Which bank account u are using ? ( the best), Most convenience, best FD rate etc

TSmoon yuen
post Jul 18 2018, 11:44 AM, updated 6y ago

2,293 posts

Which bank account u are using ?

Why u use this account? Convenient? Best FD rate?

Mind,share which bank.Account u think offer the best package?

kobanpro
post Jul 18 2018, 11:48 AM

87 posts

Maybank?

Many ATM, Many branch(although they slow abit), Good Apps, Good new website, easier to get loan..? Amex x5 points lol
MeToo
post Jul 18 2018, 12:03 PM

9,336 posts

MBB and RHB.

I like how RHB link all my acocunts,investments etc.. can see my finance chart easily..
nexona88
post Jul 18 2018, 12:20 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

Maybank

Because its very easy to find their ATM machine...
I know nowadays just use card.. But some retailers insisted hard cash for transactions... So ATM machine...
xperiaDROID
post Jul 18 2018, 12:41 PM

K
3,966 posts

Maybank

Their ATM is everywhere, app is great.
Ramjade
post Jul 18 2018, 01:45 PM

24,385 posts

All bank account is the same.
The main differences is interface, and atm availability.

Different banks have different benefits. Some have generous credit card, some have high interest account.

So ask yourself what's the purpose of you getting a bank account.
donhay
post Jul 18 2018, 02:55 PM

722 posts

Maybank, because:

1) easier to locate ATM

2) credit cards, Maybank 2 cards and FCB visa just right for me to cover all my monthly expenses with RM100 cash back monthly
muscaa
post Jul 18 2018, 03:06 PM

1,232 posts

Maybank and Public bank. I also have CIMB and planning to close it
baldi91
post Jul 18 2018, 03:06 PM

145 posts

Nobody using BSN? Haha...
Cimb bank also not famous ...
But yeah maybank is the most practical nowadays.

This post has been edited by baldi91: Jul 18 2018, 03:07 PM
muscaa
post Jul 18 2018, 03:11 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(baldi91 @ Jul 18 2018, 03:06 PM)
Because it’s shit..haha..
muscaa
post Jul 18 2018, 03:13 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Jul 18 2018, 02:55 PM)
Maybank, because:

1) easier to locate ATM

2) credit cards, Maybank 2 cards and FCB visa just right for me to cover all my monthly expenses with RM100 cash back monthly
Maybank - a lot of branches/ATM machines everywhere

Public Bank - staff are efficient, CDM never breakdown
a.lifehacks
post Jul 18 2018, 04:48 PM

196 posts

If you:-

have 30k,
-OCBC Booster Account (3.25%pa for deposit of >=30k)
https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...ster/index.html

have 50k
-UOB eAccount (3.60%pa for deposit of >=50,001, calculated on all balances on the condition 50,001 is met ->based on UOB deposit calculator)
https://www1.uob.com.my/personal/save/savings/e-account.page
https://www1.uob.com.my/default/calculators.page
https://uniservices1.uob.com.my/jsp/calcula...sav_deposit.jsp

P/S: For the above accounts, you only need to maintain the minimum balance to be entitled for the mentioned interest rate, you may still use it on daily basis, NO-LOCK IN PERIOD [so long as min balance is maintained]

This post has been edited by a.lifehacks: Jul 18 2018, 04:51 PM
keyser soze
post Jul 18 2018, 04:51 PM

569 posts

OCBC 360. Give you high interest rates with current account flexibility.
https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/accounts/360/

This post has been edited by keyser soze: Jul 18 2018, 04:53 PM
TSmoon yuen
post Jul 18 2018, 08:14 PM

