58 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Samsung LED TV Thread V2, Continue from V1

Currylaksa
post Apr 3 2021, 12:29 PM

1,616 posts

Heads up. If you're thinking of QN90A, the 50 inch version is using IPS panel. So contrast won't be as good as the 55inch ones and above.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/q...est-differences
Convael
post Apr 3 2021, 01:32 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Apr 3 2021, 12:29 PM)
Heads up. If you're thinking of QN90A, the 50 inch version is using IPS panel. So contrast won't be as good as the 55inch ones and above.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/q...est-differences
Well yea , except we don't get 50 " of QN90A here .

Our QN90A is also a little bit different than the US models .
Samsung has yet to write me back , I will disclose the exact details when they do .

But one thing for sure , 1800 cd/m2 real time brightness is nothing to scoff at . I will be taking a look at the TV next week by the time they arrive in the warehouse .

The pricing has also dropped by quite a bit compare to last year .
A new 65 " can be found for around $10-11k and 55 " for $7-8k .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 3 2021, 01:37 PM
mufihamid P
post Apr 3 2021, 10:52 PM

Probation
39 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 3 2021, 01:32 PM)
Well yea , except we don't get 50 " of QN90A here .
Our QN90A is also a little bit different than the US models .
Samsung has yet to write me back , I will disclose the exact details when they do .
But one thing for sure , 1800 cd/m2 real time brightness is nothing to scoff at . I will be taking a look at the TV next week by the time they arrive in the warehouse .
The pricing has also dropped by quite a bit compare to last year .
A new 65 " can be found for around $10-11k and 55 " for $7-8k .
Yea but I still feel they are too overly priced. The thing about samsung tv's are that they hardly get cheaper by end of their life cycle. Take the 55' Q90T for example, its still retailing for over RM 8K, compare that with OLED like the sony A8H, the 65' have slowly trickled down to just under RM9K, isnt that better value for money?
Convael
post Apr 4 2021, 12:21 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Apr 3 2021, 10:52 PM)
Yea but I still feel they are too overly priced. The thing about samsung tv's are that they hardly get cheaper by end of their life cycle. Take the 55' Q90T for example, its still retailing for over RM 8K, compare that with OLED like the sony A8H, the 65' have slowly trickled down to just under RM9K, isnt that better value for money?
55 ' Q95T is for sale on Desahome , RM5899 , which is very reasonable .

From what I know , the Samsung sales department is extremely aggressive .
Their retailing merchant are usually not allowed to put on a crazy low price tag , you have to speak to the retailer by yourself .

Most of the times they are willing to give you a hefty discount .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 6 2021, 02:34 PM
Convael
post Apr 4 2021, 06:34 PM

1,108 posts

Okay , at this stage I can pretty much confirm the QN90A models in our country is also using IPS /ADS panels .

Which means it will have a much lower native contrast than their counterpart in US which is recently reviewed by Rtings .

What this essentially means is that we will not get any VA based 4K high end LCD from Samsung this year unless you have decided to chip-in for the 85" which is VA [because they dont make 85" IPS screen] .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 4 2021, 06:37 PM
mufihamid P
post Apr 4 2021, 08:24 PM

Probation
39 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 4 2021, 06:34 PM)
Okay , at this stage I can pretty much confirm the QN90A models in our country is also using IPS /ADS panels .

Which means it will have a much lower native contrast than their counterpart in US which is recently reviewed by Rtings .
What this essentially means is that we will not get any VA based 4K high end LCD from Samsung this year unless you have decided to chip-in for the 85" which is VA [because they dont make 85" IPS screen] .
Why is samsung making IPS based TV now? Is it because they stopped making producing their own panels like it was reported last year? I always thought Samsung = VA
ragecat
post Apr 5 2021, 12:40 AM

208 posts

Hi sifus. Just want to check with difference between the 2021 65" Q65A and Q60A. The price difference is negligible but i cannot find any spec difference apart from colour on the website. Have a pretty good deal about RM5k for preorder on samsung epp, hence looking at these 2 models.
Currylaksa
post Apr 5 2021, 11:04 AM

1,616 posts

Wadafak, so the whole QN90A line is IPS? ohmy.gif

Ah Sadge
Convael
post Apr 5 2021, 02:14 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Apr 4 2021, 08:24 PM)
Why is samsung making IPS based TV now? Is it because they stopped making producing their own panels like it was reported last year? I always thought Samsung = VA
They have the VA models , QN91 ,93 , 94 and 95 .
They just didn't want to bring those models to MY since there is little audience in the high end LCD market with all these OLED dominating the league .

As for why QN90A is using IPS ?
Because Samsung didn't want to implement its " wide viewing angles " filters " on the cost cutting QN90A .
Yet they have been advertising on the feature on Q8 and Q9 series for a couple of years , clearly their the best solution was to buy ADS / IPS screen from BOE .

