[2018/2019] MacBook Pro User Thread

ericlaiys
post Jun 11 2019, 08:13 AM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 11 2019, 01:48 AM)
Are u guys using keyboard protector on ur MBP?
yes
ericlaiys
post Jul 31 2019, 02:44 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(willi_chs @ Jul 31 2019, 12:02 PM)
How about casual gaming?
i'm using 8GB to play games from steam. So far right fine for 3K, Cities skylines, Battletech & sudden strike 4
ericlaiys
post Aug 9 2019, 09:52 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 9 2019, 05:17 PM)
My almost 1,5 year old MacBook battery health is around 89%.

Should I be a little cautious about it? Still covered 1,5 years left under AppleCare but I won't want to claim anything except for the keyboard towards the end of the 3rd year period.

how to get this?
ericlaiys
post Aug 10 2019, 11:54 AM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 10 2019, 06:02 AM)
in macOS, can check the battery capacity natively too.

2017 macbook pro touch bar.

my battery status after 2 years 2 months. (battery changed few months back for free at apple becos it was bloated, warranty expired and no applecare purchased.  tongue.gif 

[attachmentid=10297922]

if one needs third party tool for battery check, this is a good one too.

https://www.coconut-flavour.com/coconutbattery/
charge remaining 474. Mean going to die soon?
ericlaiys
post Aug 10 2019, 01:55 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 10 2019, 01:19 PM)
No la. charge remaining is ur current battery used level. for example, if the battery is 30% it is the charge level remaining. when u charge it to 100%, it will be back to the max level.
Eh...not really. Mine is currently 100%. Here is my info:
Charge Information:
Charge Remaining (mAh): 4311
Fully Charged: Yes
Charging: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4407
Health Information:
Cycle Count: 50
Condition: Normal

That charge remaining already since few hours.
ericlaiys
post Aug 18 2019, 11:25 AM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(babyCincau @ Aug 18 2019, 11:21 AM)
If I buy a used macbook from someone who has 1 month left warranty, can I still buy apple care for it?
Yes. you can but it tie to previous owner apple user account if i am not mistaken. Under apple account can see your devices. Not sure if can transfer to other people
ericlaiys
post Aug 19 2019, 01:43 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Aug 19 2019, 12:35 PM)
anyone here using malwarebytes? is it good?
macbook need antivirus?
ericlaiys
post Sep 13 2019, 09:06 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 13 2019, 05:36 PM)
and about the extended warranty Apple Care, the coverage is the same as the original 1 year , just that it's extended to another 2 more years right?

we don't have Apple Care+ here?
u can buy by calling apple support. I did mine before end of 1st year
ericlaiys
post Oct 6 2019, 07:11 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 6 2019, 06:54 PM)
yes, already 4 years since the last redesigned. but i think apple will unlikely to do major redesign. maybe just keyboard changed, display change (to mini-LED or OLED etc.) or just making the bezel of the display thinner like the rumoured 16" macbook pro that is going to launch end of this month.

macbook pro is always my favourite laptop to use. once you get used to macbook pro, you can never go back to any windows laptop that has mediocre display, keyboard and touchpad. haha.
agreed!
ericlaiys
post Oct 29 2019, 02:08 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 29 2019, 01:28 AM)
Urgent question..

I saw on fb marketplace people are selling rmbp 2019 for rm1500-1800 lesser than official RRP from Apple Malaysia store.

The sellers told me they got it from US..

I checked US education pricing also cannot beat these pricing set by Malaysian seller.

RM10499 rrp
RM8299

for same spec... what on earth is happening
scam...
ericlaiys
post Oct 31 2019, 10:46 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Oct 31 2019, 06:02 PM)
anyone using egpu for their mbp?

i wish to play dota 2 with my mbp but seems impossible lol.
use steam that stream from PC with GPU. Then macbook wont heat up easily. With Catalina, some games is 32 bits. but still can play which stream from windows PC.

Able to set higher Graphic settings and enjoy games.
ericlaiys
post Nov 1 2019, 09:46 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(Derps @ Nov 1 2019, 09:39 PM)
Hi everyone! just got my very own MacBook pro yesterday and i couldn't be any happier. However I am facing some issue and would like to get some help as I'm not familiar with the macOS yet  sad.gif

1. I installed a couple of stuff like spotify, microsoft office and steam. The bottom of my MacBook starting to heat up, like really heating up, and its really hot, i don't think this is normal for a brand new laptop? is there any way I can overcome this issue?

2. after putting my MacBook to sleep yesterday and went to work this whole day, i came home finding out my battery went from 100% to 50%. I mean how is this even possible? Did I get a faulty one and should I request for an return?
check process under utility which is taking up consumption. For my case, i found out is due to one drive. So i disable it from start up.
ericlaiys
post Nov 13 2019, 01:37 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Nov 13 2019, 01:03 PM)
I'm currently using MacBook Pro with Touch Bar (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports) as my daily work driver. Some coding and linux server remote management.