2,293 posts

Seems like most people opt for maybank

ketupatlazat
post Jul 19 2018, 08:43 AM

555 posts

MB2u

other banks don't even come close to the experience MB2u is providing
wu ming
post Jul 19 2018, 12:38 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 18 2018, 03:11 PM)
Because it’s shit..haha..
What about Bank Rakyat?
a.lifehacks
post Jul 19 2018, 12:51 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jul 19 2018, 12:38 PM)
What about Bank Rakyat?
Bank Rakyat is not protected under PIDM
axxer
post Jul 19 2018, 02:44 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Maybank. Because its the first bank account I've made, still using it till now and doesn't felt the need to change because its superb enough; atms everywhere, highly convenient m2u that could link to th and asb etc.
muscaa
post Jul 20 2018, 12:35 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jul 19 2018, 12:38 PM)
What about Bank Rakyat?
Bank Rakyat is good for personal loan..haha..interest is low for govt servants. Otherwise it’s shit too
Sumofwhich
post Jul 20 2018, 01:10 PM

1,274 posts

I have multiple bank accounts all free from annual fees except OCBC 360, this is my main savings account for their 2.9% interest rate, why not 4.1% because cashback credit cards are more worthwhile

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 20 2018, 12:35 PM)
Bank Rakyat is good for personal loan..haha..interest is low for govt servants. Otherwise it’s shit too
Low interest only for govt servants?
Bank Rakyat kononnya wink.gif

Ramjade
post Jul 20 2018, 02:54 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 20 2018, 01:10 PM)
I have multiple bank accounts all free from annual fees except OCBC 360, this is my main savings account for their 2.9% interest rate, why not 4.1% because cashback credit cards are more worthwhile
Use Phillip money market fund instead. I am using it for it's high interest of 3.69%p.a. No need to pay anything.
Sumofwhich
post Jul 20 2018, 04:24 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 20 2018, 02:54 PM)
Use Phillip money market fund instead. I am using it for it's high interest of 3.69%p.a. No need to pay anything.
Did a quick search, isn't this a UT fund?
Is it a bank account where I can perform free instant transfers?
Ramjade
post Jul 20 2018, 06:34 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 20 2018, 04:24 PM)
Did a quick search, isn't this a UT fund?
Is it a bank account where I can perform free instant transfers?
If you can wait a day for your money to appear why not?
Yes it's a UT which invest in FD.

I can wait, hence I am using that.
Sumofwhich
post Jul 21 2018, 12:13 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 20 2018, 06:34 PM)
If you can wait a day for your money to appear why not?
Yes it's a UT which invest in FD.

I can wait, hence I am using that.
Thanks for clarifying. I need a bank account where I can transfer out to pay credit cards and bills, so I don't think I'll park my money for more than a month, unless you're saying the interest is given based on daily rest? Thanks.
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2018, 12:30 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 21 2018, 12:13 PM)
Thanks for clarifying. I need a bank account where I can transfer out to pay credit cards and bills, so I don't think I'll park my money for more than a month, unless you're saying the interest is given based on daily rest? Thanks.
You don't need to park for 1 month. I park for few days only. Interest is calculated on daily basis and paid out on a monthly basis.
Sumofwhich
post Jul 21 2018, 01:19 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 21 2018, 12:30 PM)
You don't need to park for 1 month.  I park for few days only.  Interest is calculated on daily basis and paid out on a monthly basis.
Nice! Any links to point me to the right webpage? Thanks.
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2018, 01:41 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 21 2018, 01:19 PM)
Nice! Any links to point me to the right webpage? Thanks.
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/Home/FundDetail/?fcode=001100
Sumofwhich
post Jul 21 2018, 02:06 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 21 2018, 01:41 PM)
Thanks, maybe not for me as UT is not risk free. Cheers
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2018, 02:15 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 21 2018, 02:06 PM)
Thanks, maybe not for me as UT is not risk free. Cheers
Depends on the underlying asset. It invest in FD and NAV is fixed at RM0.5
Sumofwhich
post Jul 21 2018, 02:26 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 21 2018, 02:15 PM)
Depends on the underlying asset.  It invest in FD and NAV is fixed at RM0.5
Any idea what are the charges like on the eunittrust webpage?
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2018, 02:33 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 21 2018, 02:26 PM)
Any idea what are the charges like on the eunittrust webpage?
0% service charge for their money market fund. That means RM1k will be fully invested.

