steering then it wouldn't make for a good weekend cruiser too.

The VW reliability is indeed a big concern on my part. Also I just looked at https://www.carbase.my/volkswagen/tiguan-al...ion-r-line-2020 and don't see AEB, blind spot, LKAS, so that's probably a deal-breaker for me already. bye.gif
AEB on CX5 is a hit or miss thing. I still can't understand or replicate how AEB will get triggered on the move. The BRAKE warningseems to activate when it feels like it. Really need to read the owners manual carefully to understand what parameters govern the activation of AEB. In real life, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. But it has actually saved both my front and rear bumpers once each so I'm glad it's there. LOL.

PJS
post Dec 8 2021, 11:10 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 8 2021, 10:31 AM)
my point is, make sure if anything abnormal, send it to them and demand warranty. For the steering clock spring, the first 2 visit at near house sc, they rectify it by putting grease. Then straight went to Bermaz Motor Trading Sdn Bhd (Body & Paint Centre), Shah Alam for further check. Straight get steering clock spring as the reason and get replacement.
Mine has some ticking noise in steering rack when turning left and right, read from Mazda technical service bulletin and suspected it's clock spring too. Went to Bermaz Glenmarie HQ and they said they tested another 2.5T and it's normal to have this noise. I don't buy their bullshit but decided to let it be since I got 6 years warranty just claim it later if it goes wrong. Some time later I went to Glenmarie body and paint center with same complaint they checked my service history in their system and told me same story. Oh well, I'll just live with it. now I don't even notice the ticking sound anymore. Hahaha

Small issues like this that doesn't affect the safety and functions of the car I'd rather not spend time to ask 4S to rectify, more often than not they'll create some other problems or break a clip that create more rattles, or scratch your interior in the process.

I'll live with my occasionally faulty side mirrors, the clicking noise at the lower arm/brake areas, the squeaky sound from rear passenger power door lock, etc, until next service.

When we have budget for >200k and chose CX-5 at 180-185k coz it's seems like a good deal, the expectation for premium quality is still there. But every car has its faults and shortcomings. Some quality issues that may be bearable for a 130k car is not acceptable for customers expecting 200-250k quality tho. For now I just treat my CX5 as a 130k car with 50k worth of options(which it rightly is) so I don't even bother about it so much now. 😂 Just work hard to get that next dream car then only worry about the next car's problems.

PJS
post Dec 8 2021, 11:19 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 8 2021, 10:10 AM)
btw last month also claim a new bearing for rear tyre under warranty. mileage just 15k km  dry.gif
If a bearing is faulty from the factory it will turn up within the first 6 months. After that initial period of time, the cause of bearing getting worn is wear n tear, most common cause is wading through flooded roads or driving through mud or salt water. Not every bearing with go bad when wading through water, but the chances are high that a small percentage of bearings will give out within a few months of being exposed to these conditions. Many 10-15 year old cars never need to replace wheel bearing at all.
PJS
post Dec 8 2021, 10:13 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 8 2021, 02:21 PM)
Thanks for the valuable input. Yes BSM, RCTA, AEB, and ACC are kinda my must-haves moving forward (my pre-FL Civic doesn't have these).

CX-5 is definitely on my shortlist, it's at the top of it, in fact laugh.gif it's just a bit scary to see so many people in this thread having issues with the front suspension and side mirror motors. My hope is that the eventual facelift will fix these issues from the production line since I can't imagine it'd be good margin-wise for them to keep doing these replacements under warranty.
TBH, these are all minor issues, no safety concern no exploding airbags like Honda's.. I'm living with them until my next scheduled service appointment. Wouldn't even want to waste my time to talk to those service advisors about noises and rattles or send my car in for small issues like these. I got bigger issues at work with multi million dollars at stake that needs my attention. Worse come to worse I'll just drive my spare car. I always ask my staff, if you prioritize car noises over work problems, you really got nothing better to do at work, is it? LOL.
PJS
post Dec 9 2021, 11:59 AM

54 posts

This post has been edited by PJS: Jan 20 2022, 12:30 AM
PJS
post Dec 9 2021, 12:06 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(GAUTIM @ Dec 9 2021, 10:09 AM)
Glenmarie
My other CBU Mazda got some defects with white dots inside the infotainment screen that showed up only under direct sunlight, Glenmarie SC ordered the parts and called me back in about a month. I sent the car in the morning and collected by mid afternoon. They left a minor scratch on the dash board and more rattles which I discovered only after few weeks coz wife was driving the car. Do ask for a senior technician to work on your car and check carefully upon collection.
PJS
post Dec 9 2021, 12:13 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(GAUTIM @ Dec 9 2021, 12:09 PM)
You just another employees. No wonder drive Cx-5. 🤣😂😆
Ya poor employees can't afford to buy a pair of his and hers Mercs so can only drive CX-5 lor. What to do...

guess u must be a boss, why don't u get rid of CX5 and get something better then.

This post has been edited by PJS: Dec 9 2021, 12:29 PM
PJS
post Dec 14 2021, 01:00 AM

54 posts

This post has been edited by PJS: Jan 20 2022, 12:30 AM
PJS
post Dec 14 2021, 01:04 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 13 2021, 04:26 PM)
Does anyone have a good picture of comparison between the two white colors? Arctic White and the Snowflake White Pearl? https://www.zigwheels.my/new-cars/mazda/cx-5/colors has them but the quality is pretty shite
Try this

https://mazda.com.my/vehicles/mazda-cx-5#colorpage

Arctic white is not much different from normal white. Snowflake white pearl has pearl effect like some Hondas if you're more familiar with them.

PJS
post Mar 3 2022, 05:48 PM

54 posts

No need so much trouble bro. Just keep the engine running and swap the new battery in iStop will reset itself once it detected new battery.

Did this same thing for 2 of my late model Mazdas no issues at all.

This post has been edited by PJS: Mar 3 2022, 09:27 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.3246sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:22 AM