4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Intel Newly Launched Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU, Intel Newly Launched Intel Pentium Dual-

AceCombat
post May 25 2007, 11:43 AM

5,434 posts

well,is still better than amd 3600x2,see,almost 150% of oc to 3.9.....
G0D-L1KE laugh.gif
likito
post May 25 2007, 12:32 PM

1,468 posts

pentium 4 -> pentium D -> core 2 duo

now low end proc + high end proc = core 2 pentium

so funny
greatgreedyguts
post May 25 2007, 12:51 PM

When in doubt, toss your wife
666 posts

Nice little budget processor,
but those hardcore gamers wont even look at it, haha
SUSdattebayo
post May 25 2007, 01:29 PM

5,366 posts

it should be cheaper than existing E4xxx, although they just use the same core with half of L2 cache disabled. Maybe the 1.8ghz model will start from rm25x in bulk ? drool.gif
AceCombat
post May 25 2007, 02:06 PM

5,434 posts

yup,it's cheap,retail rm3xx only.
but the L2 cache definitely will kill the performance of the processor.
Specialized
post May 25 2007, 02:12 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 24 2007, 06:54 PM)
Intel will released them before 3rd of June.well,the E2160 is clocked at 1.6GHz with FSB800 and only 1MB of cache lo.....the retail price is around USD 80.
The E2140 is running at 1.6 GHZ with FSB 800 and 1 MB cache too.
it's santa rosa platform. well, 1mb cache really x enuf.. even my laptop curently running on 4mb l2 cache. mayb intel is target on low end consumers. it's still a grab anway. FSB 800MHz is attractive.. but i doubtd if they can fully ultilise it.
SUSdattebayo
post May 25 2007, 04:51 PM

5,366 posts

intel is having soooo many tv ads these days, even in afternoon, watch ntv7, at least 4 c2d ads showing in one hour in the afternoon...
raymond5105
post May 25 2007, 05:38 PM

5,341 posts

This Pentium Dual Core is really good one,in o/c wise i can say is preety good and very overclockable.Very advisable to get this proc for the entry level PC. This proc is very much better compare to my P4.
darude87
post May 26 2007, 12:41 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 25 2007, 12:43 AM)
Athlon X2 still has one advantage at least, its virtualization, its best for software like vmware and virtual pc laugh.gif
indeed, somehow i think amd's architecture is good in that field, my friend went for amd instead of intel for his laptop cause he uses those software that u mentioned for programming purpose

this proc is definitely not for users like programmers, coders, and etc due to the low fsb and cache in my opinion

the oc-bility is really shocking anyway sweat.gif

This post has been edited by darude87: May 26 2007, 12:42 AM
gtoforce
post May 26 2007, 12:49 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

think AMD gonna tutup kedai soon?
haha
darnell
post May 26 2007, 12:54 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 26 2007, 01:49 AM)
think AMD gonna tutup kedai soon?
haha
If AMD K10 proc keep on delay , then AMD really will in trouble.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
stone13
post May 27 2007, 02:00 PM

272 posts

then i can try to buy this new low end processor to replace my old ring then

This post has been edited by stone13: May 27 2007, 02:01 PM
Irishcoffee
post May 27 2007, 03:18 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

wow cheapo c2p
really pwn amd 99
amd hav no chance to stand even in budget market sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by Irishcoffee: May 27 2007, 03:18 PM
kmarc
post May 31 2007, 09:06 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Here's a new review on Pentium Dual-core E2160/2140.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/displ...tium-e2160.html

Looks like at stock speeds, they loose out to AMD X2 3600+/3800+.

However, they are very overclockable and at OC 3.4 Ghz, is on par with C2D x6800!!

Even the AMD X2 6000+ could not compete with the x6800!!

So for the budget conscious, this proc may be a potential x6800 (for so much less!!!) thumbup.gif
kel_jink
post Jun 1 2007, 10:54 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 31 2007, 09:06 PM)
Here's a new review on Pentium Dual-core E2160/2140.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/displ...tium-e2160.html

Looks like at stock speeds, they loose out to AMD X2 3600+/3800+.

However, they are very overclockable and at OC 3.4 Ghz, is on par with C2D x6800!!

Even the AMD X2 6000+ could not compete with the x6800!!

So for the budget conscious, this proc may be a potential x6800 (for so much less!!!)  thumbup.gif
Bu ti thought the chache is juz 1mb rite? So it doesn't really on par with x6800 lah duh...Juz the clock speed dats all.
kmarc
post Jun 1 2007, 11:02 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Jun 1 2007, 10:54 AM)
Bu ti thought the chache is juz 1mb rite? So it doesn't really on par with x6800 lah duh...Juz the clock speed dats all.
Definitely with lower cache, the pentium dual core will lose to x6800 in some high-cache intensive apps. However, look at the figures below and you can come to a conclusion yourself..... thumbup.gif

For the budget conscious, what is there to lose?

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 1 2007, 11:02 AM

arjuna_mfna
post Jun 1 2007, 11:10 AM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 1 2007, 11:02 AM)
Definitely with lower cache, the pentium dual core will lose to x6800 in some high-cache intensive apps. However, look at the figures below and you can come to a conclusion yourself.....  thumbup.gif

For the budget conscious, what is there to lose?
what the hack....
this proc can pown c2d 6800...

but need to oc kaw2, can effect proc lifespan

infin
post Jun 1 2007, 05:15 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Jun 1 2007, 11:10 AM)
what the hack....
this proc can pown c2d 6800...

but need to oc kaw2, can effect proc lifespan
OC affects processor lifespan? I call BS on that dude. My rig's 2+ years old, oc'ed on air all the way and it hasn't hung on me since.

I don't think you or I would want to have the same rig in another 3 years or even next year, for the matter, if you say I haven't had it long enough.
kmarc
post Jun 1 2007, 07:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(infin @ Jun 1 2007, 05:15 PM)
OC affects processor lifespan?  I call BS on that dude.  My rig's 2+ years old, oc'ed on air all the way and it hasn't hung on me since.

I don't think you or I would want to have the same rig in another 3 years or even next year, for the matter, if you say I haven't had it long enough.
Right and wrong.

There's no debate that OC will reduce processor lifespan (or increase the risk of processor damage, if you like) although it may still mean you can use it for another 5-10 years..... (or longer than that! Maybe processor lifespan is 20 years??!!?? rclxub.gif )

Nowadays, old rigs are still useful as a secondary rig for surfing, bittorrent (very useful!),folding and most importantly for your child/wife/partner to use so that they DON'T come and 'kacau' you to use the computer for their homework/chit-chat, etc!!! whistling.gif
raymond5105
post Jun 1 2007, 11:30 PM

5,341 posts

O/c is really for fun and for gaining extra juice from the stock.There are some debates claiming that o/c would reduce the life span of the processor.I also not so sure how true is it.Maybe charge-n-go can help us to answer this ?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0251sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:45 PM