Other fund as mentioned on their page is going for 1.5% service charge. They have regular promos where if you buy > RM5k, service charge is waived.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 21 2018, 02:35 PM
earshore
post Jul 21 2018, 03:16 PM

453 posts

I prefer Maybank.
They bank it in directly in there
Sumofwhich
post Jul 21 2018, 03:47 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 21 2018, 02:33 PM)
0% service charge for their money market fund. That means RM1k will be fully invested.

Other fund as mentioned on their page is going for 1.5% service charge. They have regular promos where if you buy > RM5k,  service charge is waived.
Thanks again @Ramjade for the selfless sharing!
MUM
post Jul 21 2018, 03:53 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 21 2018, 03:47 PM)
Thanks again @Ramjade for the selfless sharing!
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif +1
cklimm
post Jul 21 2018, 07:26 PM

2,338 posts

Unker is using HLB Pay n Save, quite fun if you have substantial amount of idle money
https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...ve-account.html
GOPI56
post Jul 21 2018, 07:28 PM

1,495 posts

Maybank. Easy to find ATM machines.
muscaa
post Jul 21 2018, 10:13 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jul 20 2018, 01:10 PM)

Low interest only for govt servants?
Bank Rakyat kononnya  wink.gif
Yes 2-3% if I can remember correctly, that was in 2011
liewhoho1
post Jul 23 2018, 10:19 AM

93 posts

Rhb, their atm line always empty at some places.
AntiScam
post Jul 23 2018, 10:23 AM

182 posts

ocbc 360 is good, but their atm machines are so rare like legendary pokemons.
cybpsych
post Jul 23 2018, 10:40 AM

---------------------
65,329 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 21 2018, 07:26 PM)
Unker is using HLB Pay n Save, quite fun if you have substantial amount of idle money
https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...ve-account.html
can try the trading thingy...

Kuala Lumpur, 20 July 2018

Dear Valued Customers,

We wish to announce that Pay&Save Account with add-on Share Trading Features will commence effective 23rd July 2018.

Kindly refer to the revised terms and conditions below for further information. Thank you.

https://www.hlb.com.my/content/dam/hlb/my/d...-account-en.pdf

Sumofwhich
post Jul 23 2018, 10:40 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(AntiScam @ Jul 23 2018, 10:23 AM)
ocbc 360 is good, but their atm machines are so rare like legendary pokemons.
Hahah, what I do is usually perform instant transfers to CIMB/Maybank laugh.gif
sNacKRangeR
post Jul 29 2018, 10:22 PM

70 posts

I will choose standard chartered bank (Privilege Saver with 2.5% interest) for payroll account

Is standard charterd have a many atm at KL ?
westlife
post Aug 21 2018, 03:24 PM

14,296 posts

maybank certainly. only issue is that the queue is long at the branch for cash deposit. but lucky at certain main branch, they really have many many cash deposit machines.

ocbc is my secondary account.
post Aug 27 2018, 10:23 AM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

Just asking, can we cancel the card but keep the saving account? Since most of the bank charge you for the annual card fee.
w3sley
post Aug 27 2018, 06:43 PM

264 posts

How about Current Account (a "general-use" account on which you can write checks, use ATM/Debit cards and have unlimited transactions)? Only good for business?
roarus
post Aug 27 2018, 07:01 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 27 2018, 10:23 AM)
Just asking, can we cancel the card but keep the saving account? Since most of the bank charge you for the annual card fee.
I assume you're talking about debit card? Opt for basic savings account that gives you limited withdrawals per month to bypass the RM8 annual charge
jimmyng
post Aug 27 2018, 10:00 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(w3sley @ Aug 27 2018, 06:43 PM)
How about Current Account (a "general-use" account on which you can write checks, use ATM/Debit cards and have unlimited transactions)? Only good for business?
Mostly use for business.
No point writing cheque when shopping, right?
w3sley
post Aug 27 2018, 10:35 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(jimmyng @ Aug 27 2018, 10:00 PM)
Mostly use for business.
No point writing cheque when shopping, right?
We only need an account for the transaction so saving account is unnecessary don't you think?