There are multiple reports on Samsung has decided to halt its production for LCD TV in 2021 but it has been delayed . Perhaps they are in shortage of VA screens .

Looking at the positive , these Mini-LED has done a much better job than typical IPS is .
It can increase the contrast up to the 1 : 10000s at the best case scenario , still better than most of the mid-range VA on market .

If you are have a decently lit living room it is probably still a pretty good TV .

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 5 2021, 12:40 AM)
Hi sifus. Just want to check with difference between the 2021 65" Q65A and Q60A. The price difference is negligible but i cannot find any spec difference apart from colour on the website. Have a pretty good deal about RM5k for preorder on samsung epp, hence looking at these 2 models.
Q65 has support for " Q symphony " and the Q60 doesn't .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 5 2021, 02:23 PM
mufihamid P
post Apr 5 2021, 03:00 PM

Probation
39 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 5 2021, 02:14 PM)
They have the VA models , QN91 ,93 , 94 and 95 .
They just didn't want to bring those models to MY since there is little audience in the high end LCD market with all these OLED dominating the league .
As for why QN90A is using IPS ?
Because Samsung didn't want to implement its " wide viewing angles " filters " on the cost cutting QN90A . 
Yet they have been advertising on the feature on Q8 and Q9 series for a couple of years , clearly their the best solution was to buy ADS / IPS screen from BOE .

There are multiple reports on Samsung has decided to halt its production for LCD TV in 2021 but it has been delayed . Perhaps they are in shortage of VA screens .
Looking at the positive  , these Mini-LED has done a much better job than typical IPS is .
It can increase the contrast up to the 1 : 10000s at the best case scenario ,  still better than most of the mid-range VA on market .
So this means unless Hisense or TCL decides to bring their mini LED TVs we likely wont be seeing any VA based mini LED TVs in Malaysia this year.

Convael
post Apr 5 2021, 04:36 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(mufihamid @ Apr 5 2021, 03:00 PM)
So this means unless Hisense or TCL decides to bring their mini LED TVs we likely wont be seeing any VA based mini LED TVs in Malaysia this year.
Correct , but I don't think Hisense or TCL can do 1800 cd/m2 brightness in real time . So in a way we are screwed .

TCL had launched a Mini-LED TV before and they barely reach 850 cd/m2 rt . A far cry from Samsung's 1800 to say the least .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 5 2021, 05:27 PM
Currylaksa
post Apr 5 2021, 06:10 PM

1,616 posts

Is it because our import duty very kao?

The US QN90A with VA panel is RM7.5k, but here we pay RM10k for IPS panel (samsung store).
mufihamid P
post Apr 6 2021, 10:12 AM

Probation
39 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 5 2021, 04:36 PM)
Correct , but I don't think Hisense or TCL can do 1800 cd/m2 brightness in real time . So in a way we are screwed .

TCL had launched a Mini-LED TV before and they barely reach 850 cd/m2 rt . A far cry from Samsung's 1800 to say the least .
So the only option now would be to get their 8K TVs. I guess that would still be VA.
Philips will also launch mini-led tv's in europe this year, i guess the chances of these arriving here is close to none since Philips hace hardly any presence here in Malaysia.
simmarjit
post Apr 18 2021, 11:57 AM

980 posts

Where is the best place to get a Q90T right now? Looking at 70+ inch.
contestchris
post May 6 2021, 12:01 PM

5,523 posts

TU8000 50inch at rm1.9k. Decent price to buy?
Eithanius
post May 9 2021, 10:19 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

Anyone here knows why my Samsung wouldn't start up but LED indicator kept blinking...? Power supply problem...?

Anybody here got contact to fix...? Or is it worth fixing...? Samsung 5-series UA40D5000...
blackamikaze
post May 9 2021, 11:34 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ May 6 2021, 12:01 PM)
TU8000 50inch at rm1.9k. Decent price to buy?
Good price, where u got that price?
contestchris
post May 9 2021, 11:54 PM

5,523 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ May 9 2021, 11:34 PM)
Good price, where u got that price?
Lazada Courts
Eithanius
post May 13 2021, 12:14 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

Was about to plonk in for a Samsung AU9000 only to find it has no aux or RCA out to my dinosaur sound system... only toslink that requires a separate DAC and potentially wasting one USB port...

What was Samsung thinking...? :x
kananthen
post May 15 2021, 11:57 PM

38 posts

Guys, im kinda confused rclxub.gif .

https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/co...ison/db801a3326

Does the AU9000 series has a 120 Hz screen and supports VRR. For game mode seems to have a VRR function but there's no HDMI 2.1 port.

How does this work?

58 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:25 AM