Intel Newly Launched Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU, Intel Newly Launched Intel Pentium Dual-
kmarc
May 24 2007, 06:36 PM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(caskil @ May 24 2007, 06:34 PM) Anyone knows that is it existing motherboard is supported to this new processor? Like MSI MS-7222 , MSI MS-7255, ABIT IP-95 and ABIT IL9 Pro. Thanks Errr... can you rephrase the question? What new dual-core are you talking about?
kmarc
May 31 2007, 09:06 PM
Here's a new review on Pentium Dual-core E2160/2140. http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/displ...tium-e2160.htmlLooks like at stock speeds, they loose out to AMD X2 3600+/3800+. However, they are very overclockable and at OC 3.4 Ghz, is on par with C2D x6800!! Even the AMD X2 6000+ could not compete with the x6800!! So for the budget conscious, this proc may be a potential x6800 (for so much less!!!)
kmarc
Jun 1 2007, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kel_jink @ Jun 1 2007, 10:54 AM) Bu ti thought the chache is juz 1mb rite? So it doesn't really on par with x6800 lah duh...Juz the clock speed dats all. Definitely with lower cache, the pentium dual core will lose to x6800 in some high-cache intensive apps. However, look at the figures below and you can come to a conclusion yourself.....  For the budget conscious, what is there to lose? This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 1 2007, 11:02 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
kmarc
Jun 1 2007, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(infin @ Jun 1 2007, 05:15 PM) OC affects processor lifespan? I call BS on that dude. My rig's 2+ years old, oc'ed on air all the way and it hasn't hung on me since. I don't think you or I would want to have the same rig in another 3 years or even next year, for the matter, if you say I haven't had it long enough. Right and wrong. There's no debate that OC will reduce processor lifespan (or increase the risk of processor damage, if you like) although it may still mean you can use it for another 5-10 years..... (or longer than that! Maybe processor lifespan is 20 years??!!??  ) Nowadays, old rigs are still useful as a secondary rig for surfing, bittorrent (very useful!),folding and most importantly for your child/wife/partner to use so that they DON'T come and 'kacau' you to use the computer for their homework/chit-chat, etc!!!
kmarc
Jun 2 2007, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jun 2 2007, 07:02 PM) FGS it's SO cheap that I'd give a damn if it breaks down early! (Reason to upgrade to Nehalem?  ) That true!! Anybody knows what are the pricings for these new procs?
kmarc
Jun 3 2007, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(YiQi @ Jun 3 2007, 05:45 PM) E2140 1.6G is around RM$280~RM$290 E2160 1.8G is around RM$315~RM$325 Wah! That's affordable for the majority! Where did you get the source of the prices? If it is this cheap, then I wouldn't mind getting one and OC it "kaw kaw"!!!
kmarc
Jun 3 2007, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 3 2007, 10:22 PM) u got NTBD meh  whats the point in masking the shop names hope that LYNian will bulk it soon, then we will have e2140 at rm250  LOL. Ya lo. No need to mask the shops name la. If want to mask also, have to make it less obvious ma..... like TDM, PCZ, CPTZ.... You see, like NTBD..... errrr... dunno what it means.....
kmarc
Jun 4 2007, 06:21 AM
I sincerely hope that AMD can at least come up with a solution. Monopoly would be bad for us.....