If want to save can transfer from current account to PMMMF or ASB. If want quick buffer, credit card will do.
fairylord
post Aug 28 2018, 12:55 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

I have few bank accounts opened for the sake of FD.
Damm, every year get charged the card fees.

But my daily usage will be mostly on MBB, no charge (I think) as ATM card cancelled due to fraud incident 3 years ago.

Other bank all get charged, CIMB HLB AmB thinking whether I can request to cancel the card to save the fees, hard earned money leh

Pbb paling jialak, 8+8 I also dunno why Lena charge twice, someone pls enlighten me.

Ramjade
post Aug 28 2018, 09:20 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Aug 28 2018, 12:55 AM)
I have few bank accounts opened for the sake of FD.
Damm, every year get charged the card fees.

But my daily usage will be mostly on MBB, no charge (I think) as ATM card cancelled due to fraud incident 3 years ago.

Other bank all get charged, CIMB HLB AmB thinking whether I can request to cancel the card to save the fees, hard earned money leh

Pbb paling jialak, 8+8 I also dunno why Lena charge twice, someone pls enlighten me.
Close account and open free basic saving account. Problem solve. Forget about FD. Use asnb fixed price fund to replace FD.
fairylord
post Aug 28 2018, 11:05 AM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 28 2018, 09:20 AM)
Close account and open free basic saving account. Problem solve. Forget about FD. Use asnb fixed price fund to replace FD.
In the midst of transferring. Going to close all useless account.
rjmsfire
post Dec 17 2018, 11:38 PM

77 posts

I use CIMB for its big ATM network. Most Petronas stations have their ATM and I drive a lot so that's very convenient.

I use OCBC's 360 account for its high interest rate of 4.1%. FD level interest without any lock in of funds. Just that have to do three things monthly, deposit RM500, pay three bills via internet banking and swipe RM500 cumulative on their credit or debit card.

I use Standard Chartered JustOne current cum savings accounts for being able to use cheques without account fees.
David_Yang
post Dec 18 2018, 06:59 PM

775 posts

I use OCBC 360 for the daily life, paying bills, salary and so on. Great to get so much interest from an smple account like this.

CIMB is my favourite for ATM, Credit Card and FDs.

Bank Rakyat is my bank for the long term FDs to create monthly income for spending.

AmBank I use for 4.4 or 4.5 FDs when they have and others have not.

I don´t need more accounts at the moment.
muscaa
post Dec 18 2018, 09:55 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 28 2018, 09:20 AM)
even some BSA got type 1 or type 2..haha..type 2 will charge you RM8 yearly for debit card
Ramjade
post Dec 28 2018, 05:17 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 18 2018, 09:55 PM)
even some BSA got type 1 or type 2..haha..type 2 will charge you RM8 yearly for debit card
Not if all your BSA is the free one like mine. I give nothing to banks. devil.gif
!@#$%^
post Dec 27 2019, 03:57 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

bank rakyat got BSA?
lolwei
post Dec 27 2019, 04:30 PM

43 posts

Oh boy....

1) RHB Bank - Salary account when I was an intern.
2) Maybank - Salary account of my first job.
3) Alliance Bank - Salary account of my second job.

4) OCBC 360 - All my savings currently parked here.
5) Hong Leong - Back when they used to have low minimum amount FDs.
6) Ambank - Also for FDs.