Bought it Dec 2017 at a discount from an IT retailer here in KL. I hardly use it unplugged, once I reached the office, it will be connected constantly on the power adapter. Unless I need it for meeting or meeting client out of office, then only it will be on battery.

Battery cycle count is only 115.

My current predicament is that when it is running on battery, the battery can only last for like 1.5 to 2 hours at most when it is on 100%. Checked the battery condition is Normal.

From the screenshot above it shows now the battery is at 100%, however every 3-4 minutes on battery it will minus time remaining 10 minutes  sweat.gif

This is after 12 minutes of usage on battery.
I've did SMC reset, but still the issue persist. Contact Apple Support and they are saying based on the numbers from System Information, and the battery condition, all is normal. Take note, I've lowered the screen brightness to 60%, and keyboard backlight to none.

Any other ideas I can try to improve the battery life usage?
App drain battery.
ericlaiys
post Nov 18 2019, 10:11 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 18 2019, 06:57 PM)
Hello people.

Has anyone purchased AppleCare recently? I've been checking Apple's website for the instruction but it's kinda vague.

For those who purchased Apple Care recently, did you have to bring in your Mac for inspection?
no inspection. it is easy. just go to portal and click buy apple care. someone will contact u. then they will give u quote and u just pay.
that is how i buy last year. Covered for another 2 years.
ericlaiys
post Nov 25 2019, 11:17 AM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(ILV @ Nov 25 2019, 10:14 AM)
Hi Sifu,
reading all the post and is it advisable to buy macbook pro 13 2018?
the price is very tempting as compare to 2019..

basically i just use it for personal daily usage, some photo/video editing..no gaming nor programming..

is the keyboard a real big issue?

Thanks all for the advise.
been using 2017 model for a year+. No issue but i use transparent keyboard plastic and put on top of the keyboard to avoid dust go in. It is free when u get a casing for macbook.

Anyway if you worry too much, get applecare. I bought it before my 1 year warranty expire. So now worry free for 2 years with applecare
ericlaiys
post Dec 31 2019, 11:06 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(ngkwdaniel @ Dec 31 2019, 12:34 PM)
I can't seem to obtain any information from the team when I requested a call from them. All they did was directing to the Malaysia support website which doesn't show any results for buying a apple care plan.
Mine work like this
1. On portal - select applecare. Login in . It will ask which product. Select Macbook > Other Mac Topics
2. Got 2 options: Talk to Apple Support Now (will call in 2 min) or Schedule call
3. Apple called & tell me amount to pay. If agreed, they will send an email which link to pay
4. Paid. Confirmation email
5. Reflect in system

I can even chat with Apple support via live chat or they are willing to call me (but must be before 12am).That time, i ask for assistance around 11pm+
Here is the link:- https://support.apple.com/en-my

ericlaiys
post Jan 1 2020, 11:39 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jan 1 2020, 05:51 PM)
Using a 2018 MBP and 2 weeks ago, out of sudden while I was using it the screen just got into black screen. However when i connect to external monitor it works normally (in display preference, I could no longer find my MBP screen anymore)

Tried out resetting PRAM, SMC etc but none of it works. Did a hardware diagnosis and it's VFD001 error (There may be an issue with the display)

Highly suspecting it's the flexgate issue. Found out that Apple only do free replacement for 2016 models.

Machine is telling me RM20xx to do the screen replacement! Have anyone faced similar issue with 2018 MBP? I have no AppleCare and warranty has just passed 2 months ago!
No AppleCare...that is going to cost a lot
ericlaiys
post Jan 7 2020, 09:46 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jan 7 2020, 04:18 PM)
macbook with applecare+ can send to malaysia service center ?
Yes
ericlaiys
post Jan 11 2020, 02:59 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jan 11 2020, 02:26 PM)
Brought my 2018MBP with screen display issue to service centre and they can almost confirm it's the Flexgate issue. Afterall Apple couldn't solve their design flaw. Worse that it's not covered under the free repair programme.

My main worry now is after replacing it now paying from my own pocket, I will have the same problem next year and replacing it once will cost me more than RM2k.

For those who are thinking to buy the new MBP, think properly. I bought it expecting my MBP to function for next 3 years at least like my old MBP.

Think is time for me to ditch Apple notebook and go for other option.
macbook -> it is important to get applecare+. At least for 3 years without worry.
After 3 years, it is old and time to get new unit. With so many issue posted by people in the forum, it is better than sorry later.

ericlaiys
post Jan 14 2020, 09:59 PM

7,598 posts

QUOTE(leo_caesar @ Jan 14 2020, 09:38 PM)
Hi guys, I just recently purchase MacBook pro, do I need specific dongle cable to connect an external monitor ?
yes. any usb c to hdmi or vga adapter

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1140sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:00 PM