One of these days I will deactivate/change to BSA for RHB, HL, and Am, but problem is no branch near me lol.
genesic
post Dec 28 2019, 05:00 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(lolwei @ Dec 27 2019, 05:30 PM)
Oh boy....

1) RHB Bank - Salary account when I was an intern.
2) Maybank - Salary account of my first job.
3) Alliance Bank - Salary account of my second job.

4) OCBC 360 - All my savings currently parked here.
5) Hong Leong - Back when they used to have low minimum amount FDs.
6) Ambank - Also for FDs.

One of these days I will deactivate/change to BSA for RHB, HL, and Am, but problem is no branch near me lol.
oh boy.

you really have so many account around. i only using Maybank and OCBC 360.
ocbc 360 - Salary account
Maybank - secondary account for their ATM sake.
others using E-wallet.

touristking
post Dec 28 2019, 06:13 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(rjmsfire @ Dec 17 2018, 04:38 PM)
I use CIMB for its big ATM network. Most Petronas stations have their ATM and I drive a lot so that's very convenient.

I use OCBC's 360 account for its high interest rate of 4.1%. FD level interest without any lock in of funds. Just that have to do three things monthly, deposit RM500, pay three bills via internet banking and swipe RM500 cumulative on their credit or debit card.

I use Standard Chartered JustOne current cum savings accounts for being able to use cheques without account fees.
Standard Chartered have something similar.

Monthly deposit (in one go) RM3000 cash and credit card spend RM1000 gets your 4%
Buy RM1000 worth of unit trust gives you extra 2% making a total of 6%
l4nc3k
post Dec 28 2019, 10:30 AM

Nerd
968 posts

Not sure which thread to use so tumpang here..

A while ago (2-3 months back) I noticed that I'm being charged RM8 for my maybank debit card. After some googling and reading this thread its because I didn't opt for basic savings account during account opening. Honestly I don't even remember if I was given an option.

Having said, I visited Maybank @ Taipan Subang Jaya yesterday and asked to convert mine into basic savings account because I never withdraw more than 2 times a month - sometimes only withdraw once every 3~4 months. But the person in charge say this is no longer valid and all Maybank savings account that comes with debit card will need to be charged RM8 regardless.

Is it true or was I being conned? sweat.gif
Eurobeater
post Dec 28 2019, 10:51 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

Maybank hands down

I used to have a HSBC and HLB account. But after I started using Tiger Bank, i never looked back.

HSBC was so troublesome to use coz of the security dongle and lack of a mobile app.

Hong Leong was alright in convenience, but crap in their products and rates. Esp FD rates, which are some of the lowest in the market if you don't include their promotional rates
cklimm
post Dec 28 2019, 01:08 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Dec 28 2019, 10:30 AM)

A while ago (2-3 months back) I noticed that I'm being charged RM8 for my maybank debit card. After some googling and reading this thread its because I didn't opt for basic savings account during account opening. Honestly I don't even remember if I was given an option.

Having said, I visited Maybank @ Taipan Subang Jaya yesterday and asked to convert mine into basic savings account because I never withdraw more than 2 times a month - sometimes only withdraw once every 3~4 months. But the person in charge say this is no longer valid and all Maybank savings account that comes with debit card will need to be charged RM8 regardless.

Not that you are conned, just that the staff was too lazy to do the paperwork for you.
97fangkhai97
post Dec 29 2019, 10:02 PM

64 posts

Dear people,

I currently have Maybank Savings Account and I saw their interest rate is 1.85% p.a. However, I check my history in these 3 months, no interest rate is paid. Is it they pay yearly ? isnt it supposed to be RM XXX x 1.85% /12 = ?

hft
post Dec 29 2019, 10:04 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jul 18 2018, 11:44 AM)
Which bank account u are using ?

Why u use this account? Convenient? Best FD rate?

Mind,share which bank.Account u think offer the best package?

Best? Depends, need to manage small or big
money?
dean.ab25
post Dec 29 2019, 10:12 PM

47 posts

gov servant ke?
alex_00787
post Dec 30 2019, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(97fangkhai97 @ Dec 29 2019, 10:02 PM)
Dear people,

I currently have Maybank Savings Account and I saw their interest rate is 1.85% p.a. However,  I check my history in these 3 months, no interest rate is paid. Is it they pay yearly ? isnt it supposed to be RM XXX x 1.85% /12 = ?
Your SA is Maybank2u Savers and balance less than 2k?
97fangkhai97
post Dec 30 2019, 03:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(alex_00787 @ Dec 30 2019, 09:59 AM)
Your SA is Maybank2u Savers and balance less than 2k?
more than 2k and yes it is maybank 2u savers

Pebbie
post Dec 30 2019, 04:00 PM

521 posts

Standard chartered hand down for daily usage. Their meps and house atm fee waiver means can use any ATM. Good online interface as well. Unlimited withdrawal with no yearly fee

This post has been edited by Pebbie: Dec 30 2019, 04:01 PM
Jamespcr19
post Dec 30 2019, 06:24 PM

38 posts

Maybank! I have been using CIMB for 6 years but after switching to Maybank this year, I noticed the difference. Maybank is way more convenient and the ATM coverage is way better as compared to other banks!
wyh
post Dec 30 2019, 11:22 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Dec 30 2019, 04:00 PM)
Standard chartered hand down for daily usage. Their meps and house atm fee waiver means can use any ATM. Good online interface as well. Unlimited withdrawal with no yearly fee
may i know what account is that ?
cucikaki
post Dec 31 2019, 01:00 AM

2,722 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Dec 30 2019, 11:22 PM)
may i know what account is that ?
Privilege Savers. But i think the saving account also comes with free withdrawal at any meps (cimb rhb maybank bank islam etc) - they charge but reverse at month end.

The requirement is need to deposit 1.5k or 3k per month, cant remember. So just change ur salary to this acc, then should be no problem. In order to get free atm withdrawal
wyh
post Dec 31 2019, 01:08 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Dec 31 2019, 01:00 AM)
Privilege Savers. But i think the saving account also comes with free withdrawal at any meps (cimb rhb maybank bank islam etc) - they charge but reverse at month end.

The requirement is need to deposit 1.5k or 3k per month, cant remember. So just change ur salary to this acc, then should be no problem. In order to get free atm withdrawal
ok ok then i know is which one, the one rival to OCBC 360 acct. thanks for the input.
Pebbie
post Dec 31 2019, 10:49 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Dec 31 2019, 01:08 AM)
ok ok then i know is which one, the one rival to OCBC 360 acct. thanks for the input.
Not comparable to ocbc 360. Im using justone account, monthly deposit 1500 is the only condition, can transfer out right away.

Poor interest given but the only perk that im looking for is unlimited free atm withdrawal.
XweienX
post Dec 31 2019, 10:09 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Dec 28 2019, 10:30 AM)

My sister opened an account 2 weeks ago, wasn't given any choices, they just told us straightaway there is a RM8 fee every year.

I opened my MBB account few years ago, wasn't given any choices too.
ckh6003
post Dec 31 2019, 11:25 PM

205 posts

Not only Maybank
Other banks wasn't given any choices too.

Few week ago, I visited to RHB branch (nearby my workplace) to request open Bonus Saver acc (which can earn up to 2.65% p.a.).

After the verification, the officer refused to open the account for me. The reason given is I ady have ordinary saving acc with them (which is I maintained low balance & not perform much transactions)

She asked me why you want to open new account and what company name I joined.
I answered her becoz of high interest compared to ordinary saving account.

At the end she still rejected my request.
She said we recommended you continue to use back the current acc mad.gif

p/s: At that moment she is playing candy crush. Maybe I interrupted her. So she not willing to open for me drool.gif

Another experience . Few years ago, I requested to change new mobile number in order to receive TAC (same branch- home branch)
officer claimed we cannot do that at the moment. due to our password is bust. we can't access to the system. Pls come next time. If u urgently to update ur mobile no., can try visit to other branch (she recommended). But we can't guarantee on u will them to assist u, due to ur home branch is not belong to them.

useless branch 😡

This post has been edited by ckh6003: Jan 1 2020, 11:15 AM
touristking
post Jan 1 2020, 01:17 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Dec 31 2019, 03:49 AM)
Not comparable to ocbc 360. Im using justone account, monthly deposit 1500 is the only condition, can transfer out right away.

Poor interest given but the only perk that im looking for is unlimited free atm withdrawal.
Privilege Saver interest rate can go as high as 6% if 3 conditions are met. So I wouldn't say the interest rate is poor.
TechnoG
post Jan 1 2020, 11:14 PM

9,338 posts

PBB for me.
Quantum CC is the best, 1 month eFD 2.95% with min placement RM1k, just dump multiple RM1k and don't have to be afraid of losing interest when doing pre-mature withdrawal
online banking sucks but hey it isn't wobbly unlike CIMB

MBB to complement PBB,
plenty of ATM, Maybank 2 cards is good, QRpay has plenty of promos

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Jan 1 2020, 11:15 PM
jeremykkt
post Jan 3 2020, 12:10 PM

68 posts

how about uob one account?

https://www.uob.com.my/personal/save/saving...ne-account.page

interest 2.8 p.a. by banking in 2k / online payment for 3 bills (min RM50 each) plus using uob card min RM50

if u have more than 50k then interest go up to 3.8%
langstrasse
post Jan 5 2020, 11:48 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,589 posts

Quick question on account closure for CIMB - can we do it at any branch or are we required to go to the branch where the account was originally opened ?
mmwe P
post Jan 17 2020, 11:18 PM

Probation

Maybank, I have tried ocbc, citibank, cimb, uob, standard chartered. The government seems to support
Maybank so a lot of the new benefits always go to it first. For loans I guess you have to shop around. For credit
card I would say maybank amex gives the most points.
Thebestscammer
post Jan 18 2020, 12:11 AM

310 posts

seems like maybank is still the king but i would like to welcome some competition too. right now all interest seems to be below 3% p.a. that is kind of a sad rate... HSBC is having a promo to win mini cooper so its a good time to open acc right...
JimmyX
post Jan 18 2020, 08:48 PM

147 posts

FD is CIMB.

My salary to CIMB, has been using CIMB for years. Recently, my closest CIMB branch is closed down, I can literally walk to that branch but unfortunately... I prefer to use CIMB, my income is all there.
Eurobeater
post Jan 21 2020, 07:35 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Jan 18 2020, 12:11 AM)
seems like maybank is still the king but i would like to welcome some competition too. right now all interest seems to be below 3% p.a. that is kind of a sad rate... HSBC is having a promo to win mini cooper so its a good time to open acc right...
If you want high interest on CASA, suggest you to check out OCBC 360 with up to 4.1%

If got money to spare, Stan Chart PrivilegeSaver also can. 6%
ongonglai89
post Jan 21 2020, 10:32 AM

130 posts

I like Maybank and I haven't came across another bank that as convenient as Maybank. My cash flow all in MYB FD even though their rate is not as good as the other promotional FD rate.

I hate going to the bank waiting to cash in for the FD at promotion rate.

ongonglai89
post Jan 21 2020, 10:35 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Jan 21 2020, 08:35 AM)
If you want high interest on CASA, suggest you to check out OCBC 360 with up to 4.1%

If got money to spare, Stan Chart PrivilegeSaver also can. 6%
Stan Chart PrvilegeSaver has the condition. But mostly can get 4% p.a easily, but have to deposit money monthly and spend 1k above on their credit card.

jas029
post Jan 23 2020, 05:01 PM

335 posts

Standard Chartered Justone acc

for monthly rm1500 deposited, u can withdraw at any local atm for free (the fee charges will be refunded back to u by month end)

really brought lot of convenience as i dont need to purposely search for standchart atm for withdrawal
mmweric
post Jan 30 2020, 08:24 PM

156 posts

Am with Maybank. Have been for years due to my familiarity with maybank2u.
ongonglai89
post Feb 7 2020, 09:50 AM

130 posts

I only have 2 accounts now. Maybank and Standard Chartered. SC is mainly to earn the 4% and unlimited free withdrawal in any ATM. However, SC internet banking is not as convenient as M2U. So far, M2U is the best for me.
Shaun_PG P
post Apr 8 2020, 08:06 PM

Probation

Maybank and standard chartered.

Maybank where my salary is deposited into it.

Standard chartered to get the 4%.

After i came to know about this SC 4%, i felt FD is a waste of time.
TSmoon yuen
post Apr 9 2020, 06:33 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(Shaun_PG @ Apr 8 2020, 08:06 PM)
Maybank and standard chartered.

Maybank where my salary is deposited into it.

Standard chartered to get the 4%.

After i came to know about this SC 4%, i felt FD is a waste of time.
Didn't realized Standard Charted got 4%. Mind elaborate?
GrumpyNooby
post Apr 9 2020, 06:44 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Apr 9 2020, 06:33 PM)
Didn't realized Standard Charted got 4%. Mind elaborate?
Here's the thread for discussion:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4892672

Product page:
https://www.sc.com/my/deposits/psa/

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Apr 9 2020, 07:01 PM
farizmalek
post Apr 26 2020, 08:47 AM

182 posts

MAybank & CIMB if want to easily find atm machines

if one good service and fast at the kaunter, other than the GLC banks.
taiping...
post Apr 26 2020, 10:46 AM

1,056 posts

Ocbc
3.4% interest rate for rm100k and below
Even tho OCBC has less atm, I will transfer money from OCBC to Maybank to withdraw money
oldman
post Apr 26 2020, 10:48 AM

[VERY] senior member
956 posts

I am using Ambank - the service is usually fast, and the interface the online banking is easy. If you call the customer service as well, the service there is easy and alway on point
tadashi987
post Apr 26 2020, 10:59 AM

2,106 posts

only has 1k put in Maybank as user experience wise Maybank apps is the best, and Maybank ATM has the most.

But these day i hardly use cash so not even ATM is my concern.

Other port all put in Standard PSA or OCBC360 for high interest.
hksgmy
post Apr 26 2020, 11:11 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I use Maybank, for the best rates, UOB and DBS for the convenience, but then I’m in Singapore.
farizmalek
post Apr 26 2020, 09:58 PM

182 posts

Maybank lor
YS3nsatiOn
post Apr 27 2020, 12:23 AM

The epic forumer
809 posts

Maybank because it's convenient and its user friendly app.
donhay
post Apr 28 2020, 10:55 AM

722 posts

For the past 10 years, only use Maybank, cause of convenience (many branches and ATMs). Now seldom use cash and mostly internet banking, so I put my money in OCBC and Standchart for their higher saving interests. I also have CIMB, that only for direct salary deposit, and their preferred lounge.
Anangie
post Jun 6 2020, 11:51 PM

248 posts

For the moment, rhb smart account has higher interest rate after scb psa
jack2
post Aug 17 2020, 01:19 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Which bank offer premier banking that allows opening bank account with their oversea branches?
SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2020, 01:25 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 17 2020, 01:19 PM)
Which bank offer premier banking that allows opening bank account with their oversea branches?
try this thread?
Priority Banking, Everything about Priority Banking
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/554471/+2060
jack2
post Aug 17 2020, 01:28 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 17 2020, 01:25 PM)
try this thread?
Priority Banking, Everything about Priority Banking
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/554471/+2060
Thanks. Didn't notice this thread is there.

0.0408sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:27 PM